Aussie • Dual Personality Mousse plus Leave-In Conditioner • Styling Products

rated 3.6(66 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 jpe020 on 11/4/2013 3:38:00 PM more reviews by jpe020

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

Pros: If you are looking for a SOFT (not crunchy!!) mousse then this is it! It provides enough hold but still keeps my curls soft and bouncy. You can also apply it on day two curls and it doesn't get that hideous product build up looks (you know the static crispy heavy looking hair - yuck!). So yes this product is great for your hair and your curls!

BUT..

Cons: I take off one lippy because this product TESTS ON ANIMALS and is owned by Proctor and Gamble (a huge company that is lobbying to stop the ban on animal-tested cosmetics) I take another lippy off because the product contains UNSAFE CHEMICALS such as parabens and is harmful to the environment and your health.

Overall: Good hair product, but as a consumer we have a responsibility (and opportunity) to make a difference with our dollar. I will put my dollar elsewhere to support more ethically responsible products e.g. Lavera, Lush, Weleda, Jasons

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Neume on 7/14/2010 5:53:00 PM more reviews by Neume

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

MY HAIR: Naturally straight, very thick and dense, coarse - typical Asian hair. Because of the thickness it tends to lay flat, which is why I decided to try this mousse. Plus, the leave-in conditioning claim sounded like a lovely bonus.
HOW I APPLIED IT: I first used my HG heat protectant - Biosilk Silk Therapy. I then worked about a handful of the Aussie mousse mainly into the roots of my hair (almost like I was shampooing) and then dragged whatever was left to my ends. My hair is freshly washed and damp (not soaked - I waited about 15 minutes to let it air dry a bit). With my dryer set to medium heat, I first lifted sections of my hair and held the dryer right at my roots (this should not burn you if you have the right heat setting; if it is burning you, turn the heat down a notch). I went around my whole head lifting and drying sestion by section of roots. I then finished off the rest of my hair with a round brush made of all natural boar hair bristles. Gave it one last blast of cool air at the end to ruffle my roots and set the style.
THE RESULT: Looooooved it! My hair volumized wonderfully and left a gorgeous shine. There's no evidence of product either, so I could run my fingers through without it feeling crunchy. My hair is also VERY soft. It's nice and bouncy, but natural (doesn't look like I spent a lot of time on it). It just looks all around healthy and shiny. Keep in mind that the Biosilk and boar hair brush play a large part in this, but there was a definite difference between the "style-ability" of my hair before and after I started using this Aussie mousse. I noticed that my ends cooperated more and my roots lifted much more easily.
OVERALL IMPRESSION: For something that cost me about $4, I'm very impressed! I will probably repurchase this! As a bonus, it smells wondeful! The Biosilk (which is also fragranced) and this don't clash at all. I'm excited to incorporate this into my daily hair styling routine.
UPDATE: Wonderful news! After sleeping in this, my hair deflated (as expected), but I didn't have time to re-wash my hair and style it again. So I just used my fingers and raked upwards on my roots and ruffled my top layers a bit. Voila! The volume came right back and my hair looked as it did the previous day! I am SO pleased with this product! I'll be repurchasing and I pray that they will never discontinue it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 geekgrl on 6/17/2010 10:56:00 PM more reviews by geekgrl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to like this. I have hair that is a little past shoulder length, naturally wavy, and somewhat thin. This was like almost putting leave in conditioner in my hair. Barely any definition to my waves and it made my hair fall flat. No volume at all. I like the concept of the conditioner to it but my hair is just too darn fine for this to work with. Left me with a frizzy mess. Oh well the smell isn't as bad as some of their other stuff which gets to me after a while so I added a lippy for that.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hitashi on 1/3/2010 3:03:00 AM more reviews by hitashi

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I'm surprised. When I first found this product, its repurchase percentage was higher than 90% - now it's dropped to the 70s.
Well, I like this stuff. I have EXTREMELY frizzy hair, and though I have curls, they don't live up to their full potential with all the frizziness. I really like this mousse because it gives me intense Oprah curls without being crunchy.

My only issue with it is that its ingredients are very dangerous for both the environment and your health. For this reason, I'd advise taking caution when buying and perhaps even not purchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Xelestra on 12/19/2009 3:40:00 AM more reviews by Xelestra

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a big fan of morning hair transitioning into evening hair.


Let me explain.


I dislike hair that stays static (in the positional sense, not the electricity one) and looks exactly the same from the beginning of the day to night-time. This product allows me to have curls, softening to waves by mid-day, and relaxing into a slight wave/straight configuration by the end. Armed with some bobby-pins or cute clips in your purse, you can transition your hair even more easily than people transition makeup from "day" to "evening". I'm a big fan of this.


This isn't the best leave-in conditioner, no. This isn't the best mousse in terms of hold either. They say as much. Packaging-wise - the purple dot that you're supposed to align the nozzle with eventually fades, so I go over mine with permanent marker. But it IS quite good at getting this look I love. I buy this for the flexibility, the speed of application, the smell (!), and how cheap it is. Can't go wrong.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 heiditeafan on 12/12/2009 10:42:00 PM more reviews by heiditeafan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I use this everyday whether I am going to straighten, curl or leave it on it's own. Brings out my natural waves. Tames my frizz while leaving it soft and not sticky. I like the scent too and I like that's also a leave in conditioner a nice bonus.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xkaela242x on 10/31/2009 2:44:00 PM more reviews by xkaela242x

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have naturally thick wavy/curly shoulder length hair, and I'm a complete product junkie. I've tried just about everything on my hair (lotions, gels, mousse). Nothing seems to really work well. It usually ends up looking like a dry poofy mess. Well FINALLY I found this. After I get out of the shower I use L'Oreal EverPure Moisture Leave-In Conditioner and then this Aussie Mousse and WOW.. after a scrunching a few times I walk out the door.
My hair doesn't feel crunchy.. it's soft and bouncy and completely touchable. I'll definitely continue to buy this

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KatelynAnne on 10/6/2009 8:38:00 PM more reviews by KatelynAnne

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I put this on my damp hair at night after my shower to control my frizzies and it works wonderfully without making my hair hard and crunchy or sticky. I love this stuff, and it smells good.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xlitlbitx on 9/12/2009 6:45:00 AM more reviews by xlitlbitx

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutly love is stuff, I have curly hair and I use it when I want to be nice and soft. It also controls my frizz too. it leaves a nice texture. I always have it on hand.
Its great stuff. the price is great considering what it does and it worth every cent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chanelmontes on 9/8/2009 3:58:00 PM more reviews by chanelmontes

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm so happy to finally say that this is EXACTLY the type of hair product I've been looking for! It has taken me a few years but my search is over. My hair is thick and can get very frizzy after my hair dries so I was on the hunt for a very long time for a product to tame the frizz but also give my hair some style and shine. This product is a godsend. All I do is put some in my hair, let it air dry and my hair is absolutely fantastic for the rest of the day. I have two young kids so getting ready is always an obstacle to where I can't blow dry and style my hair for 2 hours anymore. This product enables me to not have to style my hair by making it looking so healthy, bouncy and shiny. I've tried many products (mostly high end) before picking this up but boy am I glad I purchased it. It does exactly what I need.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Aussie products

More Styling Products products