Estee Lauder Youth Dew Amber Nude

3.3

84 reviews

54% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/26/2015 1:03:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

One of Tom Ford's first early creations. This is a beautiful scent, very sexy. The amber gives it depth. There's Youth Dew here for sure, but this is like Youth Dew's sexy sister. After smelling all of Tom Ford's Private Blend fragrances and his Signatures, the DNA of them is here in a way. It smells like Tom Ford (translation: it smells expensive). I think the sales people at the time this was on counter did not get it for promote it, which is a shame, because it's a gem.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 8/6/2014 12:38:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is one of the cases where I just don't understand the reasons behind a decision to discontinue a fragrance. YDAN was such a beautiful more modern sister of YD that I really din't get it why this went out of production. it is one of the most well done ambers, without the sticky syrup and heavy notes that some ambers have and without being just plain amber either. It is a sparkling, joyfull amber that it respectful of the YD base, warm and cosy but still playfull and not a bit dull. But why I make this review after not having worn YDAN in a long time (thank to its crazy discontinuation) is to say that fans of the fragrance, may find a resemblance of it in Estee Lauder's Amber Mystique (unless my nose is playing tricks). It seems it was released in Middle East, after Wood Mystique, but I just found it in an airport in Europe. The first feeling I had about it was like "hey, this is a YDAN resurection". And while it is not totally YDAN, it has a sparkling amber mixed with the medicinal notes of YD somewhere in the heart ot it, maybe more smoky and dark than it's more bright predecesor. So if somebody is longing for his/her's now finished bottle of YDAN, try Amber Mystique: it's not an exact replacement, but it is a very nice surprise nevertheless.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/18/2014 8:43:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Dried fruit. Dry spices. Coca Cola. Smoke. It's like vintage Youth Dew and Chanel Coco EdP had a love child and her beauty far surpasses that of her beautiful parents. Huge long lasting sillage. A little goes a long way.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/13/2011 6:52:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I haven't sniffed Estee Lauder scents in years, but Sensuous and Bronze Goddess are so fantastic, I decided to give this one a shot. On my skin it's baked cinnamon apples and warm Coca Cola. That's it. Pass.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Sexy. Elegant. Warm. I love this fragrance, it's like a warm embrace. A cachemere blanket. Sexy. I would bathe in it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/21/2011 9:23:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Out of all the Estee Lauder fragrances, contemporary & vintage, YDAN is my second favorite (after Sensous Noir). Initially, I didn't much care for it. I changed my mind after the compliments kept coming in.


YD may be named after Youth Dew, but YDAN is only distantly related, perhaps the niece or grand niece of the original YD. In my opinion, YDA is more closely related to Cinnabar, perhaps her daughter. Regardless, YDAN is better than either YD or Cinnabar, imo. And I've owned (and liked) both.


I swear there is vanilla on top (what others call coca-cola? maybe rootbeer like Tabu). I also get a bit of the plastic dollhead. However, YDAN is all the drydown, and the drydown is all about the amber, which is a beautifully warm, old-timey amber. Several reviewers have mentioned incense, which I don't sense but is resplendent in the YD bath oil. YDAN is great in evenings in summer, but daytime wear is best reserved for cooler weather.


YDAN is not a fragrance to sniff up-close but from a distance. which may be the reason that I didn't like it at first but others did. It's modern enough to seem fresh but traditional enough to have a lineage to 2 EL fragrances, Youth Dew and Cinnabar.


I have grown to love this one. Don't let it pass you by & don't jump to conclusions. It's a grower!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/2/2010 3:20:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

This one is discontinued, but it is a nice scent. I like it better than the original Youth Dew truthfully. It is an oriental vanilla scent. Top notes are magnolia, ginger, cinnamon, tea and grapefruit; middle notes are carnation, jasmine, ylang-ylang and black rose; base notes are sandalwood, amber, patchouli and vetiver.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 9/11/2010 8:25:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I haven't smelled Youth Dew in a long time so I really cannot compare this to the original, however, I find Amber Nude to be really nice. I like the top and base notes, but I don't care for the middle notes. At first it does have a very distinct cola note, almost like Tabu. After a few minutes it gets a very chemically smell on me, which fortunately doesn't last long. I'm left with a great woody, amber, tobacco type smell that I love. I do get the unlit cigarette that someone else mentioned, but I kind of like it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/5/2010 7:37:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I really laud EL and Tom Ford for YDAN. I'm a YD fan, but I don't wear it often because it's a little too heavy even for me (and I like the heavies). I usually just use the bath oil in the bath and that's it. But YDAN is truly a modern version of YD....on top the base notes of YD, EL/TF placed a sparkling cola/ginger note (a little boozy) that I just love! After drydown, I still get a sparkling note over top of incense and I just love the combo. Well done!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/5/2010 12:01:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Mostly, I love Youth Dew Amber Nude. I also love Youth Dew, but did not come to YDAN expacting a flanker; I think the connection is more cerebral, the idea of a Youth Dew reflecting current trends, and it works for me. I can find the ghost of YD, but it's become simultaneously drier, includes a fruity waft (stewed fruit and mandarine orange), and a charming hit of the smoky agarwood/incense note that's raged around perfume these days.


The only thing that doesn't work in YDAN for me is that the gestalt can sometimes work out to have the feel of unlit cigarette tobacco, something I personally don't care for. But in general, it's a smoky, balsamic, dry, rich concoction layered over dark wood with layers including stewed fruit, orange, and some beautifully aromatic jasmine and florals.


The complexity carries it across seasons, although I'd use a VERY light hand in summer, and the packaging is darling, a nod to YD. I'm sad it's been discontinued, and not entirely sure why there are so many ugly reviews. I suspect it's age-biased Youth Dew hatred spilling over and at this point, I find it tiresome. I've known a lot of people who wear Youth Dew, me included, and some are over 60, some are 30-50, some are under 20. Personally, I first wore YD when I was 7. My mother had a small bottle of the bath oil and when I wanted to feel beautiful and smell something rich and mysterious, I'd dab a little Youth Dew bath oil on or put it in my bath. It was heady, rich, and reminded me of why women wear perfume: to smell good.


I had a patient a few years ago who wore Youth Dew and sometimes I'd go stand by her room, or in it, and sniff just to smell something beautiful and other than a hospital smell. I was not the only one. Take that, Youth Dew haters. Oh, and she was a 49 year old Navajo woman.

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top