Orly Bonder Rubberized Basecoat

4.0

284 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Butyl Acetate, Isopropyl Alcohol, Heptane, Ethyl Acetate, Trimethyl Pentyl Diisobutyrate, Tosylamide/Epoxy resin, Polyvinyl Butyral, Nitrocellulose, Benzophenone-1, Cl 26100 (Red 17), Cl 60725 (Violet 2), Cl 47000 (Yellow 11).


on 8/22/2015 11:27:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Pros: Good product. Easy to spread. Manicure last longer (five days, used with Gelous and SV). Didn't noticed any orange tint in my nails.

Cons: I get the same good results with CG Strong Adhesion Base for a fraction of the cost (Orly Bonder cost me US $ 20).



on 7/11/2015 11:48:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this after reading raving reviews about it. I had high hopes for this product but sadly I am disappointed. It seems like nothing makes my nails chip faster than this. I wipe my nails with alcohol and apply as directed and use a topcoat and it fails me everytime. Last time I used it my nails chipped in less than 12 hours - that includes about 6 hours of sleep. My Pure Ice base coat for $2 lasts longer. I would not repurchase.


on 6/11/2015 5:43:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This stuff is THE BOMB! Nail polish usually chips off of me the second day I wear it, like big ol flakes no matter what brand, no matter how high quality. I finally got fed up and bought The Bonder, tested it out last week with a mid range $14 polish on the left hand and a cheap $1 polish on the right, no chips at all for two days. On day three the cheapo stuff was coming off, but the mid range polish was still going strong. I don't even know how long it would have lasted because I got bored and changed my polish. Tried it the next time with a drugstore brand in the $5 range, one that usually doesn't stay put that long on me. That was Monday, today is Thursday of the same week, and aside from some damage to my right thumb that I am sure is user error, my manicure is more or less undisturbed. This is a miracle for me. I cannot wait to try some really good polishes with this base coat. I might even splurge on some Chanel or Dior polish now that I know it's actually going to wear well on me.

If I could only find a top coat that worked this well, I'd be the happiest girl in the world.


on 4/22/2015 9:56:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Darn... This product is a bust for me. It actually allows my polish to chip more and sooner than other base coats I've tried! Had high hopes, but I'm gonna have to keep looking.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/18/2015 9:34:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Red, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This is an OK product. I found that when I used it as directed it did not work. However, when I poured some of the bonder into my Avon nail polish it worked very well. my nail polish lasted for 10 days vs. the 2 days that it normally would. Based on that I would recommend this bonder. it's a little pricey, but it works.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Orly Bonder is the first real base coat I decided to buy, and to this day it's still the only one I use. It definitely makes my polish wear for a longer time with, than without. It still depends on the polish I choose to pair it with and the top coat for actual wear time, but it's gone up to two weeks without chips and probably could have made it even longer if I hadn't decided to remove it. It is a bit thin but I don't mind, I also don't like the Orly brush, but it's doable with this product. The dry time is also incredible with this base coat, by the time I paint my tenth nail, my first is already completely dry. The orange tint doesn't really transfer to your nails either, so there's no need to be put off by that. It also seems kind of expensive but I've been using the same bottle for more than a year now and I still have half of it (I polish my nails regularly), plus the formula is still as good as new. The only bad thing about this is that it doesn't really protect your nails against stains, but double coat it, and you should be fine. I would definitely repurchase this and I highly recommend it.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 2/13/2015 1:29:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this- I have just been getting into doing my own nails, and this is amazing! I used to just slap on a couple of coats and had, of course, not a lot of success with it staying on. I started using this as base coat and essie good to go as top coat, and my mani's are awesome! It stays looking good 5 or so days. LOVE!!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/28/2015 8:44:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have weak, brittle from psoriasis, nails and a few of them peel as soon as they grow. So I have been desperate to find something that will keep my nail polish on, and looking good for more than 2 days at best.
I have tried base coats, top coats and treatment stuff as well as gentle polish remover, but alas my nail polish still chipped or peeled right off within a day or two.
I have been relctant to try Orly rubberized bonder due to the price in the UK, and all the failed other items I have bought, but decided, after doing some research and reading many reviews from various sources, to give it a go.

Well.... THIS STUFF IS AMAZING !

Before writing this review I have had my polish on for a full 7 days and the results are astonishing:
9 nails are totaly intact with no chipping and apart from root growth look immaculate. The 2 seriously peeling nails developed "slight" chipping at the ends last night after I washed all my makeup brushes. But no were near as badly as they normaly would be. I cant remember ever having nail polish on this long looking this good.

Having read all those reviews I did learn it is best to use a base coat with this stuff as it can stain, so following is what I tried for this experiment:

Essie Fill The Gap - Ridge Smoothing Base Coat
Makeup Revolution nail polish - Devil Inside
Sally Hansen Diamond Shine - top & base coat

Also, as per some reviewers suggestions, I coated over the tips of my nails as well as on top, to get a really good seal.
I have just removed my polish and there is no staining on my nails at all.
It is a large bottle, which will last a long time.

I hope this helps anyone with the same nail problems as me, and I would highly recommend trying Orlys Rubberised Bonder as it has really does work :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/27/2015 6:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love it. I couldn't make a manicure last more than a day and a half without horrible chipping but Bonder fixed that. I'm pretty hard on my nails. I still refresh my top coat (Essie good to go) every 2 days as usual but with Bonder I have been able to go much longer without chips than before. I get about 5 days chip-free on average, with just minor tip wear. Big improvement, will definitely rebuy.


on 1/11/2015 10:23:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is the first product that has inspired a review from me. I absolutely LOVE it. No other base coat has made polish stick like this one does. Usually my nails chip or peel within 12 hours but with this I have had my manicure last as long as five days without needing a touch-up. Definitely an HG product. This with any nail colour and the Seche Vite Quick Dry Topcoat makes for a pro looking manicure.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Orly Products

image

Bare Rose

32 reviews
Back to Top