Philosophy • Handmade Hand Cream • Lotions/ Creams

rated 3.7(53 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 xcheck on 12/12/2009 4:15:00 PM more reviews by xcheck

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This cream smells so nice, like a light lemon fragrance. I have it in the jar and a little goes a long way. It's greasy at first but does soak in and it does a fairly good job of moisturizing. My hands are definitely softer after using this cream; it's one of the better creams I've tried.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 snapdragen on 9/17/2009 1:44:00 AM more reviews by snapdragen

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this hand cream, it smells yummy and feels so luxurious. But, since they have discontinued the 4 oz jar, I won't be buying any more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MoiBelle on 3/31/2009 4:47:00 PM more reviews by MoiBelle

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This has got to be one of the most yummy smelling hand cream! This does a great job in moisturizing very dry hand skin especially during winter. It really leaves hands smooth and soft and nice smelling. It does not work overnight though and several applications is needed, but once it does it job then it is worth the while. Only one thing is I find it a bit greasy after a few minutes of application but, that is something I can deal with as it fades away quite quickly. so still 5 lippes from me. I would buy this again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 loved on 1/1/2009 4:07:00 PM more reviews by loved

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

First, the tube is tiny. Great for your purse but not worth $10. The tub is a nice size but I hate dipping my fingers into any jar. The scent at first is like a light lemon mousse. In comparison, I find the C.O.Bigelow Lemon cream has a fresher, more saturated lemon scent. After a while, I find the Handmade lemon scent a bit metallic, no longer the fresh lemon that it had in the jar - I suppose I can contribute this to my personal chemistry. It's very thick, balm like, and a little goes a long way. It feels funny going on. It takes some effort to spread it on but then it feels funny - like it turns really liquidy right before it's absorbed in. The long-term effects are nice but not worth the money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 escalades on 12/9/2008 9:00:00 AM more reviews by escalades

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This cream is more like a creamy balm, not a light moisturizer. It lasts a long time because it's so thick but I find due to this, it tends to feel a bit greasy. I find that the lemon scent is delicate but is not a 'fresh lemon' scent - more sensitive noses might find the smell a bit 'chemical'. I am a sucker for Philosophy and though this is nice, it's not something I would buy again. The tube is tiny and I really don't like sticking my fingers into a tub of anything.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cinnabuns on 12/6/2008 3:09:00 PM more reviews by Cinnabuns

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Wonderful lemon custard scent. My hands feel so soft after using this. It absorbs quickly and doesn't feel greasy. I have this in the tube and prefer this over the jar since it's more convenient to carry with you. C.O Bigelow's lemon body cream is very similar to this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bpanda on 11/24/2008 8:47:00 PM more reviews by bpanda

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have the mini version of this, and I like it a lot. Smells yummy, sinks right into my hands with no greasy feeling. However, I wouldn't purchase the tub version; I prefer the tube packaging.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rapkat0021 on 10/13/2008 12:38:00 AM more reviews by rapkat0021

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE the lemon custard smell. It beats the L'Occitane one by 1,000,000 miles. The L'Occitane one smells like baby powder. I loathe that smell. I don't want to walk around smelling like a baby :P
This one also moisturizes better too. About a 1/2 a cubic centimeter of the rich thick cream suffices. It's not filmy or overly shiny. I still have a decent grip. Also, it doesn't come off other stuff either.
If this was a tiny bit more moisturizing, I would give it a 5.
For now, this is good enough :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bellatrix13 on 4/27/2008 12:40:00 PM more reviews by bellatrix13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'm on the fence about this hand cream. It's not terrible, but it's not as moisturizing as it could be. Also, I don't love the smell, which reminds me a little of yellow cake batter. I won't be repurchasing because I think there are some drugstore brands that are a lot cheaper and do the trick better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 diva23 on 12/4/2007 2:50:00 PM more reviews by diva23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

I LOVE this handcream. I wash my hands alot, and my hands dry out very quickly with the cold winters. I carry the tubes with me in my purse and have the jar sitting on my nightstand. It is rich and thick, and is the by far the best hand cream I've tried.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Philosophy products

More Lotions/ Creams products