Clinique • Take The Day Off Cleansing Balm • Cleansers

rated 4.3(460 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 lafilleaveclesfleurs on 1/20/2015 3:19:00 AM more reviews by lafilleaveclesfleurs

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

First of all, this cleansing balm is actually amazing. All of my friends love it, they have beautiful skin and this is a great way to easily remove all your make-up as well as cleansing your skin properly.

However, I have really Acne prone (hormonal) skin, and this clogged my pores like crazy. Every inch of my chin covered in clogged skin as well as huge cysts. Even though this isn't the reason for my bad skin, it does nothing for my pimples and acne.

I don't have any problems with my cheeks, eyes or forehead though, so it did the trick there, but for my chin - horrible.

But I do believe in this product for people with actual try and otherwise normal skin, and maybe even combination skin, but for someone with acne prone skin, I would not recommend this.

Thea

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 February_Starr on 1/20/2015 2:55:00 AM more reviews by February_Starr

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

In the past I used cleansing oils for years to remove my makeup/sunscreen. My favorites were Shu Uemura which I found quite pricey so I switched to Origins which was less expensive and I actually preferred. Recently I tried the Josie Maran Argan Cleansing Oil which is my least favorite. Then I stopped using oils and started using cleansing wipes (my favorite are the Aveeno calming makeup removing wipes). Using oils and the wipes always felt like a lot of effort to remove my products at the end of the day, and I always felt I needed to follow up with a deep cleanser. Then I tried the Clinique cleansing balm which is so easy to use and leaves my skin feeling incredibly clean by removing all of my foundation, eye makeup and sunscreen. The jar packaging isn't ideal but I don't see how else the product could be dispensed otherwise. The consistency of the balm is like a soft wax and I use one of my Eminence spatulas to scoop out about a nickel size, but a q-tip works as well if you don't have a spatula or don't want to stick your fingers directly into the tub. I rub the balm into my hands and it instantly melts into a rich oil that I massage into my face. Everything rinses off quickly and easily, something I felt was more of a challenge with the traditional face oils. I follow up with a cleanser, not because I feel like there's a heavy residue (although it leaves behind a slight trace), but because I like the other benefits I get from my treatment facial cleansers. The only drawback I see with this is that the packaging isn't very travel friendly but other than that I am very happy with it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BLalee4 on 1/16/2015 10:08:00 AM more reviews by BLalee4

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this product last week and so far, I'm blown away at how good it is.
It feels amazing on the skin!!!!

I had a lot of eye makeup on yesterday (lots of shadow, eyebrows done, gel eyeliner), I gently rubbed this in and rinsed my eyes with water and there wasn't a peep of makeup remaining...

I know I'm definitely going to continue using this and repurchase when is needed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Freesia95 on 1/15/2015 1:48:00 PM more reviews by Freesia95

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

On my skin: Very sensitive, prone to clogged pores and rosacea
I have never had a holy grail skincare product in my whole life, as there was always something that could be better or something that wasn't perfect. But guys, this is it for me.

I am so in love with this product! This is an allround talent for moi. I tried to use the Oil Cleansing Method before, but I could never find an oil that worked for me (even the non-comedogenic ones like hemp seed oil or sunflower oil), but this one just works like magic! It reminds me of coconut oil with the fact, that it does never break me out!

The way to use it: Take a pea-sized amount of the balm with a spoon or spatula and massage it into your dry (!) face for a minute, it will turn oily. Then rinse it off with warm water.
The way I use it: I try to reduce the amount of water that I put on my face, as the region that I live in has hard tap water, which can cause acne, as it can harden the sebum. So I put diluted Lemon Juice (1teaspoon in 1 cup of warm water) on a cotton pad and wipe it all over my face first. After 5min I massage the balm into my face and take it all off with a damp cotton pad. No oily residue! Clean, clear and deflaked skin!

+ super hydrating, no need for a moisturizer afterwards (actually this balm replaced my moisturizer)
+ hypoallergenic, no fragrance, no irritating essential oils, non-comedogenic oil
+ super smooth skin, removes everything! all traces of makeup, even waterproof
+ really mild, non-irritating, no breakouts
+ cleared all my skin problems including clogged pores, rosacea, dryness/oiliness
+ by the way my lashes started to grow again from this stuff :)
- for me it's the price, as it really hurts to spend that much for a cleansing balm, but it's so worth it, since I am not buying any other skincare products
- unhygienic packaging, you have to use a spoon/spatula

After using drugstore products, then high-end brands, then homemade solutions, organic skincare, I finally found a solution for my oh-so-sensitive skin. After realizing that all of these products only contributed to my redness and clogged pores, a great woman told me, that all of these products - konventional and organic - have a lot of allergens. Fragrance, Preservatives, Parabens, Phtalates, Acids, Retinoids, just to name a few. We are constantly using so many products on our faces, which sometimes contain over 20 ingredients and then we wonder why we are starting to develop acne! It's our skin trying to tell us that we are putting something on it or inside of us, that's not good for us. And I also don't believe that organic products deserve the hype, as they can contain just as much irritating ingredients like essentials oils, nut oils (a culprit for many people), citrus oils, mint, etc.
I encourage you to try to stop using all products that contain any possible allergens and see for yourself if it helps with clearing all your skin problems. It definitely did for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Samhbu on 1/12/2015 10:03:00 PM more reviews by Samhbu

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I've used this product for almost a year now and it's by far the best makeup remover I've ever used. it not only fulfills every claim made, but also sooths and hydrates the skin. I would definitely recommend this to a friend,

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 freezer on 1/8/2015 3:04:00 PM more reviews by freezer

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

This is so kind to my skin. It feels like a lovely cream that after massaging into your face ( which is part of the pleasure ) rinses off easily. No fragrance, which is a bonus. The packaging is a bit of a faff - one's hands are covered in product when trying to replace the massive lid - but this is no big deal for me when placed alongside the truly balm-like richness. Works as a cleanser, nice and gentle. Costs the absolute earth where I live ( $AUD ) but worth every cent.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bubbly_soaps on 1/3/2015 5:33:00 PM more reviews by bubbly_soaps

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm on my third container of this stuff, and it lasts forever. When I first got this, I made the mistake of wetting my face first, and struggling to get this stuff out of the pot to apply (water in the pot, digging at it with my fingers, disaster). It was incredibly frustrating.

After experimenting a bit, I've figured out the best way to use this: keep your face dry, and use a little spatula (one of those 2-inch sample plastic scraper things from Sephora) to scrape a pea-size amount of this product, warm between your fingers, then apply to your face, letting it dissolve like an oil into your skin. I massage the product in for about a minute, concentrating on the more made-up parts of my face. I keep my eyes closed and smooth over my eye makeup last, then rinse with warm water. It does an amazing job at removing makeup. Depending on how much makeup I'm wearing, I might dry my face at this point and continue with my nighttime routine, or I might quickly do another wash with a small amount of regular cleanser, in case there is residue.

I don't know how else to get this stuff out of the jar without a mini spatula (it doesn't seem hygienic to rub at it with my fingers each time I use it, especially since it's a pristine creamy white).

The texture is amazing, the product does a good job at cleaning my face without drying it out and irritating my sensitive skin, and a little bit goes a long way, which makes up for the price. It's hard to travel with, unless I decant it into a smaller container. Recommend!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DD1969 on 1/3/2015 1:59:00 PM more reviews by DD1969

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is, hands down, the best makeup remover I have ever used. I especially like it for removing waterproof mascara and long-lasting lipstick. So relieved I don't have to drag cotton balls across my lashes any more. I sometimes wipe it off with a wet washcloth (gently!) and I always follow it with a good facial cleanser like Neutrogena, because it does have an an oily residue (not anywhere near the old-time makeup removers like baby oil though!) It even smells good, even though Clinique is supposed to have fragrance-free products.
It's pricey, sure, but I like that it comes in a jar so I can get every last bit out. I put a small amount in a tiny pot when I"m traveling because I can't do without it (and because I don't want to carry a big heavy jar with me).
Kudos to Clinique for this one.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aznmnkygrl808 on 12/25/2014 2:46:00 AM more reviews by aznmnkygrl808

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I Iove this stuff. Yeah, it's pricey but a little goes a long way and it does a great job at taking off my face and waterproof eye makeup.

I use body shop's waterproof chamomile eye makeup remover to remove my eye makeup first and then I'll take some of this cleansing balm and put some on my cheeks, forehead and a little on my neck. Then I'll massage product into my skin. Whatever's left on my fingers, I'll massage my eyes to make sure I get rid of the leftover eye makeup.

Then I use a hot washcloth, lay it over my face for a couple seconds and then wipe off my makeup. Then I'll cleanse my face with either a face scrub or a simple cleanser.

Love that it doesn't leave any residue and doesn't dry out my eye area (like the dhc cleansing oil)

Definitely would repurchase!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 bbincir on 12/20/2014 9:41:00 AM more reviews by bbincir

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

After reading a lot of reviews, although i was hesitant to put on an oil based cleanser on my combo skin, i decided to give it a go with this product. After a week of use, only in the evening, my jawline got covered up with whiteheads, and i rarely get breakouts. They were really small but there were so many of them it was unbelievable. I stopped using it right away and it got cleared up. I will never buy this product again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Cleansers products