Gigi • All Purpose Honee Microwave Formula Wax Kit • Hair Removal

rated 3.9(33 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 peaceblossom86 on 12/2/2012 8:22:00 PM more reviews by peaceblossom86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Love this wax! I am a long-time waxer, and have coarse, dark, very fast growing hair. Shaving is just not an option (try having a 5 o'clock shadow on your legs after shaving in the morning). Have been going to a pricey salon for way too long, but have been looking for a way to save money for quite some time. Tried 7 or 8 other lower cost salons in my city, but was never happy with the results. Tried Sally Hanson Extra Strength All Over Body Wax. The results were ok, given how cheap the kit is in drugstore, but still weren't great. Found that it would sometimes just break hairs off, instead of ripping them out at the root. Finally decided to try GiGi, and am so glad I did. This wax is less painful than the Sally one I had tried, and I find that I don't experience the hairs being broken off. Yes this wax is messy and sticky. I'm not sure why anyone would expect a product designed to stick to your body hair so well that it rips it out would not stick to other surfaces it comes in contact with. I just take a garbage bag or two, lay it out on the floor, and just keep all of my supplies and sit directly on it. Protects your floor from any drips/spills and makes clean up super easy. I bought the products separately (microwave wax formula, spatulas and muslin strips). I just use my own baby powder to prep my skin before hand and cotton balls dipped in baby oil to remove any wax residue on my legs/bikini area (only areas I currently wax). Also just bought a cheap coffee mug warmer that plugs into the wall. Just heat the wax up in the microwave, then keep it sitting on the mug warmer and it keeps a pretty steady temperature. I highly recommend to do your best to keep the jar upright at all times, or least set it upright for awhile before planning to use it. It is a bit tough to open neatly if the wax is stuck to the lid. For anybody totally new to waxing, I do recommend getting it done professionally for the first time, and pay attention to how/where they apply the wax. It will give you a much better idea how to proceed on your own. I do plan to try some of GiGi's other wax types, however I am extremely pleased with the All Purpose Honee Microwave Formula. I find that it picks hairs as well as the wax that was used on me in a pricey salon, and that with a bit of preparation the mess can be kept to a minimum

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 neurosciguy on 9/4/2012 8:20:00 PM more reviews by neurosciguy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Tried to wax my face with this- terrible. Hurt unbelievably, which I wouldn't have minded so much except for the fact that at best it would take half the hairs off, but usually leave them all there. I bled quite a bit too. Also I just washed my face FIVE TIMES and used the wax remover lotion stuff, and I STILL have this crap on my face. Threw this POS out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Makeuportakeout on 3/2/2012 8:28:00 PM more reviews by Makeuportakeout

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Very nice product. Easy to use and I was amazed by how nice it made my legs feel!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ginger9 on 10/17/2011 1:29:00 PM more reviews by ginger9

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This review is just for the wax as I did not purchase the kit. I used this for the the hair under my arms which I deem to be a somewhat difficult spot to remove hair from. Before this, I had been using a non-warming sugaring wax call Alexandria if I can recall. I read the reviews on MUA before use. I took extra caution 1) not to over heat in microwave 2) not to drip sticky wax all over the place. I had amazing results. Removed all my hair with one application, minimal pain and with just a thin coating of wax. There was little sticky residue under my arms which was easily removed by the recommended baby oil and cotton ball. I do not recommend this for novice users as it's extremely sticky and will make a big mess if you do not know what you are doing. Other than that, very happy with the gigi line of wax and I am looking foward to smooth hairless skin :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cbeeee on 7/22/2011 4:55:00 PM more reviews by cbeeee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this specifically to do a bikini wax . It worked way better than I thought it would ! Takes off hair easily and the pain is minimal . The only downside was the mess ! I accidently knocked the wax container and a bit spilt on my desk and I have no idea how to get it off . It cools down fast which causes a stringy sticky mess . But all in all , I like the product and I like how easy it is to use and how well it works .

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 suzyQ3 on 12/18/2009 5:21:00 PM more reviews by suzyQ3

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I hardly ever wax my legs or bikini area, but when I did in the past I used a plain homemade sugar wax and needed no strips. This Gigi wax is just fine. It did a good job pulling off my leg hairs, but my skin sure did get red and bumpy. Even a few days after waxing I found myself scratching my legs like crazy. So really, my legs are NOT nice and smooth like I wanted because of all the scratching. This stuff is also really sticky and a pain to get rid of. Now that I've tried it, I prefer the homemade stuff because that makes my legs incredibly smooth and I never have any skin irritation problems. Also, I do want to mention the 4 little bottles that come with this kit are totally worthless. This kit made me realize that all the time and effort into waxing with strips and constantly having to reheat the wax isn't worth it. I'm sticking with my razor... or maybe going back to homemade sugar wax.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lilprincess428 on 9/26/2009 1:49:00 PM more reviews by lilprincess428

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Green    

I LOVE this wax! I bought it to wax my legs because I get terrible results when I shave- my legs are never smooth, just irritated- and don't have a ton of money to spend at the salon. I figured if it worked well, I'd do my bikini, underarms and arms. I bought the kit because I wanted to make sure I liked it and was able to do it (I'm not the best at this kind of thing) before I bought the warmer and all that. But it was super easy! I did it on a towel on the kitchen floor so I wouldn't have to go up and down the stairs to the microwave. If the wax is the right consistency (thin), it goes on very easily and comes off very easily. It really wasn't that painful. More importantly, I love the results. My legs are not completely smooth (there must have been some shorter hairs mixed in) but they are definitely smoother than when I shave. It took me forever (about 4 hours lol) but it was my first time and I'm sure I'll get faster at it. I also ran out of the muslin strips after the first leg. Luckily I have a great boyfriend who I sent out to Sallys to buy me some more (poor guy haha!) The wax was completely gone by the time I finished, but I'm not sure if that's my fault or not (I tend to overuse products.) And I didn't have a tough time getting the wax off my skin like some others. The Wax Off worked pretty well along with some baby oil. My hands would get pretty sticky at times, but I just soaked a cotton pad with baby oil, rubbed it on my fingers and rinsed with warm water. The after wax lotion (I forget the name) seemed to work pretty well, and I am going to use the Slow Grow lotion daily and see how that works. But this is a great product and I love the results! I am going to buy the large jar and warmer and try a brazilian next- I hope it's just as easy!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CrakCouture on 9/14/2009 10:47:00 PM more reviews by CrakCouture

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Well I tried to do as much research as possible before buying this, even though my mind was already set. I heard alot of good reviews on the All purpose Honee was in general. I wanted to buy the all purpose honey wax by itself along with some muslin strips. I don't have a wax warmer though so i went ahead and bought the kit, which i would call a started kit. It came with four small sample sized bottles of the Wax Off, (which somewhat worked, even though most reviews i read said it didn't), Pre-Hon (which I didn't bother using since i didn't have any powder), After Skin Wax Concealer (which as one reviewer said is similar to chamomile lotion and looked like a beet colored ghosty foundation over my tanned complexion) and last but not least, the Slow Grow lotion (which I already have a big bottle of a similar product) I couldn't see myself buying any of those products but it doesn't hurt since they came with the kit. Okay, so I needed a heavy duty kit and it was my mistake for knowing this would be considered a beginners kit and expecting it to do more than what it was supplied for. I had plans to wax my arms, legs and bikini area and the kit comes with 10 large muslin strips and 10 small muslin strips. Luckily I found a old linen shirt to cut up which worked great on my arms and legs which weren't as important as my bikini area not to mention my full legs and arms would've needed more than the 10 large strips provided. I had to get into warrior mode to push myself to go 'brazilian'. (Lord.) I had to stop half way because there is seriously a technique to master for that but I was doing a fairly decent job. Over all, the wax itself is great! A little does go along way and as a few people said, you just have to get the wax consistency right and you'll be fine. The wax did grab pretty much every hair and any hairs it didn't grab were just because they were too short to grip or grab due to my shaving. It was dreadful growing a winter coat in the summer but once i waxed it all off the final result was silky smooth and lovely! Next time I'm just going to by the wax and a pack of the muslin strips because I don't think I have any more linen shirts to spare. LOVED it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 zafiro80 on 8/26/2009 1:05:00 PM more reviews by zafiro80

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This kit is super easy to use and i am so glad i don't need to use muslin strips to do this and it's not painful.


This makes me happy and i save a trip to the salon as well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LNSklnjr on 8/8/2009 7:55:00 PM more reviews by LNSklnjr

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I just bought this today, after deciding I was going to do my own bikini wax [which was bold, considering Ive never even had a professional one]. Anyway, the price is great for what you get, I paid around sixteen dollars. All the items seperately would have been much more.
PROS: gets just about every hair [and mine is very thick] and was not nearly as painful as I thought it would be. However, I will say make sure your skin is held very taut or it hurts more.
CONS: the other bottles included in the kit I would probably never use, except the Wax Off - which was absolutely pointless, I ended up using baby oil. The biggest con is the removal, I am still sticky in 'that area.' I have to admit that being called 'honee' I thought it would be more like a sugar wax and easier to remove. Thank god Im staying home tonight - Do not use this right before you need to go out unless you are really great at waxing your own bikini line. All in all, I would repurchase, unless I could find something just as good but easier to wash off.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Gigi products

More Hair Removal products