Paula's Choice Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Gel Exfoliant

4.0

222 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Water, Methylpropanediol, Butylene Glycol, (solvent/water-binding agent), Polysorbate 20 (emulsifier), Salicylic Acid (beta hydroxy acid/exfoliant), Phytosphingosine (cell-communicating ingredient), Hydroxyethylcellulose (gel-based thickener), Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract (antioxidant), Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Flower/Leaf/Stem Extract (antioxidant) Epilobium Angustifolium (Willow Herb) Flower/Leaf/Stem Extract (anti-irritant), Bisabolol (anti-irritant), Sodium Hydroxide (pH-adjusting agent), Tetrasodium EDTA (chelating agent


on 5/22/2015 10:17:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I am currently 25 and have been suffering from many skin issues for over 10 years and I can finally leave the house with minimal to no makeup. I have oily combination, sensitive skin and acne prone. I suffer from hyper pigmentations, redness, clogged pores, and blackheads. I have used this for about 8 months and I now have even toned skin, smaller pores, less blackheads on my nose, no redness, no flaky skin, and I've had maybe three pimples in the last 6 months! I switch between this and the 2% BHA liquid that I love as well. This is definitely a repurchase for me when I am done with this bottle. I don't think I ever want to use physical exfoliants after using chemical exfoliants like this. You need to use only a pea size so this bottle will probably last over a year!

I found a link for 10$ OFF for anyone wants to try any Paula's Choice products! - https://goo.gl/HH4DMT

You can even stack this and get an additional 20% OFF one product and FREE SHIPPING with this code "PRIMP20" enjoy! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 5/17/2015 3:00:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I had multiple samples of this. I'm not very impressed. The texture was very sticky and it felt like it sat upon my skin as opposed to soaking in. This also caused my forehead to break out in small red bumps. Once I stopped using that and washed my face once with Clean&Clear's 10% Benzyl peroxide wash, forehead was completely clear. And I continually kept breaking out on the right side of my jaw. I had a few closed comedones that weren't noticeable prior to this, but as soon as I started using PC's BHA products, I've been having at least one or two red, aggravated pimples at a time. They just won't stop coming. I also used this on my nose to help with my blackheads, nothing. I used this every other night because every night was too drying. Still though, I really didn't see any good results. I've been buying enough samples to where I've been using this stuff for a month or so, if not longer. So yeah. For someone who bashes on tons of other skincare products, I find it funny that hers did nothing but break me out. I'm very disappointed because I think Paula has a good philosophy going along with the tons of glowing reviews on here, but BHA just does not appear to work on my skin.


on 5/11/2015 9:09:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Game changer! This product has transformed my skin. I have sensitive, dry skin with PIH and large pores. I had been looking into PC skincare and decided to buy some samples as I was a bit skeptical of what their products claim to do. I have been struggling for quite some time that helps with blackheads and pores and also something that would fade my scars. This one product does it all! After only one use of the bha with my normal moisturizer, toner, and face wash my hyperpigmentation had decreased significantly. It took a little longer to work on my pores but still cleared them out nonetheless. I thought this product would make me dry but I actually find that it moisturizes my face a bit, and I have VERY dry skin. That being said, I will be buying the full size bottle once the samples run out.


on 5/6/2015 5:41:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

HG. Within days my skin was clearing up. No irritation at all, no dryness, flakiness, or redness. I follow this with Cerave in the tub and my skin has never looked better. I highly recommend this!!


on 3/11/2015 10:21:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

My HG. Kinda expensive but it is mild yet get the job done.

I have a cheap 10% salicylic acid which I bought somewhere else. It is super effective but too strong, it stung so much. Had to fan my face while on that.

With PC, no sting yet it works.


on 2/16/2015 6:23:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Amazing product!
I have sensitive oily skin with acne (Im in my 30s), and Ive always used a granular face scrub and my skin looked always the same way.
I started using skin perfecting 3 weeks ago and Ive already noticed the change, my skin is very soft and my forehead acne is almost gone (slight cystic acne). Im using the gel three nights per week as my skin is sensitive and sometime it becomes red when Im using some products.
Ive been recommended also the 1% BHA Gel, which is not as strong as the 2%, but as Im getting used to the 2% one, I think Im not going to change it :)


on 1/27/2015 10:07:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I've been using this for about 2 weeks and I use this all over my face right before I go to sleep. I cleanse my face then I leave this on like a mask, so the consistency and the wetness doesn't really bother me.

I suffer from the occasional cystic acne and redness, and acne scars, and am extremely oily in my T-zone.

After first using the sample, my pimples and redness were visibly reduced. Not entirely gone, but it was working. I find that, the more you apply, the more effective it'll work, although that does mean it'll quickly run out. Now, I use it mostly for spot treatment. My pores also look smaller, and my skin that's not riddled with acne look younger.

It does burn for a moment after application, especially if you've used some harsh cleanser, but the burning subsides. I've also noticed my skin peeling around my nose and mouth area, and maybe it's because I also use kojic acid in conjunction to this, so make sure you moisturise. I haven't seen much change to my acne scars, or reduced oiliness, but maybe time will show.


on 1/13/2015 1:51:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Not overly impressed with this product. I found it to be a very basic BHA gel which after several weeks of use, made no noticeable change to my skin whatsoever. I also hate the feel of the gel, it feels sticky on my skin. I've tried a few of paula's products now and have only been reasonably impressed with one (although I will still probably give some others a go). I appreciate that she explains what ingredients are and has a no "BS" approach to skincare. However, some of her advice is contradictory to what dermatologists say and she most certainly has a vested interest in selling her products (she has just found a very clever way to do this whilst sounding objective). So I would not take her advice as gospel. On the plus side, I do find paula's prices to be quite reasonable and I love that you buy cheap samples. I would recommend getting some before investing in a full size bottle, especially since this also comes in a lotion and liquid, which, by the way, I have tried samples of with no success.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 12/16/2014 10:19:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

Game changer! This in conjunction with PC 8% AHA gel has changed my skin. I'm 24, suffer from normal great skin in the tzone, but dry skin with acne on the jaw, neck, and temples. I use this under my moisturizer during the day and I use it as a spot treatment at night with the AHA gel on the entire face. Packaging is fantastic. It's an airtight pump in opaque packaging. 3.7 oz is a great value IMO for something that works! I thought the gel might dry me out but it's done the exact opposite. My skin is seriously glowing and acne/closed comedones have been reduced by 80%. I don't have dryness or flakes any more but I suspect the AHA is helping that, but my point is that using these together has done a world of good! I have never had any irritation with this product and I am able to use this on my entire face and neck, which I feel has done a fantastic job at preventing new acne. Don't pass this up!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/3/2014 1:23:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Seriously guys, if you have oily acne prone skin, this is your solution! I bought this after reading several reviews online and I haven't regret it since. I've been using this for about two months and I can't believe what this has done for my skin. I have been struggling with cystic acne for about 6 years now, it comes and goes, but since I have been using this my skin has improved so much. I can't believe this, my skin is pretty much clear now and I am so happy! So if you're struggling with acne, give it a shot! This is a miracle worker!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Retin A
533 Reviews
Sudocrem
137 Reviews
4% Hydroquinone
14 Reviews
Nerium AD
73 Reviews
Back to Top