Jamieson • Vitamin A Night Renewal Treatment • Moisturizers

rated 4.3(62 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 thirdsword on 7/27/2013 5:15:00 AM more reviews by thirdsword

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I first bought this cream after learning about the wonders of retinol for a plethora of skin concerns, and also because of its cheap price for a retinol product. While I won't expect this product to perform miracles, I still love it nonetheless, especially after abandoning it at one point and then recently rediscovering it.

I must say, the container is HUGE, and it lasts forever! If I dare say so myself, I think that this should be sold in smaller quantities (and in a tube or a bottle with a pump)... After all, retinol degrades quickly and a wide open jar certainly doesn't help. The product itself is slightly runny with a strange smell... I'm not quite sure how to describe it. Somewhat medicinal in a synthetic way? It's not terrible, however, and I'm willing to put up with it.

I dot this on my face and neck before spreading it out, and it feels a little greasy, but since it's a nighttime product, that's okay. There's no tingling of the skin, and at first I was skeptical that such a low dose of retinol would yield results. But because of the low dose and the oily texture, it doesn't dry my skin out, and I never had to go through a period of developing tolerance. I then wake up to smoother, less crazy-looking skin, and over time some of my acne scars have faded a little. Again, though, I don't expect this to give me the greatest results. Even with that, I love the price, and how gentle this product is, and thus I will continue to use this for acne control and age prevention.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 yourphatness on 2/12/2013 5:57:00 PM more reviews by yourphatness

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Love this baby. I use this as a night cream only because it's so thick, and it's very moisturizing. My skin always looks fresh in the morning. I haven't noticed any wrinkle reduction, maybe because I'm only 24. On the other hand, last week a teenage guy (18 yr) thought I was his peer.. So I guess I'm definitely not aging thus far.. :)


I apply this after I spray my face with Avene Eau Thermale, and seal in the moisture with this cream. Works like a dream!

FYI - I've been using this for about three years now. I've tried this one and the no name brand, and this one has a better texture. Though the idea is the same ,and neither made me break out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Ginee on 7/9/2012 2:57:00 PM more reviews by Ginee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this to help fade acne scars. I got a jar for $18 CDN.

It does help fresh scars, but didn't do much for older ones. It is greasy but helped keep my skin moisturized even when I was using very drying acne products.

If you put your nose to the jar, you can smell it, otherwise it has no discernible scent.

I don't think I will be re-purchasing because it was too greasy and also too expensive for a DS night cream. But if I don't find something better, I will come back to it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 autumnsylver on 7/8/2012 11:37:00 PM more reviews by autumnsylver

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I originally bought this because I heard that vitamin A cream is good for dark undereye circles. I didn't notice any difference in the dark circles, but I kept using it because I'm starting to get fine lines at the corners of my eyes.
Unless it's my imagination, it seems like this does make a slight difference in fine lines. It doesn't seem to be making them go away, but it makes them look smoother when I put this cream on.
After reading all of the reviews here from people who said that it made their oiliness go away, I decided to try it all over my face. It made my face really oily and disgusting, so I won't use it for that anymore, but I will keep using it for the fine lines around my eyes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 bakatofu on 4/9/2012 5:58:00 PM more reviews by bakatofu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This product does not smell like carrots... it smells worse. After using this religiously every night, for a couple of weeks, I don't notice any difference on my skin. Definitely not a HG product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sugarcheri on 3/11/2012 1:14:00 PM more reviews by sugarcheri

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Well, now that I'm getting on I suppose it's time to start buying a decent anti-aging moisturizer. Thank goodness for this forum, because I was thrilled to discover something that does a wonderful job moisturizing and not only does not cause breakouts but seems to prevent them as well! And you just can't beat the price, and it's cruelty free. I've been using this for a month now, and my skin has noticeably improved a great deal. The fine lines around my eyes have all but disappeared and I'm also noticing an improvement around deep creases on my forehead. Also, a while back I was visiting a woman in her 70's and I was amazed by how beautiful her skin was-- when I went to use her washroom, there was a jar of this on her counter! I will definitely keep using this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Fatang on 6/19/2011 3:21:00 AM more reviews by Fatang

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking for an effective treatment for the dry patches on my face and this didn't fit the bill. At first it applied wonderfully, but it sank into something oilier and ended up causing me to break out. The search continues.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sonjala on 5/3/2011 11:14:00 AM more reviews by Sonjala

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Ok, I don't know if it's because my skin is low maintenance or what, but I never expected a lower end product to make such a difference. This cream ROCKS.
When I hit my late 20's, my skin really changed. The most concerning issue being the cystic acne I suddenly developed around my chin. Like most people, I tried a lot of different products for years, trying to find something that worked for me. 'Course, nothing really worked. After doing some research on the internet, I decided I wanted to try a retinol cream and picked this one up 'cause it was reasonably priced. Since I started using it, I totally stopped breaking out. That was a very big deal for me. I have the odd breakout once in a while, but never like before. It has also noticeably improved my overall complexion. The scars on my chin have vanished. I can't say enough good things about this product.
It also smells good and feels great on. Not greasy but very hydrating. I'm on my third tub now and extremely happy with this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 greenbeano on 3/27/2011 11:02:00 PM more reviews by greenbeano

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've recently been on a skin cream rampage to try to find something that works for me. I'm in my mid 30s, normal skin with some oiliness in my T zone, and developing fine laugh lines and crows feet. I bought this cream several years ago at the Shopper Drug Mart and loved it but switched over to the Life generic brand as it was a few dollars cheaper. While I liked the Life brand, I remembered LOVING Jamieson's brand, so thought I'd try it again.


I have to say after trying the Life brand, Boots No. 7 night cream in Protect & Perfect, and other expensive creams such as ROC's Night Retinol cream, Estee Lauder's Time Zone for both normal and dry skin combined with their Advanced Night Repair serum both in Whitening and traditional, that I'm ready to switch back to good old fashioned simple skin care.


While it is slightly greasy and stings the eyes a bit, Jamieson's night cream is just an overall great cream. I don't have to worry about it irritating my skin like some retinol products. It reduces redness, soothes my skin, and really moisturizes the dry patches on my face. A small amount smoothes on easily over my entire face and throat.


I'd highly recommend it because it's cost effective (I picked up two tubs for $9.99 each on sale - regularly $18), low maintenance, feels great on the skin, and noticeably helps reduce redness, and improve texture. I'll have to continue to see whether it reduces my fine lines. Feels great to return to it - like slipping on your favourite pair of jeans.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rclark177 on 3/20/2011 3:58:00 AM more reviews by rclark177

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

First of all, I would just like to say that I am usually way too lazy to review products, however the results from this moisturizer were so amazing I just had to let everyone know about it :) I have acne prone skin, oily in the T-zone yet drier in the cheeks, I have large pores and black heads on my nose, and in addition I have sensitive skin. For me, this product has been a MIRACLE! All of my skin issues have been solved just from this moisturizer, even my acne, which is weird because itís not advertised as an acne product at all. This product has healed all of my current blemishes, has prevented any new ones from coming in, adds an amazing dose of dewy moisture yet with no greasy residue, and keeps moisture sealed in all day long. My skin tone has been drastically evened out, and the redness in my skin has seriously diminished, my pores have shrunk to about half the size, and my blackheads are next to none and are tiny tiny. It is literally perfect! Even after the first use, the benefits were easily visible, however after a month of use, the results have been just magical for my skin with no adverse side effects or break outs. I suppose I should also say that I use this product for day and night time. It is definitely not too heavy for day use, in fact, its consistency is more like a lotion (but not to liquidy) and is very easy to spread. The fragrance free formula and natural ingredients are amazing for my sensitive skin, and the vitamins A and E are fantastic for healing and preventing blemishes, preventing aging, and reducing pore size. And to top it all off, I donít really know how to explain, but my skin just seems to be plumped up, dewy (but not greasy,) and glowing, I love it! Also, I know that it is this product that is causing the positive change in my skin, because it is the only new thing Iíve introduced to my daily regimen. My search for my go to moisturizer is complete, this product does it all! I highly highly recommend this product to anyone, as itís benefits are endless and it seems to be able to treat quite a range of skin issues.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Jamieson products

More Moisturizers products