Skinceuticals • Daily Sun Defense • Sunscreen

rated 4.1(78 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 ProductReviewer on 10/21/2014 12:15:00 PM more reviews by ProductReviewer

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This product does not give you that white glow that zinc sunblocks do. Don't like it just for that. This stuff can't compare to how beautiful my skin looks with my usual whitening zinc oxide. Will stick to my zinc, it whitens and brightens my skin beautifully, and I always get tons of compliments whenever I use it. Won't buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 runstile on 2/11/2014 8:50:00 AM more reviews by runstile

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I have used this for almost ten years (if that doesn't say enough already). It is light enough for my combination skin (no shine), lightly moisturizing, and doesn't break me out or irritate my skin. I am very active and sweat a lot as well with no complaints here. We have a long term relationship that I plan on continuing until I need something more moisturizing.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* crawfore on 7/14/2012 9:34:00 PM more reviews by crawfore

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love Skinceuticals moisturizers but this product was horrible. It felt like a mask, didn't moisturize, left a white cast and was very heavy. I wore it once and couldn't wait to get home to wash it off my face.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kimclara on 6/12/2012 6:36:00 PM more reviews by kimclara

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I loved this product because its perfect for daily use and works well under my make up without blending or ruining the texture! Also, it has no smell which I love because sunblock always seem to smell so strong! I purchased mine at SkincareMarket.net for a affordable price! I recommend this site to anyone and everyone!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Pecheresse on 9/13/2010 3:32:00 PM more reviews by Pecheresse

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Other    

I bought this about a year ago based on the raving reviews on here and other sites. Unfortunately, a few days after I started using this, a series of teeny tiny, colourless bumps began to appear on my upper cheeks and after continued use of this product, they began to spread all over my face. I stopped using it for a few days, the bumps receded. I gave it another shot a couple of weeks later while on a backpacking trip in New Zealand, but the same thing happened so the barely used tube ended up in a kiwi garbage can :)


It must have been an allergic reaction of some sort to one of the ingredients. Which one(s), I don't know. I was very surprised because I had never had a reaction in my life and I haven't had one since. I guess it's just not the right sunscreen for me!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Laski on 5/5/2010 5:14:00 AM more reviews by Laski

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a review about the ESSENTIAL SUN DEFENSE SPF20. It is a good sunscreen, lightweight and not leaving a suffocating film on the face, and also moisturizing a bit, so it can be used directly over a serum. What I didnīt like though, is the fact that it is only SPF20. And also the price is a bit high for actually a basic sunscreen. Apart from that, nothing to criticise.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kbw on 1/18/2010 11:52:00 PM more reviews by kbw

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This is a good sunscreen. My one comment is that I have very fair skin and it makes me look even more pale so if you have darker skin it might look white.
It hasn't made me break out so far and I have been using it a few times a week for the past few months.
Active ingredients are: Octinoxate 5%, Zinc Oxide 5%
Some zinc oxide sunscreens sting my skin - this one doesn't.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rayoflight on 1/2/2010 10:11:00 AM more reviews by rayoflight

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

First, the Skinceuticals site doesn't state that they use both physical and chemical filters for this sunscreen (5% octinoxate and 5% z-cote (transparent zinc)), from the product description I understood that it has zinc only, but no. Texture wise it's very easy to apply, very smooth and doesn't dry too fast, but it is very white and the whiteness doesn't fully disappear, it makes my yellow toned skin look whitish/pink and almost a shade lighter. It also settles into fine lines around eyes, especially on the upper lid there is a white line every time I apply this sunscreen there. I tried to use less, bet then I doubt the protection power, I already use less than the 1 tbsp recommended for face. Also this sunscreen is a nightmare as make up base, concealer and foundation steak like crazy if I try to apply them on top of this sunscreen. On the brighter side, even when I started retinol, this one didn't sting my skin as much as other sunscreens, so it's probably good for sensitive skin and use around eyes. Also there is no overbearing "sunscreen-smell", only a light fresh cream scent and it's not oily and doesn't get my skin greasy (in fact it's a bit drying, so I need a separate moisturizer underneath). But I'm not sure about the protection range of this one, octinoxate has a 280-320 nm range, z-cote according to various sources has 380 - 400 nm range, not >700 nm as normal zinc oxide, but the 380 - 400 nm depend one the formulation and Skinceuticals says it's broad-spectrum UVB/UVA block, so I don't have much reason to doubt, it probably is broad-spectrum and I'm just being paranoid.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 slimm on 12/6/2009 12:43:00 AM more reviews by slimm

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This sunscreen leaves my face soft and moisturized. It doesn't have the white cast and does not settle in the fine lines like so many others do. Love it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* emysiu on 11/1/2009 12:27:00 AM more reviews by emysiu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I can't be in denial anymore about this fabulous sunscreen. I first borrowed it 2 months ago from my mother and sister and have been using it ever since. It doesn't dry out my skin by the end of the day and doesn't break me out at all! This is such a pleasant surprise for my easily acne prone, pore-clogged, dehydrated, combination skin. This also makes for a great primer for the the Laura Mercier tinted moisturizer (which I find too drying on its own). I take everything off at the end of the day with avocado oil and then a separate cleanser. I know that I'm going to have a long term relationship with this.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Skinceuticals products

More Sunscreen products