Olay Winter Retreat Body Wash in Vanilla Essence for Extra Dry Skin

4.0

21 reviews

57% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This smelled divine when I sniffed it in the store; however, that smell turned "plasticky" once applied to my skin in the shower. Very disappointing. Will be returning b/c I can't deal with the artificial aroma.



on 2/10/2010 6:28:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Whenever I use this body wash it really does make my skin soft. So it does a good job at moisturizing.

The scent is alright. It is strong at first but it doesn't last long.

It foams up very easy too..

However I have noticed it leaving a thin "film" feeling on my skin a few times. Maybe I just used too much those times?

I think it's a pretty good body wash for moisturizing purposes.


on 1/6/2010 10:10:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love the light fragrance and love how creamy yet foamy this is. I got this from Target a huge bottle for $5.49. A nice changeup from my usual Dove. The only tiny issue is the bottle cap, seems rather flimsy.


on 1/6/2010 9:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

The really cold, dry winters can take a toll on my skin. I picked this up at Target and it really has helped keep my skin moisturized. I suffer from eczema and this seems to help keep that under control too. (Although I pair this wash with Curel Anti-itch body lotion) Like other reviewers, the smell can be a bit much. It smells nice in the bottle, but once it hits air watch out. Luckily, the smell doesn't last all day...but the moisturizing effects do.


on 1/15/2009 10:26:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Olive, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I'm a little undecided about this product, but since I don't love it I can't give it a great rating.

Pros: pretty moisturizing, and my skin is not as dry when I get out of the shower

Stuck in the middle: the smell is a pretty vanilla, but if you smell closer it has a cheap chemical scent to it, washability, i guess it doesn't leave you squeaky clean like other body washes

cons: the smell mostly, just nothing special, and you do get a huge amount for about $6 but just not worth it


on 12/26/2008 9:09:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This stuff was a "gift", and I'm so glad I didn't waste any money on it. This stuff is disgusting!!!!!! It doesn't rinse off my body well at all, leaving a greasy/sticky feeling behind, leaving you feeling .... like you just want to shower.

Will NOT repurchase or recommend this to anyone. Gross!


on 11/14/2008 2:34:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

OH MY!! This is so delightful!! I love the sweet, creamy scent of this body wash! Don't hesitate to pick this up. It's inexpensive, you have nothing to lose!


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

EDIT: After about two weeks after using this cleanser, I broke out in a hellacious rash that encompassed every pore of my body. Something similar to that had happened to me once before, eons ago, when I'd used a much older Olay cleanser. Also, since I wrote this review, The Rash has hit my best friend, to whom I gave two bottles of this. I wouldn't recommend it now, and I definitely won't buy. If you're skin's not sensitive, though, you're probably fine.

This cleanser makes my skin feel soooooooooooo soft and leaves just a faint scent of vanilla on skin after the product is rinsed off. I have weird skin - most of it's dry, but some parts will always be oily. This product does a great job of moisturizing my skin, but doesn't contribute to any oiliness. I'm really upset that this one is a "limited edition." Between the lovely scent and the good that it does my skin, I would love to see it as a 'keeper!"


on 3/18/2008 12:23:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I purchased some of this after all the rave reviews on the bath forum here on MUA. I figured since it wasn't especially expensive compared to many of the other products I use "no harm, no foul" so to speak. The bottle was a large 22 oz bottle. When I sniffed it in the store I could smell a really nice but light vanilla fragrance. I must admit, this was one of the nicer vanillas I have smelled since so many of them have an undertone of "plastic" and this one did not. It was a nice bright creamy and clear vanilla. However, the scent was very light but I figured for the price I could live with that.

I get the product home and into the shower. Upon pouring some on my bath poof which if you are not careful this package will dump way more than you need onto your poof, I sniffed the product. It smelled like the light vanilla with a strange chemical under note to it. This was not a "soapy" smell others describe but straight bitter chemicals. While using this in the shower the scent became stronger with chemicals and it is almost too much to bear. The lather is a very luxurious lather and that was the best part about using it. When I finished rinsing off, I felt a terrible film on my skin. This was not the feeling of "oils" you get when using a solid lotion or massage bar in the shower. This was more like a waxy feeling. I do not like that waxy feeling at all.

In short, if Olay were to boost the fragrance in this to possibly cover up the chemical smells it might not be a half-bad product. I don't mind if a product does not leave me scented after a shower, I do mind bathing in something that smells like toxic chemical soup.

I am not going to repurchase and using this bottle up is taking forever since I only use it about once a week, only so that it will get used. I hate to waste product. As far as the bar soap goes, I have some of that in my stash and have yet to try it. I am hopeful it will not be as bas of an experience as the shower gel. Once I try the soap I will add to this review.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/6/2008 7:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I have extremely dry, sensitive skin and I've usually had pretty decent luck with Olay products in the past. Hmm... so I wonder what happened with this product? It made me really itchy and I developed a scaly rash on my arms (yuck) that was only "cured" by covering my arms in a mixture of jojoba oil and aveeno lotion for extra dry skin. With the exception of the freakout on my arms, I did enjoy this soap. It smelled lovely and the rest of my body was really hydrated and looked good. I got this in a set at Walgreens with the Winter Retreat Exfoliating Wash and the Beauty Bar for.. $8? Which is quite a steal considering the body wash alone runs about $6 at my grocery store.


Popular Gels/Soaps


Beauty Bar
906 Reviews
Twilight
19 Reviews
Back to Top