Mario Badescu AHA and Ceramide Moisturizer

3.6

36 reviews

61% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Two and a half weeks ago I got a sample of this cream, and I have been using it for 2 weeks in combination with the Lush Full of Grace serum and the First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Cream. After starting using tretinoin cream, my face has been very dry / flaky and in need of ultra hydration to combat the flakiness of my skin. I admit that this combination has worked wonders for my skin. It looks matte, not shiny, after using this combination, and no more dry patches of skin. The AHA and Ceramide moisturizer is silky, light, and you need very little. I just dab a bit on my nose, checks, forehead, and chin and then that is enough to smooth over my face and neck. I recently also tried the MB seaweed night cream and this made my skin break out! It is odd how you can like some products of a brand but not all. Anyway, after not using the seaweed cream, it looks like my skin is going back to normal. I am still getting some pimples, but I understand I would expect to see some flare-ups from the tretinoin cream. I am waiting, but so far I am happy with the moisturizer! If necessary, I will update this review!



on 1/17/2015 10:47:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have fairly dry skin that can easily look dull. This moisturizer works well with my skin and keeps it looking glowy. Great consistency that soaks in quickly but leaves a nice hydration behind. Sometimes if I need more moisture i can use this with other products. Wears well under makeup as well.


on 12/27/2014 7:13:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have good skin except for some dry patches and hyper pigmentation on my forehead. I purchased this moisturiser to combat both problems. This is my third day using it and it has made my skin so dewy and glowy already! I recommend using this at night as I heard that AHA may lead to tanning under direct sunlight due to its exfoliating properties. Furthermore, the product seems to be a little richer than the daytime moisturiser I use. I will give another update after six weeks (that is apparently when the effects of AHA are at its peak). I purchased this for $30 from Luxola due to a 40% discount. It's more expensive than most of my skincare products but I'm migrating to higher-end products to see if there's a substantial difference, so the price is not so bad for me.


on 6/26/2014 12:52:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Other, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Blue

I break out quite easily if I don't follow a strict skincare routine with products I have found to work after years of searching. My rescue was md formulations, and I used the fantastic Moisture Defense Antioxidant Lotion for a few years, but it's really expensive (and also, they're discontinuing the entire md formulations line in Europe...), so I tried this one, hoping for the best. I'm glad I did. This is one of few moisturizers that don't upset my skin. It FEELS great on my skin instantly, and that's usually very telling in my case. I'm glad it doesn't contain SPF, because my skin doesn't handle it very well, only if I put it on top on something else.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/29/2014 2:27:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I received a sample of this with a recent Nordstrom order and am a fan. I've been using it for the last couple days and I think it may replace my DDF oil-free moisturing dew as my favorite daytime moisturizer. It hydrates my skin, is lightweight, and wears well under makeup. It's unscented and fairly priced at $20.00. I think it makes my skin look glowier, too.


on 2/16/2014 7:58:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this moisturizer. It's basic, inexpensive, and really good quality. Before I started using this as my daytime moisturizer, I was primarily using the much more expensive Sunday Riley Skin Adrenaline. I prefer this one, and I'm not one to balk at paying for a good product.

When I first started using it, my skin was mildly reactive. Tiny little red spots, no scarring. But to be honest, I am not sure if it was due to this product or because I'd just returned from a long vacation where I was not using my regular routing and was exfoliating less. Either way, the reaction was very mild and very short.

I love the way that this makes my skin glow. Wears beautifully and somewhat dewy, so this is what some may be referring to as oiliness. This quality is something I look for, though. I also have noticed that it's done a great job of minimizing some fine lines.

Overall, a winner. Great price, simple, love the basic packaging, does what it claims to do and makes me feel beautiful. I gave this four stars, and for five stars it basically would have to sing me to sleep at night.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/3/2013 8:30:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I received this product as a sample and used it for about 3 days with my regular skincare routine. The sample was a pretty fair size which was nice, but the product made my skin very oily! I have oily skin as it is so I definitely did not want additional oil. I did like that it was a very light moisturizer. I'm not sure what my problem is with it, but under my makeup it became oily. May work better without makeup on but I am now out of the product so still contemplating on purchasing the bigger one.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I rotate this with my Revive Moisture Renewal Cream and it has become a great companion. I use it only at night and the next morning my skin feels and looks refreshed. No cystic acne...no breaking out of any kind from using this so I envision myself investing on this for a second time around. Love it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/8/2013 10:58:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I actually really liked everything about this- the packaging is easy to deal with and the product feels good on my skin. But every single time I use it, I break out horribly! I have combo skin, and very susceptible to cystic and hormonal outbreaks but with a few other MB products (orange face wash, glycolic face wash, oil free moisturizer, along with a few others) has kept it ( mostly) from breaking out too bad. But this lotion makes my skin so bad every time unfortunately. Every time my face settles down, I try to use it again, and then it goes crazy!!!


on 4/6/2013 6:43:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Love this! I use it day and night, and it leaves my skin velvety soft, really nice to touch, a dream to put make-up over, and since I've been using it, I've seen a massive difference with hardly any new spots, and old scars fading quickly. This might have something to do with using the MB Healing Cream on top of it at night. I'm not taking any risks though, and will be sticking to this routine religiously, because my skin is suddenly clearer than it has been in years.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top