Essie • Aperitif • Polishes

rated 4.7(12 reviews)

Average Rating.4.7
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 bexw88 on 5/12/2014 6:05:00 PM more reviews by bexw88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is my HG red. Its perfect, not too orange not too pink (but on the pinker end of the scale). Easy application, perfect in two coats. This is the only bright red shade I will wear now. In love!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsHepburn on 10/19/2012 4:14:00 PM more reviews by MsHepburn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Gorgeous colour... the exact red I was looking for. It's a bright red, sort of in between Russian Roulette and A-list. A little deeper than Russian Roulette, less in-your-face, but brighter and warmer than A-list. Lovely for my sallow hands: makes them look less grey now that it's almost winter. It brings out the warmth in my skintone... a golden glow instead of yellow-grey pastiness :) very nice!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 KirRoyal on 9/13/2012 1:25:00 PM more reviews by KirRoyal

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'm a huge enthusiast for red nail polishes, and I'm always searching for something new. Not that a girl can ever own to many bottles of red nail polish.
I bought this as one of my very first Essie shades, and it looked awfully similar to OPI's classic Big Apple Red shade, but when I applied it, Aperitif was slightly more orange and warm, jelly but not in terms of consistency but colour-wise. However, I'm not crazy about this colour. It is just so uninteresting that I can't make myself wear it more. It doesn't have the depth of red colour, and it is not exeptionally glossy as well.
This wears for an average 2-3 days which is a shame, I'd say.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gabriellavascocastro on 5/18/2012 12:53:00 PM more reviews by gabriellavascocastro

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I loooooove this red. It's a slightly jelly red, is the perfect toned red for me. It's bright not too brown not orangy.. it is a slightly magenta based red in my opinion. It wears well, doesn't chip easily. It's basically perfect. I get non stop compliments on this red!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lomelindi on 10/4/2011 10:15:00 AM more reviews by Lomelindi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

THE perfect, classic red nail polish! It's a bright, glossy, neutral red that is probably universally flattering on anyone's hands and certainly is on mine (I'm NC25 for good measure). The formula is super pigmented and smooth (slightly runny, but that's normal for Essie), so you barely need 2 coats to get an opaque coat.


I can't stop staring at my nails when I wear this polish. It makes me feel so classy and sophisticated! Definitely will repurchase if I ever run out (but I don't wear red polish often, so I probably won't).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hailey0675 on 11/9/2009 6:32:00 AM more reviews by hailey0675

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I'm loving this colour so far. It took a while to get used to it though. I normally go for NARS jungle red which is much darker, tending towards a berry shade, whereas this is more cherry or apple red. I've had this on for a day and I love. It's a neutral red tending towards being cooler. I'm an NC44. One coat of this colour to a bit too light for me. I applied two coats over a base coat and used a top coat after. I find the nail polish lasts longer this way and looks much more sophisticated and glossy. My nails are ultra short, I definately wouldn't use this on a long nail (my preference I guess). I'm wearing this at work so requires I bit more bravado but so far no-one has had any negative comments, but be careful and steer away from any load makeup or clothing when wearing this shade at work. Since this is my first Essie shade I can't comment on the durability at this stage, but so far I don't have a single blemish on the polish. I would say that this nail polish is an easy, affordable and risk free way to add a little vamp to you look without looking like you're cheap.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 laurencane on 4/22/2007 10:46:00 AM more reviews by laurencane

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I adore this beautiful red creme nail polish. If I had to categorize it as either warm or cool, Id say it is slightly cool, but it is not overtly cool. I wear it on my toes and when Im feeling spunky I even wear it on my nails. Like all Essie nail polishes, it has awesome chip resistence and lasts close to a week on my nails. It lasts FOREVER on my toes!

BTW...the swatch at the top of this review page is not even close to the true color!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 loverundercover on 9/4/2006 9:57:00 PM more reviews by loverundercover

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i normally stick to light neutrals and sheers, but i was feeling adventurous. this red is loud and distracting. it might work for toes but i'm not feeling it on my fingers.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fabulyss on 7/19/2006 6:10:00 PM more reviews by fabulyss

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

First off, I must say that Essie has the most beautiful colors and Aperitif is no exception! This isn't so much a classic 40s red (which I initially thought it would be) but a bright and glossy cherry red (a pleasant surprise!). It appears to be a neutral red and would look great on any skin tone. I love it on my toes though as I am super pale--fantastic.

As with other Essie polishes, the number of coats applied effects the color. It seems to me that this color appears more on the bright pink side if only one coat is applied, while with 2 it becomes a real true cherry red. I know it sounds strange but I want to use the term "juicy" to describe this color (: Perhaps b/c of its glossiness. At the same time, it isn't a loud hooker red either. Worth the $8!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* RucaRita on 6/26/2006 7:45:00 PM more reviews by RucaRita

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I am in love with this color. I used it for a pedicure and I am going to run out and buy it soon. It's a shiny, bright, true red...like a juicy tomato. Very flattering...not TOO bright or too dark.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products