Darphin • Purifying Balm • Treatments

rated 4.1(129 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cathykl on 1/21/2014 12:05:00 AM more reviews by cathykl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Used this several months ago, and I'd rate this a zero if I could. It's like smearing scented lard on your face, the only thing it "purified" was my wallet until I returned it after about a month or so.

Pros:
- Smells okay

Cons:
- dislike the jar packaging, bothers me despite the mini scoop/spoon (starts to smell off within months, and honestly it's in a jar so shouldn't even be kept for that long)
- the texture was unappealing - greasy, waxy and clogged my pores after 2 days
- aside from TTO, none of the ingredients are proven beneficial for blemishes (and even that is limited)
- inclusion of lavender oil which is cytotoxic and irritating

Ref: PubMed, Cell Prolif.
Cytotoxicity of lavender oil and its major components to human skin cells.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/15144499

"This study has demonstrated that lavender oil is cytotoxic to human skin cells in vitro (endothelial cells and fibroblasts) at a concentration of 0.25% (v/v) in all cell types tested (HMEC-1, HNDF and 153BR). The major components of the oil, linalyl acetate and linalool, were also assayed under similar conditions for their cytotoxicity. The activity of linalool reflected that of the whole oil, indicating that linalool may be the active component of lavender oil. Linalyl acetate cytotoxicity was higher than that of the oil itself, suggesting suppression of its activity by an unknown factor in the oil. Membrane damage is proposed as the possible mechanism of action."


I honestly can't say the last time I had a product make my skin look so bad in so little time - it was efficient in that sense - I'll give it that. My skin was dull, flaky, red, and clogged. Lovely. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 annicelestial on 12/2/2013 5:24:00 AM more reviews by annicelestial

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Small jar that works wonders.

First, it's pricey. Second, it's worth every cent.

I've been fighting with acne for the past 1 year, and decided to try this product after tons of researching. It comes in a waxy texture in a small jar.

I usually scrape it out using the back of my nails, half of my nails' amount each time, melt it in my palm and gently press on my face. When my face is getting the warmth I'll scrape another half of my nail's amount and melt with 2 of my fingers, dab on my face and start to massage. It smells heavenly, and my skin feels warm and relaxed after.

It diminishes and clears acne, but doesn't stop my face from breaking out. So this is more like a treatment for existing acne, excellent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AGinTO on 8/14/2013 5:19:00 PM more reviews by AGinTO

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I remember thinking "You want me to put oil and beeswax on my skin to clear up my acne?!?!?!?!?" when the sales girl showed me this item. After a month or so, I decided I had nothing to lose so I thought I'd try it out.

The scent, like all Darphin products, is heavenly. It is heavy on essential oils, so it has a beautiful aromatic scent. It comes with a tiny Darphin spoon, so I spoon a tiny bit (1/4 pea sized) and warm between my finger tips, then massage into my freshly cleansed/exfoliated skin. It feels oily and heavy, but it is a super-ingredient powerhouse!

By the morning, my skin is glowing, the redness diminished, the blemishes I WOULD have woken up with aren't there, and the blemishes that WERE there have been reduced!

The trick with this product when you are dealing with a particularly nasty breakout is to use it every night or every other night until you're cleared up. You REALLY have to listen to your skin. The essential oils in here are quite powerful and you could dry out your skin if you use it every night... I never use it more than 3 nights in a row.

Apply your eye cream first, you don't want the residue of this purifying balm on your fingers as you apply your eye treatment.

It is worth every penny...this jar lasts for-practically-ever. It stings when you have to fork out almost $100 for this tiny jar, but once you realize you'll have it for about 2 years, it's makes it a little easier to swallow :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mexpert on 6/20/2013 12:01:00 AM more reviews by mexpert

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Helps calm my acne! I put it on at night and wake up with calmer clearer skin!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Bellona on 6/8/2013 4:39:00 AM more reviews by Bellona

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I thought this would be the cure for my congested skin. Lately I don't know what the problem is, but I've got all these little bumps on my forehead, cheeks and chin?? They're not all whiteheads or blackheads, but just bumps. It's irritating and looks gross :( Since I'm a fan of the Darphin Camomille oil and this ranked so high on MUA I thought I'd give it a go. The SA told me to use it every night for 7 days, and then when needed. At first nothing really happened, it calmed my skin and felt amazing, but I still had bumps. By night 5 I wasn't seeing results. So I tried to return it, and the Darphin rep was there, she looked at my skin and suggested I exfoliate first. I did that night and voila! AMAZING! It's like the balm wasn't penetrating through my skin? Anyways, I never returned it and have been using it weekly since, once in the evening after exfoliating.
Pros:
- calmed my redness
- non-irritating to my sensitive skin
- reduced irritation and didn't cause further clogs
Cons:
- poor packaging, you're only supposed to use a "grain of rice" amount and it's hard to get that out of the pot, I used a q-tip, but still felt like it wasted a bit
- very expensive for the small amount you get
Overall I wouldn't repurchase. It does nothing for my comedone problem. I started using aha and salicylic acid and my skin cleared up much faster than using this. It's a nice "luxury" product, but definitely not a necessity for me. At that price, and given the poor packaging, I'd rather treat myself to a facial or IPL for my redness.


2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lucinda101 on 5/17/2013 6:16:00 AM more reviews by Lucinda101

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love this product, I have been using it once a week (twice if a have a breakout) for the 2 months and really think it's helping. I only need to use a tiny amount in the evening and don't need to use a moisturiser over it. I wouldn't say the results have been miraculous but over night any spots are less red and angry, my skin looks calmed and clearer and over time I seem to be getting fewer blocked pores. I also love the citrusy smell and the pretty glass jar it comes in.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 katsubrtova on 5/4/2013 4:36:00 AM more reviews by katsubrtova

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Ok, this is so freaking expensive!

Luckilly I got as a present, my bank account didn't suffer that much and I have to be raved about this product with no remorses.:)

Pros:
evens out your skintone
helps healing scars and spots
doesn't break me out
calms the skin
takes away the redness
and actually fond of the grease texture
little spots almost fade overnight
the "picked" ones don't get inflammed
the package is small and elegant, but it takes a long time to finish it

Cons:
doesn't hydrate much
the package is quite unhygienic
the price is really high

A final remark: This thing doesn't fix your skin overnight, but it really improves it. Can't wait what my skin will look like after few moths of using it. :)
Ideal for skin with combination or acne-prone skin with smaller imperfection, but I think (and read it on two beauty blogs) it won't heal major imperfections like big bumps, underskin acne, cystic acne or extremely inflammated pimples.

So she who saves to money for it, run for it! :)
ยจ
EDIT: This thing did work as I said, but because of its horribly unhygienic packaging it's got somehow dirty and the texture has changed due to the bacteria brought there on my fingers (it happens if you keep your hands extra clean). So I'm really sorry to throw away something that cost such a big sum of money.

Also it seemed to be a little bit poreclogging after all...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* silviabeloved on 7/3/2012 8:41:00 AM more reviews by silviabeloved

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This didn't work for me at all, it just sat on top of my skin and made it much worse. I am so glad that nightmare is over.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 darlingest on 6/26/2012 10:34:00 AM more reviews by darlingest

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

While this is not the most miraculous product on the planet, I love it. It really does purify the skin, but more than that, it does it all without stripping it. I use this every other night after exfoliating and (after melting it on my finger tips) I massage it into my skin. In the morning I wake up with occasional pimples downsized, pores clear, and (most exciting) skin soft!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 alwayysbluee on 6/13/2012 12:32:00 AM more reviews by alwayysbluee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I got a small sample of this and so far it has been amazing. The smell is a little strong, but it doesn't bug me since I actually like the smell! I might actually ditch out the money for the full size product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Darphin products

More Treatments products