MAC Cremestick Liner - Beurre

4.5

60 reviews

91% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/18/2015 11:07:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Other

Eyes: Brown

My second favourite lipliner (first being Spice by MAC).
Has brownish undertones, compliments yellow undertones/warm skin superbly.

I love ittt! Gives a bit of a Kylie Jenner look as they say.

A*



on 4/8/2015 12:46:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I'm surprised this is rated so highly. It doesn't work for me at all.

This is my first cremestick liner, and I bought it because a curse was placed on me at birth: I cannot sharpen makeup pencils. They break about half the time. I've got decent sharpeners (MAC and Stila), I've tried keeping pencils in the refrigerator, I've tried DIY hypnotherapy. My pencils always either break in the sharpener, or break while I'm using them. So I always opt for mechanical pencils where possible.

I was dubious about this one. The name says it all, really, and I don't want a "creamy" lip liner. I want a creamy lipstick. I want my liner to be uber-subtle, to draw a faint but precise line in an MLBB shade and create a border to stop the creamy lipstick from bleeding. But I gave this a shot anyway, and "Beurre" rates highly around here.

The brownish-rose color is lovely, but unfortunately, it's WAY too dark and heavy for me. Totally unusable. Full disclosure: I am pale, and I prefer light MLBB/nude shades, otherwise I very quickly look clownish. But this liner draws a thick, solid line in a very dark, dense neutral pink. On my face it ALMOST looks burgundy. It might be okay for a night-time look, but during the day it's virtually impossible to soften once applied. I ended up with that horrible visible liner look. You really need a lip color that's equally dark, and I rarely wear dark lipsticks.

So I don't know what I'll do with this liner, but I won't be using it, and I won't repurchase. I'm attaching a couple of pics of other liners have in my stash just to demonstrate that it's relatively dark.


0
Full Size Image

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 1/18/2015 3:06:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Lovely colour, very matte and creamy, my only worry is that I begin to love it so much I want to wear it every day and I can see the product running out very quickly as you don't get much in the first place but I love this formula!


on 12/28/2014 12:01:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Fabulous for a nudey pinky brown lio


on 12/11/2014 3:18:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

i was originally looking for MAC whirl to achieve the Kendall Jenner lip look, but every counter was sold out so i ended up with this shade instead. However, I prefer the formulations of the cremestick liners as they're much creamier and long lasting, and it comes in an automatic pencil so it requires no sharpening. Onto the shade- this is a couple shades darker than MAC whirl. Whirl is more of a pink, while Beurre is more of a thick matte neutral mauve leaning on the cooler side. It is similar to MAC lipstick in "creme in your coffee" shade wise, not finish wise. I like using this lipliner on its own or paired with a neutral nude like MAC velvet teddy. For clarification, on my NC 35 skin tone, this is not a natural or MLBB shade.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/13/2014 4:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

MAC's cremestick liners are my favorite lip liners ever. I own 2 other shades but this one seemed to be a great pick for the fall months. It's a beautiful dirty plum shade, it's pretty close to Whirl which is one of their regular pencil lip liners but it's a bit darker and more plum rather than pink. I'm an NW40 and I have quite pigemented lips, this color really shows up well and looks really compliments my skin tone. I often have issues with liners being too nude and not showing up or washing me out but this color is perfect on dark complexions and even lighter ones as well. The consistency of the cremestick liners are to die for, very smooth and creamy, glide across the lips very effortlessly, never had issues with the tip breaking off and i LOVE that theyre retractable and no sharpening is needed. The staying power alone is worth the 16 dollars as well, I can wear this for about 6 hours without even having to check it in the mirror. No fading or bleeding! This color also pairs well with my pink and mauve lipsticks very nicely. Definitely check out this shade or even if it's not your cup of tea, the cremestick liners in general are wonderful products.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/15/2014 10:40:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is a neutral, matte dirty plum color on me. Just like how Mac describes this. I saw one of the You Tube Guru's use this with a look imitating Kylie Jenner. I'm not trying to look like a 17 year old but I loved the natural matte look this gave so I stopped at Mac to pick this up. Absolutely love wearing this on it's own as a color. It stains and lasts throughout the day no problem. If I need a pick me up I keep a low gloss balm handy and it's beautiful. I particularly like this when my eye/cheek color is a little heavier so I can understate the lip but I love this with a soft neutral eye too. One other reviewer said there isn't much product for the price but I'll keep buying this because I just love the look. If you are looking for a close dupe DS brand try NYX in Natural, Plum or mahogany (depending on your skin tone) they give a close same effect. But I'll indulge in this one!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/20/2013 6:16:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Love this lipliner! It's a very sexy dark pink. I pair it with MAC Jubilee lipstick, which is a nude lipcolor, but I feel this color blends well with numerous other pink shades since it paired well with the nude color. I was honestly reluctant about nude lipshades, bc nude just looks stark white on my full lips, so I used to avoid nude shades at all costs. However, the MAC sales associate paired the two together to try on me, and Beurre brings out a nice, pretty pink tone from Jubilee.

Great for day (casual or at work) or night.

My only gripe is that there isn't a lot of product for the price, so I don't use this lipliner everyday. But I still love it overall.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/16/2012 10:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I had my doubts about this at first, but I love it! The MAC SA actually recommended another lipliner to pair with Hug Me at first, but I told him I wanted to see Beurre. He brought it out and we mixed it and the result was gorgeous! He was even surprised with the pink-caramel color that was on my lips. The formula is great and glides nicely across the lips. It's rich, creamy, and pigmented. Also very versatile. Thumbs up for Beurre!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/1/2011 11:46:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Though it's a bit darker than I expected, I really love this neutral liner that pairs well with many shades of lipstick or gloss. My favorite combination is Myself, Beurre, and Boy Bait for a neutral but defined lip.

The twist-up packaging is great, as I hate sharpening pencils.

I bought a backup.


Back to Top