Sally Hansen • Double Duty Base & Top Coat • Top/Base Coats

rated 3.7(174 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Sooee on 7/17/2014 11:00:00 AM more reviews by Sooee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this because it works as both a base and top coat. As many others have mentioned, it dries VERY slowly. This is a superb base coat and a good top coat. It does prevent my nail polish from chipping as fast, but it's a pain as to how slow it dries as a top coat, which makes it easy to ruin your manicure. Next time, I'm going to try Sally Hansen's Diamond top/base coat because I hear that it dries a lot quicker. The price was great though, and I would say this is decent but would warn friends against the headache they are in store ahead. I would not buy this product again because I already have another product in mind for the future.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ap2697 on 6/2/2014 5:48:00 AM more reviews by ap2697

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Useless top coat that dries in wrinkles over polish. My first application from a new bottle of this was as a top coat to an Essie nail polish that I had applied several hours prior and which was fully dry. After applying this product, the nail polish became like PUTTY on my nail. I could literally push it around on my nail. Three hours later it was still getting scratches in it whenever I brushed past something. This product ruined a manicure that I had put a lot of time into. Perhaps it works better if you apply it to a nail polish that hasn't fully dried, but as far as I am concerned that is far too fussy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 paperdoll66 on 6/2/2014 1:11:00 AM more reviews by paperdoll66

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of my go-to base coats. I have very weak nails, and I can see a definite difference from using this product. Like any base coat, it doesn't work perfectly with every brand of polish, but I always get at least five days of wear. Many polishes can last weeks.

When it does chip, it frequently happens so that the polish on the entire nail will come off all at once, usually when my nails are submerged in water. This doesn't bother me, personally. I find it more convenient to repaint an entire nail rather than try to repair a chip. Usually, it happens when I am already considering removing the polish anyway.

I do not use it as a top coat. It dries really slowly. Before I started using it only as a base coat, I ruined a lot of manicures thinking it was dry. It's decently shiny when new, but it gets less and less shiny as the product is used up. It also takes longer to completely dry. I generally do not use up an entire bottle before moving on to a new one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Olivia891 on 3/25/2014 11:15:00 PM more reviews by Olivia891

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I've gotten this a few times..it works fine but fine isn't good enough when you devote time and work hard on your mani. I've used it only a few times as a top coat and remember it not being very shiny, so I mostly use it as a base and while prevent chipping fairly well after about 4 days it starts to shrink at the base of your nails and the edges slightly lift up. This is annoying especially when hair gets caught underneath and it just weird looking overall. In addition once it's started chipping away you can usually peel it off in one go..I guess that could be good or bad depending on whether you've got nail polish remover around or not.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Nagaika on 3/17/2014 7:07:00 AM more reviews by Nagaika

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I've probably bought it 10 or 20 times already and I will always buy it. This is a dream come true. Since I've tried it, my nails went to a totally new level of perfection))

It dries quickly when the bottle is relatively new, it distributes evenly, it is so super shiny, plays on the sun perfectly, stays for long time. I can use it as a transparent cover to reinforce my nails, I can use it to give it some glow. I always use it before the polish to even the surface of the nail, I also always use it after polish to make it stay longer. If you refresh it from time to time it can literary stay on the nails for 1-2 weeks easily.

Another thing I do. If I made my nails just before I went to bed and they look awful in the morning, as they have these wrinkles and stuff, I just put one layer of Double Duty on top of it and it looks great, it sort of keeps the color, but corrects the texture.

100% of my friends can't imagine their life without it after they tried it following my recommendation or on their own.

This is by all means THE BEST product for nails (maybe the very best girly product ever) I've ever tried in my life.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Livinginhope on 2/28/2014 9:45:00 AM more reviews by Livinginhope

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm impressed with this product. You don't have to faff around with base coat and top coat on your nails as this does both. My nail varnish still looks great after 3 days of wear. It dries quickly as well so I'll definitely be using this product again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Lee999 on 2/11/2014 3:15:00 PM more reviews by Lee999

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Absolutely useless.

I've been through half the bottle, and I've tried it with many different brands of polish AND top coats--sadly, this product hasn't made a single bit of difference. My nail polish almost always chips (and often peels off altogether) the same day.

This might be the only product I paid money for that I won't even force myself to use up. What would be the point?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 innese on 12/23/2013 4:14:00 PM more reviews by innese

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

It's too thick as a base coat, doesn't help nail polish stick to the nail surface at all, if anything, it helps it separate from the nail faster. It's a decent top coat but nothing special.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Cosmiclover on 12/15/2013 11:15:00 AM more reviews by Cosmiclover

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This product works well, as a base and a top coat. Like all Sally Hansen strengthening polishes, it becomes quite thick as you get further down the bottle but it has never caused me any trouble due to the cheap price. My nails are brittle but with this as a base coat under my nail polish my nails do seem less likely to break. As a top coat, I have had a few chips but I'm partial to picking my nail polish off during the day. Overall I am very pleased this product, Sally Hansen products never fail to let me down.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 aznflower101 on 12/9/2013 1:23:00 AM more reviews by aznflower101

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

It works well at first when it isn't so thick. I find with it that my nail polish doesn't dry completely for a whole day so it just ruins my new polish.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sally Hansen products

More Top/Base Coats products