Reviva • Glycolic Acid Facial Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.6(8 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rossjen on 10/11/2013 9:03:00 PM more reviews by rossjen

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This found its way into my basket from the Ulta clearance bin earlier this year, and being the cleanser junkie that I am, I couldn't pass it up. I tend to stick to pretty plain cleansers without exfoliating or acid ingredients in them most of the time, and figured this would be a nice little change, as well as being less harsh than a foaming formula. It has a creamy consistency and does not foam at all. The best way it worked for me was to apply it on a dry face (steering clear of the eye area), massaging it for a full minute, and then rising off. It removed powder and liquid foundation without a problem. What was also a nice bonus is that it helped decrease some of the chin breakouts I get, as well as keeping my pores clog free. Over time I definitely noticed my skin texture improving. I don't think there is a need to worry about skin drying out with this either. Even with the glycolic acid in it, it did not sting my skin or cause any sort of sensitivity, which I was worried about initially.
Cleansing with it once a day I got about three months' worth of use out of it. The 4 oz. size is practical to travel with (flip-top cap, no spilling), and it is an absolute bargain for the results that you will see the more you use it. I would buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DebbieS732 on 10/10/2010 5:18:00 PM more reviews by DebbieS732

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I've been a long-time user of Cetaphil facial cleanser because I dislike using soaps on my face (I have Rosacea). I was looking for something with Glycolic Acid (for its ability to smooth wrinkles) in it and stumbled across this at Ulta and decided to give it a try.

I have been totally impressed with this. I use it in the am and again in the pm to remove my makeup. I let it sit on my face for a minute or two and then wipe it off with a damp washcloth.

My skin has never looked better. It makes it very soft and has soften the appearance of wrinkles around my eyes (I'm 48). I am using a rentinol product as well. Planning on trying some of their other Gylcolic acid products.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 vesperholly on 4/21/2010 5:32:00 AM more reviews by vesperholly

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I love Reviva's glycolic acid toner, so when I ran out of my Phisoderm face wash I decided to try this instead. It's pretty good. No, it doesn't lather, but that simply means there's no detergent ingredient in it. Detergents can be harmful to the skin's natural protective barriers. It left my skin feeling soft and clean. I haven't used it very long, but I'm happy so far.

Let's review the product on its merits, btw. This is not made or marketed as a makeup remover, so why rate a product low because it doesn't do something that it isn't intended to do?

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jswright on 8/26/2008 5:44:00 PM more reviews by jswright

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I really like this product. You can't expect it to lather up and get off all of your make up like other cleansers. I think of this more as a treatment than a cleanser. I use it in the shower 2-3 times a week so my face is already pretty much clean and I'm not trying to get a days worth of make up off. I just wet my face, massage it in and leave it on while I shave my legs. It has made my skin extremely soft I mean completely changed the texture of my face. I have oily skin and fairly large pores and after 1 month on this my pores have actually reduced in size and I've always thought no product could do that. And at $10 it's definitely worth a try.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 prodigalbabe on 8/22/2007 2:06:00 PM more reviews by prodigalbabe

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Wow, my experience with this product was really different. You have to know up front that it is a non-lathering product and be ok with that. It goes on like a gel, rub it in, rinse it off. I feel this cleanses my face well, although I do follow up with a Suki toner, and I don't wear a lot of makeup. I also only use it in the morning. I have combo, sensitive skin prone to redness. This cleanser doesn't irritate me at all, gets my face clean without drying it out, and I notice fewer breakouts. I alternate this cleanser with the Suki Lemongrass Exfoliant Cleanser.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 drnbrown4 on 4/21/2007 3:42:00 PM more reviews by drnbrown4

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

NO GOOD. This product did nothing for my face. The sales associate said that it would clear up skin and really she just raved about the product. This does not lather up at all so at no point did I feel like this was effectively cleaning my skin. The after feel was normal, not drying but I never felt like I was getting any benefit from this so I stopped using it and switched to another brand.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* flairgirl8 on 12/16/2005 8:00:00 PM more reviews by flairgirl8

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

II would say that this is more of a treatment than a cleanser. It does not lather at all and applies light a light gel-lotion. I believe it contains 2% glycolic acid and this maybe nice for those new to glycolic acid products. On its own, it does not remove the day's grime, sunscreen and makeup for me. If I use it after my normal cleanser, leave it on my face for a few minutes, it does leave my face feeling smooth without the harsh sting AHA's can impart.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SaraLee2 on 12/16/2005 12:47:00 PM more reviews by SaraLee2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I usually like Reviva products (vegan and no animal testing) and think their ingredients/formulations are top notch, but this one didn't make the cut. It says this contains no oils or soap, but it has a weird kinda greasy feel to it. Probably the glycerin. I like the fact that it's aloe vera based. Its virtually fragrace free and water activated. Goes on almost creamy and doesn't lather or foam much. Seems to rinse clean. One major problem...it just doesn't get my face clean at all!! I don't wear a lot of makeup, but after washing my face with this TWICE, I still had a face full of makeup (my white towel was full of mu when I dried my face). This might be ok in the morning when I don't have makeup on, but I just can't use this otherwise. The GA is also towards the middle of the ingredient list, so theres probably not a lot in here. If you have drier skin (I'm pretty oily) and want some mild GA action, this might work for you.
INGREDIENTS: Demineralized Spring Water, Aloe Vera Gel, Polysorbate 20, Cetyl Alcohol, Cetearyl Alcohol, Cetearyl 20, Guar Gum, Glycerin (vegetable), Glycolic Acid, Lauroamphocarboxycinate, Ammonium hydroxide, Allantoin, Camomile Extract, Methyl & Propyl Paraben, Imidazolidinyl Urea.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Reviva products

More Cleansers products