Chanel • No. 22 • Fragrances

rated 3.8(100 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 jujy54 on 8/20/2013 2:47:00 PM more reviews by jujy54

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Bought a sealed box of the extrait. Like Arpege, this gentle aldehyde barely registers on me, I seem to require civet with my aldehydes. then I spilt a good 3 ml! On the kitchen counter!. Quickly I slathered myself with that 3 ml. After socking me in the face with neroli at that dosage, it smelt nice enough, my son could smell it from 5 feet away, and I still could barely smell it after an hour. What registers is clearly high quality—the best jasmine, the best neroli, and I say sandalwood even if no-one else does. This business of not being able to smell Chanel has been true for me in general: I am almost completely anosmic to Cuire Russie, sorry to say, and I just do not like N° 5. I'll stick to my Carons and Guerlain. Lesson learned.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* highrise on 6/20/2013 10:22:00 AM more reviews by highrise

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

A wrap of dusky incense and blackwood, almost hidden by a cloud of white chiffon. Chanel No. 22 is extraordinarily pretty: creamy, sweet and sparkling. While usually I don't feel one's clothes need to 'match' the perfume of the day, there's something about No. 22 that deserves good jewellery, a proper skirt and black eyeliner. Although it came out in 1922 originally, it vividly brings to mind Capucine or Anna Karina in the early 60s.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zeynepd on 5/31/2013 3:10:00 AM more reviews by zeynepd

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

Chanel No.22 is a vixen. It has a perfectly calm exterior of pastel greens - ever so proper and ladylike- hiding a thunderous nature. Leather. A chic bob, a trenchcoat and perhaps silk lingerie underneath.

It opens with clean, bright aldehydes like Dia or Rive Gauche (both of which I love) but there's something more sulphuric in the aldeyhydes of No.22. This is a pastel green note, a particular grassiness. Then the heart is some robust leather on me. It's not soft, it's not suedey, it's tough, with just a tad of powder. When the storm is over, No 22 calms down, resumes its ladylike manners and carries on with its slightly grassy, slightly sulphuric, very slightly rubbery powder. It's a tremendous olfactory experience and sometimes I crave for it; but I can't see myself wearing it regularly. Interestingly, my Cabochard fan mother doesn't get any leather from this; it's a perfectly graceful floral on her.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Melloney on 5/17/2013 4:19:00 PM more reviews by Melloney

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

One of my absolute favorite Chanels in both the EDT and the parfum extrait.
The Les exclusifs EDT is rich and long lasting with a huge white burst of clean aldehydes. I adore aldehydes having been trained in Chanel No 5 from the age of 19 . Whereas No 5 is sweeter ,muskier and nowadays I think the aldehydes have been toned down and sadly No 5- every concentration appears to have been reformulated . So No. 22 is a great replacement for No 5 if you are loving and looking for intense aldehydes. Though in actuality No 5 and No 22 are quite different - for your money's worth No 22 is worth it.

So blindingly clean and white aldehydes - fresh before fresh meant *fruity* and then lily of the valley and white florals ,vanilla and incense in a small amount. This No 22 has personality and once you smell it, you will never forget it or mistake it for anything else.

The extrait- 15 mls is $175 USD - worth it ,my friends. It will last you a long time. If the EDT is lasting, the extrait is even more so . It's the EDT concentrated and intensified though more mellow and deeper. The aldehydes are somewhat less in this dab form or so I perceive it as such . It's a bit sweeter, more dense , darker and glorious. A few dabs in all the right places last for hours on my skin.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rasputin2 on 5/16/2013 9:54:00 PM more reviews by rasputin2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Silver, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

An old-school powdery aldehydic kissed with heartbreakingly tender, petal-delicate, crepuscular, notes of real jasmin and violet, whisper-supported by an authentic sandalwood, hay-ey tonka, and perhaps vetiver. Haunting and spell-casting, like a scent a female ghost would wistfully leave behind in a Victorian mansion, when they say, "They don't make 'em like this anymore.", they're referring to scents like this-- Now THIS is perfume.... Emotion-arousing stuff. I had no idea they still made fragrances like this anymore. Do any young women of today even DARE to smell this feminine? Like No. 5's wistful, cool-er younger sister, No. 22, reminds me of the era of great aldehydics: like Givenchy L'INTERDIT, LE DIX and Patou CALINE. So many fragrances of today want to be "all things to everybody"; not CHANEL #22: this fragrance well-illustrates Coco Chanel's philosophy that "Elegance is refusal." and that "Style is the absence of vulgarity." One really gets the sense that everything superfluous has been stripped away, leaving only a single elegant, dramatic, sinuous sculpture, like a Brancusi Wing, or a Mapplethorpe lily. Something very slightly vanillic and something very slightly spicy hides behind the gorgeous twilight-floralcy of this fragrance... but I cannot define them, as they are nigh-on subliminal. No.22 is wistful and melancholy... I can't see any other way of looking at it... Of course, in the best way. Like a scent from LAURA or THE UNINVITED. To say it smells "expensive"... would be an understatement. It's a brunette's fragrance if there ever was one: MAD MEN's Meagan could wear it... or her mother.... but not Betty. Definitely hi-glam, I see black silk dresses with bare shoulder and low, powdered decolletage... A brunette in an up-do with diamond earrings. nothing less than that. No.22 is absolutely devoid of vulgarity... nothing sweet obtrudes and says, "Just kidding! I'm really down-to-earth and approachable." I can see why one would wear this to mass or a wedding or yes, a funeral, perhaps; It's really not a "party" scent at all. Smelling this, one begins to understand why any big, venerable house has to produce some big "crowd-pleasers".... so they can continue to produce rare artworks like this one... Maybe it's the lilac/orange-flower confluence that has me smelling violet... I'm getting lilac... but have never smelled her so austerely before... it's the same lilac note that's in Patou VACANCES, but not playful and vernal, necessarily, as she appears there... There is a "shapeshifter" effect of #22: Either you get powder and florals... or you get that golden, slightly spicy incense. Lovely. No. 22, with repeated sniffs, promises to get warm on you... but helas, she never does. And that is her tantalizing, glacial beauty.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 babaleah on 3/12/2013 6:54:00 PM more reviews by babaleah

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Marvelous! No dirt, no rooty whiff, nothing animal/smoky/sexy, just elegant white floral. Here's the thing, I can wear this anywhere, any time, and I know I smell good. Think about that the next time you're in line at a huge supermarket, gagging from the skank jiuce the person behind you is wearing. If only she was wearing Chanel No. 22...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LizWords on 3/23/2012 9:05:00 PM more reviews by LizWords

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This is an amazing fragrance, at least it is for me. What I can't get over is the lasting power, I get whiffs of it on my skin all day, and it sticks to my clothes like nothing else. It last days on clothes. I use the EDT, not the parfum.


I agree with a prior reviewer who said it's a bit boggling in that it seems so much like no. 5 but so different at the same time. It is heavy in heady aldehydes, especially at first, but it's also got a musky kind of woody base that really evens it out. It's just lovely, one of my new favorites.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* julia178 on 1/25/2012 9:45:00 PM more reviews by julia178

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Chanel No 22 is my fifth fragrance from the Les Exclusifs line, I also own Coromandel, Jersey, Bois des les and Beige. Coromandel as a warm oriental scent is what I usually gravitate toward, so adding Bois des les already meant branching out of the ordinary for me. While Bois des les and 22 share many of the notes the main difference to me are the strong aldehydes in 22. Both open on Jasmin, then add Ylang yang and Rose. The heart of 22 is made of Frankincense, Vanilla and Vetiver. The base note in Bois des les is a bit creamier and woodier, it has Tonka Bean and Sandalwood. In my collection 22 is probably the boldest and headiest floral fragrance I own, and I wear it mostly to formal events. It is a very sophisticated and well crafted scent with good longevity. My skin is on the dry side, it easily lasts about 8 hours and morphs beautifully throughout that time. Beautiful classy packaging, 6.8 oz spray bottle for $210.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 chrystelica on 12/6/2011 2:00:00 PM more reviews by chrystelica

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

The beginning and middle notes of the parfum are great. I love the heavy jasmine layered with aldehydes; smells very classy, very Chanel. Then, as with all Chanels, my skin chemistry comes in and ruins the whole effect.

The undertone and middle notes of this develop on my skin smelling muddled, messy, somewhat like a damp cat litter box. Not what Chanel was going for, I'm sure.

The strange thing is, I used to wear Cristalle and the oak moss in the base smelled nice on me, appropriate even, and since I grew tired of that and stopped wearing it, everything Chanel rubs me totally the wrong way. I can't stand the way ANY of them smell on my skin. If I smell it on someone else, it develops the way it's supposed to be, but on me it is not a good match at ALL. It reminds me of the train wreck that was Mitsouko on my skin.... a big, heavy, fussy musty mess.

Chanel no. 22 and no. 5 smelled so beautiful on my grandmother. I have tried and tried, but I give up, they're obviously not meant for me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SNIFFMEALLOVER on 8/25/2011 6:58:00 PM more reviews by SNIFFMEALLOVER

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Awesome! Really yummy sweet dry down. The opening blast of aldehydes may be scary for some. Otherwise almost perfect. I have tried both old and new version and I find them both good. I think the sharp aldehyde bite dissapears much faster in new version and it has less incense, but instead has more sweetness and creamieness (the sort you find in the drydown of Allure Sensuelle).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Fragrances products