Cetaphil • Gentle Skin Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.5(4920 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 ding6556 on 8/17/2014 7:58:00 PM more reviews by ding6556

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this stuff. I have got very acne prone skin and found this to be absolutly perfect withouir irritations. The price is a bit expensive but it lasts for ages! I like to some Bee Polish of iherb (exfoliant) it makes my skin so polished and scrubs away the dead skin without irritation. Love this. definatly my Holy Grail of clensers and will use it for years to come!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BumbleBees77 on 8/17/2014 11:17:00 AM more reviews by BumbleBees77

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I use this cleanser on the days that I only wear sunscreen or minimal makeup. It's very gentle and I've had good luck with it. I use this in conjunction with the Cetaphil Moisturizing Cream in the jar. I have dry skin and this is one of the only cleansers I've found that doesn't leave my face feeling tight and uncomfortable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 LoveIceQueen on 8/14/2014 8:14:00 AM more reviews by LoveIceQueen

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

It does what it says but I wouldn't use on oily skin. Definitely for dry skin.

PROS:
*moisturising
*gentle
*non foaming

CONS:
*does not remove makeup
*doesn't do much for acne

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 heyitsmia on 8/10/2014 1:34:00 PM more reviews by heyitsmia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Firstly, my face consist of a combination of dry, normal, and sensitive skin (I don't know if it's because my face sweats A LOT, especially my nose). I mostly have dry patches around my mouth and nose (the two areas I sweat heavily in). I sometimes have dry patches around my brows and along my upper cheek. I also do have eczema on my body and have super dry hands (I have to use a nice hydrating cream, which I do use Cetaphil's moisturizing cream for dry and sensitive skin, for my body because lotion just doesn't do it). I don't wear much make up because my skin gets irritated easily. I do get acne occasionally. Therefore, I don't know if this cleanser works well for those who have acne-prone skin. My boyfriend does have acne prone skin have used this product but I'm not sure if it worked for him because I don't know if he used it everyday and how many times a day he used it. But, I do know that after the first couple of days, his skin did clear up more.

Anyways, When I was looking for a cleanser, I wasn't really looking for one to get rid of acne because I don't struggle with it. I was looking for one that is natural and doesn't have alcohol that would cleanse my face leaving me with hydrating, soft, non-irritating skin. This product did just that! I use to have to use moisturizer after cleansing my face but I don't have to anymore. However, I still use moisturizer but only a very light amount and usually focus on the dryer areas on my face which is around my mouth. I do use this cleanser on body parts that sweat a lot which occasionally gets one or two pimples. This product does clear up the few pimples I get in those areas and soothes my skin. Again, I don't know if this product works well if you have acne because the acne I do get usually goes away within a few days as long as I wash my face daily. I do have small black heads on my nose and notice that this cleanser doesn't seem to get rid of them.

Another thing is that this cleanser does not remove make up so remove your make up with make up remover before using this product. I, personally, don't mind using makeup remover before using this product.

The only reason why I gave this product 3 stars is because I don't know if works on acne prone skin and that it doesn't take off make up but I didn't buy this product for those reasons. I would give it a 4.5 star for it being hydrating, gentle, soothing, smooth, and non-irritating on the skin which was the main reason I purchased it for.

I would recommend this product if you have dry, sensitive skin and want soft, hydrating, and non-irritating skin after cleansing your face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 danycgza on 8/10/2014 12:14:00 AM more reviews by danycgza

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this yesterday at Target because I've read so many positive things about this cleanser. I was very excited to get to my room so I could remove my makeup with it. I'm sort of disappointed with this cleanser. I have combination skin so it kind of dried some parts of my face. And it didn't remove all my makeup! It removed most of it but I still had to use a towelette to completely remove it. I really, really want to love this, I really do! It is soft, it has a nice soft smell, the package is good, and a little goes a long way. I'll still use it because it's new but I won't repurchase it again. I guess you have to try it so you can test it, the hype exists for something. It works for most people. Sadly, it didn't work for me :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mayakaelyn on 8/9/2014 2:55:00 AM more reviews by mayakaelyn

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This cleanser is super gentle on the skin which I love! But It doesn't clean my skin very well. It has been 3 weeks using this and my least problematic area (chin) started to get really clogged.
. I've read all these reviews from various types of skin (oily, dry etc) saying that it works for all skin types so I thought why not try it out.The price wasn't bad and I bought the big size bc I assumed I would love this, but it turns out not so much... The smell reminds me of baby wipes which isn't really a problem for me and the consistency is very runny and liquidy.but If you're someone who oily and clog prone I would stay away from this bc it doesn't seem to cleanse my face which is the most important thing in a skin care regimen!!
PROS:
* gentle, non foaming
* less ingredients
CONS
* cleanses almost like water
* slight burn- even when gently massaging into skin!


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Anne2029 on 8/6/2014 7:50:00 PM more reviews by Anne2029

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I use this daily and I love how gentle it is! The only thing is that it does not completely remove make up but that's ok because I use my makeup wipes first then wash my face with it. I have dry skin so I like how after I wash my face, it does not feel tight (like my face is going to crack). My face feels moisturized and clean every time I use it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 HsienLim on 8/5/2014 4:42:00 AM more reviews by HsienLim

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

HG product as cleanser. I have combination oily open pore skin and I love how it feels after washed my face with this product. It feel soft and gentle, love it so much! Use this on morning and night will use keilhs gentle cleanser to ensure all my make up dirt is cleaned!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 soella on 8/3/2014 2:18:00 PM more reviews by soella

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Grey    

meh. overrated in my opinion.

Felt like nothing special. Wasn't moisturizing, didn't clean anything off my face effectively or even in the slightest, didn't do anything at all. I had to read the reviews again to see what people actually like this for.

Love their creamy moisturizer but this is just so below average. Even on my sensitive skin it didn't cause any less irritation than most other cleansers.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sandramac on 8/2/2014 7:46:00 AM more reviews by sandramac

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I have had combination skin my entire adult life. I tend to get cystic acne, and have always had to be careful what I used to clean my face. I wear foundation every day, including a high SPF moisturizer. Cetaphil is the best cleanser I have ever used, and I have tried nearly everything on the market, including dermatologist regimens and some of the most expensive beauty brands on the market. For other reviewers who complained that Cetaphil doesn't seem to clean their skin thoroughly, it may be that they are used to foaming cleansers (which this is not) or to that "squeaky clean" feeling, which is not really necessary for clean skin.
My best use of this cleanser is following: I remove my eye and lip makeup with an eye makeup remover for waterproof makeup, since I wear waterproof mascara and lipstick. Then I apply about a teaspoon to dry skin. This seems to give the cleanser "traction," and feels like it holds onto the makeup as I work it around my face. If my face is already wet, it feels too slippery, although it still cleanses well.
After working the cleanser over my face and throat, I use a wet, warm face cloth to wipe the emulsion off, then rinse with clear water. My skin feels very clean, not tight or oily, just clean and soft. In the morning, I rinse my skin with cool water and pat dry, then apply moisturizer. My skin has not broken out once in the year I have used only Cetaphil for cleansing, despite switching foundations, powders and other parts of my skin regimen, so I believe I can credit Cetaphil for my soft, comfortable, worry-free skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cetaphil products

More Cleansers products