Serious Skin Care Glycolic Cleanser

4.0

135 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients: Water, Chamomile Extract, Ammonium Lauryl Sulfate, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Glycolic Acid, Propylene Glycol, Glycerin, Glycol Stearate, Glyceryl Stearate, Aloe Vera Gel, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Tetrasodium EDTA, Sodium Hydroxide, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Diazolidinyl Urea. 5/20/09


on 6/20/2015 6:24:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Ok, get ready? Here I go? SHOT GUN! BOOM-Taking off.....Well, I absolutely love this cleanser. I do truly. :) It's been my go to cleanser since I started using almost 20 years ago. Yes, I started using it when Lesa Stock the mother of the daughter, Cecilia Stock, (AKA CeCe. who does the clinical trial's on the ladies on HSN), used to the head lady, the owner, the FOUNDER, and co-sat and showed us the product's on test subject women, and gave great info. of skin and what the product's do and most importantly, why?,(what CeCe & Jen. do combined now but really not as good as momma did back then), while Jennifer Flavin-Stallone sell's product's,(back to this later). Back to cleanser review-The texture is tacky and smooth at the same time w/a bit of opaqueness to it's milky color. The smell is a bit off putting, it's a plastic-chemical smell but like all those desperate people in the world when you have problem skin you eventually,(after trying everything you can afford), hit rock bottom when it come's to no longer falling for pretty packages and perfumed, expensive dreamed skin cream's that actually do nothing but make your skin look much, much, much worse...UGH! So, what do we do......go to anything that might look to actually solve the problem. That is where I was back in the mid-90's. Then I see HSN and Serious Skin Care and watch with great interest...see the before and after's really want to order but don't for about 1 year,(stupid), but until visiting a friend in Canada who had the cleanser and I tried it...OMG! I fell in love. Ordered the original acne 5 piece kit with the Cleanser, clarifying gel, buffing scrub, moisture gel and some other treatment that I can't remember as they don't sell these anymore as they have combined them into all into a 3 piece kit,(which are not even close to as good as the old 4-5 piece). I really, wish they sold the old kit...those glycolic gel's and scrub made acne + scarred skin beautifully smooth and soft and clear. To this day it is still the best stuff ever used.(Please bring it back SSC for others). Ok, sorry, I-Alice fell down the hole of skincare love memories and didn't want to come back to product reality, sigh......ok...so the cleanser....you can apply it to dry or wet skin and it takes a small amount and don't look for foam or as Don Ho would sing "Tiny Bubbles", with this, they won't come...it's spread's over the skin a little globby at first, but once you start cleansing in a circular motion it smooth's out and you feel it glide over the skin nicely especially once it's mixed w/water ;) and if you are brave enough,(or perhaps I should say, not sensitive in the eye area and you have a bit of glycolic acid tolerance), you can use this on your eye...which I do and it takes off eye makeup up...but I'm not sensitive in the eye's,(except to Chanel mascara's for some reason...Chanel and my eye's don't get along), it will not take off waterproof mascara but does quite a good job of other eye un-waterproofed products. I do 2 cleanses if makeup is applied and use a washcloth etc. is good idea for first cleanse. I at first did feel a bit of bite/sting but quickly got used to it. This leave's your skin silky soft and smooth and help's take off dry skin also...hence, the smoothness, duh? :) I also recommend you use this as a mask. Put it on dry skin rub just the Glycolic cleanser on your face a bit liberally and sit back for 20-30 minutes then wash off....work's so good....extra, extra smooth, pinky, glowing skin. This is because glycolic acid really is mostly wasted in a cleanser unless you can let it set on the skin for at least 10-20 minutes,(depending of skin), as that it what it take's for the acidic good's to eat away at the junk in your skin. That said, I find that using glycolic for quick cleanse is still helpful to eat away at makeup and debris....let it set for a minute or two if you can, that will help a lot more. The smell is about the only thing you will need to adapt too. Now, back to the original day's when I first tried and bought this...when Lesa Stock was the owner. Side note: if anyone knows what happened to her and why she stepped down? Please write me and LMK...please! I read some article's year's ago and don't know if some things are true or just gossip and false. What is the real reason? Thanks! Ok, so back to then...as usual I always read the ingredient's first off no matter what and I remember when this was back in it's original 4 oz. bottle w/ the red SSC lettering and logo and came sold in a 2-4oz. bottle duo, aside from the 4-5piece kit. And the original cleanser did work much better than this repackaged "new" but not improved formula. The original formula did not have plain water as the first ingredient, it had infusion of chamomile . Which I'm guessing is what gave it it's old bit of brown tinge they must have removed to make it look more pleasing as stark WHITE. It had less ingredient's and concentrated better ingredients. It's not a HUGE difference but it's a big difference. Quality, product & price were better. Sadly, co.'s have to bite the corporate bullet and dance their dance to stay alive in business but I don't see why you can't make the original product's you started with that Mrs. Stallone used in those B&A photos, cause they were those, (not the 3-piece crap they sell now). This saddens me greatly since I trusted in the co. and product's originally. Then it became No, Lesa Stock, (founder), and lot's of product's pushed on us consumer's and spread out so you will buy 4 different kit's instead of 1. That's shameful. I know Jen. Stallone owns it now, has for a long while. So, I will say please, please go back to Lesa's formulas. Thanks. Now...I leave you with this is still a great cleanser and still one of the best out there...it's a staple of mine still after almost 20 years w/now aged skin and no acne. :) Helpful? Hoping?

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 4/13/2015 11:23:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

This is an ok cleanser. I got it at the HSN store. in Tampa with the Vit C serum, microdermabrasion set. I have normal/oily skin and if I use this daily it dries out my skin but leaves my nose still oily. My skin doesn't appear any smoother after 3 weeks either.


on 2/5/2015 8:33:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This was my HG face cleanser for years. Well over a decade of regular use. It kept my skin clear and I think it helped keep my skin looking youthful. However, the last few years my skin has become more and more dehydrated and I couldn't figure out the cause. It looked tight and dry but I knew there was oil under the surface. I read an article about dehydrated skin and one of the causes was cleansers that strip the skin. I decided to find out of this product was the culprit. Sure enough, my skin changed literally overnight. I used CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser to take off my makeup before bed and I noticed right away that my skin was softer. By morning it was even better. I was afraid I'd have some breakouts from switching but I haven't. I have much less redness now, too. My skin tone is much more even. The skin under my eyes is looking so much better, too. I'd suggest this for younger people who want to clear up their skin or anyone with oily skin. It does work very well if your skin can tolerate it.


on 1/13/2015 3:21:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I currently have a 12 oz. one in the shower and one on the bathroom sink. I just ordered another one from HSN a few days ago to have as backup. I really feel like my face is CLEAN after using it! You can a better price if it's in a kit than by itself.


on 12/6/2014 11:13:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I've been using this cleanser for years. It's the only cleanser that thoroughly cleans my skin, removing my makeup without drying my skin or breaking me out. Yeah, the smell is not great, but it's not bad either. It really just smells like a fragrance free product to me. I set this on autoship and wouldn't ever reconsider changing it.


on 10/2/2014 8:42:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

One of the best cleansers I have ever used. My skin feels clean and strangely refreshed. Will purchase again.


on 1/8/2014 11:28:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This cleanser is my HG!!! I've been using it for 5 months and my skin has NEVER been clearer. I generally use it as my AM cleanser but if my skin feels extra clogged, I'll use it at night and leave it on for a few minutes. I have oily, sensitive, acne prone skin and this has not irritated it. I do feel that my oiliness has decreased but that could also be that it's winter. I will definitely repurchase before I run out. I don't think it smells bad. The only downside is that it's super thick so it's hard to pump out.


on 12/6/2013 8:56:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

My skin is super dry; so I need to exfoliate a lot to keep the flakes away. I'm loving this! Doesn't feel dry. And the price is great

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/6/2013 7:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This cleanser is wayyyy to harsh for everyday use (for me at least). I used it for a week straight, and my skin became irritated and my acne just got worse. My skin is combination (oily in the T zone, and dry on my cheeks and jawline). The majority of my acne is hormonal and occurs on my jawline and chin, where it is relatively dry. This product is probably better for oily skin types. Another turn-off for me is the scent. It smells just like elmer's glue. If scents bother you, then I would not buy this. One last thing, if I put this product on my cheekbones, I would get a strange burning sensation in my eyes that would actually make me tear up. It only lasts a few seconds, but it is very unpleasant. I now use it as a once a week mask and am careful to not get it anywhere near my eye/cheekbone area. I leave it on for about 5-10 minutes, use a clarisonic to buff it off, and my skin feels really soft afterwards. It does help, I just feel you need to find the frequency of usage for you so it does not irritate the skin.


on 9/12/2013 2:27:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Black

This is by far my HOLY GRAIL cleanser. Nothing... nothing compares to this cleanser. I've gone into fancy department stores and tried samples of their cleansers, from philosophy to dior, and all have left my skin tight and dry after rinsing.

This is the only cleanser that does not leave my skin dry while exfoliating and keeping my skin clear. It is also the only face cleanser that can remove my mascara effortlessly. I have been using it for more than 10 years now. I will never be satisfied with anything else. Like with any new product try a sample or smaller size first.

Btw, a little truly goes a long way. When the mama figure of Serious Skin used to say that "a pea size amount is enough" ...she wasn't kidding. A face brush... even better.



3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top