MAC • Lustre in See Sheer • Lipstick

rated 4.2(167 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 hottahitilover on 8/8/2014 3:16:00 PM more reviews by hottahitilover

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'VE BEEN CURIOUS ABOUT SEE SHEER AND SHY SHINE NEVER SAMPLED EITHER BUT I ENDED UP ORDERING SEE SHEER AND I CAN SAY I AM QUITE PLEASED I WORE IT TWO DAYS IN A ROW IT IS QUITE ORANGE-ISH KIND OF REMINDS ME OF MAC CROSSWIRES JUST A SHEER VERSION NOT AS CREAMY BUT OVERALL I LIKE SEE SHEER I WOULDN'T MAKE IT A POINT TO REPURCHASE HOWEVER I WOULD PROBABLY CHOOSE CROSSWIRES OVER THIS ONE BUT I'LL ENJOY MY TUBE IT IS A PRETTY COLOR THAT LOOKS PRETTY WITH ANY BLUSH AND EYE MAKE UP BUT FOR 16.00 I CAN FIND A LIPGLOSS FOR CHEAPER WITH THE SAME EFFECT THE LUSTRE TEXTURE WEARS OFF FAST AND WITHOUT EATING OR DRINKING IT JUST WEARS OFF AND BECAUSE OF THAT IT IS NOT A GOOD DEAL SO ID GO WITH CROSSWIRES OR RAVISHING THEY LAST LONGER.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 beverlywho on 8/5/2014 5:35:00 PM more reviews by beverlywho

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely adore this shade! It's a subtle and pretty reddish-pinkish-coral and is perfect for every day wear. I love the Lustres for their moisturizing properties and creaminess, but I do find myself having to reapply frequently.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BeFineFilipina on 8/5/2014 12:15:00 AM more reviews by BeFineFilipina

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I honestly wasn't completely sold with how it looked on me in the store, but I bought it anyways and thought I'd just play around with different glosses and liners at home. It has fast become THE shade that I constantly reach for. At least in summer, this coral shade goes with whatever I'm wearing and doesn't scream out or make me look overly made up high maintenance (which is uber important if you're a laid back California girl!). Fair warning though: it is a bit too drying without a balm underneath and the staying power is poor without a liner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AmosJay on 8/2/2014 9:05:00 PM more reviews by AmosJay

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Love... Love.. This color! Nice coral. Good for everyday wear. The only thing is I wish it stayed on longer. I am a big fan of the long wear lipstick and I hate to reapply. But I do love this color! Makes the touch up worth it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stimwink1 on 5/11/2014 6:47:00 PM more reviews by stimwink1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This very pigmented but sheer luster Pinky/ coral is an awesome everyday color. Strong enough to stand on it's own for a garden wedding when you want color but not the heavyness of a matte lip stick. Very close to a pop color pink peony that I loved the color of but hated the formula. I think this could be a tricky shade for some that need more a yellow toned lippy. This seems to lean a bit cooler or neutral. Try it in the store first and let it sit on your lips awhile because it did change slightly on me. The one nice thing about MAC is if you hate it. Return it

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Maclover93 on 4/21/2014 8:39:00 PM more reviews by Maclover93

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Just the perfect cute pop of coral for fair skinned girls like me. It gives just enough color, and it seems to last a little while too, longer than more creamy lipsticks I think. It can feel a tad dry though, but to other people it will look nice and dewy on the lips. Absolutely my new favorite spring/summer lipstick!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Cherryferry on 4/7/2014 8:02:00 PM more reviews by Cherryferry

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

The first mac lipstick that I ever bought was sophisto, and I was so in love with its lustre formula that I decided to buy another one. See Sheer was the one that I chose. It is a very pretty soft coral colour. I tried it on in the store and liked the bright pop of colour it added to my face, and decided that it was the perfect spring/summer colour.

I have very fair skin, dark hair and dark blue eyes. This lipstick is the perfect shade for brightening my entire face and just makes me look more awake. It is a good everyday colour for when you want to make a statement but don't want to go the whole way with a red or dark lipstick.

I love love love the lustre formula lipsticks from mac. Yes, they don't last forever and you find yourself frequently having to reapply. BUT they are so moisturizing and just look so good that it is a small price to pay. Plus, I actually really like the way that the lipstick feels on my lips, so it isn't exactly a chore to keep touching up :) Plus, when you do put it on it is very pigmented, I find. It is certainly very buildable: one coat gives you a pretty tint, but add a second or third layer and you have a full on bold colour. So, really, you can create many looks with it just depending on how much you apply.

I currently own three mac lipsticks: sophisto, see sheer and plumful. See sheer is probably my least favourite shade out of the three, but that doesn't mean that I don't love it. I can see myself repurchasing it in the future. I am usually a little nervous when it comes to wearing coral shades, but this one is just so workable and easy that I can't imagine my makeup bag without it :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ladonamorena64 on 2/24/2014 2:04:00 PM more reviews by ladonamorena64

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Update : After working with this lipstick, I finally found a way to make it look great. I used Mac Currant lip liner to give it a pink tone, and it looked great. Then to give it a deeper coral tone, I used Mac lip liner in cork, then I used a lip liner by Iman in Spice, it looked great. This is going to be my go to everyday lipstick. I upped the rating from 3 to 5, and I will purchase again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Asti1234 on 2/20/2014 3:40:00 AM more reviews by Asti1234

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my new favourite everyday lipstick. It is a beautiful dark coral colour, and as the name suggests, quite sheer. I like to put on my lip conditioner first, then apply See Sheer straight from the tube to my lips. It makes me look awake and the colour is not too in your face but enough to look polished and classy. The finish is a lustre, which is one of my fave finishes by Mac. Wears off beautifully and evenly. I am warm toned, nc30 with dark brown eyes and hair for reference.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CharismaSL on 1/13/2014 1:33:00 PM more reviews by CharismaSL

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

This is a beautiful muted coral. I wouldn't say there is peach tones in it instead just a nice orangey coral that isn't 'in your face' bright. The lasting power on these babies are fantastic. What is even more pleasantly shocking is that they fade (after eating/drinking) evenly and leave a gorgeous coral colour behind which I top off with any nude/flesh coloured lip gloss. This is a more warm toned lippie which I pair with warm toned e/s such as the Naked 2 e/s palette. A great orange lipstick that can be worn everyday.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products