Mario Badescu • AHA and Ceramide Moisturizer • Moisturizers

rated 3.6(31 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 nlarace on 2/16/2014 7:58:00 PM more reviews by nlarace

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I love this moisturizer. It's basic, inexpensive, and really good quality. Before I started using this as my daytime moisturizer, I was primarily using the much more expensive Sunday Riley Skin Adrenaline. I prefer this one, and I'm not one to balk at paying for a good product.

When I first started using it, my skin was mildly reactive. Tiny little red spots, no scarring. But to be honest, I am not sure if it was due to this product or because I'd just returned from a long vacation where I was not using my regular routing and was exfoliating less. Either way, the reaction was very mild and very short.

I love the way that this makes my skin glow. Wears beautifully and somewhat dewy, so this is what some may be referring to as oiliness. This quality is something I look for, though. I also have noticed that it's done a great job of minimizing some fine lines.

Overall, a winner. Great price, simple, love the basic packaging, does what it claims to do and makes me feel beautiful. I gave this four stars, and for five stars it basically would have to sing me to sleep at night.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 breanna94 on 11/3/2013 8:30:00 AM more reviews by breanna94

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I received this product as a sample and used it for about 3 days with my regular skincare routine. The sample was a pretty fair size which was nice, but the product made my skin very oily! I have oily skin as it is so I definitely did not want additional oil. I did like that it was a very light moisturizer. I'm not sure what my problem is with it, but under my makeup it became oily. May work better without makeup on but I am now out of the product so still contemplating on purchasing the bigger one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beautyjunkie2012 on 8/14/2013 12:32:00 AM more reviews by beautyjunkie2012

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I rotate this with my Revive Moisture Renewal Cream and it has become a great companion. I use it only at night and the next morning my skin feels and looks refreshed. No cystic acne...no breaking out of any kind from using this so I envision myself investing on this for a second time around. Love it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Fusselje on 4/8/2013 10:58:00 PM more reviews by Fusselje

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I actually really liked everything about this- the packaging is easy to deal with and the product feels good on my skin. But every single time I use it, I break out horribly! I have combo skin, and very susceptible to cystic and hormonal outbreaks but with a few other MB products (orange face wash, glycolic face wash, oil free moisturizer, along with a few others) has kept it ( mostly) from breaking out too bad. But this lotion makes my skin so bad every time unfortunately. Every time my face settles down, I try to use it again, and then it goes crazy!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 susieglass on 4/6/2013 6:43:00 AM more reviews by susieglass

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Love this! I use it day and night, and it leaves my skin velvety soft, really nice to touch, a dream to put make-up over, and since I've been using it, I've seen a massive difference with hardly any new spots, and old scars fading quickly. This might have something to do with using the MB Healing Cream on top of it at night. I'm not taking any risks though, and will be sticking to this routine religiously, because my skin is suddenly clearer than it has been in years.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 cindyto on 3/27/2013 4:54:00 PM more reviews by cindyto

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I used this because it was oil free and I have sensitive skin. It might be oil free but there is something in it that clogs the pores. I got several painful cysts. I am in my 50's and rarely breakout This was awful. Once I quite using it they went away.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 adelinewashere on 6/19/2012 11:14:00 PM more reviews by adelinewashere

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Had combination skin type of oily, abit of dry and sensitive skin. Brought this moisturizer few months ago and it started out good but after awhile, the effect was meh.

am not sure is it me or the product just didnt suit me. Find it pricey as i brought it at SGD $53 and this was rather quite a small bottle. would prefer a pump sort of bottle.

cant wait for my first bottle to use finish and start sourcing for other moisturizers!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kohlieee on 12/7/2011 10:48:00 PM more reviews by kohlieee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have had a great experience using this moisturizer. It's richer than the MB's other oil-free moisturizers, but it's not nearly as greasy as some of the oil based ones. It's the perfect oil-free lotion to use with my acne balancing skin care regimen. For my combination skin, I use this in conjunction with the seaweed soap (alternated with the glycolic cleanser), the seaweed toner (alternated with special cucumber every other night), the herbal hydrating serum, the seaweed night cream, the rolling cream peel, and a slough of Mario's acne products. As soon as I smooth this on, my skin feels like satin. This also works beautifully under my makeup. I never feel dry or tight, and after almost a month of using it, I've yet to break out. Along with the other products I'm using, my skin is balanced and glowing. Thanks MB!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Angeldoll on 3/19/2011 9:40:00 PM more reviews by Angeldoll

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Left my skin smooth, moisturized and glowing! Didnt clog or irritate my very acne prone, sensitive and combo skin.

Will update in 2 weeks:

UPDATE: 3 months later and im still using this everyday(mornings and some evenings), it has become my staple and HG moisturizer. It leaves me moisturized, dewey, and doesnt clog my pores. Very happy!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jessical5183 on 10/11/2010 10:23:00 PM more reviews by jessical5183

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I_LOVE_THIS_PRODUCT.

I credit the clearing of my acne in large part to this moisturizer. I tried it on a whim - I was desperate to find something that would help with my unforgiving breakouts. This stuff is SO amazing for getting into the pores and combating acne causes. It also keeps my skin amazingly smooth. I just love it. I can't say enough good things about it. It NEVER broke me out, worked wonderfully under makeup, is so soft, and it absorbs quickly into the skin. You can feel it working to slough off the dead skin and keep your face glowing.

I don't want to describe it as a lotion, or a cream. It's in the middle somewhere.....it has more of a gel texture. It's light, yet silky...kinda thick, but NOT thick. It's hard to describe. It's just a rich, very pleasant texture. Not sticky, not at all oily. And I am sooooo picky about what I put on my acne battlefield. This stuff is just awesome. I love, love, love it and recommend that anyone with acne give it a try for 2-3 weeks, really give it a chance, and you'll slowly notice day by day that this is working for you even hours after you apply it. Your skin will start to look smoother, healthier, it will start to glow more, your makeup will go on better, etc. I've bought bottles both for my younger sister (also an acne sufferer) and my mom and they both love it. Great product, definitely worth at least a try. Ulta carries this line, so try it out and if you don't like it, bring it back!

I can't say whether this works alone for acne. I used several Mario Badescu products to fight my acne - the Enzyme Cleanser, Silver Powder, Alpha-Grapefruit Cleansing Lotion....all together. I've since stopped using everything as often as I used to, because my acne is all but gone. I get the occasional breakout here and there, but I feel like I've finally got "normal" skin. I still use the Enzyme Cleanser to clean off my makeup though.

But I recommend this to anyone, especially acne sufferers who've tried sulfur, salicylic acid, benzoyl peroxide, etc with no luck. I always have a bottle of it handy in my cabinet for when my skin gets unruly, and it seems to rebalance everything again. Amazing stuff.

Don't consider this a full moisturizer, because it's not heavy. It is NOT a good option for people who need heavier moisture to combat dry skin. This is on the lighter side. Great for daily use, great under makeup.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Mario Badescu products

More Moisturizers products