Clinique Take The Day Off Cleansing Balm

4.3

477 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Oil, Caprylic/capric Triglyceride, Sorbeth-30 Tetraoleate, Polyethylene, Peg-5 Glyceryl Triisostearate, Water, Tocopherol, Phenoxyethanol


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this product, i love cleansing balms in a tub because you get a huge amount and although it is generally expensive it's worth it because it lasts ages! I've had this product for several months and still haven't ran out, bearing in mind i don't use this everyday because i use it as a first cleanse when removing my makeup (i dont wear makeup everyday) i think it's a good, bog standard cleansing balm without any fragrance or nasties it's just a simple cleanser for people who react to products badly this would be a dream! Removes makeup like a dream

10/10



on 5/22/2015 8:41:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love this so much! Its amazing would defo re purchase!


on 5/18/2015 9:23:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

The BEST cleanser i've ever used (and i've used a few). It destroys make up, even waterproof, with ease. Leaves skin feeling clean, hydrated and soft.
If you only buy one product this year, make it this one!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/15/2015 6:44:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Best makeup remover ever! I wish they found a way to pack this in a pump bottle since I don't like sticking my fingers into the jar and I'm too lazy to use a spoon.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/4/2015 10:40:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Product - Great cleansing balm. I rub dry fingers into the surface, then rub the balm onto my dry face. The balm warms up to an oil which smooths out easily over skin and unwanted makeup. Great at removing waterproof mascara. Non-irritating to skin or eyes. Even soothing for dry skin. Rinses away clean afterwards with just splashes of warm water - probably even faster if you use a washcloth - though you may need to repeat or at least rinse extra well for stubborn lipstick.


Packaging - Big wide flat tub, which is an ideal shape. Seems unnecessarily large to me, since you don't need much per use. It will take a very long time for me to use up a whole tub :) - so for sure it's a really good value for the money. I love that this is a solid, so I can put some in a smaller pot for travel and not worry about leakage.


Overall - Effective. Portable. A new staple/HG.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/21/2015 7:51:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Just purchased my fourth (at least, I've lost count) tub of this. Unheard of for me to repurchase something so many times. Makeup removal is so simple since I discovered balm/oil cleansing and I haven't looked back. This is one of the best of the bunch, worth every dollar. I've got combination (oily but can be dehydrated) skin with hormonal acne and can be sensitive, and this stuff has improved my skin out of sight simply due to its deep cleansing properties. The texture is a little odd if you haven't used a balm before, it's like solid coconut oil. Scoop a bit out with your finger, rub between your hand and it turns into a greasy buttery texture, massage over your face and your makeup basically falls off. It doesn't sting eyes and will get the toughest mascaras off (benefit they're real!) too. It will emulsify into a milk with water and is best removed with a face washer/cloth.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/11/2015 7:26:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

LOVE this Clinique makeup remover/cleanser. It's very hard to explain the texture... but you just scoop a pea sized amount out massage into your skin and rinse off. I take most my makeup off with micellar water but this gets the last bits off. Feels oily when you massage it in but when you rinse with water, the oily texture just completely dissolves. It leaves my skin soo clean and soft, it's super gentle and fragrance free. I find it so satisfying to use, really brilliant product. A little pricey if you're more of a drugstore-cleanser kind of person but this is a big pot so lasts forever and my skin has never been better! So 100% worth it. Can't reccommend this enough. I love the pot format - and what else could you put this product in anyway? It doesn't melt until you have it in your hands so you couldn't put it in a tube! Anyway if you don't like the pot format, there's an oil and a milk which I haven't tried but there you go.


on 4/6/2015 2:36:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love this stuff. It's a large jar full of solid white oily balm. You scoop out a little and it will almost instantly liquify. Gently rub it all over your face for a lovely, unscented, soothing, non-irritating cleanse. It doesn't pull on skin, even the delicate eye area, and I find it removes *all* my makeup (including waterproof mascara, assorted liquid liners, and Revlon ColorStay products) in a jiffy, and FAR more thoroughly and easily than my past methods, as my disgusting, post-cleanse, once-white washcloths will attest. I've finally come to the realization that I do like/need a double cleanse, and my previous cleansers just weren't cutting it for removing makeup. I follow up with CeraVe cleanser. You can get away with using just this product though, especially if your skin is on the drier side. I haven't had any negative effects -- no breakouts or irritation. Just happy skin, well-prepped for my litany of nighttime serums etc etc.

The balm can get a little dirty, since I have a habit of double dipping and whatever makeup is on my hand from the previous dip will "taint" it. This doesn't affect the product though and only mildly bothers me aesthetically...you might prefer using a small makeup spatula. I see myself running through this pretty quickly too, as I *like* to apply a nice thick layer even though I probably don't need to.

This is more than I'm used to spending for cleansing, but it makes a huge difference for me and I will repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/31/2015 7:54:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I tried this after reading Caroline Hirons' blog about cleansing. I find it removes makeup really well and I don't feel the need to double cleanse (I still do sometimes though). It leaves me feeling smooth and I feel like I've seen a reduction in blackheads since I've been using it.

It is pretty simple in it's presentation, like many reviewers have said, it just resembles a pot of lard! I'm not too fussy so I just scrape it out with a clean finger, but it would be good for Clinique to provide a little spatula inside the top of the lid or something (especially for the price, $AUD 55).

It is on the pricey side, but I can see it lasting for at least a year, especially when using a different cleanser for the second cleanse.

Highly recommended.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/18/2015 5:51:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

With Caroline Hirons' positive review and my love for deep cleansing in mind, I had to try this (thanks M.W.). This balm is a no fuss hard working cleanser that takes away all make-up and dirt. You could situate it between the all natural REN balm and the Eve Lom mineral oil bomb. I love my REN cleansers but this is a great alternative especially if you are allergy prone or dislike strong fragrance. Apply on dry skin, emulsify, take off with hot cloth: clean, soft skin is yours! Suitable for every day use - am and pm.


Back to Top