Clinique • Butter Shine Lipstick - Ambrosia • Lipstick

rated 4.7(27 reviews)

Average Rating.4.7
Would buy this product again.96%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 anpage on 1/17/2014 6:25:00 PM more reviews by anpage

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I can remember when Clinique first came out with these lipsticks 6 or 7 years ago, maybe even longer and I fell in love with them. I also notice that all the other brands are just now jumping on the bandwagon as if this is some new thing when Clinique was one of the first. Ambrosia is a perfect coral color for Spring/Summer. They glide on beautifully, and also give a nice sheen to the lips.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HWL on 1/11/2014 11:12:00 PM more reviews by HWL

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This color is perfect. I say it's coral orange with a little shimmer, but not too much. It is lovely. I have never gotten so many compliments it..It is really more of a lip balm than a lipstick. It goes on very moist and has a little shimmer and it slightly sheer, but a good pop of color. Not like a gloss though, as it's denser color and none of that sticky feeling. Butter is a good word for the texture. This is the HG of all lip colors for me. I always feel good wearing it. I think the other shades look nice too, from what i have tested. This is the best. The photo above gives an idea but more coral this has a nice texture and shine. Reds can be hard to wear, but not this. I love coral coral reds and this is a great one. That hint of gold flecks. These are really great and this is my favorite.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blooiejagwa on 10/17/2012 7:14:00 PM more reviews by blooiejagwa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

Gorgeous sheer reddish coral. Beautiful, with fine sparkles. Very moisturizing. Great formula. Amazing colour on warm skin. If you like sheer and dewy, you will like this.
.
I passed this one onto my mom after she kept complimenting it on me--seeing as i already own its equal in the Lise Watier lipstick line, it's called Gala, and it's the exact same colour, just far more pigmented--different formula, same colour. I love it too, in fact, I can't pick which one I like better. I think I will buy myself another Ambrosia to replace the one I gave away.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HelenaS on 8/20/2011 10:52:00 AM more reviews by HelenaS

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I love the Butter Shine lipsticks, and this one is exceptional. To find a golden, coral-red that is sheer and not scary, makes eyes pop and teeth appear whiter is nothing short of a miracle. This is so flattering on me. Beautiful with Nars Amour blush or bronzer. It gives a healthy, beautiful glow to my face. Highly rec!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 channy616 on 8/15/2011 5:50:00 PM more reviews by channy616

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Just like my lips, but a tad brighter. This is my HG lipstick when I've got a slight tan going on and want to feel like a glowy, all-natural so-Cal girl, let my blonde hair down and just dust a little shimmery bronzer on my cheeks, and head on the door. Guys always flirt with me when I'm wearing it, and the other day my sister told me I looked extra pretty. Anybody with a sister knows they don't just give you a compliment to boost your self-esteem, so I'll take her at her word lol.

My favorite is mixed with MAC Creme de Nude or Angel lipstick and topped with a touch of clear gloss.

Come to think of it, I don't know why I don't just wear this everyday.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 itstihu on 4/25/2011 10:14:00 PM more reviews by itstihu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I absolutely love this color. I wanted a tint of natural red but a bit of coral as well. To be honest, I am absolutely impressed with this color. I think it is amazing. It is moisturizing and it has a hint of shimmer, which is really nice. It doesn't dry out my lips at all.

Plus, the price for this lipstick is probably the cheapest you can get for department stores.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lomelindi on 2/11/2011 12:36:00 AM more reviews by Lomelindi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Possibly my favorite lipstick now, just because of it's unique color and absolutely luscious feel. I'm usually a big fan of red lipsticks, but when I saw in this in the store, I was alarmed because it was a bright red with a very obvious gold shine to it. I thought it would look like I was wearing liquid gold or something, but when I put it on, it melted into a beautiful, wearable coral red. It's certainly different from all the other red lipsticks I have and I don't think I'll ever get bored of the color. It's pigmented, but not terribly so, which makes it versatile; I can use one swipe for a pop of color or 2-3 swipes for its full pigmentation.


Also, the Clinique Buttershine lipsticks are hydrating and super creamy, so they feel like you're putting on a hydrating balm instead of lipstick. I love the feel of them, and I also adore the bamboo-style case. It makes this lipstick look and feel so classy!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Missmb on 1/16/2011 12:32:00 AM more reviews by Missmb

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

When they called these lipsticks "Butter Shines" they really meant it! I remember the tester tube of this lipstick being all melted down and a mess when I looked at it in Sephora, and it's because the lipstick itself isn't very solid- it has the texture of melted butter and on my lips it feels like a melted lipstick, or more appropriately, like butter. The color is a gorgeous coral with a gold, glossy sheen. The slick texture gives the lipstick a lot of "slip" and the lasting power isn't ridiculously great- about two-three hours of solid wear without drinking or eating. I have no problem reapplying lipstick, however. The packaging on the butter shines and really all Clinique lipsticks is very chic and beats MAC's plastic lipstick tubes hands down.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mariavittoria1987 on 11/6/2010 1:10:00 PM more reviews by mariavittoria1987

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

What a disappointment! I got a sample of this from my local MUA after reading the raving reviews here on makeupalley (when I follow the reviews, I rarely get disappointed). I literally FELL IN LOVE with the colour in the picture and did some research on the internet, finding that this lipstick matches virtually everyone with every skintone and eye colour. Also, that brilliant rosy coral looked extremely new and original to me, different from the usual pinks, oranges, etc. Even when I brought it home and saw the actual bright orange colour in the packaging I wasn't scared, because I read here that everyone is before realizing that the colour actually blends in with the natural tone of your lips to create a gorgeous illuminating shade.
So I applied it after moisturizing my lips and... big fail! The colour made me look washed out just like every other orange lipstick does (I have fair cool-toned skin with blue eyes). Not the slightest flattering effect on me :(
I tried again the next day praying for some different effect to come out, because I desperately wanted to like this, but nothing happened and I had to admit that it looked really bad on me. Obviously I didn't purchase.
Anyhow, the colour itself IS gorgeous if paired with the right skintone, the texture is luxurious and smooth and it creates an optical effect that enhances your lips' volume. Overall, a great lipstick, just not for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mizznk on 11/25/2009 6:31:00 PM more reviews by mizznk

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Great lipstick!! the packaging is divine, the shiny metal bamboo casing looks so expensive and I love that. As for the color I love reds because of the golden undertones in my skin (NC40-42) and this is a orange, reddish color with the most flattering gold shimmer in it (u cant feel it on). the formula is like a dream! very creamy like butter and VERY moisturizing as it has shea butter in it, it almost feels like a balm on but it has excellent pigmentation and is even a bit glossy looking so I like that I dont 'need' to wear a gloss with it. but heres a tip tho, you can tone it down and turn it into the perfect (almost muted but not really) coral by pairing it with clinique long last gloss in 'First blush'. So pretty!! try it its so versatile

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Lipstick products