Unlisted Brand • Model in a Bottle • Other

rated 4.0(27 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 Ultrame on 4/1/2014 9:47:00 AM more reviews by Ultrame

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I was given this by a friend after I had started using Urban Decay All-Nighter. It works well. The smell at first is atrocious! However, once the spray dries the scent goes away completely, so if the product works then that doesn't matter to me so much. At first, it burned my face and felt sticky, but again, this only lasts a few minutes. I'll finish the bottle and will probably repurchase for those times when I just can't afford to replace the UD, but since I tried a product I liked better to start, I can't give this 5 stars. Bottom line: it DOES work and is a good value, but not the best product on the market.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GlamDivaAshlei on 2/18/2014 12:10:00 PM more reviews by GlamDivaAshlei

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I loved this product, i just dont like the leaking it does.. but oh well.. the only make up setting spray that last the entire day,.. yes definitely would buy again.. the price is descent compared to the high end make up setting sprays.. i absolutely love it.. im about to order another bottle now my bday weekend coming up so i need it!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ilovemakeup87 on 2/4/2014 12:52:00 AM more reviews by ilovemakeup87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Absolutely love this! I have combination/oily-acne prone skin and I know this is just for special occasions but this product is truly a holy grail! I've used it and literally my makeup has lasted from 8am to 1130pm (when i get home from work) and all i had to do was just powder my nose a little midday. Normally my makeup, including eye makeup, would be non-existent by 5pm. I definitely recommend this product for special events but not for daily use as it could make you break out. I used it for work because I needed to try it out before I used it on a client. The cost of this product is totally worth buying, I got mine through Amazon for $13.99....Idk about other people that have tried this, but I love it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BassKitten808 on 1/22/2014 3:37:00 PM more reviews by BassKitten808

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is an amazing spray if you have oily skin. This is one of your answers if you're someone who can't get your makeup to stay on your skin due to too much oil production. In my experience, this is better in terms of oil-control then Ben Nye Final Seal. This provides a more matte finish when it dries versus Ben Nye's less mattifying finish. I find Final Seal to be a bit longer lasting but the oil-control isn't as good oddly enough. I've bought both sprays twice & this has always been the case. My skin is more combination-dry because it's winter so it doesn't work for me right now. Back when my skin was very oily this was my favorite & seriously made a world of a difference. I don't have to worry when someone hugs me or when I'm in a crowd & someone bumps into me that my makeup is gonna come off, it will withstand those obstacles. It will transform your makeup & make it budge, sweat and almost waterproof. Now when you first try this, if you're someone that's not used to setting sprays be prepared. This is NOT like Urban Decay's or Skindinavia's sprays, no, this is of a different calibur. Model in a Bottle, unlike those, actually works & is heavy-duty in comparison. This sprays on much stronger & you can kind of feel it on your face. Don't be alarmed, it's not too bad & you will grow accustomed to it. Actually, now I feel weird almost naked if I'm somewhere that I know I'm going to be for a long time because I know my makeup won't last nearly as long when I don't have this on. There is a fragrance, kind of a perfume scent but it smells pretty good, though you sometimes get a whiff of alcohol aswell. Even though my skin is sensitive, the fragrance doesn't seem to bother it but there is a Sensitive formula if you're worried about that. A con of this spray is that the mist isn't very fine, it has the tendancy to concentrate a lot in one area. To help remedy that, you should clean the nozzle after every use to keep the product from gunking up in it. You can find this a lot of places online but I always buy mine from Amazon because it's much cheaper from a seller with good ratings & I've never been disappointed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* staci13 on 12/14/2013 10:17:00 AM more reviews by staci13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff really is magic for those with oily faces who can't ever find the right combination of foundation, primer, and setting powders. I tend to reserve this for special occasions when I want my makeup to stay perfect longer. It is kind of a production to use this product though.. I use it after applying all of my makeup, but before using a setting powder. The reason this is a pain to use is because you pretty much have to make sure the bottle is held far enough away from your face to be evenly dispersed, and you have to have your eyes closed. God forbid you get this in your eyes, there will be hell to pay! It will burn like the fire of a thousand suns and you will most likely tear up and therefore ruining your makeup. So my advice is, if you would like to reap the benefits that this product has to offer, then for the love of god keep your eyes closed, and keep them closed until the product has dried on your face! This product does what it claims to. I think it makes my face look a little dewy, so I will put my finishing powder over this once it has dried. I should also mention the way this product can make you feel like you are wearing a mask, it's temporary, but it does make your face feel tight at first. Overall, I think it's worth the hassle to have my makeup stay as flawless as this keeps it.( I do understand that there is a sensitive formula...perhaps this one would be a little easier on the eyes, I've yet to try that one.)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 megramazona on 5/26/2013 9:28:00 PM more reviews by megramazona

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I had this shipped from amazon and I was sooo disappointed to open the package and find a half empty bottle. They have to fix that leaking problem. also, the spray is defective - the product doesn't come out in a mist, but rather in large drops.

Other than that, my makeup did last the whole day. I made my makeup for a summer wedding. From the church that was as hot as hell to the reception on a private island, sweating, walking on the sand and moving a lot, I was really surprised that my makeup stayed on throughout the night.

It's a great product, but the packaging, especially the spray applicator, is dismal.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Rain174 on 5/25/2013 1:41:00 PM more reviews by Rain174

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I've only used it a couple of times since I got it, but I LOVE this product. I work at Sephora, so I have tried a number of setting sprays, powders, and primers, but this one so far blows them all out of the water! I ordered it on ebay because I found it for cheaper than their website when shipped to Canada, and was really happy when it arrived. I have oily skin, and I find that this really helps to control shine and it instantly mattifies upon application. One thing that bothers me the most at the end of a long day wearing makeup is that my mascara feels heavy and sticky (aside from the fact that wearing your makeup to sleep is bad for your skin, this is the only reason I take my makeup off), model in a bottle made that problem disappear!

One thing I don't like is that this product contains SD alcohol, which helps with controlling oil, but can also dry out the skin, so I recommend using a moisturizing cleanser or cleansing oil and a rich oil-free moisturizer at night and in the morning so you're skin doesn't overproduce oil. I don't think I would recommend this product for those with dry skin. I haven't looked at the ingredients of the sensitive skin formula, but that might be a better option. The spray head that comes with this bottle doesn't give a fine enough mist IMO, so I poured it into an old UD All Nighter bottle I had and it is perfect! I am the kind of girl who does a full face of makeup every day and I wear a lot of brightly colored eyeshadows (even when I'm not at work), and this is my new must-have product! Next time I do bridal makeup, this is what I plan to use :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Songbird222 on 5/9/2013 4:54:00 PM more reviews by Songbird222

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I really love this product. I have severe cystic acne (controlled), so I have to be very careful about ingredients; and this does not break me out. I previously just used it when I went out for the night, but this is great for everyday use if you don't want to have to worry about touch ups. It helps somewhat with oil control, but you'll still need to blot if your skin is oily.
The only negative thing I would say about this is that the spray does not mist evenly, as some others have said. I find that if I hold the bottle farther away from my face when spraying, I can get more even distribution of the product. It's definitely not enough to deter me from repurchasing, as the product is superb and makes up for that flaw.
As the instructions read, be sure not to open your eyes for several seconds after applying it, or it will sting and make your eyes water.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Twinkly1216 on 4/17/2013 5:09:00 PM more reviews by Twinkly1216

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I feel like products like this are particularly prone to poor reviews due to overly high expectations and misunderstanding of what the product is actually supposed to be.

Model in a bottle is a makeup setting spray and according to the makeup artist that used it on all of us bridesmaids and the bride, it's supposed to help 'water-proof' the makeup. Of course, let's be realistic, no makeup product is truly waterproof, only highly water resistant. Once again, unrealistic expectations will only lead to disappointment. According to their website this product is also supposed to mattify.


How it performed:


As far as helping the makeup last, this stuff is incredible and for this alone it deserves 5 stars. After all, this is marketed as a makeup setting spray and not anything else (such as an oil-control spray, although that doesn't seem to stop people from judging it as one).
Our makeup was started around 8-9 am, the wedding lasted until 10:30pm I believe and my makeup (as well as the other girls) lasted even longer. In fact, by the time I finally took my makeup off at around 2am, it still looked fantastic. I cried several times during the reception (like tears running down my face, not just teary eyed) and my makeup did not budge. Neither did anyone else's. I was absolutely amazed. If my makeup was 100% perfect at the beginning of the day, at the end of the day I'd say it was probably 90-95% perfect and that's with all the crying and dancing throughout the day. Even my eye makeup stayed perfect except for the tiniest bit of smudging (so small I wouldn't have even noticed it had I not be up close in a mirror checking my makeup) which, once removed, did not smudge again. This stuff really sealed the makeup onto my face like a mask (although it didn't feel mask-like of course).

As far as oil-control, I don't believe this product claims to do that. On the website it says it is mattifying and it certainly is upon application. It also does, at least for me, help to control oils for a few hours so that I have a longer 'oil-free' time than I would if I did not use this. However, my face WAS a bit oily by the end of the night and I would probably recommend blotting sheets if you are prone to oiliness. The beauty of this product, however, is that although my face was oily (and don't forget my several bouts of crying in this), my makeup remained absolutely smudge-less and perfect.


Comparing Setting Sprays:


I have used urban decay makeup setting spray, skindinavia (both oil control and regular) and now model in a bottle and I have to say I prefer model in a bottle over all of them. If I had to rank them, I would say: model in a bottle > urban decay all nighter > skindinavia (both formulations mentioned).

The reason skindinavia is last is because my eye makeup will still smudge a bit even with the skindinavia and because skindinavia is an incredibly wet formulation. The mist is far less fine than model in a bottle and your face will actually be wet after spraying, unlike model in a bottle. In fact, I don't even know if I can really call skindinavia a mist although I suppose it is ...although I hardly find it right to put both model in a bottle and skindinavia in the 'mist' category when one is a much harsher spray. Also, skindinavia does not have a mattifying effect like model in a bottle and, honestly, I find their oil control product a bit too drying for me.

I believe model in a bottle has a high alcohol content but it did not irritate my skin at all although you may want to check the ingredients if you have sensitivities. Right now I have a large supply of skindinavia that I purchased in their Black Friday deal but once I'm done with this (or if I have a particularly important event) I will be purchasing model in a bottle.

Helping my makeup remain pretty much perfect from 8-9 am til 2:30 am through crying and dancing? Sold.

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 berniceled on 3/6/2013 1:26:00 PM more reviews by berniceled

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Okay so my first impression on this was kind of bad because i hated it's packaging.
It's not a convenient grip, as you press down it will slide out of your hands,
it sprays in blotches and the glass is heavy. nice packaging if it were to be a perfume bottle but its not, you have to hold it to your face and focus on aiming with your eyes closed, not on holding it so it wont fall.

first time i used it, the alcohol-y ness of it was... well lets just say i wasnt prepared
you have to wait awhile to let it dry or it will sting a bit

and the smell... is lovely, but too much for the face
----

though it might seem that this product is pretty horrible, its actually not that bad!
it grew on me the more i used it.
it mattifies instantly, and makes the texture of everything on my face smooth
and it sets your make up, makes it last a lot longer than it would have without it there
the smell also doesnt last very long so you dont have to worry about that so much
and as for the drying time, just sit in front of a fan, or fan yourself with your hands a bit and you'll be just fine.

also one of the biggest solutions i have for its packaging,
just buy a better spritzer bottle.
i bought one that really misti-fies the liquid
and its now a lot lighter and just all around- better.

now that i know how to use it better, i would buy it again
i only gave it an overall rating of 3 because of the things i had to overcome to get to my view on it now

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Other products