Olay • Winter Retreat Body Wash in Vanilla Essence for Extra Dry Skin • Gels/Soaps

rated 4.0(21 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.57%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sweetest_Taboo on 12/3/2011 10:15:00 PM more reviews by Sweetest_Taboo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This smelled divine when I sniffed it in the store; however, that smell turned "plasticky" once applied to my skin in the shower. Very disappointing. Will be returning b/c I can't deal with the artificial aroma.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 FlameKitty on 2/10/2010 6:28:00 AM more reviews by FlameKitty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Whenever I use this body wash it really does make my skin soft. So it does a good job at moisturizing.

The scent is alright. It is strong at first but it doesn't last long.

It foams up very easy too..

However I have noticed it leaving a thin "film" feeling on my skin a few times. Maybe I just used too much those times?

I think it's a pretty good body wash for moisturizing purposes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chocolegal on 1/6/2010 10:10:00 PM more reviews by chocolegal

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Love the light fragrance and love how creamy yet foamy this is. I got this from Target a huge bottle for $5.49. A nice changeup from my usual Dove. The only tiny issue is the bottle cap, seems rather flimsy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ak0703 on 1/6/2010 9:43:00 PM more reviews by ak0703

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

The really cold, dry winters can take a toll on my skin. I picked this up at Target and it really has helped keep my skin moisturized. I suffer from eczema and this seems to help keep that under control too. (Although I pair this wash with Curel Anti-itch body lotion) Like other reviewers, the smell can be a bit much. It smells nice in the bottle, but once it hits air watch out. Luckily, the smell doesn't last all day...but the moisturizing effects do.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* yshah0621 on 1/15/2009 10:26:00 PM more reviews by yshah0621

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Olive, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a little undecided about this product, but since I don't love it I can't give it a great rating.

Pros: pretty moisturizing, and my skin is not as dry when I get out of the shower

Stuck in the middle: the smell is a pretty vanilla, but if you smell closer it has a cheap chemical scent to it, washability, i guess it doesn't leave you squeaky clean like other body washes

cons: the smell mostly, just nothing special, and you do get a huge amount for about $6 but just not worth it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jaqi16 on 12/26/2008 9:09:00 PM more reviews by jaqi16

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff was a "gift", and I'm so glad I didn't waste any money on it. This stuff is disgusting!!!!!! It doesn't rinse off my body well at all, leaving a greasy/sticky feeling behind, leaving you feeling .... like you just want to shower.

Will NOT repurchase or recommend this to anyone. Gross!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jessicamc44 on 11/14/2008 2:34:00 PM more reviews by jessicamc44

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

OH MY!! This is so delightful!! I love the sweet, creamy scent of this body wash! Don't hesitate to pick this up. It's inexpensive, you have nothing to lose!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 GoddessGreenEyes on 10/5/2008 10:34:00 AM more reviews by GoddessGreenEyes

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

EDIT: After about two weeks after using this cleanser, I broke out in a hellacious rash that encompassed every pore of my body. Something similar to that had happened to me once before, eons ago, when I'd used a much older Olay cleanser. Also, since I wrote this review, The Rash has hit my best friend, to whom I gave two bottles of this. I wouldn't recommend it now, and I definitely won't buy. If you're skin's not sensitive, though, you're probably fine.

This cleanser makes my skin feel soooooooooooo soft and leaves just a faint scent of vanilla on skin after the product is rinsed off. I have weird skin - most of it's dry, but some parts will always be oily. This product does a great job of moisturizing my skin, but doesn't contribute to any oiliness. I'm really upset that this one is a "limited edition." Between the lovely scent and the good that it does my skin, I would love to see it as a 'keeper!"

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Sakuru on 3/18/2008 12:23:00 PM more reviews by Sakuru

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I purchased some of this after all the rave reviews on the bath forum here on MUA. I figured since it wasn't especially expensive compared to many of the other products I use "no harm, no foul" so to speak. The bottle was a large 22 oz bottle. When I sniffed it in the store I could smell a really nice but light vanilla fragrance. I must admit, this was one of the nicer vanillas I have smelled since so many of them have an undertone of "plastic" and this one did not. It was a nice bright creamy and clear vanilla. However, the scent was very light but I figured for the price I could live with that.

I get the product home and into the shower. Upon pouring some on my bath poof which if you are not careful this package will dump way more than you need onto your poof, I sniffed the product. It smelled like the light vanilla with a strange chemical under note to it. This was not a "soapy" smell others describe but straight bitter chemicals. While using this in the shower the scent became stronger with chemicals and it is almost too much to bear. The lather is a very luxurious lather and that was the best part about using it. When I finished rinsing off, I felt a terrible film on my skin. This was not the feeling of "oils" you get when using a solid lotion or massage bar in the shower. This was more like a waxy feeling. I do not like that waxy feeling at all.

In short, if Olay were to boost the fragrance in this to possibly cover up the chemical smells it might not be a half-bad product. I don't mind if a product does not leave me scented after a shower, I do mind bathing in something that smells like toxic chemical soup.

I am not going to repurchase and using this bottle up is taking forever since I only use it about once a week, only so that it will get used. I hate to waste product. As far as the bar soap goes, I have some of that in my stash and have yet to try it. I am hopeful it will not be as bas of an experience as the shower gel. Once I try the soap I will add to this review.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mellimello on 1/6/2008 7:38:00 PM more reviews by mellimello

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have extremely dry, sensitive skin and I've usually had pretty decent luck with Olay products in the past. Hmm... so I wonder what happened with this product? It made me really itchy and I developed a scaly rash on my arms (yuck) that was only "cured" by covering my arms in a mixture of jojoba oil and aveeno lotion for extra dry skin. With the exception of the freakout on my arms, I did enjoy this soap. It smelled lovely and the rest of my body was really hydrated and looked good. I got this in a set at Walgreens with the Winter Retreat Exfoliating Wash and the Beauty Bar for.. $8? Which is quite a steal considering the body wash alone runs about $6 at my grocery store.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Olay products

More Gels/Soaps products