Suave Daily Clarifying Shampoo

4.3

429 reviews

86% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Water (aqua), Ammonium Lauryl Sulfate, Ammonium Laureth Sulfate, Cocamide MEA, Ammonium Chloride, PEG 5 Cocamide, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Fragrance, Hydroxypropyl Methylcellulose, DMDM Hydantoin, Citric Acid, Dimethicone Copolyol, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone, Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E), Blue 1 (CI 42090), Red 33 (CI 17200), Violet 2 (CI 60730)


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have very thin fragile hair. This shampoo was a little too rough on my hair



on 1/16/2015 6:07:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This shampoo is excellent! Back in the day I used to use Suave 2 in 1 that came in the big greenish bottle. I was young and knew nothing about hair care. My mother would repurchase that shampoo constantly for me. Since becoming older I have severely strayed away from Sauve trying every shampoo out there from Aussie, to Redken, to even Shea Moisture! I loved the feeling of Sulfate Free low lathers on my scalp & although they make detangling my very thin, pin straight super long hair a breeze the build up that would happen over time would be too much. Just like my super clog-prone pores on my face, my scalp is so prone to build up that washing daily is a must to not have what looks like dandruff. Unless I do this my hair becomes so stringy & lifeless even with the best dry shampoo out there. Enter this stuff. Getting back to the basics of $1 shampoos vs me hoarding tons of different unfinished bottles of shampoo that probably equal the amount you would pay for higher end stuff. The liquid is clear & slightly tinted blue, unlike milky, foggy shampoos that would cause build up. It lathers super well but surprisingly leaves me feeling very soft & refreshed which makes me able to use this daily as it's claimed. Although it leaves me feeling very soft it clears out any build up from the day & leaves my hair so clean. The PH balance in this & deep cleansers make this my Holy Grail cure for oily hair! At $1 all you need is to go back to the basics & get something that will just simply clean, nothing fancy needed. At first I thought this $1 shampoo with sulfates would be so damaging & something I would use once & then toss in the trash but boy is it now a staple for me!


on 12/22/2014 12:21:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I recently threw away all 12 bottles of Pantene that was in my stockpile, and switched to Suave Clarifying Shampoo. (the Pantene made my scalp itchy and had a strong chemical odor) I tried various shampoos, the latest being Aussie Moist, which left the most disgusting scent in my hair and home, and I remembered using Suave Clarifying in the past, so when I went to the store to return the Aussie shampoo/conditioner that stinks so bad, I immediately purchased the Suave Clarifying Shampoo, along with the Rosemary Mint Conditioner. These two Suave products paired together leave my hair absolutely ahhhmazing! The Clarifying shampoo has a very simple clean fresh scent. Even for someone with allergies to scents, the clarifying shampoo is the best! My daughter has strong allergies and is very sensitive to strong scents, but she uses the Clarifying shampoo with no issues. There's no such thing as "unscented" because even "unscented" products have some type of scent. This shampoo is as good as it gets! It's hypoallergenic, what more could you want? I even have bottles of Biolage Shampoo/conditioner which I picked up because they lack parabens and sulfates yet it dries up my hair so much that I use the Suave Clarifying instead. I have been using this now for a month and it has not caused any drying yet, it's perfect for daily use!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/21/2014 6:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Before I give my official review, let me explain how I ended up discovering this. A couple months ago after my boyfriend and I had been dating a while, I finally slept over at his place. Not being prepared to do that, I hadn't brought anything like shampoo with me. However, I saw this in his shower and figured "why not?" And that was the start of my relationship with this shampoo!
I love, love LOVE the Suave Daily Clarifying Shampoo. It has a nice light scent, nothing too overwhelming. It distributes throughout wet hair super easy so a little goes a long way. And it makes my hair squeaky clean without over-drying it! It removes all product build-up, and left my hair oh-so-soft. I use this twice a week and it's just perfect.
Safe to say my boyfriend is never going to see his shampoo again.


on 12/16/2014 1:03:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This shampoo has been a lifesaver for my hair. I am used to using very expensive shampoos (Pureology, Enjoy, etc) and I have to say, this one is right up there with the best of them. My hair is thin and gets oily very easily. I was looking for a way to get rid of some greasy, waxy buildup and came across reviews for this product. Everyone seems to have good luck with it, so I gave it a try. After one use my hair was back to itís light, silky self. I now keep this one hand for whenever my hair becomes waxy (this seems to somehow be related to my hormones). For only a buck, itís hard to beat the price and quality of the Suave shampoo. I do have to mention, be careful if you use this daily as it will dry out your hair, so make sure to have a good conditioner on hand!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 10/19/2014 11:34:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is my go to clarifying shampoo for many years (since highschool in the early 90's)

It works like a charm to get rid of buildup on the hair or any products that are hard to get out of your hair (styling paste,glue,gel,etc)

I love how the scent is fresh & light....I have 3b naturally curly hair that is dyed s well and while this shampoo can be drying I always use a deep conditioner after using it.

A huge bottle for a $1.50 (at Walmart) is a major bargain and lasts!! I use this shampoo 1x a week or whenever I feel my hair needs it....always a 100% repurchase for me!


on 10/4/2014 7:12:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I was told to occasionally use a clarifying shampoo for my oily hair during the summer. I wasnít expecting much from this shampoo however, it was amazing. It leaves my hair and scalp so fresh and clean. I can feel it actually does get rid of any buildup from my hair products. I was afraid it would make my hair feel dry and limp but it doesnít it could be because I only use the shampoo I donít use the conditioner, I use my usual Garnier conditioner. It smell so fresh and clean. It can probably be used daily like it is advertised but I wouldnít feel comfortable using it daily. Overall this is great and I would repurchase especially because it is so inexpensive I bought it at target for less than $2. Almost forgot to mention I also use it on my makeup brushes. It's amazing for that as well

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/31/2014 3:32:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Does it's job well. Smells very clean and fresh no fake or childish scent to it. Safe for everyday or when needed.
Love everything about it. I think I will finally try the conditioner but I am wary as clarifying does not sound conditioning enough for my conditioning needs lol as far as this shampoo though it is a favorite

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/27/2014 3:19:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

My husband uses this shampoo daily. Always looking to save a little money, I picked this up instead of the Pantene version he had been using. He actually prefers this one over the Pantene. He works outdoors daily so his hair gets really dirty. This cleans without drying out his hair.

I only use a clarifying shampoo to remove product build-up about once a month for my dry, color-treated hair. It removes all residue but doesn't feel like it's stripping my hair. I follow it with my normal shampoo and as always, condition it well. We have repurchased this little gem many times & will continue to do so.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I have a lot of fine, brunette, oily hair and needed a clarifying shampoo to do just that: clarify. I do not use any hair products because of my previous (oily) trials with them. This shampoo works great and keeps its promises. I use it every 3-4 days because my hair is long andthe bottom half of it is usually too dry to be washed frequently. I struggle with an oily scalp, but as long as I don't style or touch the top of my hair, it stays
fresh with this shampoo and conditioner on the ends. It does not dry out my hair, probably because of its oily tendencies, and keeps it soft and shiny. The price is AMAZING and I have already bought a larger size of this to use when I'm finished my first bottle. It lathers well which allows me to use less of it than I usually would for a shampoo.
I have tried many sulfate-free products in hope that it would help with these dry dust-like particles I would find in my hair (not dandruff) but found this shampoo (and another sulfate-free shampoo from Just Bee Natural which was discontinued *cry*) was effective in helping with this. Overall, this is worth buying if you're looking for a truly clarifying shampoo :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top