Bare Escentuals • Wine Country Glimpses-Blendable Eye Collection • Eye Shadow

rated 4.9(8 reviews)

Average Rating.4.9
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jmp24 on 10/25/2012 10:38:00 AM more reviews by jmp24

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This is the first BE kit I have ever purchased, typically I buy shadow singles. At first I didn't like it, the reddish shade (Pinot Noir) and the lighter one (Chardonnay) just didn't look excite me at first. Merlot, like most of the purples, looks great with my brown eyes, and works both as a lid color and a liner.

I was going to give away Pinot Noir because I found it to be way too red - but I'm going to hold on to it for now, I may try it as a blush, liner, or mixed with other colors. That is one of the great things about loose shadows, they are so versatile! As for Chardonnay, it looks nice on the lids if you apply it very sheerly, but it's too glittery for day. I have been using it - sparingly - as a highlighter. I also think it would be a good color to mix with other shadows or blushes. Alone, it's a little too gold for my coloring - but I can see where a lot of people could use this. And, as always, you need a primer with these shadows.

I think that the Merlot is the most beautiful color of the three, just a gorgeous plummy purple. I put some neutral taupe or sandy beige color on my lids, then use Merlot as a liner along the upper and lower lashes. Adds a little pop of color that isn't too "in your face" like some shades in the purple family. Reminds me of a cooler, deeper, version of BE Devotion. I haven't tried using it wet yet, gotta remember to do that!

All in all, this is a nice kit. BE shadows last a long time, though, the darker colors and those I use as liners last even longer. And they are always coming out with newer ones...the only BE shadow I have ever repurchased was Bare Skin...so I probably won't repurchase this one.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jennhope001 on 1/14/2008 4:41:00 PM more reviews by jennhope001

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I bought this kit at BE about 6 months ago and I really like it. Merlot is the perfect shade of plummy purple that looks great with green eyes. The reddish color is also really nice although I can see though where people that maybe do not have a lot of experience with loose eye shadows would have some trouble blending this color in with the others as it can go on fairly intense but it really does blend good with Merlot if you apply it lightly. As for Chardonnay, it is my least favorite color in the bunch. It has a slight orange hue to it that I don't care for so I use BE's Queen Phyllis instead of it and like the trio much better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* schminken on 10/4/2007 10:46:00 AM more reviews by schminken

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This kit began my obsession with BE eye kits. I have so many eye shadows but what I like BE is how blendble they are and the kits are fantastic with interesting color combos.

Yes, it takes a bit of work and its a little messy but the look is a great payoff. I have brown hair and dark brown eyes, but my eyes are not golden. I look better in plums and taupes. I can see how many people are not impressed with the burnished rose color. I really had to work with it and I found the trick was to apply it dry and just very sheerly. Great kit with unusual colors I would never think of.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 YingSi on 12/28/2006 3:58:00 PM more reviews by YingSi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

These colors are very beautiful and easy to blend. Go great with hazel eyes. They also mix wonderfully with other BE colors!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dancergirl92 on 1/25/2006 4:45:00 PM more reviews by dancergirl92

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I absolutely love this eyeshadow set! These are really really blendable and so hard to make a mistake. They stay on my eyes all day and don't budge. I used the pinot noir as eyeliner for under my eyes and that stayed put too. These colors look dark in their containers, but they really aren't. This is my favoriter set from BE.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kathya11 on 1/16/2006 6:40:00 PM more reviews by kathya11

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Silver   Eyes: Hazel    

First of all, I hate the sifters. It's a new trend that is distressing because you seem to get less product for the same money as before.

With that out of the way, Chardonnay makes a very lovely and useful all-over shade. And while Merlot and Pinor Noir may look -really- scary in the pot, in reality they're much more sheer on the skin. This sheerness makes them extremely versatile, in that they can be layered for the perfect buildup of color.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gwennw on 12/3/2005 8:12:00 PM more reviews by gwennw

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

These are 3 gorgeous shades. The Chardonnay is a champagne like all over color that can be worn alone, as a base or in combination with the other 2 glimpses. Pinot Noir looks like a rosey-burgundy color (with a bit a brown in it to make it very wearable and flattering). This color can be worn on the eyelid, in the crease or in the outer V. These 3 colors are so incredibly blendable, that is is hard to make a mistake. Merlot is the purple/plum color, and the darkest of the 3, but still not DARK. I like to wear it along the top lash line (with Chard. all over, and Pinot on the outer V - stunning!). These 3 colors really make my hazel eyes pop, and brighten up the whole eye area. I think this entire trio is wearable, flattering, blendable and versitle. What more could you ask for?

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ziebam on 11/20/2005 1:30:00 PM more reviews by ziebam

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

The Wine Country Glimpses consist of three shadows with a medium amount of shimmer all named after wines. You get Chardonnay Glimpse (white grape), which is a shimmery champagne shade. Great wet or dry with hint of gold to it. There is Pinot Noir Glimpse (red grape), which is a rosey peach shimmer. Its not really red and not really peach. Gorgeous shade. Worn on the lips you get alot of color. As a blush, its really pigmented but it works. (saw this on QVC.com presentation). And finally, Merlot Glimpse (deep grape), a shimmery medium purple with a reddish hint to it. Very pretty. This is great in the crease, very pigmented and worn wet as a liner has a stunning metallic sheen to it. Overall, the colors are gorgeous. Really pigmented. The set retails for $36.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Bare Escentuals products

More Eye Shadow products