Urban Decay • Smog • Eye Shadow

rated 4.7(177 reviews)

Average Rating.4.7
Would buy this product again.90%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 12/30/2013 11:21:00 PM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Beautiful deep golden brown shade that leans metallic. One of my favorite UD shades of all time. This is great in the outter V and in the crease. Using it as a liner makes my hazel eyes really stand out.

Very pigmented as with all UD shades and very blendable and soft.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 peakvolume on 12/8/2013 11:14:00 AM more reviews by peakvolume

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I absolutely love Smog. And for someone who prefers pops of colors to neutrals, that's saying something! But this eyeshadow simply impressed me. It's an opaque, medium brown with gold glitter, and I think the glitter is what makes this shadow extra-special. I can see this working really well as an alternative to black or grey for a smoky eye for a night out. The wear is fantastic too, I was able to make it to 12 hours with a base! It did fade a but around the edges, though. It also felt just a bit dry to the touch, but it applied without a problem. I definitely think this is a shade that could work for many people, even fans of color.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dalebug on 9/28/2013 2:58:00 PM more reviews by dalebug

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Love this beautiful shadow day or night. UD shadows are so easy and effortless to work with. This one really makes my blue eyes stand out and catches the glints of gold in my recently highlighted hair. I have oily lids and a primer is needed for this to stay all day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* anastacy on 9/11/2013 12:37:00 PM more reviews by anastacy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

What can I say that hasn't already been said. This is such a beautiful mid deep metallic golden brown shade. Its not too warm or cool - a very neutral shade that can work on all skin tones. It is not too glittery or frosty - it is shimmer done in a very modern, classic and sophisticated way. It can be used to do a very smokey brown/chocolate look or a very neutral everyday look. This is the one shade I can turn to when I want to an eye look using just one e/s.

This shade is in already in many UD palettes that I own and I would never complain about its presence because the recipe is really right with this. I don't think I'll ever run out but I sure as hell would like to be without it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Walko on 9/2/2013 7:02:00 AM more reviews by Walko

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

This is a lovely dark reddish brown(it's not chocolate brown) with the tiniest almost invisible specks of gold but is no way glittery. I have to be careful with eyeshadow as at 56, I do have lines.But this glides on perfectly,and does not show lines at all.Very pigmented, layers well and does not crease.I wore this to a wedding recently and used Wet n' Wild Brulee which is a pale cream in the corner of my eye, and the combination worked very well.Not cheap but this will last a long time.Highly recommended.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jbbendt on 7/23/2013 7:07:00 PM more reviews by jbbendt

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Along with Stray Dog, Smog is basically that color I reach for every time I want a pretty smoky eye that is perfectly acceptable for day time. Smog is kind of like the summer sister to Stray Dog's more cooler, wintery months neutral tone, as it is a beautiful golden bronze that isn't reddish or orangey. It applies beautifully, blends like a dream, and one swipe is enough to do almost my eye with. That's some serious working power.

Seriously. I plan on purchasing this one over and over, and back ups upon back ups, and I hope UD never discontinues this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bubblybee on 7/23/2013 6:56:00 PM more reviews by bubblybee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Next to MAC wood winked this is my favorite go-to gold. Has more brown then wood winked. Applies beautifully with awesome pigment. Lasts all day under the ud primer. Beautiful.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 minimartha on 7/10/2013 7:27:00 PM more reviews by minimartha

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I have always had trouble wearing eye shadow. Within moments of applying I will experience burning and itching. So for several years now I have only worn eyeliner and mascara, until my co-worker suggested I try Urban Decay. Boy.....am I glad I did! I went to Sephora and was going to purchase Twice Baked but they were out of it so the make-up artist turned me onto Smog and it really brings out my aqua blue eyes. The gold shimmer in the shadow helps make my aqua blue eyes pop. This is so butter smooth, highly pigmented, a little goes a long way. The best part is that it does not cause my eye lids to burn and itch. This eye shadow is vegan, so it has not been tested on animals and its the best on the market in my opinion.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lil_kismet on 4/13/2013 5:15:00 PM more reviews by lil_kismet

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am nearly finished with the Smog shadow in my Naked palette and recently purchased a full size one. I absolutely love this shadow, it is my everyday go-to. The texture is buttery soft and blends and adheres to my eyelids like a dream. It's highly pigmented, a little bit goes a very long way. It's a perfect shimmery bronzey brown lid colour -- not too warm and not too cool and would probably work wonderfully for most skintones. Staying power is excellent with a primer underneath (I get all-day wear with NARS Pro-Prime). I like to wear Smog on the outer half of the lid with Sin blended onto the inner half. Then I'll take a dark brown eyeshadow like MAC Mystery (any neutral matte dark brown will do) and blend it into the outer corners and lightly into the outer third of the crease. Then I'll lightly dust Naked right above the the crease as a transition colour to help blend out the harshness of the dark brown. Then MAC Blanc Type blended onto the browbone to highlight, blended downwards so that it fades nicely into the Naked. Then I'll apply black liner (I usually use UD's Perversion or MUFE's 0L) and smoke it out using Mystery. Then I'll apply a brown liner to the bottom lashline and set/smoke it out with Buck. I like to pair this eye look with a little bit of neutral pink blush and a low maintenance pinky-nude gloss. This has been my everyday go-to look for over a year now. It makes for a great evening look too! I suppose this review should be listed under the Naked Palette, but I think Smog is the star shadow in the palette -- the others mentioned (Sin, Naked, Buck) can easily be duped. But it's not always easy to find that perfect bronzey shade that isn't too warm or too cool for your complexion!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* melangerehab on 3/19/2013 10:20:00 PM more reviews by melangerehab

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Pretty brown, versatile, good for lots of skintones. Not a disappointing shade at all - it is a color that easily becomes a repeated go-to.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Urban Decay products

More Eye Shadow products