Clinique • Liquid Facial Soap Extra Mild • Cleansers

rated 3.2(96 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Skinandjuice on 7/11/2014 8:38:00 PM more reviews by Skinandjuice

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this cleanser for my hormonal acne prone skin since 2011. In that time I have tried other cleansers (and still use proactiv's exfoliant, toner and lotion) but come back to this one for a number of reasons:
1.) it gets my skin SUPER clean w/o leaving residue or making it tight...I can see the ALL of the dirt on the washcloth and there's never dirt left on the cotton ball after toning
2.) it's fragrance-free and non-foaming, as strong fragrance and foaming agents can make me break out in little bumps resembling a heat rash after a while
3.) because of the oil content, it dissolves all (albeit very light) makeup I occasionally wear

NOTE ABOUT USE: because this is a lotion cleanser, it's not designed to foam. In fact, according to the bottle, it can be left on the skin and massaged in in lieu of rinsing off at all (think pond's cold cream). Therefore, if you have oily/combo/acne-prone skin it's most effective if you use it with a wash cloth on a DRY (or only slightly damp) face. Simply use one pump of the product on a damp cloth and wash your face as you normally would. Once you've cleaned your face, rinse the dirt and product from the cloth and your face. Finally, rinse your face one last time with the wet/damp cloth to wipe off any leftover cleanser.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Mbeaulieu603 on 6/5/2014 11:52:00 AM more reviews by Mbeaulieu603

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

You only need to use a small amount like one push of the pump and rub it between your palms. It won't lather so don't keep putting some on expecting it to. When applied I leave it about a minute on my skin and wash it off. This product stays on your skin no matter how much you rinse and leaves somewhat of a sticky residue, it's awful! But besides being hard to rinse and leaving residue I have seen improvement on my skin. It's helped with my dry flaky forehead to the point of leaving it smooth. I was thinking of bring it back but I'm willing on using the whole bottle before determining whether or not I want to buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 miafiona on 6/4/2014 7:53:00 PM more reviews by miafiona

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Absolutely terrible !!! Clinique I am super disappointed in you. What is this stuff? When your trying to get this stuff to clean your skin you get ZERO lather. This is far too much of a cream consistency to lather. Does absolutely nothing. I bought this due to having sensitive skin thinking it was the liquid. Perhaps I didn't look into it enough to realise that the mild and oily formulas are liquid which lathers good and the extra mild is a gooey cream that doesn't lather. This is just terrible . Major let down

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sciencegeek on 4/24/2014 12:13:00 PM more reviews by sciencegeek

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Gooey consistency, did not clean well, left a film on my skin, caused me to breakout. Extremely overpriced for what it is. The whole 3 step proved aggressive and irritating for me. Outdated. Thumbs down.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tinkerrbelle on 4/21/2014 3:04:00 AM more reviews by tinkerrbelle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is recommended by Paula's choice as a great option for sensitive or dry skin. But I found it stung my skin and left it feeling stripped and dry, and more even more sensitive for a few days, especially around the nose. I do like the City Block though, which she also recommends for sensitive skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 swim on 4/17/2014 1:28:00 AM more reviews by swim

Age: Unknown   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is fantastic. I had been using Purpose for years and just tried Cetaphil and while both were really good I wasn't sure it was really taking all of my makeup off and cleaning my skin. This product really cleans my sensitive, dry skin. I love the bottle! It is so pretty and will last a really long time!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 daisydaisys on 4/6/2014 5:14:00 PM more reviews by daisydaisys

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Too drying. Won't repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stellar on 3/31/2014 12:59:00 PM more reviews by stellar

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have been using this product for almost two months now and I really like it! For whatever reason, my skin became abnormally dry this fall and winter. I'm talking dry flakes everywhere. It was to the point where it was very embarrassing and I almost stopped wearing foundation/tinted moisturizer/BB cream completely because it only accentuated the dry patches and flakes. On a whim I decided to give Clinique skincare a try. I was about to change my mind when I saw that even the Mild cleanser contained sodium laureth sulfate (sulfates are a big no-no for me as I do have moderately sensitive skin as well), but the SA said there's also an Extra Mild version, which does not contain any sulfates and does have quite a few skin-friendly ingredients. It's also fragrance-free.


Just a quick rant... I don't understand why people are so surprised that it's more of a lotion consistency and that it doesn't lather. Read the ingredients, people! Become educated on skincare ingredients. It does not have a lathering agent in it. Typically, anything that lathers is potentially more drying and/or irritating to the skin. So if you truly have sensitive and/or dry skin, you *do not want lather*.


This cleanser feels so nice and soothing on the skin, and leaves my skin feeling hydrated and supple after. I can see how this might feel a little "oily" to someone who has oily skin, but if you truly have dry skin, it will feel like heaven. I only have two somewhat minor complaints about this product. The first is that although it does cleanse regular face makeup off pretty well, it hardly does anything at all for eye makeup. I wear mascara and eye liner daily, and after I'm done washing my face at night I look like a raccoon. I don't like to have to use a separate eye m/u remover, so that's kind of a bummer. At the same time though, you have to realize that this is an *extra mild* formula. So... that's pretty much to be expected. Also, I'm used to my previous face wash lasting about 3-4 months before I have to replace it, and it's looking like this bottle will last me about 2.5 months (I use two pumps each time and I use it twice a day), which isn't horrible by any means, but it also costs more than what I'm used to spending for face wash. However, I feel that having healthier skin is definitely worth the extra few dollars!


I definitely *would* repurchase this, but I think when this one runs out I'm going to try Philosophy 3-in-1 Cleansing Gel. I tried a sample of it before using the Clinique, and it removed all my makeup and didn't dry my face out. I only used it about 5 times though, so if it does start drying me out, I'll definitely go back to the Clinique!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lchute on 2/27/2014 9:58:00 AM more reviews by lchute

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Even though I am not that old I definitely can feel a change in my skin then when I graduated from high school.

My skin became very dry and very sensitive during the years.

I cannot use a lot if products on my face without it breaking out in red flakey spots on my cheeks.

I always thought I had to treat my dry skin before anything but was later told that I was going about it the wrong way. That I should be treating my sensitivity and then my dry.

I've been using this facial soap for 4 years now and love it!

It is very light on my skin and helps with my sensitivity. The only negative is that it won't take all my dryness away. But with the help of Clinique's moisture surge intense, my dryness is taking care of.

I am very pleased with this product! It works for me :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 CaillouM on 1/21/2014 4:20:00 PM more reviews by CaillouM

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I'm a fan of the 'mild' version since many years and wanted to give this one a try because my skin is getting drier. The difference with the mild soap is huge. This one is a sort of thick cleansing lotion which does not foam at all. It leaves a very oily residue which can not be removed by whatever amount of rinsing. Makeup is removed ok, but because of the oily consistency I avoid it around my eyes, which will get a filmy layer when I come close. I finally used a toner with alcohol all over my face to get off the grease - there goes the soothing effect. Would not buy it again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Cleansers products