No Brand (DIY or homemade) • Sugar • Scrubs

rated 4.8(246 reviews)

Average Rating.4.8
Would buy this product again.97%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Fabulousblonde on 1/2/2015 7:54:00 PM more reviews by Fabulousblonde

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Sugar, olive oil and honey. You can change the oils around and use rosehip or coconut or whatever. Sugar is probably the best exfoliant as it scrubs skin and removes dead skin cells which cleansing doesn't do. The first couple of times I used this exfoliator it left my skin so soft. After a while my skin has improved. It costs nothing, takes less than 2 mins to make and you get great results!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Babsfree on 1/1/2015 1:34:00 AM more reviews by Babsfree

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'm really surprised I like this as an exfoliant. I had only used this once prior to last night and was not impressed at all but now I'm hooked on this! And I think it all has to do with my application and how I used it compared to many of the other reviewers on here. Last night I decided to mix some of this with some olive oil and apply it to my face. The current condition of my face right now is very dry and flaky since I just had a massive chem peel done last week and now my face is still peeling and feels very taut and dry. But my skin has been itchy and dry and tbh, I want the flakes gone. So last night I put sugar and olive oil in 2 separate containers and took them to the shower with me. I poured a generous amount of sugar in my hands and then dribbled olive oil on top, mixed it around and scrubbed my face with it. It felt so good! My face was moisturized, slightly smoother and it felt like it alleviated some of the itchiness I was feeling. I don't recommend exfoliating right after a chemical peel like I did; you're suppose to let your skin do its own thing and slough the flaking skin off on its own but I know my own skin well enough to know I'd be ok with some exfoliation. Mixing sugar with olive oil has been such a wonderful addition to my skincare routine cause I can kill 2 birds with one stone: exfoliate and moisturize. My skin was moisturized, looked dewy and healthy, very pink like a baby's face. I looked so radiant when I looked in the mirror after my shower. Of course this beautiful look could be attributed to my chem peel.
I also learned it seems to be very beneficial to moisturize my face in the shower before I get out that way my moisturizer can sink in faster and easier so by the time I'm done with brushing my teeth and putting product in my hair I can start doing my makeup and don't have to worry about wasting time waiting for my moisturizer to sink in.
I was a huge fan of the exfoliating benefits of baking soda but this is a great discovery for me cause I really love coarser exfoliators; it just feels like they get more deep down into my skin. The only reason I hated sugar at first was cause it dissolved so quick that it didn't get a chance to do much in the way of exfoliating, that is until I decided to mix it with olive oil.
I didn't wash off the olive oil residue with soap, I just took my hands and rubbed warm water on my face and neck and that helps take away some of the greasy feeling while leaving enough of the oil to sink in.
So if you're dry and flaky but still wanting exfoliation I highly recommend mixing white sugar with an oil of your choice!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SwissMiss528 on 12/24/2014 4:20:00 AM more reviews by SwissMiss528

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I used to use sugar as a scrub (mixed with honey). My skin never looked better! No acne, smaller pores, and it glowed! I didn't even need to wear foundation every day. I was so happy...until I got ants. Ants EVERYWHERE. In the tub, in the sink, everywhere. No matter how careful I was, no matter if I rinsed the tub or sink after use, the ants persisted. So I stopped. Sadly. My skin went back to lackluster, but the ants disappeared. I thought I'd never be able to use it again. Until...I devised a way around the system. I now add a pack of sugar to 3 oz of aloe vera gel. I shake it up and let the sugar dissolve, then use it before my night cream as a serum/light moisturizer. I also add a pack to my facial cleanser. My skin is once again on the road to recovery, and most blessed of all, NO ANTS. If you have ant problems and can't use sugar like everyone else, try the aloe serum idea. It's less likely to bring ants because it doesn't get in the tub or sink, and even if it did, there's not much sugar compared to the gel, so it probably could be rinsed off w/o alerting every ant in the neighborhood. Good luck! :)

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 acciohashi on 12/8/2014 4:16:00 AM more reviews by acciohashi

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

Everyone has sugar in their house, so it's always convenient to use as a scrub.

Sugars gentler than other substances but still gets the job done without damaging skin.

I suggest buffering with oil or honey so that it goes on more smoothly to skin. If you're using oils, I especially suggest ones with anti-inflammatory properties like soy oil, evening primrose oil, canola oil, ect.

Of course, you can't scrub acne away (or other skin problems, if that were true we would all have perfect skin because our first instinct is to pick at it), but you can loosen the oil on or near the surface and remove unsightly flakes.

I have a lot of oil build-up under my skin. It's drier now, so my skin is a lot less oily than usual. I'm also using Differin which is really clearing my skin, but it is also leaving flakes and more sensitive skin.

For this reason, I like using fine grained sugar and using the smallest amount and working my way up. It buffs away my flakes naturally and works well for my lips also.

Before Differin, when I had no flakes, this helped my more matte foundations apply better and also prepped my skin for certain unflattering lipsticks.

As I say with all DIYs, this is great for sleepovers. However, it's also great for everyday use.

I would say, give it a try, even if you have sensitive or problematic skin. Just make sure to use a buffer(or you'll be causing more problems) and start with the tiniest amount and don't use it too much every day. If you're doing it in the daytime, follow up with a liberal application of SPF.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 itsmeiva on 12/7/2014 11:08:00 PM more reviews by itsmeiva

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Did this for the first time last night and boy, it sure made my skin soft and supple!

Great exfoliator!

Due to lack of other ingredients, after washing my face with kojic soap, i scrubbed this all over my face without mixing it with anything. Just plain white sugar. It felt a bit harsh to scrub on the face so i was very very careful. After washing it off, there were 50% less bumps on my face. I have a lot of bumps because of clogged pores that usually become tiny pimples.

Overall, im so happy i tried this, and will do it on an every other day basis.

Will continue to update this review after a month of using this scrub ;)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ranouuunounou on 9/12/2014 7:45:00 PM more reviews by ranouuunounou

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

sugar + lemon = amazing scrub ♥ i really love to do this scrub once in a week

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dv_27 on 7/17/2014 8:54:00 PM more reviews by dv_27

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I found the cheapest scrub ever...oh yeahh!! Why didn't I do this before...mixed 1 teaspoon sugar to my Algenist cleanser and scrubbed away the all the gunk that's been accumulating on my skin forever. The end result was smooth skin. I am soo happy with results!
Next time I am planning to experiment this with some honey, milk, avocado oil..the possibilities are endless.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AgentMakeup007 on 4/18/2014 10:46:00 PM more reviews by AgentMakeup007

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I had some really annoying dry, scaly patches on my cheeks for a long time. They were caused by acne scarring and no matter what I did, I couldn't get the dead skin off my face! I tried Dead Sea Cosmetics chemical peel, I tried moisturizing them to death, I tried using face cleansing brushes, I tried everything! I was desperate so I took a spoonfull of white sugar, mixed it with 100% virgin olive oil and started scrubbing my face in the shower with it. I was scared by both the gritty texture and how sticky oily my face felt when I rinsed it off. I then washed my face with a hand made almond oil soap and voilá! My face is now super soft, bright, moisturized and dry skin free!

Do recommend! Just don't use this exfoliating method every day! It will harm your skin!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lossea on 12/17/2013 9:23:00 PM more reviews by Lossea

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Just like strawberrymelons below said, olive oil, honey, and sugar. It is exactly what I use, and am so happy with it. I mixed the ingredients in an old Burt's Bees glass cream jar, and it looks so simple and pretty in the cabinet, but that's beside the point. I do think that it's a nice feeling to make your own little scrub for so cheap and also reuse a pretty makeup jar.
Because this scrub is fairly rough for my face, I usually only use it to exfoliate lips, but do exfoliate nose sometimes. It can be used on the body as well, of course, but I haven't made a batch. Sugar in a scrub works a lot better for me than salt, because salt melts a lot faster and also gives redness, while sugar gives no redness and doesn't melt as quickly, which helps. Skin is always left so smooth. Yay!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 strawberrymelons on 12/13/2013 6:47:00 PM more reviews by strawberrymelons

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Olive oil, honey and sugar is the best thing that has ever happened to my skin.

My skin can get pretty dry during the winter months and no matter what moisturizer I use, the dryness is accentuated by foundation on my nose and forehead (where I don't even put foundation on anymore because of that). I have to admit, I was never the one to make DIY's because I'm lazy and would rather buy something that already comes in a bottle and smells good. BUT one day, when nothing seemed to solve the problem, I decided to make this and OMG my skin feels like a baby's bum and when I apply foundation on in the morning it goes on smoothly without accentuating any dryness. Not to mention it's cheap and you don't even have to go out to buy any of it because you most definitely and probably have it sitting in your house somewhere, right now, as you're reading this :).

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More No Brand (DIY or homemade) products

More Scrubs products