Paula's Choice • Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Gel Exfoliant • Treatments

rated 4.0(209 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 m331 on 3/10/2014 7:47:00 PM more reviews by m331

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I am on my second bottle of this. It really works. I still have blackheads, but they've gotten better, and I've found I'm significantly less oily. The gel formula makes skin feel comfortable. I'm tempted to try the liquid formula because of all the raves, but I'm pretty attached to this one.

FYI - I have very sensitive combination skin. I don't apply this where my skin is driest (on the apples of my cheeks or under my nose) because my skin gets flakey there if I do. On the oilier spots I can use it twice a day, no problem. Order samples if you're unsure! Well-formulated active ingredients like this BHA will definitely change your skin, for better or for worse.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Simonjw on 2/20/2014 10:05:00 AM more reviews by Simonjw

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is my second bottle and since them the number of blackheads on my nose and whiteheads on my chin have been reduced so much! There not 100% gone and I don't think they ever will but this has made such a difference its a great product and for 23 you can't not give it a go. It also reduces redness and one bottle lasts me just under a year and I use it twice a day over my entire face. Just be patient with it as it does take a while to see improvements.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 FloraC on 2/6/2014 2:40:00 PM more reviews by FloraC

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The 2% liquid broke me out like crazy. At first I thought it was purging but after a few months decided to take a break. Then I remembered I had a sample of the 2% gel and decided to try it. Fantastic results. Smoothed my skin out and calmed it down significantly. I still get hormonal acne but this really helps to get rid of it and to keep the small bumps under control. I only use it at night as it takes awhile for it to dry/become less tacky. Definitely worth a try if the liquid doesn't work for you.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 geeemm on 1/13/2014 7:06:00 AM more reviews by geeemm

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I was surprised and a little disappointed to find how this 2% formula seemed so different to my beloved 1% BHA Gel! Everything about the 1% version suited my skin, although I hoped I could try a higher strength for the more stubborn blackheads I still get. It therefore made sense to step up to the 2% Gel next.

The first thing I noticed was that this is more of a true gel than the lower concentration, which is a runnier consistency. What I've found, however, is that it's incredibly sticky on application - unpleasantly so! It feels rather occlusive once it's on and takes a while to comfortably sink into my skin. I've ended up unable to use this in the daytime because I simply don't have the time or patience to wait long enough to apply moisturiser and sunscreen on top of this sticky base, so I've been carrying on with the 1% in the day and using 2% at night.

As for the efficacy of this product - I'm not sure it's having much greater an effect than the 1% formula on me. It does manage to smooth out my skin overnight, but my main concern is reducing any blotchy erythema I'm experiencing from rosacea. It's a little inconsistent in calming this concern - maybe I'm not as tolerant of the higher amount as I hoped. I think the next step is to try one of the liquid formulas to see if it's a better fit, but for now I don't think I'll be buying this gel again.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* timothybcat on 1/6/2014 4:43:00 AM more reviews by timothybcat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This product is the S*** for someone like me who has had huge pores and blackheads all over my nose and chin since I was like 12. Younger ladies, you have no idea how lucky you are to live in this age where so much more is known about skin care. I'm 38, so when I was in my teens it was Oxy 10 and Noxzema and other harsh products. The attitude toward acne was "terminate with extreme prejudice, scrubs made of ground glass, and anything that burns like hell".

Anyway, Paula set me straight. I started with her 1% BHA lotion, because my face is very red and I didn't know how it was going to react. Great product, but I thought I could go up to 2% because I had no problems with it, and I really don't like the smell of that lotion. I've had no issues of sensitivity or drying with this at all. It's tightened my pores and I really don't get blackheads at all anymore. I haven't had a really nasty hormonal zit like I was getting around my chin and cheeks. I can sometimes still feel a pimple coming, and think "uh-oh", but then it just goes away without coming out like a giant nipple on my face. Yay! No face nipples!

I only use it at night because when I used it twice a day my face got a little red. Also I don't want to layer yet ANOTHER product under makeup, although it didn't seem to affect the wear of my foundation at all. When I use this, my skin looks noticeably fresher and brighter in the morning. And it's been the most effective product I've ever used for acne. The only thing is the price: $22.00 for 3 ounces. Not saying it's not worth it, but I need to be more budget-conscious these days. I'm going to try a different product Paula recommends with the same 2% BHA that's much cheaper. But if that price isn't an issue to you, definitely go for it. If the other product I plan on trying isn't good, I'll still come back to this.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Itsheatherlol on 11/26/2013 5:30:00 AM more reviews by Itsheatherlol

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff has transformed my skin. Why every review on here isn't 5/5 I don't know.

It has significantly reduced the size of my pores, removed all of the gunk inside my pores, smoothed out all the little bumps on my skin and made it super soft. Because of this product alone, when I wear foundation I am constantly told that my skin is FLAWLESS or that it looks like porcelain.

THIS product is why. I use it Mon, Wed, Fri & Suns underneath my makeup every morning. I would never, ever be without this product. It has taken my skin from average / largeish pores, damaged from acne to radiant, flawless, PERFECT.

What a wonderful product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 cankcank on 10/27/2013 8:15:00 PM more reviews by cankcank

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Sample tried. I liked the gel formula, trying the liquid now.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Jaded81 on 10/9/2013 6:12:00 AM more reviews by Jaded81

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this specifically for use on the blackheads on my nose.

This can be used daily as it is gentle, moisturizing and non-irritating, but best used at night before going to bed as it leaves a shiny sticky film.

Unfortunately, this has little or no effect on my blackheads. I tested this in 2 situations, when I was suffering from a particularly bad episode (really big dark blackheads) and after I had extracted most of my blackheads. In the first instance, all it did was slightly reduce the size of the blackheads and made it a little less "black". And in the other instance, it did not prevent new blackheads from forming. I still developed blackheads after a couple of days, and it still grew larger and darker in size. At the most, it just slowed down (a little) the rate in which the blackheads got bigger.

Ingredients: Water, Methylpropanediol, Butylene Glycol, Polysorbate 20, Salicylic Acid, Phytosphingosine, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract, Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Flower/Leaf/Stem Extract, Epilobium Angustifolium (Willow Herb) Flower/Leaf/Stem Extract, Bisabolol, Sodium Hydroxide, Tetrasodium EDTA.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 anonyym on 9/26/2013 10:41:00 AM more reviews by anonyym

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I use this with the AHA 8 % and my skin is much more soft after using this. really like it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hye on 8/6/2013 5:31:00 AM more reviews by hye

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I really have to say wow to this product. I was sceptical at first because my idea of an exfoliator was one that i had to scrub but this stuff is incredible. I suffer from dry/combination skin and am very prone to milia on my cheeks. Within a week of using this stuff, my skin looks and feels smooth and radiant.

The price of this product is well worth it as you only need a tiny amount for it to be effective. I mainly use it on my nose, around my mouth and my cheeks where I get blackheads and milia. I really believe that paulas choice offer really fab products.

I use this before moisturiser every night and love it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paula's Choice products

More Treatments products