L'Artisan Fragrances • Safran Troublant • Fragrances

rated 3.9(56 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FlameDancer on 11/18/2012 3:29:00 PM more reviews by FlameDancer

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

My one and only complaint about this fragrance is that its longevity is only around 4 hours, which is not bad as fragrances go, but considering the high price tag, feels wasteful. I'm not sure if that's a fair reason to knock a rating down, as perhaps a fragrance like this can't be made to last longer than it does, and it does cost a lot to manufacture something like this, but there you have it.


Safran Troublant is a soft, cuddly, but utterly unique, gently sweet saffron, vanilla, rose fragrance. Saffron seems unique among culinary spices already, having this irresistible dusty, slightly bitter, but creamy and piquant profile that reminds me a little bit of the smell of old pulp paperbacks. Layering it over such a soft, cloudy, milky vanilla lightly touched by velvety pink rose petals, brings out the flavors of saffron all the more distinctly. The saffron, being so utterly unique in perfume, makes this a very distinctive, exotic, and maybe even mysterious scent, while being at the same time, very approachable, and as harmless and soft as a purring kitten.


I really admire this fragrance, and would love to wear it as a bedtime or lazy morning in bed fragrance to be enjoyed with a good book and a cup of tea, or as a fragrance to wear with good friends and loved ones. It would pare well with any good meal, but especially something homemade and cooked with love. I don't find it particularly sexy, but it is intimate, and so begs closer proximity because it's so bewitchingly mouthwatering.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 GoDawgs on 9/28/2012 12:46:00 AM more reviews by GoDawgs

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This fragrance is just lovely - very soft and feminite. I have a small sample of it and have worn it twice. The previous descriptions of the notes are accurate, so I won't repeat previous reviews. Unfortunately, the sillage and longevity are just too weak for me to spend $145 on a full bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cocorocha on 8/28/2012 8:34:00 AM more reviews by cocorocha

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

amazzzzing saffron/sandal/rose perfume....at first I got CdSP Coeur Vahine,exotic fruity smell, but after a 15 minutes I got amazing and a little dirty sandalwood...
beautiful perfume, but as with all L'Artisan perfumes, very poor longievity...2 hrs.MAX!!

it has some KenzoJungle Elephant aspect to it (Lapsang S.tea), but in time gets more moist and peperry on me...spiced tea with saffron and condensed milk in a sandalwood cup!!
delightfull!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kerriki on 4/16/2012 8:44:00 AM more reviews by kerriki

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This just strikes a chord of perfection in me. I find it just so hauntingly sweetly beautiful; I imagine a soft warm but autumnal wind coming from far-away steppes, bringing dreams and memories of far-away places.
It was the first 'full bottle' I bought when the perfume collecting urge took over a few years ago, when I broke my pact with Mitsouko and L Heure Bleue and Diorissimo. I do not see it as 'rose' and 'saffron', although apparently that is the major theme; a beautiful sensual oriental, close and persistent, unique and memorable.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ghoulnextdoor on 6/5/2011 5:38:00 PM more reviews by ghoulnextdoor

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

Oh, this is such a wonderful scent. It doesn't feel spicy to me at all, and barely rosy, just a hint. What I do get is a comforting sweetness, though not at all sugary or cloying. A creamy sandalwood pudding, a warm bath lightly infused with milk and rose petals and a deep, enveloping hug. This smells like the grown up version of nightly rituals - bedtime stories and and being tucked in for slumbers , sweet dreams and all.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* WentworthRoth on 3/13/2011 5:04:00 AM more reviews by WentworthRoth

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Notes: saffron, sandalwood, rose and vanilla.
 
This fragrance opens with spicy saffron which thankfully is not as loud as it is in Aoud Saffron. Here it is a well-behaved spice on a base of sandalwood; rose further brightens the heavy main note. This is a well-blended fragrance as it allows all the different ingredients to shine. As it progresses vanilla joins the composition. After that the scent could be described as woody with a touch of vanilla and rose with saffron as the base that adds depth and spiciness to the whole accord. The fragrance is rather simple and very nice to wear but rather feminine due to the vanilla and rose. The strength and sillage is moderate. Lasts for more than 4 hours on my skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chrystelica on 3/9/2011 10:50:00 PM more reviews by chrystelica

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Wish this was a little heavier in scent/ sillage. This one must vary widely depending on skin chemistry. On me, it's spicy, warm, even hot. Troubling only in sexiness! It smells like a red dried Thai chili pepper, warmed up with saffron and cinnamon, a delightful spice that is sheer and plays on the skin. It is simultaneously deep yet transparent and wears very close; it's very subtle. Too subtle, ultimately, for me to notice unless I stick my nose right to my wrist, and even then I can barely smell it.


It's very Oriental and sensual. This is definitely an erotic scent. Love it! I bet Sagittarians totally go for this, when they're not rolling around in MKK or some other such musk. Reminds me of taking a warm candlelit spice bath at midnight during a rainstorm. A sexy wiccan goddess would wear this. Since my skin totally devours it, though, I think it is sadly better left to others. Perhaps a decant in the future? I have a feeling I will be revisiting this one.


Also, I detect no rose or milkiness whatsoever in this, on me it is a very light, sheer, transparent spicy hot sexy deep saffron-cinnamon scent.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 morgs5555 on 2/1/2011 5:33:00 PM more reviews by morgs5555

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I had a bottle of this an I loved it. It is sweet and spicy an interesting scent that you don't typically come across. The only thing I noticed as time went on was that it kind of smells like a Chai Latte from Starbucks, lol. Once I realized that, I couldn't wear it again. Its an interesting one for me it just got a little common when I made the Chai latte association.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SensualSusanna on 7/15/2010 12:48:00 PM more reviews by SensualSusanna

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Safran Troublant is one of Olivia Giacobetti's beautiful fragrances. Although all of Ms. Giacobetti's fragrances are light, well balanced, almost ethereal, Safran Troublant is a little too sweet for my taste. Although it is beautiful and bekons to be worn more in fall/winter rather than in summer. The rose in this is magnificiant .. along with the saffron notes. However, you should try this if you like most of her fragrances. Long lasting for a L'Artisan fragrance as well.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* condesadepitimini on 3/3/2010 5:05:00 AM more reviews by condesadepitimini

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Despite of its name (safran = saffron) well, I do not get the spices here.
The opening is fruity, but the rose, powdery but fresh, takes the main role.
It's a delightful floral scent, constructed on a heart of rose, with milky accent. Comforting, elegant.
It's a sheer juice, easy to wear and transparent.
Like many other L'Artisans, it is quite fleeting and has a low staying power (on my skin eating skin).
Nice to sample, but nothing to die for.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Artisan Fragrances products

More Fragrances products