Paula's Choice • Skin Balancing Antioxidant Concentrate • Treatments

rated 3.5(76 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 Burma76 on 2/15/2014 6:30:00 AM more reviews by Burma76

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Oh ick. I'm usually a fan of PC products but I cannot like this greasy siliconey mess. Great ingredients so if the texture suits you go right ahead - though I can't imagine that anyone with oily skin could stand this on their skin. I tolerated it until it was finished by using it only at night with a tiny amount added to my moisturiser. Even so my skin was greasier than normal in the morning. There was no way I could use this during the day. I now use the PC ultra light serum and am a total fan.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* katwalker on 11/3/2013 4:16:00 PM more reviews by katwalker

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this product so much. I have no consistency problems because I shake the tube very well - I shake it until I can't hear liquid sloshing anymore every time before dispensing. I alternate between this and PC's Ultra-Light Antioxidant Serum, which is also wonderful but does not have retinol (so I can use it when using products that don't play well with retinol). I prefer this and the Ultra-Light AO serums over the Super AO serum and Skin Recovery AO with retinol serum because those both feel too thick for my preference, even though I have dry skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 melodysg on 11/1/2012 6:22:00 PM more reviews by melodysg

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I like this serum better than Resist serum. Feels light but still moisturising, I use 3 little dots for face and then 2 little dots for each eye. Have to shake really well before use. I use this as the final step in my skincare routine.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* timothybcat on 8/12/2012 3:01:00 AM more reviews by timothybcat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have a lot of redness already, so I was really scared to try retinol after hearing all the horror stories about how harsh it could be, but I've have nothing but good things to say about this serum, which I've been using for about six weeks.

First, as far as the issues others have had: the first couple of times I used the serum it was a bit runny, but I haven't had that issue since then. I only have to shake it up a bit and the formula comes out in a manageable jelly-like form. I also don't notice any discernible smell, pleasant or otherwise.

Second, I've no issues of sensitivity or extra redness from using it. I use it only at night because my skin burns very easily.

Third, it's very light and doesn't feel like I have put anything on my skin. I think that's great; as someone with combo-oily skin, most anti-aging products are way too emollient. PC Serum slides right over the skin, absorbs quickly, and leaves a matte finish with no greasiness.

Last, I haven't noticed any miracles, but I don't expect any. I switched to Paula's Choice skin care almost exclusively roughly 6 weeks ago because the price was right without outrageous claims and celebrity marketing campaigns. My skin has stayed even-toned and bright, and my breakouts have been kept at bay. I don't look like I had a face lift or anything, but that's okay. I know the ingredients in her products are what works, and she doesn't use hype to plug them.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mapn on 5/8/2012 2:35:00 AM more reviews by mapn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Iíve really enjoyed the Resist Serum, although its consistency felt slightly too thick (the only gripe I have about it). I was hoping the Balancing Serum would be a great alternative. But unfortunately not.


Surprisingly, the consistency is one thing I really like about the Balancing Serum: it feels light, and spreads and absorbs well. As the other reviewers have stated, you have to shake the tube before. I have no problem with that, but since Iíve only been using a sample, shaking isnít really viable, and I have ended up with partly dry, partly too runny formula.


Also, the smell is pretty awful. It does fade quickly, but alongside Paulaís HydraLight Lotion, this smells quite off-putting at first whiff. I canít comment about the effects in the long run, except that itís slightly clogging my pores. Bottom line: Resist Serum is the one Iíll be sticking to.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 judibean on 5/6/2012 7:07:00 PM more reviews by judibean

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I tried a sample of the skin balancing mattifying version for oily/combo skin and I couldn't get past the weird chemical smell. I can't describe it - it's a little nauseating. I also didn't like the texture - it feels like a silicone-heavy primer, and I don't understand how the antioxidants are supposed to absorb into the skin when it feels like the serum is just sitting on the surface. It does mattify as advertised, but that isn't the main point of the product.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 maneater on 4/24/2012 5:53:00 AM more reviews by maneater

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Great serum, probably one of the only products that I actually like from PC's line. I ended up ordering an entire set of products last year, didn't end up keeping anything but this !
While I didn't notice a significant difference in my skin, this product is a WONDERFUL antioxidant and WILL prevent lines/dark spots if used correctly.

The packaging is good for preserving the active ingredients and it lasts forever. I love using this all over my face, especially around the eyes. Works as a good makeup primer as well, although I don't feel it controls my oiliness as much as I thought it would.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 HeBen on 2/13/2012 1:47:00 PM more reviews by HeBen

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

So I've seen alot of complaints about this product - which has made quite a difference for my skin.
Despite what another reviewer said, there IS vitamin c in this (tetrahexyldecyl ascorbate - a very stable and gentle form of vit. c). The retinol is fairly high up on the list, and is the second "active" ingredient listed (behind the silicones/base ingredients). Paula's website lists the ingredients.

Yes, the consistency is a bit inconsistent - but if you do as the package says, and shake it, it's a lot better. I tap the tube on its head to prevent it from shooting out when I dispense it, and use a very light squeeze from the back (very important!).

Since starting this product (about 2 months ago), I've noticed my skin tone has really brightened up, especially around my eyes. Enough so that I when I walk by a mirror, I do a "double take" to make sure my eyes aren't playing tricks on me. My acne marks have faded a bit too. I would caution against using too much of this product, as it irritated my eyes a bit when I became over-zealous in my application. The rule of thumb with serums should be "start with a drop, then go from there". ;-)

A good product, especially for the price. PC ALWAYS has a sale/promotion going on, so you may be able to snag a tube of this for less than $20 (I did!).

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aykhan on 1/28/2012 9:33:00 PM more reviews by aykhan

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This review is for the Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Mattifying Concentrate Serum for normal/oily/combination skin. Other than smelling and feeling a little odd immediately out of the tube (the smell goes away quickly), this leaves my skin matte for hours, and minimizes the appearance of the pores on my cheeks and nose. I'll wear this both under foundation, or by itself with sunscreen. It wears well in all the weather, humidity and temperature conditions I've worn it in so far.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Houseofcarole on 1/3/2012 11:54:00 AM more reviews by Houseofcarole

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I love this serum. Totally.


1. It's a really light serum, feels like I'm wearing nothing.
2. It goes smoothly with my make up and makes it all perfect.
3. My skin feels really smooth and silky.
4. I use it every night with my moisturizer. You can use it alone with no moisturizer, but you definitely must use your SPF moisturizer if you're going to use this serum during the day.
5. I do not use this on daytime. My face tends to feel really oily if i use serum and moisturizer at the same time. So that's why i never used serum anymore during the day, only at night.
6. The best part of this serum is the ingredients. It has Retinol, Vitamin E, C, green tea, grape seed extract and lots of antioxidants which I need to fight the aging signs.
7. The downside of this product is that it has some silicones, so if you have allergy to silicones, dont use this.
8. The most important thing is I can tell that my face becomes brighter and it gives more radiant everytime i see my face in the morning. My mom said that my face looks fresher, so yea it does what it says.


This serum is for people with normal/oily/combination skin. So for those who have dry skin, this is not for you. I tried the sample of skin recovery cleanser they gave me when i bought this serum and it gave me break outs and acnes, because the Skin Recovery products are meant for people with dry skin and i have combo skin. My face was rejecting it in some ways, so picking the right products for your skin type is def the first thing you decide whenever you wanna buy skin care products.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paula's Choice products

More Treatments products