Paula's Choice Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Gel Exfoliant

4.0

217 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Water, Methylpropanediol, Butylene Glycol, (solvent/water-binding agent), Polysorbate 20 (emulsifier), Salicylic Acid (beta hydroxy acid/exfoliant), Phytosphingosine (cell-communicating ingredient), Hydroxyethylcellulose (gel-based thickener), Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract (antioxidant), Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Flower/Leaf/Stem Extract (antioxidant) Epilobium Angustifolium (Willow Herb) Flower/Leaf/Stem Extract (anti-irritant), Bisabolol (anti-irritant), Sodium Hydroxide (pH-adjusting agent), Tetrasodium EDTA (chelating agent


on 2/16/2015 6:23:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Amazing product!
I have sensitive oily skin with acne (Im in my 30s), and Ive always used a granular face scrub and my skin looked always the same way.
I started using skin perfecting 3 weeks ago and Ive already noticed the change, my skin is very soft and my forehead acne is almost gone (slight cystic acne). Im using the gel three nights per week as my skin is sensitive and sometime it becomes red when Im using some products.
Ive been recommended also the 1% BHA Gel, which is not as strong as the 2%, but as Im getting used to the 2% one, I think Im not going to change it :)



on 1/27/2015 10:07:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I've been using this for about 2 weeks and I use this all over my face right before I go to sleep. I cleanse my face then I leave this on like a mask, so the consistency and the wetness doesn't really bother me.

I suffer from the occasional cystic acne and redness, and acne scars, and am extremely oily in my T-zone.

After first using the sample, my pimples and redness were visibly reduced. Not entirely gone, but it was working. I find that, the more you apply, the more effective it'll work, although that does mean it'll quickly run out. Now, I use it mostly for spot treatment. My pores also look smaller, and my skin that's not riddled with acne look younger.

It does burn for a moment after application, especially if you've used some harsh cleanser, but the burning subsides. I've also noticed my skin peeling around my nose and mouth area, and maybe it's because I also use kojic acid in conjunction to this, so make sure you moisturise. I haven't seen much change to my acne scars, or reduced oiliness, but maybe time will show.


on 1/13/2015 1:51:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Not overly impressed with this product. I found it to be a very basic BHA gel which after several weeks of use, made no noticeable change to my skin whatsoever. I also hate the feel of the gel, it feels sticky on my skin. I've tried a few of paula's products now and have only been reasonably impressed with one (although I will still probably give some others a go). I appreciate that she explains what ingredients are and has a no "BS" approach to skincare. However, some of her advice is contradictory to what dermatologists say and she most certainly has a vested interest in selling her products (she has just found a very clever way to do this whilst sounding objective). So I would not take her advice as gospel. On the plus side, I do find paula's prices to be quite reasonable and I love that you buy cheap samples. I would recommend getting some before investing in a full size bottle, especially since this also comes in a lotion and liquid, which, by the way, I have tried samples of with no success.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 12/16/2014 10:19:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

Game changer! This in conjunction with PC 8% AHA gel has changed my skin. I'm 24, suffer from normal great skin in the tzone, but dry skin with acne on the jaw, neck, and temples. I use this under my moisturizer during the day and I use it as a spot treatment at night with the AHA gel on the entire face. Packaging is fantastic. It's an airtight pump in opaque packaging. 3.7 oz is a great value IMO for something that works! I thought the gel might dry me out but it's done the exact opposite. My skin is seriously glowing and acne/closed comedones have been reduced by 80%. I don't have dryness or flakes any more but I suspect the AHA is helping that, but my point is that using these together has done a world of good! I have never had any irritation with this product and I am able to use this on my entire face and neck, which I feel has done a fantastic job at preventing new acne. Don't pass this up!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/3/2014 1:23:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Seriously guys, if you have oily acne prone skin, this is your solution! I bought this after reading several reviews online and I haven't regret it since. I've been using this for about two months and I can't believe what this has done for my skin. I have been struggling with cystic acne for about 6 years now, it comes and goes, but since I have been using this my skin has improved so much. I can't believe this, my skin is pretty much clear now and I am so happy! So if you're struggling with acne, give it a shot! This is a miracle worker!


on 8/19/2014 8:58:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Previously I used the lotion and I didn't quite like the texture. It was thick, and left a whitish cast like sunscreen and sometimes when I rubbed it in it would flake off. However, the blackheads around my nose disappeared. After years of trying different methods and products, finally something that worked! I decided to opt for the gel this time around and it's much more to my liking, even though it's marketed for combination/oily skin (my skin is normal to dry). It's a slightly runny transparent gel that spreads easily and absorbs quickly so there's no real need to wait in between products, and no problems with skincare balling up. I follow up with a serum that contains retinol (Paula's Choice Skin Recovery Antioxidant with Retinol) and moisturizer and have not experienced any irritation or dryness. In the mornings I switch to an AHA exfoliant. My skin has never been better since I started including AHA/BHA exfoliants into my skincare routine. That so far, has been the game changer for me.

The plastic packaging and pump dispenser makes it easy to travel and the price is definitely good value. The only downside for me is that it's not available in Malaysia.


on 8/16/2014 3:23:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I HAD A SAMPLE.
This states that it is for all skin types, yet due to its gel like texture I would recommend it to oily and acne prone skin types. This did not irritate my skin but if you find it irritating there is a 1% BHA gel as an alternative to this. This was disappointing for me because even though it was the right pH , and there was enough BHA it did not impact my acne whatsoever.


on 6/21/2014 3:29:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This stuff makes me cry tears of joy!

Honestly, I've got terrible skin. It's been acne-fied since I was 11. I'm 23 now. I can definitely tell when I haven't used this stuff because I get little whiteheads all over the place. It even prevents and reduces the angry pustules my body lovingly decides to develop.

I like this product because it doesn't have a strong smell, or feel weird on my skin. It makes my skin radiant and it doesn't dry me out much.

Thanks Paula, whoever and wherever you are!


on 5/28/2014 2:57:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This product has been an absolute life saver for me.

I have never had perfect skin, but also, until recently my skin has never been awful (odd spots on my chin, especially around that time of the month) but then, about 6 months ago i got the worst break outs I have ever had all over the sides of my neck and jawline - and i had never had spots on my neck before. I do not know what caused this, i am 28 so long past puberty. My skin is not particularly greasy, but I had large patches of cystic acne all over either side of my neck, and up to my ear lobes.

I have spent a lot of time stressing about the spots and a lot of money trying to fix them. I can say that the avene tri-acneal range (cleanance get and the exfoliant gel) have done nothing for me, i actually think the cleanance gel was too drying and made it worse. Likewise Dr Brandt vacuum gel did not help (although that is specifically aimed at blackheads which was not my problem) and Proactive night cream also did not help.

I started to religiously double cleanse every evening with a balm cleanser and cloth (aromatherapy associates) and then a gentle gel wash (eucerin anti-redness) - this made it better but did not fully get rid of the spots - although I have to say that a proper cleansing routine has made the rest of my face much brighter and more glowy and has got rid of the blackheads on my nose. I highly recommend caroline hirons for her tips on how to cleanse.

But it is only since i started using the paula's choice 2% 2 months ago that i have had a noticeable improvement in the spots. I apply it at night only and after cleansing, and i find it works best if you spend a few moments really rubbing it into your problem areas. i then apply a light night cream. Now my spots have pretty much gone, there is still a bit of redness left over, but that is fading.
I tried wearing it during the day as well under an spf moisturiser but it made the skin around my mouth a bit red and slightly flakey, so i have found just wearing it at night works best.

i can't recommend this highly enough, it is not cheap but it is definitely worth it (unlike a lot of the other more expensive products i have tried which do not work)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/10/2014 7:47:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I am on my second bottle of this. It really works. I still have blackheads, but they've gotten better, and I've found I'm significantly less oily. The gel formula makes skin feel comfortable. I'm tempted to try the liquid formula because of all the raves, but I'm pretty attached to this one.

FYI - I have very sensitive combination skin. I don't apply this where my skin is driest (on the apples of my cheeks or under my nose) because my skin gets flakey there if I do. On the oilier spots I can use it twice a day, no problem. Order samples if you're unsure! Well-formulated active ingredients like this BHA will definitely change your skin, for better or for worse.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Retin A
522 Reviews
Lemon Juice
394 Reviews
Nerium AD
66 Reviews
Back to Top