Mario Badescu • Glycolic Acid Toner • Toners

rated 4.2(93 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 MUrascal on 10/4/2014 7:24:00 PM more reviews by MUrascal

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have conflicting feelings about this product. I used it and have finished the 8oz bottle (lasted a year with use a couple of times a week) but I'm not sure if I'll repurchase. The product itself does work for my skin, which suffers from mild acne and clogs. Things like benzoyl peroxide and salicylic acid make my acne worse. This makes my skin more glowy, smoother and with less minor pimples. The price is also reasonable for a pretty decent volume of product (compared to other glycolic products). However, something concerns me, which is that the liquid is fragranced and coloured. But this fact is not reflected in the rather short ingredients list. After doing a little more research, it turns out that there is some controversy surrounding MB products and incomplete/inaccurate ingredients lists (which has caused some people to have adverse reactions). I so want to use this again because my skin is more troubled without it, but at the same time, who knows what harm you could be doing in the long term if there is something in there that you don't know about?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 MDevanney on 8/2/2014 1:34:00 AM more reviews by MDevanney

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Not suitable for my sensitive skin. While it dried up all of the blackheads on my nose, it also left it red and raw. I also noticed a few unusual bumps popped up when I began using this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* countrybearjamboree on 7/30/2014 9:50:00 AM more reviews by countrybearjamboree

Age: Unknown   Skin: Very Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I'm having some positive results with a few of Mario Badescu's products throughout the years. This is the newest product that I picked up from the brand. I think this particular product is a game changer for me. I have adult mild to on rare occasions moderate and severe bouts of hormonal acne. I can have extremely clear skin to having about 20 blemishes all at once. It comes and goes in waves. Thankfully, the more severe bouts are very rare. Nothing seems to really work (topical or oral) during those very bad bouts. I also have very oily skin that is prone to clogs. Experiencing with several toners, I've realized that even though my skin is oily, it can't handle witch hazel or large amounts of alcohol. Those two ingredients seem to make my skin worse. Lost at sea, I didn't really know where else to turn? Toners either have witch hazel or alcohol or irritating oils like peppermint and eucalytpus. After researching online, I came to this glycolic acid toner. This is what my skin likes! It doesn't burn. It effectively lifts up dead skin and gives an added boost in cleansing the skin. It has a soothing soft scent. It doesn't dry out my skin nor does it leave a greasy residue behind. It doesn't cause breakouts. It is everything I was looking for in a toner! HOWEVER, with everything else in life, I never read the instructions. I made the first mistake of applying this to active acne and it caused my skin to be red and angry but it didn't create more acne, it just basically pissed off the existing acne. So, make sure you use this on clear days or avoid areas where there is active acne. I find that this toner really brings life to my skin. It is a gentle chemical exfoliator and provides such a glow to the skin. It is gentle enough to use daily. Simpe good ingredients. Nothing in here will irritate your skin. Ingredients: Deionized Water (Aqua),Aloe Vera (Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice) Gel,Grapefruit (Citrus Grandis Fruit) Extract, Glycolic Acid. Also, very affordable for a clinical type brand. 8oz bottle is $18.00.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sallyso on 7/22/2014 1:00:00 AM more reviews by sallyso

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

My son had mild to moderate acne on his forehead which started when he was about twelve. He is fourteen now. He has used over the counter products such as mario badescu drying lotion andThursday Plantation tea tree acne medicated get as well as prescription meds like Duac and Aczone. NOTHING WORKed. 5 months ago I bought this glycolic acid toner for him. What worked for him was popping his whiteheads and using this toner in the evening on his nose and forehead after his shower. It has cleared up his acne and acne scars 100%. I really love, love, love , love this product because it continues to keep him clear.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 moonprincesss on 7/8/2014 10:04:00 AM more reviews by moonprincesss

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I was hesitant about buying this toner at first. Purely because 1) I hardly EVER used to spend decent money on skincare, limited to a cheap drugstore facial cleanser and occasionally, a moisturizer that probably did more harm than good, and 2) I was ignorant enough to think that I could get away with that. When really, a lot of the problems that I had with my skin (blemishes, pigmentation, generally bad skin texture) that I thought would never go away, could have been avoided this whole time by just finding the right product.

I had some birthday money to burn in the beautiful and pristine skincare section at Myer, and spoke to a nice shop girl who pointed me in the direction of some products that would actually help me. One of them being the Mario Badescu Glycolic Acid toner.
I'd never even really understood the need for toners before I used this one because every other toner I had used had just stung, and dried out my skin until its texture resembled lizard scales. But I'm glad I bought it, because I truly believe this product is a miracle!!

The first time I used it it stung a little, but that was probably because I had such a build up of dead skin cells. But after only a couple of weeks using it 1-2 times a day, my skin feels dramatically improved. It's actually amazing! The texture of my skin is softer and smoother than its ever been before, and my acne/blemishes are quickly disappearing. My freckles and red marks are also fading as well! Also the toner eating away all the dead skin allows for other products, like the new moisturizer I have been using, Meishoku's Organic Rose Skin Conditioning Gel (which I also highly recommend) to penetrate my skin and actually perform the way they're sposed to. So my skin is able to feel 100% hydrated!

I like the packaging as well. The little lift up nozzle is perfect for pouring the right amount onto a cotton pad.

This product receives a 5/5!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* yallagabig on 7/4/2014 3:26:00 PM more reviews by yallagabig

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a total HG product for me. It has made my life better in so many ways. I have skin that is extremely oily and sensitive. It cannot tolerate salicylic acid or lactic acid (both of which give me a hideous rash) but for some reason, it's fine with glycolic. This toner is alcohol-free as well, which is even better.
The first time I used this, I felt it work instantly. It gave my skin this burning tingle, which I knew was not synthetically manufactured by menthol or alcohol. I let the toner dry down for a moment (maybe 30 seconds) and then spritzed my face with rose water (as is my regular routine). Then I applied my moisturizer and settled in with a book. After a few hours, I began to notice that my face felt remarkably different from how it usually feels at that point in the night. It felt CLEAN and soft and not greasy. When I woke up in the morning, my face (which is usually an oily mess by morning) was matte and dry (in a good way) and not oily AT ALL! I was shocked, and began to wonder if the toner had dried my skin out. But it felt perfectly comfortable and, in fact, very soft. I then realized that that wasn't the feeling of dried-out skin; that was the feeling of my moisturizer ACTUALLY PENETRATING MY SKIN for the first time now that the glycolic acid had broken down that disgusting top layer of dead skin sitting on my face. Because of this wonderful toner, my skin was FINALLY able to drink up the moisture it needed.
I also noticed that after my very first use of the product, my blackheads were GONE (GONE! COMPLETELY GONE! Effects as good as sitting there with a blackhead extractor for 20 minutes, but minus all the squeezing and redness and damage to my pores!) and my skin no longer gets oily throughout the day. It just feels silky, sheer, matte, perfect. It is also clearing up my stubborn acne scars, making my pores appear smaller, making my face look smooth and healthy and radiant… I just love this toner so much. Amazing ingredients with no harsh fillers, incredible results… THIS is the fountain of youth!!!!!!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Nataliegsno on 6/6/2014 1:03:00 PM more reviews by Nataliegsno

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I was excited to use this toner because I thought it would really help my dark spots. It also has like 4 ingredients and you can pronounce all of them. Unfortunately this made my skin peel and after it peeled it was really sensitive to the point where it burned to wash my face. I only used it at night because it made my skin really shiny like you could see your reflection in my face kinda shiny. The little tip on the cap is not the greatest because it can leak and it's hard to control how much toner is coming out. It's better to unscrew the top and turn it over on a cotton pad a few times.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 g0tjesx on 5/14/2014 1:26:00 PM more reviews by g0tjesx

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

After dealing with cystic acne for almost a year I had some pretty terrible scarring/discoloration. At the advice of a friend, I started using the Glycolic Acid Toner.

This toner helped ease the discoloration in the first few weeks. I am now free of my post-acne hyperpigmentation but continue to use this toner for its anti-aging benefits. I use this in conjunction with the Olay Regenerist Cream Cleanser with Microbeads. My skin has never been more clear and even in texture in my life. My pores are also less congested as well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ninaulrich on 5/6/2014 1:30:00 PM more reviews by ninaulrich

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

WOW, this toner sure does make a difference for my oily blemish prone skin! I had never used a toner before this, thought of it as an unnecessary step, but for the past 10 days I've used this, it's proven to be the most efficient product in my routine. It does sting a bit, but it makes my skin glow! I haven't even used my concealer lately, because this toner erases all unwanted redness and marks from picking. Makes my deep pores a lot cleaner and tighter. I use it twice a day and will never be without it. Also, very fairly priced - I would actually call this a bargain.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 already30 on 4/18/2014 11:59:00 PM more reviews by already30

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I've been working hard to find the right regimen for my acne-prone, sun damaged skin. This toner was the first product I knew I'd be holding onto. Along with my Clairsonic and Mad Hippie Vitamin C serum, I'm starting to see the results I've been working towards. Still looking for the right moisturizer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Mario Badescu products

More Toners products