Essie • Aruba Blue • Polishes

rated 4.6(52 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 sparkle506 on 6/10/2014 5:53:00 PM more reviews by sparkle506

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Love this colour! I'm a sucker for blue polishes. I have put off buying this colour for a long time but finally caved a couple of weeks ago and I do not regret. It's such a versatile colour, it's lovely for the spring and summer because of the nice glowy finish it gives. But that maybe because I'm in a non spring colour phase right now. And I would imagine it lovely for the fall and winter as well. I'm usually against finishes that are not creme polishes but after this one I might have to pick up sexy divide which also has a similar finish.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FusiaFever on 5/29/2014 12:04:00 PM more reviews by FusiaFever

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Perfect royal blue color, reminiscent of the dark blue sea. It gives a sheen that makes your nails appear as if they are sapphires. The color is opaque from just one coat and dries quickly. The finish is a slightly metallic and glossy, not frosty.

There is no streaking. This color looks just as great on the hands as it does on the feet. Perfect for the summer tan or to brighten up a pale complexion. I don't even like blue or colorful nailpolishes, but this one sold me.

I would repurchase. But there is a lot in this bottle. The color reminds me of the Lancome French Riviera nail polish colors that are hot this summer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KatieRamey on 2/25/2014 9:41:00 PM more reviews by KatieRamey

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE this polish!! The application is smooth, opaque in 2 coats, dries quickly, and the color is very flattering to most skin tones! I am wearing it now, and its great for the winter, but I cannot wait to wear this in the summer!

My only negative about this polish is that it does not dry to a high gloss/mirror finish like I was hoping, but it is nothing a coat of essie's top coat can't fix :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Curlybird on 1/22/2014 4:12:00 PM more reviews by Curlybird

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This royal blue polish is one of my favorite polishes for summer, on my tips or on my toes. The formula is great and the color is blue without being super bright. By contrast, Orly's Royal Navy can look dark in low light.

Aruba Blue is a perfect blue, and does not lean green or purple at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 saranov on 11/18/2013 9:20:00 AM more reviews by saranov

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Where to begin with this amazing polish?! This is hands down my favorite dark blue polish ever. Aruba Blue makes my nails look like sapphires! The first time I saw it, it immediately caught my eye and I just knew I had to have it.

It has a bit of a frost/metallic finish. The formula is a breeze, application is super smooth and you only need two coats max for full opacity. Also, there is minimal to no streaking. I can't wait for sandal weather again, because I know I'll be rocking Aruba Blue on my feet all summer long.

Formula-wise, Essie can be hit or miss depending on the shade (for me, at least), but this one is fabulous.

An absolutely beautiful color with an amazingly workable formula? I'm sold!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 oceanbubbles on 11/2/2013 11:41:00 PM more reviews by oceanbubbles

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I could sing praise for this gorgeous polish all day long. From the very first time I saw this on the shelf in the store, I was amazed, and I just knew that I had to have it. Aruba Blue is this very dark, deep blue navy color with a subtle lighter blue metallic shimmer. There is just so much dimension to this polish that I don't think I'll ever stop using it (and I would really freak out if Essie ever stopped making this color). It's not just one shade. Depending on the angle and lighting in which I looked at this color, it looked different, which is just amazing. The formula was the perfect consistency (not stubbornly thick, but just thin enough for spreading), which helped get the flawless, shiny finish (even without top coat) that I love, and the color was opaque in just one coat! The brush also helped because it's thick and wide enough to cover each nail quickly, easily, evenly, but also cleanly, so there wasn't much clean up involved afterwards. Also, I wore Aruba Blue for a good 7 days without chipping, so this polish is worth every penny!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SaraCee07 on 5/13/2013 5:36:00 AM more reviews by SaraCee07

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

Beautiful shimmery metallic looking royal blue polish. It looks fabulous on nails, but takes FOREVER to dry! I ended up getting scratches on the surface of my nails even though I was careful. It has also chipped at the top of my nails after one day, but I change my colour every few days anyway so it's not so much of an issue for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 SWilisons on 3/27/2013 8:13:00 PM more reviews by SWilisons

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I was a little disappointed in this color, it didn't look as interesting on my nails as it did in the bottle. It's probably just me, though, as everyone else seems to love it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sprite26 on 1/6/2013 11:54:00 AM more reviews by sprite26

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Love this beautiful royal blue. So bright and eye-catching! It's so glow-y it's almost metallic-looking. This color grabbed my attention from the first time I saw it in the store, it really stands out. And now that I'm wearing it I've decided it's one of my favorite polishes, and I own close to 100. One of Essie's best!
If you like blue polishes this one is a must-have!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jimmychoordam on 12/13/2012 7:22:00 AM more reviews by jimmychoordam

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Black    

This is my first Essie nail polish, I simply adore OPI and Chanel. Forgot to bring nail polish on a sleep over and went to a drug store and Essie was the only quality brand they had. Aruba Blue is a gorgeous blue which really stands out due to the brightness of it. I can see this working on all skin tones. It's a happy, royal and charming colour. Every time I wear it I receive a compliment. The Essie brush is quite wide which makes for an easy application. You could get away with one coat but I love two coats. It has a high sheen so you don't have to use a top coat if you use top coat for sheen. I'm very pleased with the purchase and wear it often.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products