China Glaze • Turned Up Turquoise 849237 • Polishes

rated 3.6(98 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.57%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 SophieAshmore on 7/27/2014 1:39:00 PM more reviews by SophieAshmore

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I love the colour of this nail polish, it gives a great pop of colour and China glaze polishes are great! I love the matte finish of this polish but I wouldn't repurchase this, only because of the amount of chipping. I've found this product chips in a short amount of time (within a couple of hours) and when it chips it doesn't just chip a little bit, it chips in big chunks and by the end of the day most of my nails are nearly completely polish free so for that reason I wouldn't repurchase. I've tried a variety of top/base coats which really work with every other nail polish I own but they don't help with this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MusingCrow on 4/29/2014 1:18:00 AM more reviews by MusingCrow

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I am delighted with this color! I have never liked a matte effect, but after using this color I might actually look for some. It's a satin-y effect really rather than true matte , and I love that you gloss it up with a glossy top coat. It's a perfect bright turquoise, and reminds me of the water in the Carribean .

Yes, if I run out of this color, I will definitely want to get more!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bonniherself on 12/22/2013 12:35:00 AM more reviews by bonniherself

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Interesting polish. A bright blue-leaning turquoise shimmer, or so it appears in the bottle. On the nail, it dries to a satiny matte finish, with the shimmer only barely visible. Two coats gave me full opacity; one coat is pretty streaky and on the sheer side.

I actually really like the matte finish on this, but a decent top coat will restore the gloss and bring out the shimmer if that's what you prefer.

I admit, I don't wear a lot of turquoise or aqua, not because I don't like it, but because some blues (and blue-greens) will bring out the visible blue veins in my very pale, cool-toned complexion, and this is no exception to that, but it's not as bad as some blues or blue-greens, and I'm going to wear it anyway, at least now and then. I think it would make a splendid pedicure colour, bright and happy (and the veins are not that much of an issue in my feet).

So, yes, this dries matte, but it's gorgeous, and it's versatile, too (you can wear it matte or shiny, just use a top coat!). I also suspect this would stain, because it's very, very pigmented, so I definitely advise wearing a good base coat that you know will protect your nails.

I got this as a surprise extra in a polish swap, and I'm super pleased with it. It's not something I would have chosen for myself, but I'm really glad to have it to add to my collection.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 AdelaideScars on 12/5/2013 1:32:00 PM more reviews by AdelaideScars

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

With a top coat, it's a really lovely colour and has a nice shimmer but it chips and flakes the same day even with a top coat. It's a pretty expensive polish so I'm really disappointed it's such poor quality.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 DontMakeASound on 11/10/2013 6:56:00 PM more reviews by DontMakeASound

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is a pretty color, but that's the only thing I like about it. It has a bit of shimmer to it. It chips fast, takes about 3 coats, and is just overall a pain to apply. If you like this color, find a color that is similar. Every time I go to apply it, I get really frustrated. Just not a very good polish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 katiehyser on 8/25/2013 8:12:00 PM more reviews by katiehyser

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love the color of this polish but hate everything else about it. It is so streaky and it almost dries too fast to go on well. I know it is supposed to have a matte finish being a neon, but the finish on this is just really weird. You need three coats to get rid of the streaks, but then it starts to get kind of clumpy. I did two coats with flakies over it to smooth things out and give it a nice finish. It also chips really fast. I have chips the next day and I never have that with other polishes. I would skip this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 murdock99tx on 8/11/2013 3:40:00 PM more reviews by murdock99tx

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

THE. Nicest turquoise EVER. Beautiful. Definitely use a top coat for shine (Seche Vite). This look fabulous in photos, like when there's a candid of you hanging out with your friends, and your hand happens to be in the shot. LOL Nice.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Shelbylynn1994 on 7/12/2013 2:08:00 AM more reviews by Shelbylynn1994

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Pros:
Pretty summery color. Looks like it has very subtle flecks of glitter.
Cute bottle

Cons:
Matte finish (personally don't like)
Chips quickly, next day.
Takes about three coats to get the color in the bottle to appear.


I feel like for the price, it should last longer than a day before it chips. The bottle is cute and decent, but I'm not buying the polish because of the bottle. I want decent quality. I could have bought three bottles of Sinful Colors before I bought this one. And they last longer.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chairmanmiao on 6/14/2013 2:27:00 PM more reviews by chairmanmiao

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the best nail Polish I have ever used in terms of texture drying time and Matt finish.

Unfortunately my hands and fingers arnt the same colour as they were and most nail colours doesn't really look nice next to the color that my fingers are now.I've also had an issue with my nails changing shape from being small and round to long and rectangular except for one nail on one finger which is really weird so I have to avoid using shades that clash with my finger skin tone or draw attention to the unnatural shape of my nails.

This color was so wrong because it was neon I think it would look best next to very black or yellow skin tones without pink or red hues in them.

Drying time is very fast and because of the texture it doesn't drag and clump when you apply it unlike pretty much every other nail Polish brand I've ever used.the Matt finish is really nice it is much softer than the highly light reflecting gloss finish nail polishes which I don't really like and they only seem to look good on well moisturizer dark skinned peoples hands.

You can't get this brand in UK they only sell the high gloss type nail Polish so I ordered this on eBay and it was cheap compared to some of the cosmetic brands they sell here.

Since using this brand I got the idea to use a Matt finish cream eyeliner/eyeshadow product on my nails and paint a top coat of boujour so laque! In 13 rose lounge as the effect is a Matt color with a Pearl finish texture and is much more flattering than the high gloss bright colors they stock in the UK.the color I used underneath was shu uemura ME green painting liner which is a much more flattering Matt shade for people whose fingertips are turning pink.I know the eyeliner is expensive but if you use a make up brush to apply a very small amour goes a long way and the texture and finish is perfect with a variety of different colors for those looking to avoid the high gloss finish of nail polish in the UK.

I would buy China glaze products again just not this color and as they don't stock them in the UK it is difficult to know the exact shade before you buy because photographs arnt always a true reflection of what something looks like in realityalthough Im not sure why maybe a marketing ploy by the manufacturers?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mdxxdm on 5/16/2013 6:11:00 PM more reviews by mdxxdm

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Pros:
1. Color
2. Matt finish

Cons:
1. Start to chip too fast! Less than one day.
2. Need at least 3 layers to make the surface of nails look smooth.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More China Glaze products

More Polishes products