Serious Skin Care Glycolic Cleanser

4.0

134 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients: Water, Chamomile Extract, Ammonium Lauryl Sulfate, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Glycolic Acid, Propylene Glycol, Glycerin, Glycol Stearate, Glyceryl Stearate, Aloe Vera Gel, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Tetrasodium EDTA, Sodium Hydroxide, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Diazolidinyl Urea. 5/20/09


on 4/13/2015 11:23:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

This is an ok cleanser. I got it at the HSN store. in Tampa with the Vit C serum, microdermabrasion set. I have normal/oily skin and if I use this daily it dries out my skin but leaves my nose still oily. My skin doesn't appear any smoother after 3 weeks either.



on 2/5/2015 8:33:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This was my HG face cleanser for years. Well over a decade of regular use. It kept my skin clear and I think it helped keep my skin looking youthful. However, the last few years my skin has become more and more dehydrated and I couldn't figure out the cause. It looked tight and dry but I knew there was oil under the surface. I read an article about dehydrated skin and one of the causes was cleansers that strip the skin. I decided to find out of this product was the culprit. Sure enough, my skin changed literally overnight. I used CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser to take off my makeup before bed and I noticed right away that my skin was softer. By morning it was even better. I was afraid I'd have some breakouts from switching but I haven't. I have much less redness now, too. My skin tone is much more even. The skin under my eyes is looking so much better, too. I'd suggest this for younger people who want to clear up their skin or anyone with oily skin. It does work very well if your skin can tolerate it.


on 1/13/2015 3:21:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I currently have a 12 oz. one in the shower and one on the bathroom sink. I just ordered another one from HSN a few days ago to have as backup. I really feel like my face is CLEAN after using it! You can a better price if it's in a kit than by itself.


on 12/6/2014 11:13:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I've been using this cleanser for years. It's the only cleanser that thoroughly cleans my skin, removing my makeup without drying my skin or breaking me out. Yeah, the smell is not great, but it's not bad either. It really just smells like a fragrance free product to me. I set this on autoship and wouldn't ever reconsider changing it.


on 10/2/2014 8:42:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

One of the best cleansers I have ever used. My skin feels clean and strangely refreshed. Will purchase again.


on 1/8/2014 11:28:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This cleanser is my HG!!! I've been using it for 5 months and my skin has NEVER been clearer. I generally use it as my AM cleanser but if my skin feels extra clogged, I'll use it at night and leave it on for a few minutes. I have oily, sensitive, acne prone skin and this has not irritated it. I do feel that my oiliness has decreased but that could also be that it's winter. I will definitely repurchase before I run out. I don't think it smells bad. The only downside is that it's super thick so it's hard to pump out.


on 12/6/2013 8:56:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

My skin is super dry; so I need to exfoliate a lot to keep the flakes away. I'm loving this! Doesn't feel dry. And the price is great

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/6/2013 7:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This cleanser is wayyyy to harsh for everyday use (for me at least). I used it for a week straight, and my skin became irritated and my acne just got worse. My skin is combination (oily in the T zone, and dry on my cheeks and jawline). The majority of my acne is hormonal and occurs on my jawline and chin, where it is relatively dry. This product is probably better for oily skin types. Another turn-off for me is the scent. It smells just like elmer's glue. If scents bother you, then I would not buy this. One last thing, if I put this product on my cheekbones, I would get a strange burning sensation in my eyes that would actually make me tear up. It only lasts a few seconds, but it is very unpleasant. I now use it as a once a week mask and am careful to not get it anywhere near my eye/cheekbone area. I leave it on for about 5-10 minutes, use a clarisonic to buff it off, and my skin feels really soft afterwards. It does help, I just feel you need to find the frequency of usage for you so it does not irritate the skin.


on 9/12/2013 2:27:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Black

This is by far my HOLY GRAIL cleanser. Nothing... nothing compares to this cleanser. I've gone into fancy department stores and tried samples of their cleansers, from philosophy to dior, and all have left my skin tight and dry after rinsing.

This is the only cleanser that does not leave my skin dry while exfoliating and keeping my skin clear. It is also the only face cleanser that can remove my mascara effortlessly. I have been using it for more than 10 years now. I will never be satisfied with anything else. Like with any new product try a sample or smaller size first.

Btw, a little truly goes a long way. When the mama figure of Serious Skin used to say that "a pea size amount is enough" ...she wasn't kidding. A face brush... even better.



3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/4/2012 2:48:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

DO NOT use this item. I am now in the process of correcting all the damaged caused by this product. It made my skin really sensitive to the sun where now I have hyperpigmention and get rashes on my face. I have never even burned with the sun. It also enlarged my pores and a few acne scars! I trashed all these items and some others almost $350 worth, and I used them for only a month! STAY AWAY!


Back to Top