Thayers • thayers lavender acohol free toner with vitamin e • Toners

rated 3.8(33 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 daisyismydog on 12/13/2014 4:54:00 PM more reviews by daisyismydog

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

A relative adores this product and bought everyone bottles of this. After cleansing, I saturate a cotton pad with this and wipe it across my face. I think it does a good job of getting any residual dirt that my cleanser may have missed off my face, but after going through a bottle and a half (my mom gave me her half-used bottle) it doesn't seem to have made a difference in my skin. Sure, now I know it happens to be a bit cleaner which is always nice, but I was hoping for less breakouts and less redness. I don't find the scent to be particularly pleasant, but it doesn't linger so you only smell it during application.

Overall, I'm glad I got the chance to try it and it's better than some other (drying) toners that I've used, but it's not something I'll personally be purchasing or recommending in the future.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 prettymarsh on 10/20/2014 1:03:00 AM more reviews by prettymarsh

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I used Thayer's rose toner for a year and loved it. When I ran out, I thought I'd try a different scent and went with the lavender. It's not a bad toner, but I find it a little drying compared to the rose. What I really don't care for is the scent. I love the smell of lavender, but this doesn't smell like it to me. More like baby powder, or old perfume. Disappointing. I will be returning to the rose version. It's gentler anyway.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kalya on 9/23/2014 3:04:00 PM more reviews by Kalya

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was so hoping this would suit my skin. Unfortunately not and citric acid is the culprit, i believe. This caused medium-size bumps on the t-zone mostly and also caused that area to become very oily with enlarged pores! For the rest o the face area, it didn't do anything good.
I think I may be allergic to the citric acid or the scent in this toner.
Also it is quite expensive and much of the product leaks out of the badly designed bottle.

I think in general, toners are overrated for sensitive skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lecitroen on 7/24/2013 12:22:00 PM more reviews by Lecitroen

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I received this as a gift a few months ago. At the time I was desperately trying to fix my weird combo skin. My old acne scars were always being irritated, giving me a blotchy appearance. Not to mention I still had to worry about acne(ie. cystic, all kinds). So I added the toner to the rotation and found no benefit.

Fast forward a month later, I am using Now Foods Vitamin C and Manuka Honey Gel Cleanser. At night I use La Roche Posay Effaclar Duo(UK version) directly on new acne(not all over my face). I was getting some dryness from LRP Effaclar Duo and decided to give the Thayers Lavender Toner another chance. Somehow it all clicked, because it's been smooth sailing ever since! No more peely, blotchy, annoying skin that I always thought was too sensitive to fix. No breakouts either. I don't feel the need to wear foundation anymore if I'm at home. When I do wear foundation, makeup looks much better and my skin looks more radiant.

This is how I use the toner daily:

A.M:

-Exfoliate face with a gentle scrub(or a hot cloth). I use a scrub with Papaya and Licorice. The fruit acids are a gentle alternative to AHA's and BHA's. I scrub it very gently, as I don't want to scratch my skin.

-Wash face with cleanser. I would recommend something very simple, not loaded with SLS or alcohol. The Now Foods cleanser is perfect for me.

-Saturate a cotton pad(don't be stingy) with Thayer's Toner and swipe it all over the face, neck, and even eyelids.

-Apply face cream with SPF if out in the sun.

P.M.

-Double Cleanse with cleanser if I have worn makeup, otherwise just cleanse once.

-Saturate a cotton pad with Thayer's Toner and swipe it all over the face, neck, and even eyelids.

-Apply a tiny amount of LRP Effaclar Duo(UK version) to acne only.

I haven't had the need to use a night cream but I am on the lookout for one that won't ruin my current routine. As for the scent, I have no problem with it. It smells pleasant.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 princesssaras on 8/4/2012 1:02:00 AM more reviews by princesssaras

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This works well, is gentle and doesn't make you break out, but I prefer the rose one, I'm not a huge fan of this scent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 francescalam on 5/19/2012 12:06:00 PM more reviews by francescalam

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love love the smell of this product. I use it as a toner most of the time. When I feel that my skin is too dry or irritated during the day, I would moist a cotton pad with it and put the pad onto my face. It also work for tightening my pores around the nose before putting on makeup.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* heathermrm on 4/30/2012 8:59:00 PM more reviews by heathermrm

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE this version in Rose Petal. I like to switch things up sometimes (read - I get bored easily) and so, recently purchased this in the Lavender scent, brought it home, opened it up, took 1 whiff, closed it back up and immediately returned it the next day - this DOES NOT smell like lavender to me - smells like stale powder = ICK! Not going to stray again...unless I come across the lemon version...:)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sourclementine on 4/10/2012 11:29:00 PM more reviews by sourclementine

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

It works really well as a make up remover and also comes in handy when you have no time to wash your face. It makes my skin feel nice and soft, and most importantly doesn't break me out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BeFineFilipina on 3/17/2012 4:06:00 PM more reviews by BeFineFilipina

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I'm down to the last few drops of this...and overall have been very pleased. I actually like the scent. I used to be soooo put off by the scent of plain witch hazel that I almost didn't want to buy this, but Thayers does a good job of covering that scent up with the lavender. Love that it doesn't sting on my face at all. If I soak a cotton pad with this and squirt on some jojoba oil, it removes my eye makeup very well.

I have a full bottle of the rose version to try next. These toners are definitely HG status for me. I hope they don't change the packaging since it looks awesome on my sink.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dwenn1968 on 5/14/2011 9:58:00 AM more reviews by dwenn1968

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

So far, so good. The smell isn't a problem and I don't find it sticky. I was thinking of getting a BHA or AHA toner but after sampling a few I didn't see any major benefit. This toner is doing the trick at a cost I can afford.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Thayers products

More Toners products