Orly Bonder Rubberized Basecoat

4.0

282 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Butyl Acetate, Isopropyl Alcohol, Heptane, Ethyl Acetate, Trimethyl Pentyl Diisobutyrate, Tosylamide/Epoxy resin, Polyvinyl Butyral, Nitrocellulose, Benzophenone-1, Cl 26100 (Red 17), Cl 60725 (Violet 2), Cl 47000 (Yellow 11).


on 6/11/2015 5:43:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This stuff is THE BOMB! Nail polish usually chips off of me the second day I wear it, like big ol flakes no matter what brand, no matter how high quality. I finally got fed up and bought The Bonder, tested it out last week with a mid range $14 polish on the left hand and a cheap $1 polish on the right, no chips at all for two days. On day three the cheapo stuff was coming off, but the mid range polish was still going strong. I don't even know how long it would have lasted because I got bored and changed my polish. Tried it the next time with a drugstore brand in the $5 range, one that usually doesn't stay put that long on me. That was Monday, today is Thursday of the same week, and aside from some damage to my right thumb that I am sure is user error, my manicure is more or less undisturbed. This is a miracle for me. I cannot wait to try some really good polishes with this base coat. I might even splurge on some Chanel or Dior polish now that I know it's actually going to wear well on me.

If I could only find a top coat that worked this well, I'd be the happiest girl in the world.



on 4/22/2015 9:56:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Darn... This product is a bust for me. It actually allows my polish to chip more and sooner than other base coats I've tried! Had high hopes, but I'm gonna have to keep looking.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/18/2015 9:34:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Red, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This is an OK product. I found that when I used it as directed it did not work. However, when I poured some of the bonder into my Avon nail polish it worked very well. my nail polish lasted for 10 days vs. the 2 days that it normally would. Based on that I would recommend this bonder. it's a little pricey, but it works.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Orly Bonder is the first real base coat I decided to buy, and to this day it's still the only one I use. It definitely makes my polish wear for a longer time with, than without. It still depends on the polish I choose to pair it with and the top coat for actual wear time, but it's gone up to two weeks without chips and probably could have made it even longer if I hadn't decided to remove it. It is a bit thin but I don't mind, I also don't like the Orly brush, but it's doable with this product. The dry time is also incredible with this base coat, by the time I paint my tenth nail, my first is already completely dry. The orange tint doesn't really transfer to your nails either, so there's no need to be put off by that. It also seems kind of expensive but I've been using the same bottle for more than a year now and I still have half of it (I polish my nails regularly), plus the formula is still as good as new. The only bad thing about this is that it doesn't really protect your nails against stains, but double coat it, and you should be fine. I would definitely repurchase this and I highly recommend it.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 2/13/2015 1:29:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this- I have just been getting into doing my own nails, and this is amazing! I used to just slap on a couple of coats and had, of course, not a lot of success with it staying on. I started using this as base coat and essie good to go as top coat, and my mani's are awesome! It stays looking good 5 or so days. LOVE!!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/28/2015 8:44:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have weak, brittle from psoriasis, nails and a few of them peel as soon as they grow. So I have been desperate to find something that will keep my nail polish on, and looking good for more than 2 days at best.
I have tried base coats, top coats and treatment stuff as well as gentle polish remover, but alas my nail polish still chipped or peeled right off within a day or two.
I have been relctant to try Orly rubberized bonder due to the price in the UK, and all the failed other items I have bought, but decided, after doing some research and reading many reviews from various sources, to give it a go.

Well.... THIS STUFF IS AMAZING !

Before writing this review I have had my polish on for a full 7 days and the results are astonishing:
9 nails are totaly intact with no chipping and apart from root growth look immaculate. The 2 seriously peeling nails developed "slight" chipping at the ends last night after I washed all my makeup brushes. But no were near as badly as they normaly would be. I cant remember ever having nail polish on this long looking this good.

Having read all those reviews I did learn it is best to use a base coat with this stuff as it can stain, so following is what I tried for this experiment:

Essie Fill The Gap - Ridge Smoothing Base Coat
Makeup Revolution nail polish - Devil Inside
Sally Hansen Diamond Shine - top & base coat

Also, as per some reviewers suggestions, I coated over the tips of my nails as well as on top, to get a really good seal.
I have just removed my polish and there is no staining on my nails at all.
It is a large bottle, which will last a long time.

I hope this helps anyone with the same nail problems as me, and I would highly recommend trying Orlys Rubberised Bonder as it has really does work :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/27/2015 6:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love it. I couldn't make a manicure last more than a day and a half without horrible chipping but Bonder fixed that. I'm pretty hard on my nails. I still refresh my top coat (Essie good to go) every 2 days as usual but with Bonder I have been able to go much longer without chips than before. I get about 5 days chip-free on average, with just minor tip wear. Big improvement, will definitely rebuy.


on 1/11/2015 10:23:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is the first product that has inspired a review from me. I absolutely LOVE it. No other base coat has made polish stick like this one does. Usually my nails chip or peel within 12 hours but with this I have had my manicure last as long as five days without needing a touch-up. Definitely an HG product. This with any nail colour and the Seche Vite Quick Dry Topcoat makes for a pro looking manicure.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/10/2014 1:19:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Blue

PROS:
- Improves wear time slightly
- Attractive new packaging + rubber handle

CONS:
- Liquidy, floods the nail
- Does not prevent staining
- Orange tint contrasts too much for those with very pale skin and tints sheer pale polish shades
- Stains my nails slightly orange from the tint

I prefer Orly Nail Defense Base Coat. Its completely clear and untinted. It seems to prevent staining better than Bonder and strengthens my nails at the same time. It has the ingredient Toslyamide/Formaldehyde Resin in it which hardens and strengthens my soft bendy nails noticeably in a single use. After 2 - 3 weeks of Nail Defense I find my nails are so much longer and stronger. People with already hard nails might prefer Bonder but if yours are soft and weak Nail Defense can work wonders.


*****
P.S. For those concerned about seeing "Formaldehyde Resin" on the back of nail polishes like Opi and Orly. Don't worry about this as it is Formaldehyde RESIN and it does not release any of the dangerous Formaldehyde GAS at all. (The only thing in polish you need to watch out for is "Toluene", which is in Seche Vite products, I use them but sit beside an open window while polish is drying). RESIN is not dangerous and hardens nails beautifully. A few people will find they are sensitive to Formaldehyde Resin so they will want to avoid strengtheners but it is not poisonous/linked to cancer/birth defects of linked or in any way comparable to the safety concerns surrounding Formaldehyde GAS.

The dangerous form of Formaldehyde to watch out for is actually called "Methylene Glycol", in "Brazilian Blowout" or "Keratin Straightening" Treatments. Check the back of your ingredients list. If it states methylene glycol THATS Formaldehyde Gas legally hiding under a different name so you don't see it. When the methylene glycol contained in Brazilian/Keratin Hair Treatment is heated during processing it changes form and releases dangerous Formaldehyde GAS which goes straight up your nose and into your bloodstream.

Its not your nail polish you need to worry about. The danger is hiding in those beautiful hair straightening and de-frizzing treatments. Oh, and there is even more formaldehyde gassing into the air of many homes leaking out of that cheap furniture made of treated pressed wood, new building materials and new paint in many peoples homes. Stick to solid wood cribs and toxin free paints for a new nursery if possible.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Other

I'm very disappointed with this product. I really wanted to like it because of all the great reviews but it looks like I'm in the minority that this product doesn't work for. It actually makes my polish chip faster than it would without it. My nails chip after one day, or even sometimes after a few hours. I've tried everything to make this stuff work. Waited a couple minutes after applying, not waiting at all, nothing makes it work. I guess I'll just accept that this base coat just doesn't work for my nails, which is unfortunate. This is actually the first base coat I've ever tried, looks like I'll have to take my chances with another one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Orly Products

image

Bare Rose

31 reviews
Back to Top