NYX • Powder Blush - Nutmeg • Blush

rated 4.0(14 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 uglybeautiful on 5/3/2013 4:42:00 PM more reviews by uglybeautiful

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Nutmeg is a beautiful neutral blush that doesn’t actually look like the spice. You would perhaps expect something leaning more towards coolish and grayish but it is actually a very nice, neutral and wearable pinky brown. I disagree with some of the other reviewers: I see no trace of peach in this colour neither in the pan nor when applied. I would like to stress though that the blush really comes alive once on. It may look like nothing special in the pot but when you try it on it really polishes any look. It works wonderfully with my colouring (MAC NC20) but I have seen it look great too in paler and darker skins. I would compare this to the very popular Blushbaby by MAC: it is sort of the same colour, right in the middle of pink, brown and beige to add colour and definition without clearly screaming makeup. It is quite pigmented so an initial light hand is recommended.
As much I love the colour, I have to say that there are several bones of contention here: texture and lasting power. Let’s be honest: this stuff is powdery beyond belief. Forget the brush you apply it with, it won’t matter because the powder will get everywhere. Even though this is a very affordable product, you can just go through one pot in no time because of the texture. The other disadvantage I find is longevity. I have to say on me this does not last all day, not even one morning. I learned not to touch my face too much many years ago, especially when made up, so I am not rubbing the product off myself. Even if I work the product on quite a bit, it will end up fading away before I get home for lunch and I am not particularly oily. The only trick I can recommend to really make it last is to apply it on top of a cream blush in the same colour family but then again, which blush wouldn’t benefit from something similar? NYX, if only those two little things were corrected, this product would really be perfect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hanouna on 8/12/2012 5:51:00 PM more reviews by Hanouna

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is an awesome blush. Gives a nice, neutral flushed color. I use this in the winter time when I am more pale. Great texture and very cheap.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 risababy on 5/3/2012 12:52:00 AM more reviews by risababy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I actually really like this blush! It's decently pigmented for me and gives me a nice peachy-pink flush to my cheeks. This is my second NYX blush, my first was Mauve (which I also adore). Great for fair skinned girls and quite natural. I tend to be very light-handed with my blushes, especially with NYX because they are very pigmented. But I found that with Nutmeg, I was less scared of looking like I was a victim of a bad makeover.
It lasts all day! And this blush will probably last forever too, seeing how little I need to use. I will repurchase in the unlikely event that I run out though (which will most likely never happen). It was also reasonably priced: 9.99 where I bought it. NYX usually is not very available Canada so the girl that brings it over to sell in her own store (Phoenix at Pacific Mall to my fellow Torontonians!)
I recommend this to anyone who just wants a nice, natural looking blush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shazzar on 4/25/2012 9:57:00 AM more reviews by shazzar

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This seems so pigmented in the pan, but you really have to apply a lot to make it noticeable. Then it shows up dirty looking. I'm very pale (NC15), this seemed like the perfect neutral blush for my skintone, but would probably be suited better to darker skintones. It also crumbled quite a bit in the pan. It was so cheap, so it's no loss.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Flassie on 9/3/2011 7:25:00 PM more reviews by Flassie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

This is a really awesome blush, and no pictures seem to do it justice. I looks soooo natural and is the perfect blush for summer! Even though it is matte, it makes your cheeks "come alive" and doesn't look dirty (unless you apply too much obviously). However it is easy to apply too much since it is very pigmented and not firmly pressed together, I use a stippling brush and pat it around my cheek area then swipe what ever is left gently around the rest of my face.

You could even use this as a contour, but I'm not really into contouring and I use it as an "all in one" blush and bronzer, lightly applying it everywhere that I would apply blush and bronzer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bimini156 on 8/16/2011 9:37:00 AM more reviews by bimini156

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Grey, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Nutmeg as a great neutral blush. I like to use it as a contour shade but feel the need to add another color on top of it. Almost too neutral for me. I like and prefer a little more color on my cheeks. Good for a neutral no blush look. Very nice texture and very pigmented. Love these NYX blushes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* glitteradi on 11/1/2010 1:24:00 PM more reviews by glitteradi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is such a wonderful product for contouring. It is neutral so it does not give you that orangey cast on your face. However I dont like how powdery it feels on my face. I know it is a powder blush but some blushes just feel too dry on my dry skin, this being one of them. It also does not seem to stick on my skin very long time. I have the same dryness problem with many powder blushes such as MAC, Dior, Revlon, Clarins, Estee Lauder.
For my dry skin I like Cargo blush, Chanel powder blushes and bronzer, Covergirl cheekers blush and Guerlain Bronzer. I am giving a change to MAC mineralize blushes that I am expecting in the mail. Of course I love the MAC blushcreme.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 gracesagrero on 10/11/2010 2:23:00 AM more reviews by gracesagrero

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I like this blush I compared it to my MAC sincere and I think it could be a dupe for it but the NYX is a little more powdery

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* live4rn on 7/12/2010 10:47:00 PM more reviews by live4rn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Well, unfortunately this one didn't work for me. It is probably not the fault of the product, but it just didn't work on my skin tone. I am not sure why I decided to try it, as my skin is close to NC15. I just loved the color so much in the pan. BUT, I am sure this would work well for darker skinned ladies. Sadly, I am still on the hunt for a neutral brown-toned blush that will work on my very fair skin...

I will say that I usually like NYX blushes because the pigmentation is good and the price is unbeatable. My only other complaint is that they can crumble easily. I am not sure if it is the packaging so much as the formulation. Perhaps they are just really powdery and break off easily.

Note: This is up for swap on my list if anyone is interested; I am typically w/l or similar only though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bambamhoneycakes on 7/12/2010 10:38:00 PM more reviews by bambamhoneycakes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Don't quite know how to describe it but it's a medium toned DUSTY peachy nude color! On my cheeks it gives me a very natural flush and it's super blendable. A go to blush when I want no fuss, no worry about applying too much. One lippie off because it's very powdery (not that way with all NYX blushes, but this one is especially). Highly recommended! Simple black flip top case with no mirror...and only $5 on Cherry culture! (NC30/35 Asian)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Blush products