Thayers • thayers lavender acohol free toner with vitamin e • Toners

rated 3.8(31 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Lecitroen on 7/24/2013 12:22:00 PM more reviews by Lecitroen

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I received this as a gift a few months ago. At the time I was desperately trying to fix my weird combo skin. My old acne scars were always being irritated, giving me a blotchy appearance. Not to mention I still had to worry about acne(ie. cystic, all kinds). So I added the toner to the rotation and found no benefit.

Fast forward a month later, I am using Now Foods Vitamin C and Manuka Honey Gel Cleanser. At night I use La Roche Posay Effaclar Duo(UK version) directly on new acne(not all over my face). I was getting some dryness from LRP Effaclar Duo and decided to give the Thayers Lavender Toner another chance. Somehow it all clicked, because it's been smooth sailing ever since! No more peely, blotchy, annoying skin that I always thought was too sensitive to fix. No breakouts either. I don't feel the need to wear foundation anymore if I'm at home. When I do wear foundation, makeup looks much better and my skin looks more radiant.

This is how I use the toner daily:

A.M:

-Exfoliate face with a gentle scrub(or a hot cloth). I use a scrub with Papaya and Licorice. The fruit acids are a gentle alternative to AHA's and BHA's. I scrub it very gently, as I don't want to scratch my skin.

-Wash face with cleanser. I would recommend something very simple, not loaded with SLS or alcohol. The Now Foods cleanser is perfect for me.

-Saturate a cotton pad(don't be stingy) with Thayer's Toner and swipe it all over the face, neck, and even eyelids.

-Apply face cream with SPF if out in the sun.

P.M.

-Double Cleanse with cleanser if I have worn makeup, otherwise just cleanse once.

-Saturate a cotton pad with Thayer's Toner and swipe it all over the face, neck, and even eyelids.

-Apply a tiny amount of LRP Effaclar Duo(UK version) to acne only.

I haven't had the need to use a night cream but I am on the lookout for one that won't ruin my current routine. As for the scent, I have no problem with it. It smells pleasant.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kalya on 3/13/2013 8:46:00 PM more reviews by Kalya

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was so hoping this would suit my skin. Unfortunately not and citric acid is the culprit, i believe. This caused medium-size bumps on the t-zone, mostly and also caused that area to become very oily! For the rest o the face area, it didn't do anything good.
I think I may be allergic to the citric acid in this toner.
Also it is quite expensive and much of the product leaks out of the badly designed bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 princesssaras on 8/4/2012 1:02:00 AM more reviews by princesssaras

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This works well, is gentle and doesn't make you break out, but I prefer the rose one, I'm not a huge fan of this scent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 francescalam on 5/19/2012 12:06:00 PM more reviews by francescalam

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love love the smell of this product. I use it as a toner most of the time. When I feel that my skin is too dry or irritated during the day, I would moist a cotton pad with it and put the pad onto my face. It also work for tightening my pores around the nose before putting on makeup.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* heathermrm on 4/30/2012 8:59:00 PM more reviews by heathermrm

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE this version in Rose Petal. I like to switch things up sometimes (read - I get bored easily) and so, recently purchased this in the Lavender scent, brought it home, opened it up, took 1 whiff, closed it back up and immediately returned it the next day - this DOES NOT smell like lavender to me - smells like stale powder = ICK! Not going to stray again...unless I come across the lemon version...:)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sourclementine on 4/10/2012 11:29:00 PM more reviews by sourclementine

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

It works really well as a make up remover and also comes in handy when you have no time to wash your face. It makes my skin feel nice and soft, and most importantly doesn't break me out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BeFineFilipina on 3/17/2012 4:06:00 PM more reviews by BeFineFilipina

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I'm down to the last few drops of this...and overall have been very pleased. I actually like the scent. I used to be soooo put off by the scent of plain witch hazel that I almost didn't want to buy this, but Thayers does a good job of covering that scent up with the lavender. Love that it doesn't sting on my face at all. If I soak a cotton pad with this and squirt on some jojoba oil, it removes my eye makeup very well.

I have a full bottle of the rose version to try next. These toners are definitely HG status for me. I hope they don't change the packaging since it looks awesome on my sink.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dwenn1968 on 5/14/2011 9:58:00 AM more reviews by dwenn1968

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

So far, so good. The smell isn't a problem and I don't find it sticky. I was thinking of getting a BHA or AHA toner but after sampling a few I didn't see any major benefit. This toner is doing the trick at a cost I can afford.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sll74 on 4/24/2011 1:00:00 PM more reviews by sll74

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

i like this variety of the thayers witch hazel. it was my favorite but now i'm leaning towards the lemon. this one says it's moisturizing but i think it's a bit less moisturizing than the rose petal version. it does leave a little stickiness on the face but doesn't contribute to breakouts for me so i'm i'll keep it in te rotation as needed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* incognito on 3/10/2011 1:48:00 AM more reviews by incognito

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

The product itself didn't seem to do anything for me, though it felt soothing enough. The worst part was the smell - not like any lavender-scented product I've ever tried before, and definitely not like the actual herb. The closest thing that comes to mind in terms of comparing the smell is bathroom cleaner. My SO hated the smell (and he's usually neutral about those kinds of things) and since I was using this at night before bed, it was kind of the last nail in the coffin. Edited to add (July 2012): I bought the new, unscented alcohol-free version of this and I LOVE it!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Thayers products

More Toners products