China Glaze Fairy Dust

4.5

91 reviews

87% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/17/2015 1:21:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Such a fantastic topcoat, it's not just a glitter but a marvellous holographic one. It's subtle and sophiticated and prolongs any manicure by creating an almost unchippable bond with the base. So pretty over nudes, it's definetely a must have for any polish lover.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 3/7/2015 10:29:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Prettiest topcoat ever! It adds a real zing to any color, yet doesn't draw too much attention to itself. Very special.


on 2/24/2015 6:12:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

How is it that I haven't reviewed this before? Hands down, my favorite polish. Beautiful, delicate scattered holographic glitter. I haven't found a polish that doesn't look good with Fairy Dust. It's a " It's a "must have". I love it over nudes and deep colors. Adds depth to any polish. It does thicken and become gloopy, but a little thinner and it's good to go. I swear I want my epitaph to say "Everything's better with Fairy Dust".


on 2/24/2015 12:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I'd heard amazing things about Fairy Dust and I was not disappointed! It's also my first holographic polish of any kind and I love it. I like to use this when I want to jazz up a mani, but am feeling too lazy to do anything fancy. I haven't had it long enough to see if it thickens up after a while like other reviewers have mentioned, but if it does, I think it's totally worth buying a thinner for!


on 7/28/2014 7:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Easily my favorite glitter polish. The one downside is that it does thicken up after sitting for a while, but giving it a good shake and adding polish thinner solves that problem quickly :)


on 7/5/2014 9:37:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Other, Warm

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

My all time favorite nail polish! Pictures do not do this wonderful color justice. It's a beautiful, very fine rainbow glitter polish but is not obnoxious in the slightest. I like to wear it alone with 1-4 coats but on top of another color 1 coat is perfect. The wear is very long lasting (I find this to be true with all China Glaze polishes) and I just can't get enough. My only gripe is with the actual China Glaze bottles as some tend to leak. This is remedied if you just keep the bottle upright :-)


on 12/31/2013 11:19:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Yes, yes, yes I would buy this again, and have a backup as I'm typing. This is the perfect clear topcoat with tiny different colored shimmery specks in it. Fairy Dust is a very fitting name and looks beautiful over any polish. It's not too densely packed, so it doesn't hide or change the color of your polish; it just adds a gorgeous sparkle.
Fairy dust applies very smoothly and the flecks go on evenly so there aren't thick globs or empty spaces; it almost looks as though the shimmer is "built in" to whatever polish you are wearing. Total winner!
I'm going to add that, yes, this polish is thick, especially after a few uses, but as one reviewer stated, it helps to keep the "dust" from settling to the bottom. A few drops of nail polish thinner solves that problem, and it certainly shouldn't stop anyone from purchasing it. I still find it dries fairly quickly.


on 11/10/2013 9:14:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is a lovely prismatic silver glitter suspended in a clear base. I love to add this over neutral, work-friendly polish for a glint of holographic sparkles. The sparkles wink in the sun or in low light. For those who are having trouble with this polish becoming thick: Simply invest in nail polish thinner, and your problem is solved. Many polishes become thick after the first few uses, and can be revived easily. I find that this is long lasting, when used with a proper topcoat, and does not chip. This is a great basic polish to have in your collection and can be used over any polish. I would highly recommend and would re-purchase if I ran out of this. My favorite polish to use this over is Yummy Mummy by Butter London.


on 9/29/2013 11:32:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I really like this one. It's incredibly subtle, but adds a gorgeous silver prismatic glitter dust to any manicure. Magical.

It does have a kind of weird formula on the clear base. It's thick and kind of reminds me of rubber cement or some kind of glue. I don't have trouble working with it, but it is very weird. Presumably, the thick base is to suspend the fine glitter.

I haven't had a lot of trouble with this thickening up, as some reviewers have noted. On a couple of occasions, it has seemed a little more "gluey" than others, but a couple of drops of polish thinner fixes it right up. This thickening happens with a lot of polishes, particularly quick-dry top coats, so when I see it happening, I just whip out the thinner and it's all good. There's no need to abandon an otherwise great polish because it thickens; that's what thinner is for. (Note: Do not use acetone or polish remover to thin polish. It may work in the very short term, but it will destroy the polish. Get actual polish thinner!)

I'm also going to add that I have no problem removing this. Lots of glitter polishes and top coats are horribly difficult to remove (and can damage the surface of your nails if you're not careful!), but this is perfectly fine, no worries at all.

I expect to buy this one again. Magical glittery finger bling is hard to resist!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 9/29/2013 7:48:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

It breaks my heart to say that as much as I love Fairy Dust that I won't be getting it again, and I discourage others from making this mistake.

This nail polish is SO BEAUTIFUL & the first time I used it I was truly bedazzled. Fairy Dust is a very accurate name, the colours of the "dust" are magical. It was a great polish to wear to work to as it was work friendly but still colourful in the light.

The problem is that like others have said, it becomes gluggy after just a few uses. I have worn Fairy Dust a total of twice. Yesterday I went to put it on & was very disappointed in the transformation. It has thickened to the point that it is unable to be used. I find this unacceptable. I could thin it out, but I don't feel that I should have to spend the extra money & purchase a nail polish thinner just to use this polish. Perhaps they should provide one with it?

I'm very sad. If Fairy Dust didn't thicken up it would be an eternal repurchase.

I'm so glad I didn't pay full price & hope that I can find a dupe.

So take heed in my warning, don't buy Fairy Dust. You'll fall in love, but be very very disappointed.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated China Glaze Products

image

Dorothy Who?

33 reviews
image

Ruby Pumps

386 reviews
image

Emerald Sparkle

67 reviews
image

Frostbite

69 reviews
Back to Top