Aubrey Organics • White Camellia Conditioner • Conditioner

rated 3.6(29 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 rustybag on 2/28/2014 12:02:00 PM more reviews by rustybag

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this conditioner because Aubrey Organics conditioners tend to work well on my hair, providing I pick the right formula. My hair is fine, oilier at the roots, and drier at the ends. Lately it's been feeling dry, so I wanted to buy one that did not contain protein, since most of my current conditioners contain protein, and I suspect protein overload.

This conditioner is hard to find locally. Whole foods in my area no longer stocks it, but a privately owned health food store in my area carries it. You can't smell before buying, though, since the bottles are sealed. I had no idea what to expect, based on the mixed reviews. It does not smell like camellia, AO camellia bar soap (a soft, pretty floral), or AO white camellia & Jasmine shine leave in spray (a beachy Jasmine). I mistakenly thought it would smell similar to one of those. Sometimes you can look at AO' s ingredient list and guess what the product will smell like based on that. Camellia oil is high up in the list, as is geranium, rosemary and sage.

Geranium is the star of the show here. If you are not familiar with geranium, I would go to whole foods or a health food store to smell a tester of geranium essential oil. I would not recommend going by what geranium scented bath and body or cleaning products smell like, as those are often softened up a bit with other oils, or the smell isn't very concentrated. This will smell like you put an entire bottle of geranium essential oil on your head. The smell of geranium is like a strong, intense, pungent rose mixed with citronella (geranium is often used in place of rose oil because it's cheaper, and it is also used as a bug repellent, like citronella. To me geranium smells like both of those mixed together). If these are scents that you like, or even if you have a strong liking to rose, then you might like the smell of this.

I, unfortunately, do not. *Hate* anything resembling rose, geranium, citronella, palmarosa..simply do not like those scents. The texture of this conditioner is creamy, dense, but not waxy. It does not have a pearly sheen like some of the others. I use a tiny bit of coconut oil on dry hair overnight, apply this in the morning on top of the coconut oil, wrap my head in plastic, wait a few hours, then wash out. It feels tingley. A ton of hair comes out when I wash my hair, more than usual, and I have to shampoo twice, then use a bit of conditioner again to get out tangles. Afterwards, my hair looks less dry, but it still feels like there is a coating on it, even after washing twice with a cleansing/ clarifying shampoo. Also my scalp feels irritated and itchy. If it wasn't for the scent and itchiness, I might continue to use this as a pre-shampoo conditioner (probably alone, since I don't think coconut oil is necessarily a good idea anyways with suspected protein overload), since there is no way I could tolerate this scent in my hair all day. But really what I wanted was a protein free after shampoo conditioner. This will probably end up being used up as a shaving cream. If your hair is fine and dry, this formula is probably not for you. This costs $11 for 11 ounces.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tiffany287 on 1/20/2014 11:07:00 AM more reviews by tiffany287

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I use shea moisture and love this herbal conditioner. I used this with matching shampoo. I steamed it in the shower, my hair was conditioned well. This is not a deep conditioner but does well on coarse dry hair. I used this with my belle amour blends products, pomade and leave in conditioner. I put my hair in a set. I can smell the Conditioner over products. I feel I should mention that you should use this product on hair that was in proper condition very moisturized and mostly healthy for best results. This conditioner also is very smoothing for defined curls. Nappy hair needs smoothing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mmary on 9/5/2012 3:29:00 PM more reviews by mmary

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

As someone who had long, long since given up the hope of ever having smooth hair, this came as a revelation. I was just so upset when I caught a glimpse of myself with a halo of Brillo while shopping, I decided to splurge. One more try, I told myself...but you know it won't really help. I don't particularly like the smell, and the price (about $11) meant I didn't plan to slather it on.


My hair has always been thick, coarse and prone to frizz for at least the first day after washing. Products don't really affect it. At first I just used this as a second conditioner, lightly after detangling. It made a slight difference. Then one day I ran out and it was all I had. My hair was like glass, and the remarkable thing is that even after air drying, the cuticle remained smooth. Not ironed or blown-dry shiny, which is (heresy!) a look I don't like anyway, but my own healthy natural waves -- like the third day but clean.


I've been stung too many times trying luxury brands that promised everything and did virtually nothing. This works. The fragrance goes dissipates quickly. I like natural, and cruelty-free is a big plus to me. Wish soap.com carried this particular version.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Thaxter on 4/21/2012 3:53:00 PM more reviews by Thaxter

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my favorite conditioner of the Aubrey Organics line. I use Herbatint natural hair coloring, which tends to leave my hair a bit dry. This conditioner just glides through like silk, or like a silicone conditioner -- without the silicone! It also deep conditions the hair shafts and leaves my hair silky and manageable.


A problem I've had with other hair product is that after my hair was dry and I went about the day, the ends of my hair would frizz again and get coarse looking. With this conditioner, I have no more frizz, my hair looks shiny all the time and smooth, and it's manageable. Another perk from using this conditioner is that I don't need to use other hair products in my hair. This is enough -- it keeps my hair conditioned and shiny all day long. And I have gotten more compliments on my hair since I started using this product.


The smell is heavenly and arboreal, and not too strong. The scent does not linger in my hair after it dries.


I don't think this would be a good conditioner for anyone with fine, thin hair. This is a great condition for those with thick, dry, coarse hair. And if your color treatment has dried your hair, you'll benefit from this. This can also be used as a leave-in conditioner before shampooing. Well worth the $8 I spent for this online -- a little goes a long way!


Ingredients: Coconut fatty acid cream base, organic aloe vera, white camellia oil, wheat germ oil; extracts of fennel, hops, balm mint, mistletoe, chamomile and yarrow; organic geranium oil, organic rosemary oil, organic sage oil, carrot oil and aubrey's preservative (citrus seed extract, vitamins A, C and E).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 BothCoasts on 12/13/2011 11:37:00 PM more reviews by BothCoasts

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to like this one because I drive a Subaru and my other liberal car is a limousine. The packaging alone takes me back to my mom's 80s retro-hippie-yuppie days at the Nature Mart. I realized looking at the label that I have no idea what camellias smell like, which may have contributed to my surprise as to the fairly herbal woodsy scent that came out of the bottle. I wasn't enamored with the scent (I said limousine-liberal, not actual hippie), and would prefer something a little more floral-clean, but it wasn't particularly a problem. The real problem was that it made my hair flat and crunchy-dry somehow, despite the fact that the product is as thick as Crisco. And if I went a day without washing, my second-day hair looked like I dunked it in actual Crisco.
.
I do have baby-fine strands and a lot of them, which means that my hair looks thick, but it's not actually thick, if you know what I mean. So perhaps this conditioner was a little too heavy for my wimpy locks. The silver lining is, I gave it a fair shake for about 10 days and then my local Whole Foods took it back with a receipt. Yours will probably as well if the conditioner doesn't work out for you either. And if it does, well, hippie, rock on.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LoriaD on 4/5/2011 11:23:00 AM more reviews by LoriaD

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Not bad. One of their better conditioners.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 syoo11 on 3/13/2011 8:39:00 PM more reviews by syoo11

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

It's an okay product. It smells a little bad -- like you put on "icy hot" pad on your hair. But what it does do is to make your hair look like you haven't washed it in a while. Ever notice that when you forget to wash your hair one day, your hair actually looks better? I read somewhere that hair models deliberately do not wash their hair for days right before photo shoots.. Completely boggles my mind but I think it's somewhat true. Anyway, this conditioner gives you that dirty hair look without actually having to suffer through not washing your hair.. So I think it's worth a try -- but probably would not repurchase..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Karidinka on 1/18/2011 3:01:00 AM more reviews by Karidinka

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This was the first Aubrey Organics product (and also the first cone-free hair product) that i ever purchased. It's a good conditioner, but very heavy. I made the mistake of buying it without carefully reading the label. This is a conditioner for coarse, unruly hair, while my hair is fine and undamaged, so the fact that it left my head dripping with oil is not the fault of the product itself, but my own stupidity. I'm a big fan of the AO Honeysuckle Rose conditioner though (for dry and brittle hair - mine is neither dry or brittle) and get excellent results with it, but I use it only a few times a month.

I'm giving the White Camellia Conditioner 5 lippies because I've seen how it works when used properly. I ended up giving my bottle to a friend with very damaged, bleached hair. She used it for deep conditioning following the Aphogee Two Step Protein Treatment and it was like magic. She continued to buy this conditioner until she grew out the bleach and eventually chopped the damage.

I guess I'm a major freak as I love the smell of this product, and it looks like there aren't too many of us ;)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 forya on 1/18/2011 1:39:00 AM more reviews by forya

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is the best conditioner for my coarse, thick, wavy hair. I've been searching high and low for a conditioner that didn't offend my bf's sense of smell, but worked well for my frizzy, very dry hair.


First, let me say I've tried all the popular brands, like L'oreal, Neutrogena triple moisture mask, Dove, and Suave Coconut conditioner. Nothing worked, even after drenching my hair with all of the above conditioners. I even tried co-washing, but that just left me with dandruff and really greasy hair.


I tried coconut oil for awhile, but I found it too difficult to find the right balance, leaving my hair either oily or frizzy. I finally decided to try an organic conditioner because it contains only natural scents, which doesn't seem to bother my bf. The scent isn't the prettiest. I would describe it as herbal and woodsy.


I tried Aubrey Jojoba & Aloe Desert Herb Revitalizing Conditioner for dry, damaged hair first, but didn't find it as moisturizing as White Camellia Conditioner for dry, coarse, unruly hair. The White Camellia conditioner only requires a few dabs and my hair is finally frizz free!


I never thought an organic conditioner could be this good. For someone who tried everything under the sun to control my frizzy hair, I am finally happy and the search is over!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SamanthaJustine on 12/7/2010 7:50:00 PM more reviews by SamanthaJustine

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Way too heavy for my hair. I was a greasy messy. I don't have dry or course hair. I have an oily scalp and normal ends that only have a bit of dryness. I thought using just a little would be ok but even just a little was too much. I am going to use this for shaving instead. I used this with a shampoo bar.

EDIT:
I gave this another try. Come to find out this works best for me with a shampoo that has SLS. Then I apply just a little bit and rinse out right away. I can't leave it on my hair. Doing it this way it leaves my hair soft and fragrant.

As for shaving it is amazing for shaving! I don't even need any lotion and it does not clog the razor.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Aubrey Organics products

More Conditioner products