Orly • Bonder Rubberized Basecoat • Top/Base Coats

rated 4.0(264 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 KatieMakeupLady on 7/31/2014 1:26:00 PM more reviews by KatieMakeupLady

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I purchased this after reading several reviews online and let me tell you, I am glad that I did! I have a tendency to do things that are not conducive to nail polish longevity like gardening, crafting, refinishing furniture, typing, petting my dobermans, etc. and I can't usually keep a manicure longer than a day before chipping. Luckily, I discovered this product and it has helped maintain a chip-free polish job much longer! The polish looks sort of beige-y in the bottle but is completely clear and adheres well to a bare nail that is clean and unbuffed. I like to clean my nails with rubbing alcohol or nail polish remover after washing my hands to make sure there isn't any residue from lotion or soap on my nails. I usually apply 2 thin coats of Orly Bonder, letting dry in between, and then do 1-2 coats of my nail polish color, depending on the color payoff I want, then set with a clear topcoat (thin coats and letting each dry in between). The bonder label says "rubberized basecoat" and it really does have a rubbery, grippy feel to it so that you can feel your color polish adhere to it. This has been a great product for keeping my nail polish around for longer, and it works wonders on a pedicure since toenail polish typically lasts much longer to begin with! I would recommend this to anyone who paints their nails at home on a regular basis, this is a great product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 7/27/2014 4:20:00 PM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the BEST basecoat out there. I have been using this for years and years and nothing else comes close to how well this works. I keep trying new things but nope. This will keep the polish on the nail for a week or more without chipping. It adheres any polish and also seems to help with streaky nail polishes.

Great stuff!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 meowsers2 on 7/23/2014 4:01:00 PM more reviews by meowsers2

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I cannot live without this product. I will NEVER do my nails without it. Makes my manicure last longer than when I get it done professionally. A MUST HAVE.

I buy it at Sally's and it lasts a long time. I think it's $7 or $8.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 scrapstitcher on 7/14/2014 6:31:00 PM more reviews by scrapstitcher

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I purchased a bottle of Orly Bonder last week at Sally's. The bottle says it's supposed to make your nail polish last up to two weeks. I would be happy if it lasted without chipping at least five days. But just like any other base coat I've ever tried (Essie all-in-one, OPI, Sally Hansen), my polish only lasted two to three days at the most. (I used Essie with Poshe top coat). Oh well...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 anncraig23 on 7/9/2014 11:05:00 PM more reviews by anncraig23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is the best base coat that I've ever owned, and I highly recommend it. It helps the polish stay on much longer. I like that it isn't very thick like other base coats I've tried.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 linergirl16 on 5/26/2014 12:32:00 AM more reviews by linergirl16

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I really like this bonder/base coat for nail polish. Really makes nail polish stick for a while and dries extremely fast so you don't have to wait long to put a first coat of nail polish. I also like that the cap now is made out of rubber itself...nice to grip and doesn't slip!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* IslandGirlSPN on 5/2/2014 6:40:00 PM more reviews by IslandGirlSPN

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was stubborn about not using basecoats because of time constraint. I would just use nail polish straight onto the nail then some Seche Vite. My polish would peel off & chip by the next day. After using Bonder it has kept my polish in place for several days. What a nice thing to not have to redo my nails daily. :) Yes this stuff does work!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Atellez on 5/2/2014 6:03:00 PM more reviews by Atellez

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff makes my nail polish last at least five days. I use this, a colored nail polish, and my Essie fast drying top coat to get my results.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Lee999 on 4/16/2014 9:48:00 PM more reviews by Lee999

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I don't know what most of the reviewers here were talking about, but this did absolutely nothing for me. Not only did it have zero effect, it bubbled up my nail polish, even when I used the thinnest coats possible.

Waste of money. My nail polish was getting little chips the same day, not to mention that unpleasant bubbly consistency.

I have lost all hope in base coats. So far, I haven't found one that works.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* iLoveYoutwo on 4/2/2014 7:47:00 AM more reviews by iLoveYoutwo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Sometimes without MUA, I wouldn't have any idea what to buy. I kind of gave up on base coats because I thought they just stain nails (As it did with the OPI natural base coat, I hate that stuff!) I saw this was the most popular base coat on MUA, so I decided to buy it for $12! The sales told me this was the most popular base coat (I dont believe in sales people, but whatever!) On the way home on the bus I couldn't stop admiring the cute bottle with the rubber handle!

This stuff was a joy to spread on. I LOVE the rubber handle because it makes my shaky hands somewhat steadier which means smoother application. I am not good at painting nails, but with this stuff on as a base coat, it made my OPI polish go on nice and smooth! (Instructions say use with ORLY nail polish...but whatever!)

I was quite impressed with the lasting power, but the BEST PART: After I removed my polish, ABSOLUTELY NO STAINS and it was a dark gray color that I had on my hands which usually leave a nasty yellow/orange stain on my nails!

Will keep using this, LOVE this stuff!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Orly products

More Top/Base Coats products