Farouk CHI Chi Silk Infusion Reconstructing Complex

4.2

603 reviews

79% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclomethicone, Dimethiconol, Dimethicone, C12 15 Alkyl Benzoate, Panthenol, Ethyl Ester of Hydrolyzed Silk, Phenoxyethanol, Fragrance, D&C Yellow 11, D&C Red 17, Zinc Oxide, Titanium Dioxide, Mica, Boron Nitride Powder


on 7/3/2015 3:31:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I don't think I could give this up. I love everything about it. The oil is smooth and smells very clean, and sort of masculine, which I don't really mind. I love the scent of Chi hairspray, guard and this serum. Doesn't weigh my hair down, or make it oily. Gives my hair the sleek look I want. You do have to be careful on the amount you use. A little goes a long way, especially in damp hair. Good stuff :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



Age: Unknown

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I can't get over how crappy this stuff is now. I remember liking it years ago and recently bought a new bottle. After some research, I realized after the fact that this company changed the ingredients! This does absolutely nothing for my hair. I have coarse hair with a lot of texture which makes it prone to high frizz and being unruly. Chi Silk Infusion is too weak for my hair type. It doesn't give shine or frizz control. It does nothing. Too bad because it was expensive. Also, I hate the smell of it.


on 3/21/2015 7:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I was introduced to this product back in approximately either 2008 or 2009 I would say. I have tried so many other oils since and I just can't get away from the Silk Infusion! The smell can be overbearing, but it's not terrible. I apply this when my hair's damp and when it's dry right before flat ironing it. It helps me comb through any type of tangles, when my hair is both wet or dry.

I can never get past the price to be honest, it is so expensive. It does last a really long time though. But, I noticed they've changed the formula. It's no longer the amber/yellow tone, it's now clear, and seems a lot more runny than it use to be. Because of this I can foresee myself going through it a lot quicker. Which sucks!


on 1/9/2015 4:12:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Other

The product itself isn't terrible, my hair didn't get damaged while using it (I heat style somewhat regularly) but I didn't maintain the softness and shine that other heat protection serums give me (marrakesh oil or cherry bomb). The scent is awful imo, like men's cologne, it's way too strong. I expected more because I had heard such good things and it was rather expensive. Would not repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/29/2014 10:11:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have used this product for years now and would be lost without it!! My hair is naturally thick and course, which is true for most redheads, and this completely transforms the texture of my hair. It hydrates, smooths, silkens and seems to lighten the weight of hair. I have tried 'replacements but they simply do not measure up. I will not blow dry my hair without this product. If u have dry, coarse, unmanageable hair try this and be forever hooked!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/22/2014 7:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I really don't know what to say about this stuff....I ABSOLUTELY LOVE, LOVE, LOVE THIS STUFF!!! I have been faithful to this product for over years now. However, every now-and-then, I would find myself trying out new products and nothing would compare! I use mines as straightening treatment prior to flat ironing my hair (place a quarter size all over dry hair and flat iron). The product is light-weight, non-greasy, and it smells amazing! Chi silk infusion has never let me down and worth every penny! Highly recommended Silk Infusion for ALL HAIR TYPES!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/17/2014 12:36:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I used to love this product but now I know, what I really loved was the original formula. I was not aware they had change formulas when I bought my second bottle.

What I loved about the original formula was that it added shine and made my hair feel soft and silky. Now, the current bottle I have with the changed formula, still does all those things except it does not make my hair as smooth as the original. However what I really despise about the new formula is that I've noticed after blow drying my hair with the Silk Infusion applied to damp hair, it leaves small white residue on the ends of my hair! I don't know how this is because the serum is clear?? But it makes my newly washed hair look dirty again and it especially looks bad because I have black hair so the residue really stands out and is noticeable. It's so disappointing. I never experienced this with the original formula. I don't know if I just bought a bad bottle or if it's just the new formula altogether but I'm absolutely not buying it again. I wish they kept the original formula.

I'm currently using Living Proof Satin Hair serum and it's not my HG but it does the job for now. Not a fan of the smell though.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have a love/hate relationship with the Chi Silk Infusion. I adore what this product does for my hair and detest the scent. I use this on wet hair before I blow dry and on dry hair as needed before and after flat ironing. I end up with unbelievably soft, swingy hair. While my hair never stays perfectly straight no matter what I do, the Chi Silk Infusion does a noticeably better job of keeping my hair straighter than other products like it, especially in wet and/or humid weather. I also notice fewer hairs in the brush and on the floor since this provides nice slip. I do find using this on day two or three hair does weigh my hair down pretty significantly.

But I really, really dislike the fragrance, which I find powerful and long lasting. To me this smells like bad menís cologne. Every time I apply this to my hair I relive being stuck in my college dorm elevator for 10 floors with guys drenched in Polo. The scent is so strong and persistent, it might prove a deal breaker for me. If I canít find something that performs as well as Chi, Iím going to have to do some soul-searching about the scent.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/12/2014 5:54:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I really like this product! It makes my hair so soft and shiny .. It also really helps with the spilt ends.
I got this at shoppers drug mart .. My boyfriend paid $32 CAD which I thought was a bit much for such a small bottle. When I got home I took and shower and put this in my hair before I blow dried. I really am not too fond of the smell, it smells like old men deoderant or something. But I put it on and it immediately made my hair softer. I blow dried and straightened and my hair always looks fantastic now. It would be nice if this had a pump on the top and then it could help me from putting too much in my hands. Don't put it on dry hair or it will look disgustingly greatly. I will have this repurchased.


on 8/7/2014 9:38:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I've been hearing lots of great things about this product for a few years now. I always wanted to try it, but in my opinion it was too expensive. I recently spotted the 6oz bottle of Chi Silk infusion on sale at my local supermarket so I finally decided to give it a try. I applied it to my hair prior to blow drying and it works fine at adding shine and smoothness, but I don't think it performs any better than any other drugstore hair serums that I've tried. I also can't stand the smell of this stuff it smells exactly like men's cologne. Bottom line I think this product works well, but I think many drugstore brands work just as well for a fraction of the price.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top