Bare Escentuals • Bare Minerals Foundation #2 • Powder

rated 3.4(367 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.56%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 samanthalyn713 on 5/24/2013 12:41:00 AM more reviews by samanthalyn713

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this foundation so much for everyday use. I don't understand why so many people hate it! I personally think it helps my skin stay clear. With the right primer and moisturizer, it gives my skin a beautiful glow. I live in Jersey, and in the summer it is VERY humid. When I go out at night into NYC or down the shore, wearing liquid foundation feels like I'm torturing my skin. This is so light and I feel like I'm wearing nothing but still getting a decent amount of coverage. I apply my concealer under it and it's sits perfectly all night. There is one small downside to this product is the SPF. If you over apply in some areas of your face, it gives a grey ish cast in photography that is really unflattering. You can't tell in person, but if you want to avoid this photography blunder, apply a yellow toned primer underneath or a yellow toned setting powder( Ben Nye or Bobbi Brown make good ones). Overall, I really like this product especially in the summer when I don't feel like applying liquid foundation. It's so natural looking. PS. I'm in the shade tan.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 aleachhunter on 5/14/2013 12:59:00 AM more reviews by aleachhunter

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I keep returning to this product when I get sick of liquid foundations. I have dry skin, so I was hesitant to try this in the first place... but I have to say, it isn't overly drying. The only reason I didn't rate this a 5 is because it isn't as convenient as liquid foundation when I'm traveling. However, it really is great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 playmate420 on 2/1/2013 11:08:00 AM more reviews by playmate420

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been using this for the past 2 months coming from a full coverage liquid foundation. I love how this is so light yet covers well and is not bad for your skin. This make up hasnt caused my acne prone skin to break out and i have been wearing it daily. It looks natural, is not orange and does not have that line that you see many girls. Use the right brushes though! Use the concealer brush to conceal under eye circles and blemishes. It is not full coverage but it gets pretty damn close! OH! And always always always keep the sifter closed, I love this packaging for mineral foundation it keeps you from making a mess with expensive product

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Miltonh81 on 10/14/2012 7:04:00 AM more reviews by Miltonh81

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is the best foundation I have ever bought and after trying drugstore brands to stop spending so much I won't ever stop buying this from now on. I have incredibly oily skin liquids barely last an hour on me. I first tried this in a sample kit and chose the wrong shade which was light and made me look orange. But my second purchase of medium was perfect to suit my pinker tones. I use a primer first looks and lasts much better. 2 layers gives enough cover to my open pores and covers any spots perfectly. A dusting of mineral veil leaves my skin flawless (highly recommend the new ready veil!). I highly recommend this for oily skin just get a good mattifying primer it makes all the difference I also wear the matte to but go a shade lighter( fairly light for me).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 SnowcLovers on 5/14/2012 6:37:00 PM more reviews by SnowcLovers

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I decided to try this out after watching the commercials of it on TV even though it was so expensive. Lately, I've been extremely careful about what cosmetics I get because of the chemicals they put in. Bare Minerals claimed to be better for the skin and did not have the chemicals, so I decided to try it. My skin tone is extremely flexible and can accommodate a variety of shades, though I usually do go lighter because I prefer it over the tan/orange look. But I decided to go with a slightly darker shade (this one) which is closer to my skin tone. I had no problems with the shade. They have a kind of built in stopper where you turn it to prevent the product from spilling out everywhere. I like the idea, but they only have like 4 tiny holes where the powder comes out and it takes forever to get enough out. But I'd rather this than have it spill everywhere whenever I open it. At first I was extremely disappointed because the coverage was extremely light...nothing like what it seemed to do in the commercials. I tried to layer it some more and it only ended up make my face look like cake powder and it accentuated my pores. I had to splash water onto my face to try and fix it. Even after all this, it looked like it didn't cover anything at all....felt like I wasted a TON of money on it. Hours later when I normally have to blot my face, it was still matte. I was so surprised! It actually controlled the oil on my face! This was a first...I had tried a ton of powders ad oil controlling foundations...and nothing worked. This stuff did! However, after this, I was reluctant to use it again because I did not want to go to school looking like a cake.

I tried it again a few weeks later. My sister needed to take some photos for her class and so I decided eh, why not try this stuff again. So I did. And I was honestly surprised. I think it looks the best when you use warmth, soft focus, and some light blush over it. It really made my skin glow. It didn't look cakey and it gave me a natural finish and glow. I have yet to try it again, because I had to get a new powder brush. So I will update it again when I try this once more...probably without the aforementioned products. However, so far, I do not think I will repurchase. I just got Skin 79 BB Cream Hot Pink Label and it's amazing and waaay cheaper. I don't have to worry about looking cakey and has amazing oil control.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 danceordie on 3/14/2012 5:26:00 PM more reviews by danceordie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This product is okay. I used to have oily skin. Which is the reason for my purchase of this product, but it still melted off my face. And I mean melted. It was awful. I even used one of the BE brushes. Also it did not fit my skin tone, but that was the makeup artists error not the products. The packaging is okay. The powder gets everywhere no matter what you do. Also the staying power is awful! I would put it on in the morning at around 7:30 and by 11:00 it was almost completely gone. I even used a primer. What a waste of money. I could also feel this foundation on my face. For a light, mineral foundation I could seriously feel it. It was like wearing a mask. EW! It's supposed to be natural. This may work for you, but my experience with it was bad.
Have fun shopping!
Dance or Die- Shakira

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ughhhhhskinsux on 2/24/2012 7:46:00 PM more reviews by ughhhhhskinsux

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I was given an entire kit and refills by a client I had when I was an Investment Banker. I loved it because I never wore makeup and it made me look so flawless and airbrushed. Well, I started off having gorgeous skin that got the occasional zit and then after using BE I started getting cystic acne... it was terrible. I never even thought for one minute that it was this "natural makeup" and now years later it's actually out to the public that Bismuth Oxychloride is bad. I loved how my skin looked in pictures and everyone always complimented me but, I would just sweat a little and my face would burn...I would feel cystic zits strating to form under my skin and nothing I used would help. It was awful..I stopped using it when I decided to try a liquid makeup and I stopped getting cystic acne... well, like an idiot I found my lovely makeup and forgot how bad it made my skin..I started using it and I got cystic acne two days later. I cannot wear anything with Bismuth in it.. even True costmetics that have it in the "May Contain" ingredients. As a favor to myself I am throwing away ALL of my makeup that contains it so I don't have a moment of forgetfulness!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 magicloop2009 on 5/10/2011 5:36:00 AM more reviews by magicloop2009

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

It has this shimmery shiny glow, and it's so flirtyand sun-kissed. I'm so ready for the beach wearing this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Denniska on 4/18/2011 11:45:00 AM more reviews by Denniska

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I was looking for some good foundation for my combination skin (oily T zone and dry flaky cheeks) for quite a while now, and after no luck with liquid foundations, I decided to give minerals a try.
First I didn't like it that much because although it was perfect on the oily parts of my skin, I still had flaky dry cheeks. But then I came across Dermalogica Daily Microfoliant and it totally changed the way makeup looks on my skin, after using the microfoliant, I use my moisturiser and then this foundation and my skin is flawless and the makeup looks sooo natural... love the Dermalogica Microfoliant, buy it! :)
So now I have this foundation in MEDIUM and I bought the matte version in light as well and what I do every morning is I mix 2 parts of medium with one part light matte and this works wonders on my face, not too glowy, not too matte, just perfect. I'm amazed how much coverage it gives me, hides red cheeks instantly and using a small firm brush locally on blemishes, it makes them totally disappear. Btw I have the Well rested concealer as well and LOVE IT, would recommend to anybody.

Some people say this foundation doesn't provide enough cover, but it's because they use the wrong brush!! BEST BRUSH TO USE WITH THIS FOUNDATION is definetly the BIONIC FLAT TOP BUFFER BRUSH from Coastal Scents, it's sooo soft, literally like feathers on your skin, no hair fall out al all - and I washed it many many times already, and because it's flat, it helps to provide perfect coverage, you'll love it! You can buy it here, they deliver worldwide http://www.coastalscents.com/cfwebstore/index.cfm/product/2161_37/bionic-flat-top-buffer-brush.cfm
So I hope my review helped you, thank you Bare Escentuals, thak you Dermalogica Microfoliant and thank you Coastal Scents Bionic Flat Top Buffer brush for making my face look sooooo good :))))

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Saturngrl76 on 12/19/2010 5:15:00 PM more reviews by Saturngrl76

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Ok. Here is the deal. When I first bought this foundation I thought this is going to be my hg. The first time I used it I really loved it. But like several reviewers before me I feel like it doesn't provide any coverage and my imperfections are easily seen. This is just an OK product if you are running out the door and just want to put something on your face. I have oily skin and I feel like I need a very good moisturizer to go underneath this as this foundation is a little drying. If it have cost me 10 bucks I would say fine, but it doesn't and for the price just doesn't do a good job at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bare Escentuals products

More Powder products