NYX Powder Blush - Nutmeg

4.1

16 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/12/2015 11:54:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

The reviews posted are already perfect, just wanted to add my 2 cents. Purchased this at a mom and pop store that offers all discontinued nyx eyeshadows and blushes. I checked out Nyx site and this blush is no longer offered (had to double check. ...). I am appalled, this is such a beautiful safe color. so many uses : light contouring, add more pizazz to a boring peach or pink blush. NYX was out of their minds to discontinue this!!! They should resurrect this or at least have a cream blush version. What a shame!!!!



on 12/19/2014 5:58:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Other, Medium

Eyes: Black

I am Asian Chinese (between NC 15 - 20), the color of Nutmeg is definitely 100% great on my skin tone, I could apply this only and look like I am wearing a blush and a bronzer and a contour. The color is so multipurpose, but then the product can't live more than 8 hours, it will start to wear off after 6 - 8 hours, depends on the humidity. The price is amazingly affordable and but had a bit problem with the packaging. I hit pan, and drop it afterwards. It shatters. But I still use it until the end of its life (that's how I love the color).


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Nutmeg is a beautiful neutral blush that doesn’t actually look like the spice. You would perhaps expect something leaning more towards coolish and grayish but it is actually a very nice, neutral and wearable pinky brown. I disagree with some of the other reviewers: I see no trace of peach in this colour neither in the pan nor when applied. I would like to stress though that the blush really comes alive once on. It may look like nothing special in the pot but when you try it on it really polishes any look. It works wonderfully with my colouring (MAC NC20) but I have seen it look great too in paler and darker skins. I would compare this to the very popular Blushbaby by MAC: it is sort of the same colour, right in the middle of pink, brown and beige to add colour and definition without clearly screaming makeup. It is quite pigmented so an initial light hand is recommended.
As much I love the colour, I have to say that there are several bones of contention here: texture and lasting power. Let’s be honest: this stuff is powdery beyond belief. Forget the brush you apply it with, it won’t matter because the powder will get everywhere. Even though this is a very affordable product, you can just go through one pot in no time because of the texture. The other disadvantage I find is longevity. I have to say on me this does not last all day, not even one morning. I learned not to touch my face too much many years ago, especially when made up, so I am not rubbing the product off myself. Even if I work the product on quite a bit, it will end up fading away before I get home for lunch and I am not particularly oily. The only trick I can recommend to really make it last is to apply it on top of a cream blush in the same colour family but then again, which blush wouldn’t benefit from something similar? NYX, if only those two little things were corrected, this product would really be perfect.


on 8/12/2012 5:51:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is an awesome blush. Gives a nice, neutral flushed color. I use this in the winter time when I am more pale. Great texture and very cheap.


on 5/3/2012 12:52:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I actually really like this blush! It's decently pigmented for me and gives me a nice peachy-pink flush to my cheeks. This is my second NYX blush, my first was Mauve (which I also adore). Great for fair skinned girls and quite natural. I tend to be very light-handed with my blushes, especially with NYX because they are very pigmented. But I found that with Nutmeg, I was less scared of looking like I was a victim of a bad makeover.
It lasts all day! And this blush will probably last forever too, seeing how little I need to use. I will repurchase in the unlikely event that I run out though (which will most likely never happen). It was also reasonably priced: 9.99 where I bought it. NYX usually is not very available Canada so the girl that brings it over to sell in her own store (Phoenix at Pacific Mall to my fellow Torontonians!)
I recommend this to anyone who just wants a nice, natural looking blush.


on 4/25/2012 9:57:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This seems so pigmented in the pan, but you really have to apply a lot to make it noticeable. Then it shows up dirty looking. I'm very pale (NC15), this seemed like the perfect neutral blush for my skintone, but would probably be suited better to darker skintones. It also crumbled quite a bit in the pan. It was so cheap, so it's no loss.


on 9/3/2011 7:25:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Green

This is a really awesome blush, and no pictures seem to do it justice. I looks soooo natural and is the perfect blush for summer! Even though it is matte, it makes your cheeks "come alive" and doesn't look dirty (unless you apply too much obviously). However it is easy to apply too much since it is very pigmented and not firmly pressed together, I use a stippling brush and pat it around my cheek area then swipe what ever is left gently around the rest of my face.

You could even use this as a contour, but I'm not really into contouring and I use it as an "all in one" blush and bronzer, lightly applying it everywhere that I would apply blush and bronzer.


on 8/16/2011 9:37:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Grey, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Nutmeg as a great neutral blush. I like to use it as a contour shade but feel the need to add another color on top of it. Almost too neutral for me. I like and prefer a little more color on my cheeks. Good for a neutral no blush look. Very nice texture and very pigmented. Love these NYX blushes.


on 11/1/2010 1:24:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is such a wonderful product for contouring. It is neutral so it does not give you that orangey cast on your face. However I dont like how powdery it feels on my face. I know it is a powder blush but some blushes just feel too dry on my dry skin, this being one of them. It also does not seem to stick on my skin very long time. I have the same dryness problem with many powder blushes such as MAC, Dior, Revlon, Clarins, Estee Lauder.
For my dry skin I like Cargo blush, Chanel powder blushes and bronzer, Covergirl cheekers blush and Guerlain Bronzer. I am giving a change to MAC mineralize blushes that I am expecting in the mail. Of course I love the MAC blushcreme.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/11/2010 2:23:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I like this blush I compared it to my MAC sincere and I think it could be a dupe for it but the NYX is a little more powdery

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top