Clinique • Brush-On Cream Liner in Black Honey • Eyeliner

rated 4.0(148 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 pinklighterlady on 3/19/2014 10:08:00 PM more reviews by pinklighterlady

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Too sheer. I got this today and while I haven't used it on my eye on the back of my hand it looks more like a stain than a liner ! I actually feel the need to cry ! I hate you Clinique I'm not buying any more Clinique cause urban decay and tarte are far better ! Actually tarte is what I'm replacing this one with. Save money choose another brand.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GirlFromB on 9/27/2013 6:56:00 PM more reviews by GirlFromB

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

S-t-a-m-i-n-a. Unique colour. Great value! Yep, in our little Belgium some make-up hypes are just inexistent and so the black honey series went straight into the sales counter where I picked up this baby. Didn't have big expectations and was sceptical about the brush BUT this product has been one of the best cosmetic surprises to me ever! Compared to Bobbi Brown and Mac gel eyeliners I found this extremely well wearing, knowing that I have rather greasy eyelids (asian double fold). I always powder them but Mac and BB eyeliners still give me a transfer by noon, grrr! This one stays put till midnight. The tiny brush is perfect for losing immediately but I would advise to cherish it because it really works superbly for application. I also apply it with my classic Shu U eyeliner brush which works just fine as well. Ok, the formula is a tad transparant but if you work it properly and gently layer, you get a very rich and deep result. Maybe the stamina is partly due to the unique colour and shimmer which makes the formula drier than BB and Mac, so I don't dare to speak for other Clinique eyeliner colours (being all siblings from the Estee Lauder group). However every time I use this liner I'm impressed upon application and at night before taking it of and seeing it in perfect state. My go-to eyeliner for a sharp look with soft lustre and velvety depth.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kellyyxo on 12/25/2012 10:42:00 PM more reviews by kellyyxo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

this color is really natural looking, it was a great first cream liner. kind of dissapointed that it dried out so fast. it got really chunky and hard to apply pretty fast.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* curlywurly100 on 10/16/2012 8:47:00 PM more reviews by curlywurly100

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Black Honey is a warm dark shimmering brown with a hint of eggplant and silver glitter. one part of that above description made my life miserable, and that was the glitter.
when you first apply this eyeliner, you get a shimmering brown with this hint of warmth and purple. it literally really is a hint. i think the colour payoff is average, but it is beautiful and suits brown eyes wonderfully especially. this looks great as a lower lid liner as well, and also as an eyeshadow and a crease colour.
the glitter in this just really irritated my eyes and i didn't even wear this in my inner rims. little chunks kept migrating into my tear duct and onto my contact lenses. also, even when any of that wasn't happening, the glitter chunks caused itching where the liner was applied. it was very uncomfortable and i don't understand the need for the glitter at all. my sister ended up loving this and it didn't irritate her eyes (she doesn't wear contact lenses either), so i gave it to her, otherwise i would use this product as a crease colour so it wouldn't go to waste. this product was also very prone to cracking and flaking as well.
if you think you might experience similar problems to me, then a comparable liner to this that has better colour payoff, more purple and no glitter is MAC's 'Macroviolet'. i have uploaded a picture of that swatched alongside Black Honey and MAC's 'Rich Ground' and 'Dipdown' for anyone interested. in the picture you will also see the flakiness i just mentioned. the consistency of this is just not as condensed as the others, and the others are old!
i also rated the packaging down for the product being too deep in the pot. it's a very awkward application.
i would definitely not repurchase and would not recommend this, even if i didn't have any irritation with the glitter. there is better out there.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* judysmath on 9/28/2012 3:05:00 PM more reviews by judysmath

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love the color of this liner, but found it applied splotchy and I had to go over my lines a few times to get them looking decent and tried different liner brushes too. I much prefer Bobbi Brown and L'Oreal Infallible gel/cream liners. So, I like the color but don't like the formula.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ms_kevala on 5/31/2012 12:47:00 PM more reviews by ms_kevala

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I like gel/cream liners and was looking for a good quality liner to complement my blue eyes. I bought this because the price seemed fair and I loved the color. But in the end, I wasn't impressed.


Pros: The color is great. Application is fairly easy (until it dries up...see 'cons' below), so long as you use a decent brush. Doesn't irritate my eyes.


Cons: As another reviewer mentioned, if your eyes are reddish from tiredness or irritation, this will make you look more tired. Worse, this started to dry up in about 3 months, even though I was always very careful to close the jar tightly. It was still usable, but became much more difficult to apply and flaked on me (both onto my skin and into my eyes). The included brush is totally useless, so forget about it if you don't already own a decent brush. Finally, the price isn't as good as it seems, because you don't get as much product as with some others (and you get less than the full pot, really, because of the way it dries up).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kissjacksparrow on 5/7/2012 1:51:00 AM more reviews by kissjacksparrow

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I am not a huge cream/gel liner person, but I have used a few different brands and this is my favorite. It is more gel like then some others I have used, and so it glides on really easily. I do like the color; it is very nice if you want something subtle and natural looking. It's a warm brown with shimmer, but it is not super glittery or anything. lately I have been doing minimal makeup look; just some powder, bronzer, matte e/s and this liner + mascara. It's perfect for that 'no makeup' look. The brush it comes with is nice, but so small it gets lost in my stuff so easily, so I usually use a small angled brush or my SK bent eye liner brush. It glides on so effortlessly, no skipping like some of the drier ones Ive tried (Loreal, maybelline, etc) and I never have issues with it smearing or migrating. I really want to try more now. Before this one I was not so into using gel/cream liners, but this one is so easy to use that I think I could see myself getting a lot of use out of them. Before cream liners seemed to be harder to master application and was too time consuming for daily use compared to a pencil. The jar is a little smaller then other brands, but I use it a lot and have barely made a dent in it; you need so little! The only down side is that it is sort of red, and if I am really tired or have redness (crying, allergies) it will only excentuate them; it def. looks best on me when I am more tan for that reason as well. Also, it is not the most strongly pigmented, but it's ok for the look I am going for - sometimes really pigmented liners are just too much for me for everyday/minimal makeup looks.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 VoR on 2/15/2012 4:04:00 AM more reviews by VoR

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Grey, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Gorgeous product. Smooth application and long-lasting wear. The colour is beautiful and remains true, without fading, throughout the day. I'd buy again although the pot will last for ages and I doubt I'll have to for quite some time. The brush it comes with is pretty useless though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 LilLexy100 on 11/20/2011 4:05:00 PM more reviews by LilLexy100

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

As an eyeliner? Ugh. Doesn't compare to anything by MAC or Bobbi Brown. It's too soft and creamy, takes about 5 coats to get a decent depth (and quite frankly, who has the time when getting ready for work in the morning? My make-up routine already takes far too long!!) and doesn't last anything like the other brands of its price. So why still the 3 stars? Because the colour. It's gorgeous. There's nothing like it out there, a warm shimmery plummy purple. And it redeems itself, not by being an eyeliner, but by being the best thing for a long lasting smokey eyeshadow. If you want a night-time smokey eye that's gonna last for hours, apply this to the lash line and across the lid with a blending brush and it'll look superb. I wouldn't buy it again purely because it's just not the greatest eyeliner, but I'll definately be using it up as a brilliant eyeshadow.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Superdamask on 11/5/2011 6:22:00 PM more reviews by Superdamask

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

The price of this product is somewhere in the middle of drugstore and highend. You get 5 gr of product which is not bad at all! The packaging of this is quite fine for me, its nothing special but its not bad either! The special thing about this is the colour, its a deep reddish brown with shimmer (thats how I would describe) its works really well with my blue green eyes and if I use a fine eyeliner brush it makes my eyes look clearer without making it look like I have a ton of makeup on. It is so creamy and goes on lovely without any flaking. In my eyes it is more creamy and smoother than the MAC fluidline. Highly recommened!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Eyeliner products