Alima Satin Matte Mineral Foundation

4.0

434 reviews

72% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

INGREDIENTS: Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Zinc Oxide (CI 77947) Mica (CI 77019). May contain: Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499)


on 8/26/2015 9:59:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I've tried a few mineral foundations, and this formula is by far my favorite in finish. It's not matte or satin but somewhere RIGHT in between in my opinion, which makes it look very natural. It doesn't irritate my skin, clog my pores or require special care cleansing it off, but stays put until you remove it.

For reference, my skin type is combination and sensitive (I react to a lot of base makeup badly or break out). I have had no issues with this in "Neutral 1" though.

My skin tone is pale (about NW15 but leans neutral) and I tend to redness, so the color is absolutely perfect on me to even tone. The coverage depends on the brush, but I find with a denser brush it is moderate though build-able. It looks very close to actual skin, especially when finished off with a setting spray.

I also like the sifter jar (which you can "twist" to close)--it makes application a lot less messy than other jars I have tried in the past.



on 8/12/2015 12:42:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is a great natural powder. I ordered samples first to make sure I bought the right shade and found one quickly. The Neutral 3 is perfect for my pale skin without being too blue or pink. The coverage is light so I use it on my Tzone only since it remains clear. My cheeks need a little more coverage.


on 7/14/2015 11:47:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

i was so wonderfully surprised with this powder. iblieve this is the first product ive ever purchased thans to MUA reviews! this has such glowing reviews and i can see why.

i bought a lot of mini samples online for $1 each and they sent me more than enough to play around with. i ended up buying a full sized of neutral 3 & 4 and mixing them when i need.

on too the actual product, i really love this stuff. im sure youve read many other people who've claimed to be foundation junies but that was literally me. ive tried and owned countless foundations trying to find one that would suit my skin. i honestly believe its because i was insecure about my skin so i was about ready to give up. that, and almost every foundation i tried would break me out! so even if i found a foundation that looked and layed great on my skin, it would break me out.. which brought me to the realization, my skin will not tolerate silicones of any kind.. and theyre in practically every foundation on the market today :/ and that brought me to this beautiful powder.

i searched online for foundations with the simplest ingredients and here i am!

not only does this not have silicones, but it literally has nothing thst isnt needed. no fillers or other junk. ok so theres that checked of the list... but does it look on the skin? does it blend seamlessly and stay all day? is the coverage buildable? YES!!!!!

it lays beautifully on my skin (even with my acne scars and large pores) and the coverage is great. i generally only need one all over dusting with a fluffy brush.then go back in with a concealer brush and build up coverage with the same powder! i dont even use concealers any more. this stuff wors just as great under my eyes with very tiny minimal creasing. there is no "fine, micro shimmer" to be found and is completely matte.

it last all day and my oil starts to brea through after about 5 hours. which is awesome because to say im oily is an understatement. the powder is a natural sunscreen and its just a little too early to see if it clogs my pores but so far so good!

the price is decent given how overpriced many foundations have become these days. i payed $30 with shipping.

i love this and will always have a jar!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/24/2015 11:44:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Firstly, I brought Neutral 1, Cool 1 and Cool 2 in sample sizes (Yes, that's the great thing you can order sample sized pots!) so this is a review based on the sample sizes I got.
I have quite dry, sensitive skin and this foundation works beautifully with my skin! It looks luminous and doesn't cake at all on my dry patches, however this foundation is very sheer so if you have problem skin this may need more work to cover those imperfections. A little goes a long way with this, the sample sizes have lasted me around two months so far and I haven't broken out or gotten a rash from them. I found Neutral 1 was perfect for my skin (I'm incredibly pale with cool undertones) and their website was so easy to use. Shipping costs me $9 to the UK which isn't too bad, my order came to £11.70 that was for the three sample foundations, sample powder and a sample powder primer/colour corrector (which also works!). I applied with downward strokes with my buffing brush which didn't flake up my skin and applied it evenly, it really does make your skin look amazing!
I highly recommend this brand to anyone with sensitive skin as i've had no reactions at all to it and with most foundations I tend to develop a bad rash, it is also un-perfumed.
The only problem I have with this foundation is that the sample sizes are so messy to use! However, it really isn't that much of a problem in the scheme of things.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/23/2015 7:19:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is THE ONLY foundation that does not break me out. Seriously. I've tried them all. Liquid, mineral, tinted moisturizer, BB Cream, whatever. I recently tried to switch back to a different mineral makeup and my skin broke out like crazy.

Yes, it's expensive but the ingredients they use are not crap, which means your skin won't break out. It's worth the extra money to have clear skin for once in my life.

My only complaint is that I live like 5 miles from their shipping facility and shipping is $6. I wish they'd adjust shipping rates based on location or that they sold more colors locally so that I could just go pick it up! I'm an Olive 0 and I can't find it anywhere in stores.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 12/2/2014 5:55:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is easily the best mineral foundation I've ever used. No bismuth oxychloride, good lasting power, not too matte and a great range of shades. I'm REALLY pale yellow and usually can't find a foundation to match, from Dior to Cover Girl. Everything is too dark or pink- usually I only have luck in Asia. Warm 0 is actually too pale for me, hurray! I mix Warm 0 and Warm 1 together for the perfect shade. It doesn't oxidize on me. From my experience, the foundation did not work as well without the powder primer and a decent shade match. I use the primer underneath and it's made a huge difference with look and lasting power. It lasts until I take it off at night and doesn't transfer. It's matte at first, but settles into a natural satin finish after about 30 minutes or so. I have very combination skin that breaks out badly with most products. NO issues with this at all. No sensitivity, it doesn't cling to dry patches and controls oil (with the primer). I did take one lippy off for the loose powder factor. It's inconvenient for travel and I don't like the thought of inhaling it. It would get extra love for me if it was a pressed powder. UPDATE: I have to give this another point, even with the loose powder annoyance. I became pregnant and more sensitive, plus have the flu and dry winter skin. It's the only foundation (even my old Lorac, Lancome faves) that stays on all day with the primer without breaking me out. It also doesn't cling to my dry patches or come off on tissues and looks totally natural. Thanks, Alima, for making a product that's pale enough for me and with really simple ingredients. My pregnancy breakouts have stopped!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 11/25/2014 12:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

EDIT
Despite thinking I would never touch this again, I did because my face has been a lot more hydrated and moisturised lately, and this foundation now goes on looking quite good( except for my wrong shade selection being too light and pink for me). I still have to make sure to press it into the skin, and not buff in circles. I can get even high medium coverage now, having it cover redness and acne scars very well and still looking nice on the skin. Except 3-4 hours later it's not looking the same anymore. It's sitting on top of the skin looking dry, cakey, has crack, it's not smooth looking anymore at all.
This is a very matte foundation, and I'm not sure I will pick up a different colour that would match me better, but for now I will use it when I'm only out for 3hours.
As well, yesterday when I was tapping the foundation into the lid, the shifter part just fell out and I lost close to half of what I had left.
Got it in neutral 2 which is too light on Nc20.
I no longer think this is a terrible foundation when you first apply it on (though it is when you've had it on for 3hrs), but I still think that this isn't the best for very dry skin, it could accentuate texture you didn't know you have, dry patches and flakes.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/16/2014 1:48:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have this in Birch. The colour fit my skin tone very well. It also covers very well too.

However, I will not be re-purchasing. I find that this mineral foundation dries out my skin. I have dry, sensitive skin to begin with and it makes it worse. I started having dry patches after each use and it took several days of intensive moisturising and switching to a fluid foundation to fix.

I don't plan to let the rest of the foundation go to waste. Will experiment by mixing up a concoction of Neal's Yard Beauty Balm and this mineral powder foundation to come up with a less drying foundation formula. Will see....


on 10/1/2014 2:33:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Ok. At first when I bought this about a year ago I tried it a few times and I hated it. It gave uneven coverage and it never really blended into my skin, it just looked terrible.

I recently have started using it again and I have figured out what I was doing wrong when trying to apply this foundation. I have found that this foundation works amazing, when used with something underneith like a primer.

Before, I didn't use anything prior to applying this foundation (other than my moisturizer) and I think thats where everything went wrong. Now, I apply a layer of the too faced primed and poreless powder and then I will apply the alima pure with a soft kabuki brush and this seems to be working perfectly. The wear time is longer and it covers evenly with a medium-full coverage look. I have this in shade "warm 0" and I am NC5 (if there were an nc5 haha).

The reason this still only gets a 3/5 is because I do not like having to use a second product in order for this product to work, that just means more cost and product usage for me which isnt exactly ideal. Also the packaging gets a 2/5 because there is no way to "close" it. Yes there is a lid but if this gets tossed around at all, the makeup just comes out of the sifter as there is no way to re-seal the sifter once opened and this is very inconvient and very messy. What I do is put a little cotton ball on top to keep the makeup from getting all over inside the container.

I think I will finally use this up but I will keep looking for alternatives and I dont plan on repurchasing at this moment.

Pros
-coverage is medium-full
-matches my skin shade
-doesn't cause acne/irritation

cons
-messy
-must use a primer beforehand
-fussy application
-not travel friendly
-only available online > extra expense


on 9/7/2014 11:43:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Light olive skin here-- hit my thirties and now prone to breakouts on my chin and lower face. I am breakout prone, yet also prone to dryness around my eyes and mouth. And did I mention I have sun damage and melasma in places? I'm always looking for the right combination of cleanser, exfoliant, sunscreen, and makeup. Most drugstore makeups don't match me, as cool/neutral colors turn pink while warm colors turn orange. If that weren't enough, they make me look cakey or break me out anyway.

So I started researching a couple different mineral makeups, even though I like the look of a liquid better. I was basically looking for a foundation that had a light olive tone in their range, so I ordered some samples from Alima. I thought olive 1.5 was my best fit, but when I started running out of the sample size of that, I went to olive 2 and found that was even better.

I noticed the ease of blending, creamy feel and good coverage, and the fact that this powder seemed to help refine any small under the skin bumps, almost like a skin treatment. But-- it does all this without drying the skin out under my eyes, which is usually a huge problem for me with mineral makeup.

I ordered the full size of olive 2 along with a few samples of blush, concealer, and contouring powder (sombra) for bronzer and it creates the best look I've seen on me in a while! I look natural, smooth, radiant, and healthy-- not "all made up".

With the clean look and feel, good color match, and possible skincare benefits, I think this is what bare minerals wanted to be, but isn't.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top