Thayers • Rose Petal Alcohol Free Witch Hazel • Toners

rated 4.2(433 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 ninajae on 10/24/2014 6:32:00 AM more reviews by ninajae

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I bought this as i have been searching for alcohol-free toner and one that is as natural as possible. It works great, but not that much tho. It does make my skin smooth and I feel fresh afterwards. I have to say I love applying it on my skin. However, after using it for a while, I think it doesnt make any difference to my skin, aside from the fresh and clean sensation. It does nothing to my super huge pores :(. I will buy the original one after I have finish the rose one, just to try different flavor.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 isleofesa on 10/14/2014 1:09:00 AM more reviews by isleofesa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I enjoy this product but I honestly cant tell the difference between this and regular witch hazel. It smells lovely and I usually find it on sale at Vit Shoppe. Besides witch hazel is sort of expensive anyway so why not spring for the fancy kind?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 imminentfate on 10/13/2014 3:20:00 AM more reviews by imminentfate

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

TL;DR: WITCH HAZEL IS BAD FOR YOUR SKIN. If it tingles, it is IRRITATING YOUR SKIN! Especially if your skin is DRY, SENSITIVE, and/or ACNE-PRONE. Throw this product out immediately!!!

I fell for the whole Witch Hazel hype and I thought it was great that this didn't have alcohol because alcohol irritates and dries out the skin. I liked the way this toner felt because it left my skin feeling tingly and squeaky clean and I thought that the redness that I got after using this was good because it meant that my acne was being dried up. I was so wrong. I was browsing Paula's Choice one day and I stumbled upon the revelation that witch hazel is actually a skin irritant, and tingling and redness are BIG signs of irritation! I immediately stopped using this product (I had been using it for a year or so) and I noticed a clear improvement in the texture and redness of my skin. Bottom line, please throw out any and all witch hazel products you have!!! Also, note that even if this product does NOT make your skin tingle and turn it red, it is still irritating it on the molecular level.. it's just that the level of irritation is lower so it's not visible to you. Please do not sacrifice your skin!!!!!

ALSO this is a little tangential but when I was using this product I absolutely loathed the packaging, everytime I travelled this product would leak HORRIBLY (good thing it's cheap otherwise I would have been so mad) and I eventually had to order a new bottle just for travelling that I could afford to lose a quarter of without running out of toner halfway through my trip. Oh and I had to store it in a ziploc bag everytime. Not worth the effort!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 therose12 on 10/12/2014 12:20:00 PM more reviews by therose12

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

YES...I love this! I believe in the 3 steps of facial care, but because I have super sensitive skin(Rosacea), I have had a problem doing step 2(toner). I have been using this for about 2 years now and just love it.
It got rid of any trace of foundation left behind and makes your skin feel clean and fresh. The 12 oz. bottle last a very long time and the price is under $10.00.
A must have in your beauty regiment...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsAzNqTpRiNcEsS on 10/5/2014 6:17:00 PM more reviews by MsAzNqTpRiNcEsS

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

smells amazing! I use this after washing my face to get every drop of makeup off. Big bottle, affordable and doesnt dry out my skin

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dwisfiean4 on 9/27/2014 9:30:00 AM more reviews by dwisfiean4

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

So few months back i was desperately finding for a new toner because my previous toner is piece of shit and if i were to stop using that shitty toner, my face wouldnt be toned and fresh however after some research about some toner that suits my skin type, i found this Thayers Rose Petal Witch Hazel toner and read all the positive reviews from many people. So i decided to purchase it online. The first time i use this toner on my face, it gives my face the fresh look and there's no redness at all! MIRACLE MUCH?? Usually when i apply toner, some spots on my face will be red. However this toner doesnt give me redness, it only reduce it! Probably because it is alcohol-free. It also makes my face fresh and moisturized since it has aloe vera thing inside. However what i dont like about this toner is that it makes my pores open.. like i totally can see my pores getting larger. Maybe it's due to the humid weather & scorching sun in Singapore that makes my pores clogged and open. Idk? Now my face have my whiteheads and my pores are large, omg :( I wanna change to another better toner but idk which toner is perfect for me :'( Is there any other toners that close my pores or make my face have less whiteheads ??? SIGHHHH. Overall, this toner is kinda great to use. My cousin even liked it :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 oliveandchloe on 9/21/2014 4:45:00 PM more reviews by oliveandchloe

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Love this product! I have dry skin and tends to flake very easily no matter the season, which was driving me crazy. I didn't use toner before in my daily routine and couldn't figure out why I kept flaking even when I was using serum, a good moisturizer and exfoliating every couple of days. Finally when I was reading an article about Korean skincare, I decided to include extra steps in my routine including a toner. This was highly rated on Amazon and for the price, I decided to try it out - it absolutely turned my skin around! No more flakes or dryness, my skin is much smoother and moisturized throughout the day. Now looking back, I think the ph balance in my skin was probably off and this toner has helped to restore it or do something with my natural moisture barrier. Whatever it is, it's done wonders for me and I highly highly recommend this to anyone with dry skin problems!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mrains on 9/19/2014 8:46:00 AM more reviews by mrains

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

So far, I love this product. I have very bad acne around my jaw line and ears. It cleared it up and left my skin vibrant and healthy. I am very sensitive to everything, and this didn't make me red or breakout ... yet. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Bargedyl on 9/14/2014 4:50:00 PM more reviews by Bargedyl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

The most amazing toner I've ever used. I tend to stick with high end products but this has blew me away. It's calms my skin, helps to prevent acne with witch hazel, and just feels great. I have repurchased this time and time again. I've tried other toners, high and low end, but this one always remains my staple. I purchase mine at GNC.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 beautyrunner on 9/9/2014 5:50:00 PM more reviews by beautyrunner

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I had perfect skin and then ruined it with facials and fancy, expensive products. I decided to simplify my routine to neutrogena acne wash, this toner and cerave moisturizer. My skin is repairing and clearing up more and more every day. This toner has really helped my skin. It's refreshing, cheap and effective.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Thayers products

More Toners products