Estee Lauder • Youth Dew Amber Nude • Fragrances

rated 3.2(82 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.53%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shadow_Witch on 7/18/2014 8:43:00 PM more reviews by Shadow_Witch

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Dried fruit. Dry spices. Coca Cola. Smoke. It's like vintage Youth Dew and Chanel Coco EdP had a love child and her beauty far surpasses that of her beautiful parents. Huge long lasting sillage. A little goes a long way.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ifthe on 11/13/2011 6:52:00 PM more reviews by ifthe

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

I haven't sniffed Estee Lauder scents in years, but Sensuous and Bronze Goddess are so fantastic, I decided to give this one a shot. On my skin it's baked cinnamon apples and warm Coca Cola. That's it. Pass.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CharlotteGrace on 10/7/2011 6:30:00 AM more reviews by CharlotteGrace

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Sexy. Elegant. Warm. I love this fragrance, it's like a warm embrace. A cachemere blanket. Sexy. I would bathe in it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* awesomeness2 on 8/21/2011 9:23:00 PM more reviews by awesomeness2

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Out of all the Estee Lauder fragrances, contemporary & vintage, YDAN is my second favorite (after Sensous Noir). Initially, I didn't much care for it. I changed my mind after the compliments kept coming in.


YD may be named after Youth Dew, but YDAN is only distantly related, perhaps the niece or grand niece of the original YD. In my opinion, YDA is more closely related to Cinnabar, perhaps her daughter. Regardless, YDAN is better than either YD or Cinnabar, imo. And I've owned (and liked) both.


I swear there is vanilla on top (what others call coca-cola? maybe rootbeer like Tabu). I also get a bit of the plastic dollhead. However, YDAN is all the drydown, and the drydown is all about the amber, which is a beautifully warm, old-timey amber. Several reviewers have mentioned incense, which I don't sense but is resplendent in the YD bath oil. YDAN is great in evenings in summer, but daytime wear is best reserved for cooler weather.


YDAN is not a fragrance to sniff up-close but from a distance. which may be the reason that I didn't like it at first but others did. It's modern enough to seem fresh but traditional enough to have a lineage to 2 EL fragrances, Youth Dew and Cinnabar.


I have grown to love this one. Don't let it pass you by & don't jump to conclusions. It's a grower!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dioraddict84 on 12/2/2010 3:20:00 PM more reviews by dioraddict84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This one is discontinued, but it is a nice scent. I like it better than the original Youth Dew truthfully. It is an oriental vanilla scent. Top notes are magnolia, ginger, cinnamon, tea and grapefruit; middle notes are carnation, jasmine, ylang-ylang and black rose; base notes are sandalwood, amber, patchouli and vetiver.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 laurenmf on 9/11/2010 8:25:00 PM more reviews by laurenmf

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I haven't smelled Youth Dew in a long time so I really cannot compare this to the original, however, I find Amber Nude to be really nice. I like the top and base notes, but I don't care for the middle notes. At first it does have a very distinct cola note, almost like Tabu. After a few minutes it gets a very chemically smell on me, which fortunately doesn't last long. I'm left with a great woody, amber, tobacco type smell that I love. I do get the unlit cigarette that someone else mentioned, but I kind of like it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* perfumenut on 4/5/2010 7:37:00 PM more reviews by perfumenut

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really laud EL and Tom Ford for YDAN. I'm a YD fan, but I don't wear it often because it's a little too heavy even for me (and I like the heavies). I usually just use the bath oil in the bath and that's it. But YDAN is truly a modern version of YD....on top the base notes of YD, EL/TF placed a sparkling cola/ginger note (a little boozy) that I just love! After drydown, I still get a sparkling note over top of incense and I just love the combo. Well done!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ellizam on 4/5/2010 12:01:00 AM more reviews by ellizam

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Mostly, I love Youth Dew Amber Nude. I also love Youth Dew, but did not come to YDAN expacting a flanker; I think the connection is more cerebral, the idea of a Youth Dew reflecting current trends, and it works for me. I can find the ghost of YD, but it's become simultaneously drier, includes a fruity waft (stewed fruit and mandarine orange), and a charming hit of the smoky agarwood/incense note that's raged around perfume these days.


The only thing that doesn't work in YDAN for me is that the gestalt can sometimes work out to have the feel of unlit cigarette tobacco, something I personally don't care for. But in general, it's a smoky, balsamic, dry, rich concoction layered over dark wood with layers including stewed fruit, orange, and some beautifully aromatic jasmine and florals.


The complexity carries it across seasons, although I'd use a VERY light hand in summer, and the packaging is darling, a nod to YD. I'm sad it's been discontinued, and not entirely sure why there are so many ugly reviews. I suspect it's age-biased Youth Dew hatred spilling over and at this point, I find it tiresome. I've known a lot of people who wear Youth Dew, me included, and some are over 60, some are 30-50, some are under 20. Personally, I first wore YD when I was 7. My mother had a small bottle of the bath oil and when I wanted to feel beautiful and smell something rich and mysterious, I'd dab a little Youth Dew bath oil on or put it in my bath. It was heady, rich, and reminded me of why women wear perfume: to smell good.


I had a patient a few years ago who wore Youth Dew and sometimes I'd go stand by her room, or in it, and sniff just to smell something beautiful and other than a hospital smell. I was not the only one. Take that, Youth Dew haters. Oh, and she was a 49 year old Navajo woman.

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* crickett85 on 3/8/2010 12:38:00 PM more reviews by crickett85

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

A watered down and much cheaper smelling version of the classic grand dame Youth Dew. Leave it to Estee Lauder to totally mess up a beautiful scent by making it bubble gummy citrusy little girly in a feeble attempt to appeal to the mass audience. If it were possible, I'd give this nasty smelling scent a negative number.
I just cannot stand the utter clash of spice and citrus in this. It's just hideous.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Embeth3 on 11/22/2009 7:03:00 PM more reviews by Embeth3

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this stuff.
On me, it starts out quite strong (I get the weird coke note too, right at the start) with a rather one dimensional floral note (the kind I refer to as Old Lady perfume) but it settles on my skin into this warm, sensuous, amber based, ever-so-slightly gourmand deliciousness. I get dark chocolate and a deep rose scent (it is described as black rose in the promotional material and I'd say that is quite apt) all sort of melded together, with a hint of spice. My boyfriend tries to pounce on me every time I wear this fragrance so he obviously finds it quite attractive and it is one of the more seductively sexy scents I've ever smelt.
It lasts well, lingering on the skin with an underlying warmth but not overpowering with patchouli (which normally I cannot stand) - I thought Amber Nude was a silly name but it does suit the fragrance. I stocked up on this when I found out it was being discontinued.
As an aside, the body lotion leaves the the most perfect subtle gold sparkles!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Estee Lauder products

More Fragrances products