Stila • just my luck palette in lucky plum • Palettes

rated 4.7(15 reviews)

Average Rating.4.7
Would buy this product again.100%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 yarrthehotpants on 1/3/2008 8:15:00 PM more reviews by yarrthehotpants

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This palette looks fantastic with my coloring--auburn hair, blue eyes, and extremely pale, cool-toned skin. I've tried to replicate the eyeshadows with existing Stila shades--the middle shade is an almost perfect match to Chic Grace, but a little more purple. The bronzey-olive shade looks definitely like Golightly to me. The lightest shade isn't quite Ecru--it's a little lighter and more shimmery. I don't think it can be duped with existing Stila e/s. A shame, because it's the perfect base shade for me, and I'll cry when it runs out! The blush is just ok; it's like BB Pale Pink with chunks of glitter in it, and it doesn't last very long on me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* syeung2 on 9/1/2006 3:42:00 PM more reviews by syeung2

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

eyeshadow: shimmery bone

eyeshadow: shimmery taupe

eyeshadow: olive with bronze shimmer

blush: pink with light shimmer

lipstick: golden berry with light shimmer


Product - Great palette for classic look with my AAB/NC25 coloring. Tha e/s are definitely on the shimmery side - it might have been nice for one of them to be a matte or satiny shade. The pink blush has slight shimmer and does not seem as pigmented as other Stila blushes I have tried. I love the l/s! IIRC some other reviewers thought the color was way too dark - and in the pan it seems dark - but on my lips the color is a beautiful warm browned-red with slight golden shimmer, and suits my coloring very well (and the shade does not seem dark on me). Overall the palette colors work well with each other. The e/s and blush are understated and classic, and pair nicely with the rich lipcolor. Not sure how they came up with the palette name, though, this does not seem plummy at all :)


Packaging - Compact has a full length mirror and lip brush included, tho I have to wonder why they didnt put an e/s brush on the other end of the handle... Watch out for the crystals on the lid, they can scratch other items in your bag.


Overall - Great colors in this palette, definitely would repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KittyJimjams on 7/10/2006 4:14:00 PM more reviews by KittyJimjams

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Oohhh, a Stila palette I can love as much.. maybe more!.. than Fierce Taupe.

I loved Fierce Taupe when it came out but recently I started to think that the colours were a mite too peachy. I'm a very cool-toned dark brunette with hazel eyes and fair skin. Ebay came to my rescue with a Lucky Plum palette for 28 - which also included a lip colour. I love it. I agree that the darkest shade is an olivey bronze that doesn't quite work as a liner, but that's a small complaint. I use the pale colour on the browbone, the pinky-taupe on the inner corner of my eye, and the deep bronze as a crease colour. The colours are so subtle that it works perfectly, although they're nice and soft so I'm sure you could build the intensity. You can also wear all the colours as a soft wash alone. The blush is very bright and summery, and the lipcolour is a sexy golden-red which works surprisingly well with the pinks in the rest of the palette.

FANTASTIC. My favourite stila palette yet!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JennBard on 6/10/2006 7:24:00 PM more reviews by JennBard

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I would buy each of these products again! As said, colors aren't plum but they work for me who could never wear anything plum! The shadows stay in place the longest but the blush and lippie tend to fade too quickly. I'm pale with red hair and brown eyes and this just works so well for me. Not to mention the package is gorgeous! I also have the peach and they work too. Finally a paired up palette that I won't be swapping away! (Sorry girls!) Definately get one for yourself b/c you won't be swapping it either!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stephani99 on 4/27/2006 4:48:00 PM more reviews by stephani99

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was lucky enough (er, no pun intended!) to get this in a swap and I LOVE it! It's defintely not plum, as already mentioned so I won't go into the shades except to say it's a lovely set of neutrals and the case is absolutely adorable. Same as the Press Shy palette I have, the e/s and blush are so soft and blendable, I'm impressed. I've never been a huge fan of Stila until now so this is great and I'm seriously considering getting Lucky Peach too. This is definitely a must-buy if you love Stila or just want a good quality, portable, cute palette with very wearable shades. I just don't want the case to get scratched or crystals to fall off, so I'll keep it in the box when I carry it around.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* milliegirl on 4/23/2006 12:59:00 PM more reviews by milliegirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Not sure why this is called Lucky Plum because there's not much plum about it, but it's a beautiful collection of colors. The lightest e/s IMO is Cloud (def. not Ecru, anyway), the middle e/s Grace and then the deepest e/s Golightly. I would have never thought to pair Grace and Golightly together, but it's a good match, actually. Every shade in this palette works well for me, the compact is sturdy and perfect for travel, and the included lip brush is even decent. I rate this right up at the top of my list of favorite palettes for all these reasons, and I have LOTS of palettes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MissLelly on 4/3/2006 5:23:00 PM more reviews by MissLelly

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Wearable colours, good value for the 3 eyeshadows + 1 blush + 1 lipcolour you get as opposed to buying them seperately (heck, at $41 CDN it equals out to the price of less than 2 regular Stila shadows), the convenience of the mirror which covers the entire inside of the lid, and most of all--the super-cute metallic casing with the glam Swarovski crystals on the lid. Only thing is that the eyeshadows are not as deeply pigmented as they show to be on the Stila website, whereas the lip colour and blush are much darker and brighter (respectively) in the pan. The crease shade which appears as a mauve on the website looks more like a taupe, and the liner golden brown shade appears with more of an olivey hue and isn't actually dark enough to use as a liner imho. The pink case is adorable to pull out of your purse, but the downside is that it only stays cute as long as you don't put anything else in your purse because the colour is only sprayed onto the surface and scratches easily. All in all, I was happy with the product, and I will soon purchase the Lucky Peach palette!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CLisa on 3/23/2006 10:19:00 AM more reviews by CLisa

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This palette is fabulous. The shades go so well with my coloring (very PPP, green hazel/eyes, dark hair, cool-toned), and the packaging is feminine and sturdy. The eyeshadows really bring out green eyes, the (cool-toned, shimmery pink) blush is nicely pigmented for a glowy look, and the plummy/berry lip color can be dabbed on for a subtle stain or applied more liberally for a vibrant look. I like that it's not too clunky and can easily fit into a purse. It's great for those overnight trips where you want to look good the next morning but don't want to seem like a high-maintenance princess.

I think this is the best palette that Stila has ever made. I'm seriously considering buying a back-up, which is something I never do!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* abfabjeanius on 3/3/2006 4:23:00 PM more reviews by abfabjeanius

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great palette, though based on the colors (as previous reviewers have described), I don't know why it's called "plum," as there are no plum colors. It's a great set of cool-toned neutrals that are work appropriate, but could also be dressed up. The e/s quality is good - not too hard or too soft/crumbly, and they apply well and last all day. The blush is one of the few Stila blushes with shimmer, and is also softer than most Stila powder blushes, so the color pay-off is quite good. I haven't used the lipstick with the eyes and cheeks because I think it's a bit too bright to go with the other colors, but it is a pretty color. (Does anyone have a rec for the lip color?)

Overall, I would purchase again if it weren't LE. For reference, I am NC25/LLL with dark hair and eyes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 E__J on 2/20/2006 9:54:00 AM more reviews by E__J

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

This pallette is gorgeous inside & out.

The three e/s colors are perfect for a base, crease & liner for my LLL neutral to cool 20 watt skin. The base shade is closest, IMO, to starlight, the middle is grace & the liner is golightly.

Lipstick looks bright red in the package, but is very sheer & wearable & sparkles a little.

The only negative is the blush is quite sparkly, but pretty.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Stila products

More Palettes products