Sally Hansen Double Duty Base & Top Coat

3.7

181 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Butyl Acetate, Ethyl Acetate, Nitrocellulose, Adipic Acid/Neopentyl Glycol Copolymer, Trimethyl Pentanyl Diisobutyrate, SD Alcohol 3-A, Isopropyl Alcohol, Water, Etocrylene, Benzophenone-1, Panthenol, Nylon-12, Violet 2.


on 2/4/2015 8:09:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is better used as a clear coat to make nails shiny and keep them protected. It does not serve well as either a base coat or top coat unless in a pinch as I find my manicures chip way too quickly with this. Price is ok for a double duty base/top coat but I won't likely repurchase.



on 2/3/2015 2:36:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I like this as a cheap alternative to OPI... It does it's job. Probably a bit better as a base coat but it does make your nails super shiny and chip free for a good while! It takes longer to dry over nail polish versus a natural, no polish no obviously. I would highly recommend. This Double Duty Base/Top Coat has lasted me quite some time. The brush is great. Must have.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I just bought this top coat last night at Walmart, not sure how much it was but I applied it and in just a few mins it's dry!.


on 11/22/2014 5:46:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

One of the worst topcoat i have ever tried! After 2 hours it still soft and not completly dry! I payed it 8€.. But this isn't an excuse for its terrible work! Bad bad


on 11/21/2014 3:38:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Overall I really like this product as an alternative to the OPI Base/Top coat which Ive been using for years.

I like the shape of the bottle - its much easier to handle than a big round bottle. Also, I like how long & slender the brush is. It goes into the bottle without dripping down the sides & because its so long, the brush loads plenty of product so you dont have to keep dunking.

As a base coat it works very well & dries fast. Whether using dark reds or pale colours, it protects the nail from colour transfer which is what its meant to do.
As a top coat - I find it takes a little longer to dry than the OPI however its super shiny and keeps your nails protected & chip free for days.

Highly recommend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/4/2014 9:08:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have used this as a base coat and top coat with a variety of nail polishes from OPI, SinfulColors and WnW Meglast polishes.

This base coat did a decent job in protecting my nails from staining. My nails also felt stronger after several weeks of using this (through 4-5 diff manis). As a top coat, this product isn't great. While it gave my manis a glossy finish, I noticed that my the color polish took longer to dry and was not much more chip-resistant compared to not using a topcoat.

The consistency if this base coat started getting thickening after 5 weeks of opening the bottle. I used a drop of OPI nail lacquer which seems to have brought it back to life... For now.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I love this as a base and top coat. I've tried many top coats, including Seche Vite, and my nails always chip within a day. I've now had 4 days without chips with this product and still going strong. It doesn't look as smooth and shiny as a top coat like Seche Vite, but the long wear is far more worth it to me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/27/2014 10:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Black

Product does not work as it promises to. As a base coat, it comes off way too easily even with or without nail polish. As a top coat it dries way too slow & does not give the subtle shine as other sally hansen products. A waste of money.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/17/2014 11:00:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this because it works as both a base and top coat. As many others have mentioned, it dries VERY slowly. This is a superb base coat and a good top coat. It does prevent my nail polish from chipping as fast, but it's a pain as to how slow it dries as a top coat, which makes it easy to ruin your manicure. Next time, I'm going to try Sally Hansen's Diamond top/base coat because I hear that it dries a lot quicker. The price was great though, and I would say this is decent but would warn friends against the headache they are in store ahead. I would not buy this product again because I already have another product in mind for the future.


on 6/2/2014 5:48:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Useless top coat that dries in wrinkles over polish. My first application from a new bottle of this was as a top coat to an Essie nail polish that I had applied several hours prior and which was fully dry. After applying this product, the nail polish became like PUTTY on my nail. I could literally push it around on my nail. Three hours later it was still getting scratches in it whenever I brushed past something. This product ruined a manicure that I had put a lot of time into. Perhaps it works better if you apply it to a nail polish that hasn't fully dried, but as far as I am concerned that is far too fussy.




Back to Top