Cetaphil • Gentle Skin Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.5(4866 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 makeupreviews97 on 4/17/2014 2:06:00 AM more reviews by makeupreviews97

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'm kind of on the fence about this one...
I use this in the morning only and it keeps skin less oily but can also cause it to be dry!

Pros:
- you get heaps of product in the bottle
- feel natural and nice for my skin
- has cleared SOME of my acne

Cons:
- bulky, ugly packaging!
- can cause me to have dry skin so must also moisturise after I use it!

I don't recommend this to people with dry skin or acne skin! But would recommend to very oily(it will keep you matte!!) , and normal skin

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Jennirocketz on 4/15/2014 3:48:00 PM more reviews by Jennirocketz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This one is an easy one.

Product: SUCKS!!! Its a bottle filled up with chemicals and more chemicals

Expensive: HELL YEEESSS!!! You are literally paying for a liquid one dollar hand soap but buying it for $11.00 just because it says its for your face...

Packaging: I would say thats the only good thing. Pumps are always nice and sanitary

Smell: Has no smell really...

Overall:
Buy a one dollar Castile soap thats gonna work just as fine if not even better!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 MissArianna on 4/15/2014 4:04:00 AM more reviews by MissArianna

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this for the hype and I wish I didn't buy the big bottle. It really doesn't do anything for my skin. I've tried it with and without my Conair Sonic Face Brush and it still didn't make any difference. I actually found I broke out more often with this cleanser rather than with my other cleansers. I've used up about half the bottle now hoping it works better the next time I use it, but it never does.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 balletbeauty7 on 4/13/2014 8:19:00 PM more reviews by balletbeauty7

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I had chronic acne as a teenager and as I've gotten into my mid 20s I've really struggled with how my skin has changed. While I still get the occasional outbreak, my skin is incredibly dry, to the point where it was beginning to crack, especially around my forehead. I'd been trying to use natural products only like coconut oil but my skin did not respond. I switched entirely to Cetaphil and my skin has been great ever since. It took a while to get used to washing with a non foaming cleanser but I can't use anything else now. Others have mentioned that it doesn't remove makeup but I've not experienced this at all. I usually use a washcloth or clarisonic with it if I have makeup on and it removes everything

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xsk on 4/11/2014 3:21:00 AM more reviews by xsk

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this! great for sensitive skin people like me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Myrahotchkiss on 4/7/2014 6:19:00 AM more reviews by Myrahotchkiss

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I wanted to love this product as it was recommended for acne prone skin but if you are sensitive to fatty alcohols - please avoid!

The plus side to this cleanser is that it isn't foaming, so it just isn't drying at all. It's therefore a little harder to feel like you've cleansed your face adequately but I think you just have to trust the product.

It does not remove even slight remnants of makeup AT ALL, so use a makeup remover first and make sure you get everything!

As mentioned previously, the cleanser contains two types of fatty alcohol which case breakouts for a lot of people (myself included) and also contains Sodium Lauryl Sulfate, a detergent that is both acne forming and irritating for many people.

I found this clogged my pores only a little, but also didn't cleanse my face as well as I would have liked so I won't be purchasing again. I have instead gifted it to my eczema suffering [male] housemate who seems to like it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Calistacyra on 4/6/2014 4:54:00 AM more reviews by Calistacyra

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I would say this product is OK.. I don't know what's so good about it, I mean like it is a decent product but not like WOWW.. Ya know what I mean rite. My dermatologist recommends this and said her other patients saw improvements.. Well it leaves my face clean but not tight. I don't use it everyday cuz it has built in moisturiser in it so it is not my acne's best friend but just acquaintance. I think this is too dry for my body.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LizzyBerry on 4/3/2014 5:44:00 PM more reviews by LizzyBerry

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have acne prone skin so I don't use this all the time as it would do nothing to combat my blemishes. I do love using this when my AHA cleansers are feeling a little overpowering and I need a day off of them. I like using this a lot in the shower too. I let it sit on my face for about 5 minutes as it loosens up my make up, then I use my Olay pro x spin brush to get in there and get all the make up off. It works perfectly. So gentle and soft on my skin. I feel like if I had blemish free skin this would be my cleanser all the time. It's super cheap too and at every walmart, target, walgreens, etc..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 MoniqueBrewerCaliGirl on 4/1/2014 4:40:00 PM more reviews by MoniqueBrewerCaliGirl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium Brown   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is very gentle to use in the morning. It doesn't take off any makeup so I wouldn't buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kittyinglasses on 3/29/2014 8:59:00 PM more reviews by kittyinglasses

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this cleanser for about 3-4+ years now, and I have yet to find anything as gentle and effective as this. I really like it, I use it twice a day, one in my shower in the morning, and once to wash off my make up at night. I don't use waterproof/longwearing foundation or blush or concealer, so it doesn't seem to have any trouble getting my makeup off besides my mascara which I use eye makeup remover on anyway.

Great basic cleanser, have repurchased MANY times!
Would recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cetaphil products

More Cleansers products