Rusk • bright • Shampoo

rated 3.6(14 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Danaelycia on 5/15/2014 9:28:00 PM more reviews by Danaelycia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I LOVE this shampoo. I've used it for years now. My hair is naturally a bronze colour so any colour I put in to it always has me end back up with a brassy look. I was recommended to try this by my stylist and I've never gone back. My colour lasts for ages and when it does start to fade, at least the bronze comes out instead of the dull ancient brass look. Best part is I can buy this from Winners for 14 bucks.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 NikolaLove on 3/30/2012 11:53:00 AM more reviews by NikolaLove

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I used this and I don't think it worked too much, then again my hair might be too dark now for it to work on removing the brass but anyways, I used it because my hair has a lot of red tints from when I had blonde hair, and ever since I started using it it made my scapl itch like crazy! it's ridiculous it got so bad that it hurts now, I threw that shampoo out and I am never using it again, I used it about four times and it took me a few days to realize it was the shampoo that irritated my scalp so much.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* georgiasweety on 1/5/2012 9:10:00 PM more reviews by georgiasweety

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This dried my hair out extremely, making it feel like straw. I have long bleached, oily roots dry ends hair type for reference. It does brighten a little, but clairol shimmer lights and Aveda blue Malva work better for brightening. Most all of the purple shampoos for brightening blonde hair are very dry shampoos: Joico color endure violet, clairol shimmer lights, aveda blue malva, arctec, jhirmack. Also Rusk as a brand has very drying shampoos. I think this is because they are super concentrated and have a lot of natural ingredients, this one being no exception. I think rusk shampoos work best on super fine, short hair. If you have dehydrated, or dry ends to your bleached hair I would skip this shampoo or use once in a blue moon for color maintanence. When I used my regular conditioner it softened and helped to undo what this shampoo did, but I had to use a lot of detangler. I would not use this daily at all. I got this at pro price of only $4 and would not pay anything over that price because this strips your hair & the detangling you have to do will cause damage. Because it dried me out, it did give a really good clean almost like a clarifyer, but I had to load my hair with serum to get a brush through it so instead of volume from a deep clean I end up with weighed down hair. The best thing about this shampoo besides its cute purple packaging is the smell! It has the most sweet watermelon/bubble gum scent. I wish they made this in body products!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Plat38 on 6/9/2011 3:56:00 PM more reviews by Plat38

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

First a little of my Hair's History, i recently went from white platinum blonde hair, back to my original color, medium ash blonde.(Dirty Blonde haircolor). I first used nice & easy's 103A Medium beige blonde, then the next day, i used loral's Dream Blonde, in Medium ash blonde to make the color stick, and it has, very well, And this shampoo is helping that alot. It's making my medium,dirty blonde hair look brighter, and alot less brassy, My hair went a little orangy/Yellow when i used the medium beige blonde at first because my hair was white/platinum before i used it. Then the medium ash blonde helped alot, but this shampoo is now going to become my holy grail shampoo, to help keep my hair a cool medium ash blonde color. I highly recommend it!!.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tuf2beme on 1/27/2011 5:55:00 PM more reviews by tuf2beme

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is Fabulous! My hair is bright and NOT brassy at all. The smell is amazing. It needs to stay in your hair a few minutes to remove the yellow and then follow with your fav conditioner, I use Sheer Blonde and you will be in LOVE too. I highly recommend this. I have highlighted hair and it looks like I just had it done (ya 3 months ago) thats our secret!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* benny143 on 1/23/2011 11:37:00 PM more reviews by benny143

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

BEFORE USING PRODUCTS LIKE "BRIGHT"... I think it is important to distinguish that highlights (using bleach) are less likely to turn yellow over time. However, dyed hair and lowlights (using color) are typically prone to yellowing. Hard water can cause yellowing to either bleached or colored blonde hair. Okay! Now that I've made those distinctions :). This shampoo does a good job at freshening up my blonde highlights (though I do not have much of an issue with yellowing!) The shampoo is drying but I find it cleans the scalp really well. This is likely due to the shampoo's ability to STRIP hair-- so be very careful if you have colored/dyed hair! Follow up with a moisturizing conditioner and a deep conditioner on the ends and you should be nice and silky soft! I used this product earlier today and my hair is just gorgeous after drying! Good product. You can find it for cheap online and in discount stores!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jod84 on 2/14/2010 6:20:00 PM more reviews by jod84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

i love and hate this shampoo.............i hate that it leaves my hair feeling dry but my leave in treatmant fixed that, i love it because it really works at removeing yellow from blonde hair. ive used this shampoo once and it as took so much of that nasty yellow colour out, id rather use this then bleaching and toneing my hair all the time!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mcpollick on 7/12/2009 11:27:00 AM more reviews by mcpollick

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This is my HG for shampoos. After always getting brassy even with darker tones, this shampoo has eliminated these problems and actually kept my highlights nice and bright (I think even brightening them more)! I use the conditioner too, but add some TIGI moisture maniac with it as it is not as moisturizing as i would like. If they ever discontinue, I will be buying cases of this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lolajean on 8/12/2008 7:41:00 PM more reviews by lolajean

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I gave this a try when my hair was blonde and it really did nothing to help at all. It left my hair super dry and the smell is awful.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aamna_601 on 2/12/2008 8:04:00 PM more reviews by aamna_601

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Im surprised to see the negative reviews here. I LOVE this shampoo but then again I have an oily scalp and love having it squeaky clean. For reference, I have insanely thick and long hair that is highlighted a LOT. Im a natural brunette with blonde/gold highlights.

After using a lot of shampoos I always come back to this one and now I am just sticking to it. It lathers great, the smell is not annoying, the color is strange but it does a great job of cleaning the scalp thoroughly and brightens up my hair color to a nice shimmery gold (it doesnt make the blonde pop so I guess if you're a blond the other reviews might be more helpful). I did not notice stripping but just a nice squeaky clean. I use it with the rusk conditioner and I must say that the results are the same as when I use pureology shampoo and conditioner which is impressive. My hair is soft, manageable and the highlights shine, however my one complaint is that the matching Bright conditioner you have to use a lot of to get to cover your hair/soften it up. It doesnt grease it up, so its a great conditioner, but I wish there was more product for the price.

Overall I cant complain about the price, because I was using pureology and just couldnt keep buying shampoo/conditioner that was so expensive and this has replaced it wonderfully at a fraction of the price.

My mom uses it for her gray hair and loves it too (her base color is also brunette).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Rusk products

More Shampoo products