Aveeno • Ultra-Calming Daily Moisturizer SPF 15 • Moisturizers

rated 3.3(356 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.53%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 violetmagdalena on 4/16/2014 3:45:00 PM more reviews by violetmagdalena

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I had been using this lotion regularly for over a year. I do have dry, sensitive skin with slight redness, and I think I definitely noticed a reduction in the redness,especially now that I have switched to a different product. HOWEVER, I noticed recently that I was starting to get sensitive pink itchy/burning patches around my eyes. Assuming it was dry skin, I used more of this lotion, to no avail. Once I switched over to a new lotion the issues around my eyes have cleared up. Not really sure what happened, but I'm definitely a little nervous to try it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AlohaPandaXOXO on 4/6/2014 11:15:00 PM more reviews by AlohaPandaXOXO

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

The reformulation of this product did quite the number on my skin. I loved the discontinued version. However, I found out that my "acne" was actually an allergic reaction to cetearyl alcohol and other fatty alcohols that are common place in many skincare products. I can no longer use this lotion without clogged pores forming within 12 hours. I've had issues with chronic skin congestion and redness that this product just exacerbated. It does provide a nice base for my foundation, but the consequences are too severe for me to deal with.

If you are someone with sensitive skin, I recommend you look up your products at COSDna and look at their acne/irritation ratings. Cetyl alcohol and other related forms are really hard on the skin and for me at least have been a root of an ongoing problem that irritated by skin in ways I couldn't have imagined.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 bandella on 3/20/2014 5:49:00 AM more reviews by bandella

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

NOTE: I'm copying and pasting this review I left for the cleanser. I bought both at the same time and have been using them together, so I'm not sure which exactly is the culprit, or if they're both aggravating me. I'm going to experiment and leave off the moisturizer, since I suspect it's the SPF irritating me, and I'll report back with results.

I've had rosacea since I was 15 (lucky me!) and have almost an additional 15 years trying to tame it. I tried this product once many years ago and stopped using it because it wasn't doing anything for me. After some recent research, I decided to give it another try, along with the Ultra-Calming Moisturizer. Hoo boy. I wish I hadn't.

Since my rosacea showed up, I've only had the redness, so I guess that makes me fortunate in one respect. Ever since I started using these two products, though, my rosacea has flared up with a vengeance and brought with it all the itchy, burning, and stinging sensations that I've never really dealt with before. I haven't changed anything at all in my diet or makeup routine, so I know it's either the cleanser or the moisturizer (or maybe both) that have caused this.

Granted, using both products in combination does make my extremely dry skin feel softer and more hydrated (though it's still flaky, but I'm not looking for a miracle here, either), but I've also noticed pimples showing up in places I've never gotten pimples before. And HOW. All over my cheeks (which is where I primarily concentrate with the cleanser, given that's where my rosacea is worst), but also my nose, chin, around my mouth, and basically just everywhere. So the marginally softer skin really isn't worth it for me.

I've been using these two products consistently for almost two weeks now, and it seems like everything's just getting worse. Definitely will not buy again.

Now if you'll excuse me, I'm going to go dunk my head into a bucket of ice to try to calm down the stinging and burning that this stuff has caused.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lichi79 on 3/6/2014 5:45:00 PM more reviews by lichi79

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I had high hopes for this face lotion, given that Dr. Leslie Baumann recommends it on her skin type solution book. It is not heavy and spreads well. No bad reaction. The culprit was that I could not stand the strong chemical scent near my nose. The packaging is good and convenient. The entire Aveeno Ultra-Calming line has the same strong smell. Wish they would make it fragrance-free. I will try Eucerin next.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tlc88 on 2/26/2014 3:31:00 PM more reviews by tlc88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I have always had acne prone skin, but for about a year now I have been experiencing much more severe breakouts so I have been using prescription acne medications. Since my face was so red, dry, and irritated I decided to pick this up after months of debating with myself. It can seem pretty pricey for a drugstore product but I bit the bullet & purchased. It soothed and calmed my EXTREMELY dry skin for sure! It also gave me a glow. My skin is VERY sensitive, however, so I believe the spf ended causing little tiny pimples (which happens when i use any products with spf). However, I will continue to use occasionally and I would completely recommend it if you aren't sensitive to chemical sunscreens!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* graceybaby8 on 2/13/2014 1:21:00 AM more reviews by graceybaby8

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this when I thought I would change my routine up from my regular cetaphil daily moisturizer SPF 15/ oil of olay daily moisturizer SPF 15. Unfortunately, after using this moisturizer I got cystic acne! It was the only thing I changed in my makeup/ daily routine so I knew this had to be the culprit. I gave it another chance... And again I broke out. Also, I didn't find it to be very moisturizing for my combo/ dry skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 AshNew on 2/13/2014 1:11:00 AM more reviews by AshNew

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is about the only moisturiser i can find with bs spf 15. Its a bummer that throughout the day my skin feels parched, and thus my makeup looks flat and dry instead of glowy. back to my sunsense daily face.....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 StarsAndTheSky on 2/8/2014 4:56:00 PM more reviews by StarsAndTheSky

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this moisturizer, but I can't give this lotion justice, because I don't have red, irritated skin on my face. But I like how this moisturizer is very rich (but not greasy), which is perfect for my extremely dry skin, and how this lotion has an SPF of 15. This product also has a light scent - great for daily wear. Although I love this moisturizer, I would not be repurchasing, because I do not have red or irritated skin. I also found that this product was quite pricey. I got this product at Walmart on sale for $15.99 (originally $19.99).

PROS:
-moisturizing
-scent
-SPF
-little goes a long way

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rockstardahl on 2/5/2014 1:00:00 PM more reviews by rockstardahl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I love this stuff! been using it for about 8 years now and i love it! Goes on nice and isn't greasy at all! Love the sunscreen and red reducing benefits!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FaceofMaleah on 1/11/2014 9:43:00 PM more reviews by FaceofMaleah

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I really, really wish this moisturizer had worked for me! I enjoyed the Aveeno Positively Radiant moisturizer but wanted to switch to this one since Positively Radiant contains sparkle and I have sensitive skin. I bought this at my local SDM for $27.99+ tax for 4 ounces of product. Expensive right off that bat but per ounce, it is considerably cheaper than other moisturizers I have used. I really like how this did sooth my sensitive skin. I used it in combination with the foaming cleanser for this line and both products kept my skin looking bright and feeling soothed. Unfortunately after about 3 weeks of use, my skin got continually drier and was just never hydrated enough. My dry patches that I had had under control for a while started to come back and I just couldn't use it anymore. Back to Avene for me....not a bad product but more suited for someone who has oilier skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Aveeno products

More Moisturizers products