Jamieson • Vitamin A Night Renewal Treatment • Moisturizers

rated 4.3(64 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 777775 on 9/28/2014 9:42:00 PM more reviews by 777775

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I love this cream SO much. I don't normally write reviews, but I had to vouch for this product. I've been having issues with hormonal acne since an ill-fated bout with BC pills. The cysts on my chin, cheeks and around my mouth were crazy terrible. I got a benzaclin script from a doctor which helped with some of my other issues but didn't help my chin at all.

Now, this isn't marketed as an acne treatment, but retinol/vit A products were originally develped for blemish treatment before they became the hallmark of anti-aging. I wanted to try an OTC product with retinol (it actually contains retinyl palmitate, a less-potent derivative of retinol) that would be gentle and I am so glad I did! I've been using it in combination with the benzaclin for a month and my skin is definitely clearing up. As a bonus, my skin is smoother and more even-toned than it has ever been. The post-acne hyperpigmentation I developed is fading rapidly as well. The -$20 price tag is a definite plus.

Yes y'all, it does smell like carrots. I happen to like carrots and clear, smooth skin so it's cool by me. I'm not a fan of the jar packaging because it's not the most hygenic, but I always wash my hands thoroughly before touching my face anyway. Oxygen can get into jar packaging so be sure not to leave it open any longer than necessary.

Overall though, this product saved my skin and for that I have nothing but praise. Having shit skin messed with my confidence, and watching it clear back up this past month has been the best. I would seriously recommend it for anyone with sensitive, dry, or acne-prone skin looking to add a powerful active ingredient (retinol) without risking the peeling or irritation associated with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Alicia868 on 6/28/2014 12:04:00 PM more reviews by Alicia868

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Bought this on sale for 9.99 at shoppers. I dont mind the earthy smell at all actually. It glides on, best for night use i think. At first i used too much of it, a thicker layer, but ive learned that less is more. Overnight i noticed skin looked dewy and plumped. In a week i notice my pores got smaller and my tone looked brighter:). I started to breakout though, likely from usin too much. I read up on vitamin a and it seems u should use it alternate nights so your skin adjusts, and use spf in day as vit a makes skin sensitive to sun. Wish it was in a tube, but overall an inexpensive buy!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 thirdsword on 7/27/2013 5:15:00 AM more reviews by thirdsword

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I first bought this cream after learning about the wonders of retinol for a plethora of skin concerns, and also because of its cheap price for a retinol product. While I won't expect this product to perform miracles, I still love it nonetheless, especially after abandoning it at one point and then recently rediscovering it.

I must say, the container is HUGE, and it lasts forever! If I dare say so myself, I think that this should be sold in smaller quantities (and in a tube or a bottle with a pump)... After all, retinol degrades quickly and a wide open jar certainly doesn't help. The product itself is slightly runny with a strange smell... I'm not quite sure how to describe it. Somewhat medicinal in a synthetic way? It's not terrible, however, and I'm willing to put up with it.

I dot this on my face and neck before spreading it out, and it feels a little greasy, but since it's a nighttime product, that's okay. There's no tingling of the skin, and at first I was skeptical that such a low dose of retinol would yield results. But because of the low dose and the oily texture, it doesn't dry my skin out, and I never had to go through a period of developing tolerance. I then wake up to smoother, less crazy-looking skin, and over time some of my acne scars have faded a little. Again, though, I don't expect this to give me the greatest results. Even with that, I love the price, and how gentle this product is, and thus I will continue to use this for acne control and age prevention.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 yourphatness on 2/12/2013 5:57:00 PM more reviews by yourphatness

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Love this baby. I use this as a night cream only because it's so thick, and it's very moisturizing. My skin always looks fresh in the morning. I haven't noticed any wrinkle reduction, maybe because I'm only 24. On the other hand, last week a teenage guy (18 yr) thought I was his peer.. So I guess I'm definitely not aging thus far.. :)


I apply this after I spray my face with Avene Eau Thermale, and seal in the moisture with this cream. Works like a dream!

FYI - I've been using this for about three years now. I've tried this one and the no name brand, and this one has a better texture. Though the idea is the same ,and neither made me break out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Ginee on 7/9/2012 2:57:00 PM more reviews by Ginee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this to help fade acne scars. I got a jar for $18 CDN.

It does help fresh scars, but didn't do much for older ones. It is greasy but helped keep my skin moisturized even when I was using very drying acne products.

If you put your nose to the jar, you can smell it, otherwise it has no discernible scent.

I don't think I will be re-purchasing because it was too greasy and also too expensive for a DS night cream. But if I don't find something better, I will come back to it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 autumnsylver on 7/8/2012 11:37:00 PM more reviews by autumnsylver

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I originally bought this because I heard that vitamin A cream is good for dark undereye circles. I didn't notice any difference in the dark circles, but I kept using it because I'm starting to get fine lines at the corners of my eyes.
Unless it's my imagination, it seems like this does make a slight difference in fine lines. It doesn't seem to be making them go away, but it makes them look smoother when I put this cream on.
After reading all of the reviews here from people who said that it made their oiliness go away, I decided to try it all over my face. It made my face really oily and disgusting, so I won't use it for that anymore, but I will keep using it for the fine lines around my eyes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 bakatofu on 4/9/2012 5:58:00 PM more reviews by bakatofu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This product does not smell like carrots... it smells worse. After using this religiously every night, for a couple of weeks, I don't notice any difference on my skin. Definitely not a HG product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sugarcheri on 3/11/2012 1:14:00 PM more reviews by sugarcheri

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Well, now that I'm getting on I suppose it's time to start buying a decent anti-aging moisturizer. Thank goodness for this forum, because I was thrilled to discover something that does a wonderful job moisturizing and not only does not cause breakouts but seems to prevent them as well! And you just can't beat the price, and it's cruelty free. I've been using this for a month now, and my skin has noticeably improved a great deal. The fine lines around my eyes have all but disappeared and I'm also noticing an improvement around deep creases on my forehead. Also, a while back I was visiting a woman in her 70's and I was amazed by how beautiful her skin was-- when I went to use her washroom, there was a jar of this on her counter! I will definitely keep using this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Fatang on 6/19/2011 3:21:00 AM more reviews by Fatang

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking for an effective treatment for the dry patches on my face and this didn't fit the bill. At first it applied wonderfully, but it sank into something oilier and ended up causing me to break out. The search continues.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sonjala on 5/3/2011 11:14:00 AM more reviews by Sonjala

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Ok, I don't know if it's because my skin is low maintenance or what, but I never expected a lower end product to make such a difference. This cream ROCKS.
When I hit my late 20's, my skin really changed. The most concerning issue being the cystic acne I suddenly developed around my chin. Like most people, I tried a lot of different products for years, trying to find something that worked for me. 'Course, nothing really worked. After doing some research on the internet, I decided I wanted to try a retinol cream and picked this one up 'cause it was reasonably priced. Since I started using it, I totally stopped breaking out. That was a very big deal for me. I have the odd breakout once in a while, but never like before. It has also noticeably improved my overall complexion. The scars on my chin have vanished. I can't say enough good things about this product.
It also smells good and feels great on. Not greasy but very hydrating. I'm on my third tub now and extremely happy with this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Jamieson products

More Moisturizers products