Paula's Choice Skin Balancing Antioxidant Concentrate

3.6

81 reviews

56% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane (silicone slip agent), Isododecane (matte finish solvent), Cyclohexasiloxane (silicone slip agent), Dimethicone Crosspolymer (silicone suspending agent), Neopentyl Glycol Diheptanoate (non-aqueous thickener), Retinyl Palmitate (Vitamin A/antioxidant), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride (thickener), Retinol 0,03 (antioxidant/cell-communicating ingredient), Tocopheryl Acetate (vitamin E/antioxidant), Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate (vitamin C/antioxidant), Haematococcus Pluvialis (Astaxanthin) Extract (antioxidant pigment), Bisabolol, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Camellia Oleifera (Green Tea) Leaf Extract (antioxidants/anti-irritants), Salix Alba (Willow) Leaf Extract (anti-irritant), Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract, Ginkgo Biloba (Ginkgo) Leaf Extract, Calluna Vulgaris (Heather) Flower Extract, Vaccinium Macrocarpon (Cranberry) Fruit Extract, Rubus Idaeus (Raspberry) Fruit Extract, Betula Alba (White Birch) Bark Extract (antioxidants), Silica (absorbent), Phenoxyethanol (preservative)


on 9/18/2014 8:24:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Not an impressive product, nor a bad product. It doesn't irritate my skin, but also doesn't improve my skin. Won't buy this product again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 8/26/2014 3:16:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I had no good results with this product at all. My skin looks much worse not better. I have oily skin and it definitely did not help in anyway. My skin broke out with cystic blemishes deep under the skin. I finally cleared my skin up and now it is worse off then before. Not happy. As for anti-aging I have seen absolutely no benefits using this product.
Packaging wise it is ok but most times it would be seperated in the tube which does not seem like a good quality product to me. I would have to squeeze and shake it up to make sure that a runny liquid was not sitting on top.
This product felt like a more liquidy version monistat chafing gel on the skin. Actually I think that it has the same moisturizing quality as well. I do like that it is lightweight and silky to apply but on my oily skin I found that ANY silicone type product like this including primers are a big NO NO and reck havoc on my skin.
I think if you have normal skin and like silicone type products than this would be best for you.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/6/2014 11:35:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

This is a great serum! I previously used the Paula's Choice Super Light Anti-Oxidant Serum, which was good too. I like that this one has retinol in it though. You do need to shake the tube each time. I use it all over my face and around my eyes twice a day. It's made a huge difference in the appearance of my skin!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/7/2014 12:17:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

In general, I find this to be a good product. You have to vigorously shake this before every use because the ingredients separate, but I don't find that to be an issue. The price was very reasonable, esp when compared to other retinol serums. I don't have a problem with the texture being greasy on my oily skin, although the silicone is noticeable when first applied. This doesn't make me oily or break me out, either, which would be a deal breaker. I can't detect any scent and the packaging is appropriate.
On the other hand, I haven't noticed this making a big difference in my skin. I only use it at night - just a few drops combined with PC Skin Balancing Gel Moisturizer on my fingers, and I smooth it all over my face. The ingredients sound good, and I haven't been using this very long (a couple of weeks) so I'm not terribly concerned at this point. I use such a small amount that this tube should last me a loooong time. I'm hoping that this serum is more of a protective step in fighting against aging and sun damage. For the price, it's a very good value and hopefully one I will be glad I started.
I did try applying this alone once and I finally understood the complaints about the greasy texture. If you mix this product with your moisturizer, as I do, you won't be left with that greasy feeling that dries sort of tacky.
Update 3/8/15 - This product is ok, but I've found that Alpha Hydrox Retinol Night Res Q is just as effective yet costs about $15 less for the same amount of product. Also, it doesn't need to be vigorously shaken before each use.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/17/2014 9:59:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I HAD THE SAMPLE
Mine clumped but that was not a problem to me it only happened in the package. It had a very dry silicone finish but once applied it felt more oily than I expected. This is more suitable than the red package for oily skin because it has a lighter buttery texture. There is nothing wrong with the red one- its great just it would benefit someone with dry skin more I think. This has the same amount of retinol as the red package and this version lists it again later down unlike the red one wich only has retinol. Retinol wise this serum and the red one have the most retinol in all of her retinol claimed moisturizers ( except in the 'Clinical' line.) This one offers retinyl palmitate though the one with the most reaearch and most compared to the prescription version with added retinol.The three serums offered though narrow down skin types the most to give each skin type what they need while feeling the best on ones skin.
I hope I helped!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/15/2014 2:18:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Grey, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I've used up a whole tube of it but I was using it at the same time as the Resist Ultra-Light Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum (Resist for the night and Skin Balancing for the day) as well as the Clear Skin Hydrator and BHA so I can't say how much of a difference it has made. But it did not break me out and overall my skin seems to have improved. It absorbs easily but you have to make SURE you SHAKE it well or it comes out as messy liquid! Pricey but you need just a few drops and hopefully the ingredients make a difference. I like the fact that PC does not test on animals.


on 2/15/2014 6:30:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Oh ick. I'm usually a fan of PC products but I cannot like this greasy siliconey mess. Great ingredients so if the texture suits you go right ahead - though I can't imagine that anyone with oily skin could stand this on their skin. I tolerated it until it was finished by using it only at night with a tiny amount added to my moisturiser. Even so my skin was greasier than normal in the morning. There was no way I could use this during the day. I now use the PC ultra light serum and am a total fan.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/3/2013 4:16:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I love this product so much. I have no consistency problems because I shake the tube very well - I shake it until I can't hear liquid sloshing anymore every time before dispensing. I alternate between this and PC's Ultra-Light Antioxidant Serum, which is also wonderful but does not have retinol (so I can use it when using products that don't play well with retinol). I prefer this and the Ultra-Light AO serums over the Super AO serum and Skin Recovery AO with retinol serum because those both feel too thick for my preference, even though I have dry skin.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 11/1/2012 6:22:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I like this serum better than Resist serum. Feels light but still moisturising, I use 3 little dots for face and then 2 little dots for each eye. Have to shake really well before use. I use this as the final step in my skincare routine.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/12/2012 3:01:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I have a lot of redness already, so I was really scared to try retinol after hearing all the horror stories about how harsh it could be, but I've have nothing but good things to say about this serum, which I've been using for about six weeks.

First, as far as the issues others have had: the first couple of times I used the serum it was a bit runny, but I haven't had that issue since then. I only have to shake it up a bit and the formula comes out in a manageable jelly-like form. I also don't notice any discernible smell, pleasant or otherwise.

Second, I've no issues of sensitivity or extra redness from using it. I use it only at night because my skin burns very easily.

Third, it's very light and doesn't feel like I have put anything on my skin. I think that's great; as someone with combo-oily skin, most anti-aging products are way too emollient. PC Serum slides right over the skin, absorbs quickly, and leaves a matte finish with no greasiness.

Last, I haven't noticed any miracles, but I don't expect any. I switched to Paula's Choice skin care almost exclusively roughly 6 weeks ago because the price was right without outrageous claims and celebrity marketing campaigns. My skin has stayed even-toned and bright, and my breakouts have been kept at bay. I don't look like I had a face lift or anything, but that's okay. I know the ingredients in her products are what works, and she doesn't use hype to plug them.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Sudocrem
Sudocrem
144 Reviews
Lemon Juice
Lemon Juice
399 Reviews
4% Hydroquinone
4% Hydroquinone
15 Reviews
Back to Top