Sweet Almond Oil

4.4

199 reviews

88% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Sweet Almond Oil


on 7/5/2015 8:58:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I love almond oil. It's so moisturising and good for my skin. I find it takes too long for it to sink in if I use it on its own, so I add it to my body moisturiser. It sinks in immediately then and makes my skin super soft.

Update: After discovering that my favourite body lotion contains a nasty type of paraben, I now only use almond oil as a body moisturiser. I really like it because my skin feels so soft.

I have noticed that my skin can feel a little greasy after application, so I now apply it when my skin is still moist after showering. The moisture makes a huge difference: the oil is easier to spread and it sinks in immediately. If I want to apply oil when my skin is dry, I just add a few drops of water to the oil I want to apply. Works a treat!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 6/26/2015 11:48:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I bought this oil just to test it out in multiple ways since I've been curious about using natural oils for skin and hair care. The packaging is annoying because the bottle squirts out a fixed amount which is way too much. So I transferred some into a little glass medicine dropper. I used it all over my hair and before bed I just slightly rinsed it out, not washed, and slept like that. My hair looked smooth and bouncy and shiny in the morning after I blow dried it. I also use it as a makeup remover for eye makeup only, I like it better than coconut oil because it's way lighter and doesn't leave that greasy heavy oily feeling. However, I wanted to see if it would work on my mild acne prone skin so I dabbed a drop onto my temple where I had a minor breakout and then wiped off the residue. It made the skin there really soft and the tiny pimples there vanished but in a few days I got a big itchy red pimple there... Weirdest thing. I guess my skin just hates me. Oh well. Ill continue using it for other purposes though!



1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/23/2015 5:10:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

the best way to take care of your skin. i use it in my bath, with some essential oils, honey and milk. it's my Cleopatra bath! Also pure on the skin it does wonders for dry winter patches.


on 3/20/2015 9:58:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love sweet almond oil! I have acne prone skin and using this in place of a moisturizer and other natural skincare (much of which I make myself), I have had excellent results with reducing acne breakouts. The key is just a few drops and again using with other natural skincare. I avoid soaps/silicones/dimethicones on my skin and this has helped my acne a lot!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 2/25/2015 10:52:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really, really wanted to like this for my face. I decided to try it after reading many raving reviews about how wonderful this stuff is in moisturizing the skin. For the first week, it was wonderful. My skin looked clear and radiant.

Then hell broke lose. It clogged my pores like hair in the drain. I have pretty clear skin all my life, and suddenly my forehead was so rough and red with the comedones clogging my pores. Horrifying. My cheeks and chin were next to erupt, though thankfully it is not as bad as my forehead. It's been almost a month since I stopped using almond oil on my face, and I'm still getting painful pimples coming forth, and rough bumps surfacing from nowhere. It must be due to the oil, since I stopped applying any moisturizer at all, for fear that I will clog even more pores. So to those who want to try this, please please just try it for a couple of weeks on a small and not so obvious part your face. If it turns out bad, at least you won't have to deal with your entire face breaking out.

On the upside,almond oil seems good for my hair. A few drops rubbed into the ends of my damp hair helps to reduce the frizziness the next day.

I also use it very sparingly as an eye serum. My eyes tend to get puffy, especially the lids. A teeny weeny dab of this on both my top and bottom lids at night helps to reduce the puffiness in the morning.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 2/5/2015 8:03:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I have been using this product for many years and here are the reasons why I love it:

-Great eye makeup remover and also conditions lashes and brows. I noticed hair growth using this oil.

-gentle and not so heavy feeling like castor oil or coconut oil for example.

-moisturizing and I dont break out from this. My skin is super soft and glowing after using this.

-can be used everywhere on the face/body.

-cheap, natural, relatively easy to find.

simple and wonderful product!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 1/30/2015 12:35:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I use this as a moisturizer and scalp treatments. And I add some drops to body creams. Smell amazing! I also noticed that it works like a primer for makeup. Love this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/29/2015 2:37:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

1/30/15 EDIT: 2 lippies off after switching to NOW brand - it broke me out after using several drops last night. Most oils break me out. But I'd bought sweet almond oil in Mexico that the review below is about. I don't know the difference between the 2 oils - both are 100% almond oil. I'll stick with the Mexican almond oil!

This review is NOT for NOW brand:
Wow - Amazing! This is the only oil that works on my oily/combo/acne prone skin! For years I've experimented with vitamin e, olive oil, jojoba oil, coconut oil, and had almost given up - they all cause break outs. But I've been using several drops under my moisturizer at night for about 3 weeks now, and my skin looks MUCH dewier, smoother, lovelier than usual. My skin is not my strong point, 'tho I'm pretty good at making it look good with light makeup. Since using almond oil, I've barely had to wear foundation - never thought that would happen! After watching Lisa Eldridge's video on facial massage, a few times a week I use almond oil for a good 15-20 minute facial massage before bed and it's therapeutic emotionally and physically. Feels so good to pamper my skin! I cannot recommend this highly enough!
Watch Lisa Eldridge's video on facial massage - it's lovely, inspiring, and relaxing just to watch!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 12/8/2014 7:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I started using oils to moisturize my face a year ago, and it is one of the best decisions I've made. Last year, I had incredibly dry and uncomfortable skin that no commercial moisturizer could heal. After reading up on facial oils, I ordered sweet almond oil and an amber glass dropper bottle. It only takes about 2 drops to moisturize my face, so this lasts forever. My face no longer feels tight or dry, even in the winter. Over the summer, my face was getting pretty oily, so I cut it down to 1 drop per application and everything worked out fine. This is a terrific moisturizer, but I didn't notice any other dramatic effects such as clearer skin or less hyperpigmentation. I won't be repurchasing because I'm going to try out better oils for acne prone skin, such as evening primrose oil.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 12/2/2014 12:48:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

it is a miracle healer for my mother after her plastic urgery, which after the laser de-dark-spots and de-wrinkle procedure,she could hardly put anything that would not cause itchy or redness, we had a oil press machine and made our own sweet almond oil with the best quality almonds available in market (the bad ones stink like smelly fish once coming out of the machine, I believe it is due to the chemicals used to peel of the skins), and even more miraculous, during her revisit to the clinic, the nurse gave her some "enclosure shot" that is suppose to speed the healing process, however making things worse, turning her already recovery spot into darker and really red spot again.
In order to work, she has to put heavy makeup on, but by putting sweet almond oil on face as moisturizer and leave in mask every day and night, 2 months later the stubborn and sustainable red spots finally completely faded away.
she still uses sweet almond oil evey fall and winter until now, if we could not find fine almonds to press, I'd go for now foods ones in 100ml, it is working fine but not as effective as home made oil, said my mom.
however, sweet almond oil is wonderful for facial, but as as good as virgin olive oil for hair,but I always keep it in stock and always carry a travel size bottle as a remedy for emergent matters such as dry, itchy, reddish skin. I'd recommend it for people with sensitive, psoriasis or dry patches,try it. I does heal face and none others could replace it.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Popular Moisturizers


Moisturizing Cream
Moisturizing Cream
1276 Reviews
Strobe Cream
Strobe Cream
440 Reviews
Sweet Almond Oil
Sweet Almond Oil
199 Reviews


Top Rated No Brand (DIY or homemade) Products

image

Epsom Salt Bath

116 reviews
image

Sugar

251 reviews
image

Ice Cubes

48 reviews
Back to Top