Rusk bright

3.5

13 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 1/9/2015 1:09:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have been getting a full head of blond highlights for about six months now. I am naturally a warm brunette. The blond I get put in is ashy/pearl toned, I love it! I want to keep it this way and avoid brassyness, so I was using the Clairol shimmering lights shampoo, until this week, when I came across this Bright shampoo by Rusk. Using Rusk, my hair feels soooo hydrated and soft! I don't even need conditioner! It has a subtle sweet smell, not overpowering or gross. As for brightening/refreshing blond colored hair, it does the trick. It isn't as strong as the Clairol shampoo, but I can use the Rusk Bright Shampoo every time and not worry about going blue. I bought mine for half price at Winners (approx $7), about $4 cheaper and I get more product, than with Clairol. Love it!



on 5/15/2014 9:28:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I LOVE this shampoo. I've used it for years now. My hair is naturally a bronze colour so any colour I put in to it always has me end back up with a brassy look. I was recommended to try this by my stylist and I've never gone back. My colour lasts for ages and when it does start to fade, at least the bronze comes out instead of the dull ancient brass look. Best part is I can buy this from Winners for 14 bucks.


on 3/30/2012 11:53:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I used this and I don't think it worked too much, then again my hair might be too dark now for it to work on removing the brass but anyways, I used it because my hair has a lot of red tints from when I had blonde hair, and ever since I started using it it made my scapl itch like crazy! it's ridiculous it got so bad that it hurts now, I threw that shampoo out and I am never using it again, I used it about four times and it took me a few days to realize it was the shampoo that irritated my scalp so much.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

This dried my hair out extremely, making it feel like straw. I have long bleached, oily roots dry ends hair type for reference. It does brighten a little, but clairol shimmer lights and Aveda blue Malva work better for brightening. Most all of the purple shampoos for brightening blonde hair are very dry shampoos: Joico color endure violet, clairol shimmer lights, aveda blue malva, arctec, jhirmack. Also Rusk as a brand has very drying shampoos. I think this is because they are super concentrated and have a lot of natural ingredients, this one being no exception. I think rusk shampoos work best on super fine, short hair. If you have dehydrated, or dry ends to your bleached hair I would skip this shampoo or use once in a blue moon for color maintanence. When I used my regular conditioner it softened and helped to undo what this shampoo did, but I had to use a lot of detangler. I would not use this daily at all. I got this at pro price of only $4 and would not pay anything over that price because this strips your hair & the detangling you have to do will cause damage. Because it dried me out, it did give a really good clean almost like a clarifyer, but I had to load my hair with serum to get a brush through it so instead of volume from a deep clean I end up with weighed down hair. The best thing about this shampoo besides its cute purple packaging is the smell! It has the most sweet watermelon/bubble gum scent. I wish they made this in body products!


on 6/9/2011 3:56:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

First a little of my Hair's History, i recently went from white platinum blonde hair, back to my original color, medium ash blonde.(Dirty Blonde haircolor). I first used nice & easy's 103A Medium beige blonde, then the next day, i used loral's Dream Blonde, in Medium ash blonde to make the color stick, and it has, very well, And this shampoo is helping that alot. It's making my medium,dirty blonde hair look brighter, and alot less brassy, My hair went a little orangy/Yellow when i used the medium beige blonde at first because my hair was white/platinum before i used it. Then the medium ash blonde helped alot, but this shampoo is now going to become my holy grail shampoo, to help keep my hair a cool medium ash blonde color. I highly recommend it!!.


on 1/23/2011 11:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

BEFORE USING PRODUCTS LIKE "BRIGHT"... I think it is important to distinguish that highlights (using bleach) are less likely to turn yellow over time. However, dyed hair and lowlights (using color) are typically prone to yellowing. Hard water can cause yellowing to either bleached or colored blonde hair. Okay! Now that I've made those distinctions :). This shampoo does a good job at freshening up my blonde highlights (though I do not have much of an issue with yellowing!) The shampoo is drying but I find it cleans the scalp really well. This is likely due to the shampoo's ability to STRIP hair-- so be very careful if you have colored/dyed hair! Follow up with a moisturizing conditioner and a deep conditioner on the ends and you should be nice and silky soft! I used this product earlier today and my hair is just gorgeous after drying! Good product. You can find it for cheap online and in discount stores!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/14/2010 6:20:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

i love and hate this shampoo.............i hate that it leaves my hair feeling dry but my leave in treatmant fixed that, i love it because it really works at removeing yellow from blonde hair. ive used this shampoo once and it as took so much of that nasty yellow colour out, id rather use this then bleaching and toneing my hair all the time!!


on 7/12/2009 11:27:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is my HG for shampoos. After always getting brassy even with darker tones, this shampoo has eliminated these problems and actually kept my highlights nice and bright (I think even brightening them more)! I use the conditioner too, but add some TIGI moisture maniac with it as it is not as moisturizing as i would like. If they ever discontinue, I will be buying cases of this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/12/2008 7:41:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I gave this a try when my hair was blonde and it really did nothing to help at all. It left my hair super dry and the smell is awful.


on 2/12/2008 8:04:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Im surprised to see the negative reviews here. I LOVE this shampoo but then again I have an oily scalp and love having it squeaky clean. For reference, I have insanely thick and long hair that is highlighted a LOT. Im a natural brunette with blonde/gold highlights.

After using a lot of shampoos I always come back to this one and now I am just sticking to it. It lathers great, the smell is not annoying, the color is strange but it does a great job of cleaning the scalp thoroughly and brightens up my hair color to a nice shimmery gold (it doesnt make the blonde pop so I guess if you're a blond the other reviews might be more helpful). I did not notice stripping but just a nice squeaky clean. I use it with the rusk conditioner and I must say that the results are the same as when I use pureology shampoo and conditioner which is impressive. My hair is soft, manageable and the highlights shine, however my one complaint is that the matching Bright conditioner you have to use a lot of to get to cover your hair/soften it up. It doesnt grease it up, so its a great conditioner, but I wish there was more product for the price.

Overall I cant complain about the price, because I was using pureology and just couldnt keep buying shampoo/conditioner that was so expensive and this has replaced it wonderfully at a fraction of the price.

My mom uses it for her gray hair and loves it too (her base color is also brunette).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Rusk Products

Back to Top