Vincent Longo • Water Canvas Blush • Blush

rated 4.0(29 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SteffStarrr on 7/12/2010 10:30:00 PM more reviews by SteffStarrr

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this when BB&W was having a 90% sale to clear out all their cosmetics a couple years ago (why did they do that?! I loved seeing cosmetics in there!) so it ended up being about $6, but I cringed when I saw the $43 retail price tag. It's a shame because this is one of my HG blushes. I have it in Aqua Crimson which is a really pretty pink with coral in it that can be sheer or pigmented. I love the texture of this-it feels exactly like water on my cheeks and it feels like air in my fingers.

It took my awhile to perfect the application of this blush. At first, I used a skunk brush, but I found that it didn't deposit enough color, or it deposited too much color and then I couldn't blend it out so it looked really hard on my skin.

After awhile, I started using my fingers. I would rub it on the surface than dab it on my cheek, and then blend it out. At first, it will look really unblended and way too hard and clown like on my skin, but after about 10 seconds, it fades down to an almost nothing flush. It is the *perfect* product to get that flush. It looks like barely anything except a natural flush because of the watery moussey texture. If you want, it's also easy to build it up to a more pigmented flush.

Aqua Crimson is the *perfect* color for my NC35 skin and I love to wear it on its own or under a powder blush, usually MAC's Fleur Power.

I've also had this for about 2 hours and it hasn't dried out yet. The texture is a *little* drier, but I just spray it with water and it's fine. If I could find this for $6 again, I would stock up like crazy, but I would even shell out the $30 in a FF sale for Vincent Longo. I'm just not sure I could fork over $43 for this.

One last note, I've used this on a regular basis for the past two years, and I've only made a little dent in this! It will last me forever, but I want more anyway ;)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Angelamakeup on 1/12/2010 1:28:00 PM more reviews by Angelamakeup

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have a love/hate relationship with this product. Its a creamy blush -which I always have trouble applying. The color is wonderful (Clover Mist 53588) on my lightly tanned asian skin. However, I have the hardest time applying it. I usually go for my blush brush but that makes it go on so unevenly. Because of this blush I've had to wash off my face and reapply so many times!!! I hate it for that reason. However, on the rare occassions that I get it right, it looks awesome. And strangely enough -the times I think it looks awful in person (like a clown) it still somehow manages to look fine in photos. I probably would not buy this again. I will go with powder blushes that are easy to apply. The main fault with this could be user error in application.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 immevu on 4/25/2009 7:01:00 PM more reviews by immevu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

it is made to keep the air out so no worries about it being water based. i have it in the color "Forever Flush". It looks very natural! But my only 2 problems with it is that 1) it's $43!!! and 2) it's a little hard to blend. you almost have to pull on your skin a little, i pat it on first then sweep it with my fingers, some people put in on with a brush. So yeah pretty good product. If Bath and Body Works has it on sale %90 off again then i'll get some but other then that no. Ho, and it says it's really good for your skin too, like it gets rid of fine lines and other stuff like that.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 spaceagemouse on 2/4/2009 5:08:00 AM more reviews by spaceagemouse

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Got this for ridiculously cheap at Sephora as they aren't going to carry Vincent Longo anymore. This is the oddest textured blush I've ever tried. At first, it felt springy and cool to the touch, like a gel, but once you break the surface, it feels like a mousse. You must apply this with a brush (I use a skunk brush), otherwise it will look really blotchy and way too pigmented. I got this in Savannah Fresh, which looks like a scary dirty rose in the package (and looked even worse when I applied it with my fingers), but with the brush and a light hand, it ends up looking quite natural.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kimball on 1/10/2009 11:07:00 PM more reviews by kimball

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I would buy this again, but I'm guessing it will be hard to get soon, as everyone seems to be stopping the line. I got this at sephora in a kit, and have been amazed at how it blends. Oddly, when I tried this with fingers I couldn't hardly see it on fingers or my face, then I use my sponge and it shows on it, and blends a beautiful flush on my cheeks. I really like the staying power and I am starting to love cream blushes. This is great, and i guess at this point in my life I'm willing to spend more for products that work well. Still look for bargans, though!!! Oh, mine's clover mist color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mojie on 10/30/2008 4:49:00 PM more reviews by Mojie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

As much as I hate the price on this blush ($42.50 is outrageous), I have to admit that I really like this. It's probably not worth the price and I definitely won't buy again even though I like it because of that, but it's gorgeous when applied right, very fresh and natural looking.



I got this in Swan Lake (which seems to be sold out in every Sephora store I've been to and sells out regularly online). It's described as "cool pink," and I'd say that's accurate. In the pot, it's a cool-toned, medium ballet pink bordering on a dusty rose, but on the skin it turns into a true pink.



The texture of the Water Canvas Blush is a bit bizarre. It feels like a sponge and comes off on the finger (or a sponge) almost as a stain. While this is described as a cream to powder blush, nothing could be further from the truth. I wouldn't call this a cream blush and it certainly doesn't dry to a powder. I'd say it's closer to a cheek stain or possibly a liquid blush although it's solid in the container.



I tried applying this both with my fingers and with a sponge and found that there were problems with both ways (for me, anyway). With my fingers, I had a hard time getting the right amount on my cheeks and found that it started to dry before I got it on my face. With the sponge, I ended up applying way too much. Apparently the sponge sucked up quite a bit without it being visible (it looked like there was just a small amount on the surface). But in spite of the problems with application, Swan Lake looked incredibly natural and flattering on me (except on the cheek where I overdid it). It's sheer and gives a natural, fresh flush that seems to come from the inside out rather than looking like a layer of pigment on my skin.



As much as I like the look of this blush, I won't be buying it again. It's too expensive, too delicate (I'm paranoid about it drying out even with the lid closed since there's no click to let me know it's on all the way) and a little too hard to work with. I'll definitely use the pot I have, but once it's gone, I'm not buying more.



PROS: (1) beautiful, natural look (when applied right); (2) a little goes a long way; (3) feels weightless on the skin.


CONS: (1) way too expensive; (2) very delicate (it can dry out very quickly and has to be stored with the cap tightly closed); (3) can dry out on your fingers/sponge before it's applied or blended if you're not quick

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sharis on 10/10/2008 11:14:00 PM more reviews by sharis

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I still can't believe I paid $43 for blush but I had high hopes and wanted to believe. Well, it's not bad but it's not fabulous and definitely not worth the price. $43!! That's just nuts!

I got this in Forever Flush which looks like terracotta to me. I apply with the MAC 188 or beautyblender sponge. It does go on easily with these tools and looks very natural. The color is o.k. but the swatches on the Sephora site are WAY off. My biggest issue with this product is that it doesn't last on my skin. I don't have much luck with cream blush and this is no exception. I lasts 3 hours or so and then poof! Gone.

If it sold for $23 I'd say it was worth a try but the real price is just too outrageous to be on a very average product.

On a more positive note, I have had this for over a year and it's not dried up in the slightest bit. It's still nice and moist and very useable.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* anniele on 7/8/2008 2:29:00 AM more reviews by anniele

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I was lucky to get these half off at the BBW sale, but I have to say that I don't think I would ever buy these at full price - it's OUTRAGEOUSLY expensive for a blush, especially a blush that is "unstable" in that it could potentially just dry up before you could use all of it, which is the one reason that I took a lippy off.


GENERAL IMPRESSION: Cost aside, I ADORE this blush. I own it in Swan Lake (cool, true ballet pink), Morning Tender (a medium rosy color with a tiny hint of peach) and Aqua Crimson (also a medium rosy color). Each color is absolutely gorgeous and I plan on going back to BBW to get more colors (Clover Mist being next on my list).


MY SKIN: I'm an NC 37-40 and all the colors that I own look wonderful - fresh and natural yet can be punched up with some layering for a more dramatic nighttime look. I have fairly oily skin, and this stuff stays on despite that.


APPLICATION: When I first bought these, I tried to use my fingers to apply. The actual colors looked beautiful on my cheeks, but unfortunately also looked streaky, uneven, splotchy...you get the idea. I was so sad because the colors were lovely, but I just couldn't get it to apply correctly. I also tried my MAC 190 foundation brush, but that didn't help much either. Enter my MAC 187 - I used this as a last, desperate resort to make this blush work for me, never expecting any real results, and *angels sing* it worked!!! I simply swiped the brush lightly on all sides over the product and stroked it onto my cheeks and immediately my cheeks had a perfect, even, beautiful and natural application of color. I don't know who invented the MAC 187, but I owe him much. These are now my new favorite blushes to wear. I use a 187 to apply all of my powder blushes, and while it's usually dependable, sometimes it can take a little work to keep my blush looking even and natural. If I'm applying makeup in a hurry, my blush can turn out looking a little too much....like blush. However, using the 187 with the WC blush is absolutely foolproof. You would really have to WORK to make your blush application look bad. Also, I have no idea why they call this a cream-to-powder blush because it neither looks nor feels like a powder once it's on. The best description I can come up with is like it's a light, sheer stain somewhere between a gel blush and a cream blush, but without any stickyness whatsoever. It's neither matte nor glowy - when applied, it looks like the color is actually part of your skin.


WEAR: Depending on what foundation I use, this blush can last all day. I have had good luck wearing it with Revlon Colorstay, Tarte Smooth Operator, Tarte Peaches and Cream, Stila Pivotal Skin (discontinued foundation, but I stocked up on it). Strangely enough, this doesn't last when I pair it with the Water Canvas Foundation.


FINAL THOUGHTS: There is nothing that I don't love about this blush, other than the price. The colors are gorgeous and unique, they feel like nothing when applied, have pretty great lasting power and the application (with the 187) absolutely could not be easier. I feel like they would probably last me a good while but am still a little worried about the stability of this blush and wondering when/if it will just dry out on me. All in all, I am extremely satisfied with my purchases - complete love.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 trayc41 on 4/23/2008 9:18:00 AM more reviews by trayc41

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is blush perfection. Yes, this product is expensive but definitely worth it. It's not greasy, doesn't break me out, stays on all day and goes on well over and under powder. I use either my Paula Dorf cream blush brush or the MAC 188 (little skunk brush) to apply. I adore Nature Ray--it is the perfect bronzer, natural, but sunkissed with almost undetectable shimmer. Did I mention it's perfect? I also love swan lake and monder tender, which I think were already described well below. Just don't forget to close the lid TIGHTLY!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* katmu1 on 10/10/2007 3:13:00 PM more reviews by katmu1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this after trying VL water canvas foundation. The SA recommended Aqua Crimson for me. The shade in the pan is truly scary for PPP me, but after she applied I was truly sold. A beautiful healthy flush, similiar to what I have after a strenuous workout (but no sweating required!!). The texture is not as greasy as other cream blushes, such as Stila CC or MAC blushcremes. I took 1 lippie off however for the truly outrageous price ($42.50 in the US). I recommend applying with a contour blush brush. I don't think this product would apply very well with your fingers. Be sure to recap tightly as the WC line has a tendency to dry out if not sealed.

For reference- 37 with dry, sensitive acne-prone skin. lighter than MAC NC15 / VLWC Soft Beige / BB Porcelain / lighter than Alima W1 / Becca Sand LSC

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Vincent Longo products

More Blush products