Acqua di Parma • Blu Mediterraneo Mandorlo Di Sicilia • Fragrances

rated 3.5(68 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 baklava on 10/30/2013 7:56:00 AM more reviews by baklava

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

This one *was* ostensibly almond at first but the almond disappeared in minutes, revealing an overripe fruit swimming in saccharine tonka musk. Like, dunked in Splenda. :/ I was bummed out as the description touted much almond, but this is too sweet.

And this is coming from a girl who *loves* the toothache of sugary syrup Comptoir Sud Pacifique's line!

Moreover, it wasn't just on my skin. I sprayed it on a test strip and the two SA's in Bergdorf Goodman confirmed with me the almond is more of an opening than a lingering heart/base note. I'm going to give it a second try, however, if it's still at a Sephora.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* EmbalmerBabe on 6/17/2013 3:37:00 AM more reviews by EmbalmerBabe

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

My first ADP fragrance, my bottle looks different than the picture here, it is short thick blue glass with a sturdy blue top.
"Almond tree of Sicily" is quite lovely, very well formulated. I love the creamy sweetness, it is gentle and non cloying. I am fond of the anise component, this has a slight "root beer" quality to it but not in an off putting way. I would call this a refined cozy comfort scent. Would work well in jeans and a tee as an every day spritz, or dress it up in a silk gown with patent leather shoes.
Very versatile. I am a fan of ADP now must try more, I encourage you too as well!
I am docking brownie points because my bottle I ordered from Sephora is a little leaky.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sambalina82 on 8/16/2012 8:27:00 AM more reviews by Sambalina82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I absolutely adore this fragrance, it is warm and milky and smells divine in warm weather. It almost smells like white chocolate with a hint of citrus. For an edt the lasting power is impressive!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Gother on 4/28/2011 6:32:00 AM more reviews by Gother

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Violet    

Mmmmm...
This smells really good, but in an odd way. It's a creamy orange popsicle, more than an almond (although I still smell almond distinctly, and I think it's one of the best almond fragrances around), it keeps my nose attached to my wrist, it's almost hypnotizing, but... it smells like a Barbie doll, brand new out of the box.
Yes, it smells like a little girl's world, Barbie dolls and pink dresses and all. I'd love to smell this on my niece, but not on me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Soutty on 3/23/2011 9:57:00 AM more reviews by Soutty

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I have just tried this and have completely fallen in love with it. I can't stop smelling my wrist. It's a beautiful sunny spring day today and this scent makes me think of holidays and lazy fun filled days and nights.

I really want to buy it right now but will restrain myself until payday...

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zeynepd on 1/23/2011 9:05:00 AM more reviews by zeynepd

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm so on the fence about this one and it's a sad sad fence because I thought I would really love this. I have a soft spot for sweet, comfy fragrances and especially almond notes - though they sometimes tend to turn too plasticky on me and Hypnotic Poison is bane to my existence. Mandorlo di Sicilia presents none of these problems. It's a lovely almond that has a lovely airiness that comes from the star anise. This is not a very strong note after the opening blast and does not dominate the fragrance's almondy character. The only thing that makes me think twice is the sugared milk sweetness that tends to grow and grow on my skin, turning this fragrance into a vanilla musk with just a tad of almond. If this balance was the other way around, this could be HG for me but I think I don't want to buy a vanilla musk right now. Medium sillage and very good lasting power on my skin.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 victorialynne on 7/20/2010 5:15:00 PM more reviews by victorialynne

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I LOVE Mandorlo Di Sicillia!!!! It starts off with a burst of almond, and then quickly turns into an orange creamsicle and the dry-down is a warm, dreamy vanilla, almond with a slight touch of wood. The drydown reminds me a little of "Light Blue" by Dolce & Gabbana....which would make sense, since they both have cedar-wood in their notes. This also reminds me a little of vanilla apricot by CSP. I think this perfume is simply divine. It is sweet, but not overly so. I think this will be great any time of year. I highly recommend this to any vanilla/almond lover. My other favorites are Lea St. Barth, Etro Heliotrope and Hypnotic Poison.

You can buy this online at Sephora $70 for 2 oz. or $106 for 4 oz. - that is pretty good, considering most dept. stores charge $89 for a 3.4 ounce bottle.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 alexcous6915 on 6/26/2010 10:17:00 AM more reviews by alexcous6915

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Amazing scent, takes me immediately back to last year's vacation on the Amalfi Coast. Great light summer scent. Only wish my boss hadn't called me in the taxi on the way to the airport as I left it in the taxi and haven't been able to find it in stock since! Boo!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Caramellane on 9/17/2008 11:29:00 PM more reviews by Caramellane

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is such a strange fragrance. This scent is a bit harsh and gave me a mild sinus headache for the first hour. After the first hour, the scent mellowed out and all I could really notice was the scent of cream soda, I didn't notice orange or almonds, just vanilla cream soda. This isn't bad, it is just unique and those who love vanilla scents might want to try this out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 LianH on 8/3/2008 7:18:00 PM more reviews by LianH

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Very longlasting, that's how I would describe many of the Di Parma perfumes, and this one is no exception.

It smells strongly of almonds, and warm oranges. Not very unpleasant, and a real gourmand, comfort scent. It lingers forever and wears close to the skin with 2 sprays on the wrist, I do think that one spray on the neck will give good sillage.

It feels a bit like a perfume that could belong in the range of CsP, it has the same warm quality to it and I bet there is some vanilla among the almonds and oranges.

I wouldn't say this is a real orange scent, it is definitly more almonds but it is balanced out by the oranges.

Think of snowcake but with more complexity and less of a plastic feel to it. Not bad, not bad at all. But maybe better for in the winter than the height of summer. You could wear it in the summer but you'd love it more in the winter

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Acqua di Parma products

More Fragrances products