Unlisted Brand • Sugar • Scrubs

rated 4.8(238 reviews)

Average Rating.4.8
Would buy this product again.97%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lossea on 12/17/2013 9:23:00 PM more reviews by Lossea

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Just like strawberrymelons below said, olive oil, honey, and sugar. It is exactly what I use, and am so happy with it. I mixed the ingredients in an old Burt's Bees glass cream jar, and it looks so simple and pretty in the cabinet, but that's beside the point. I do think that it's a nice feeling to make your own little scrub for so cheap and also reuse a pretty makeup jar.
Because this scrub is fairly rough for my face, I usually only use it to exfoliate lips, but do exfoliate nose sometimes. It can be used on the body as well, of course, but I haven't made a batch. Sugar in a scrub works a lot better for me than salt, because salt melts a lot faster and also gives redness, while sugar gives no redness and doesn't melt as quickly, which helps. Skin is always left so smooth. Yay!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 strawberrymelons on 12/13/2013 6:47:00 PM more reviews by strawberrymelons

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Olive oil, honey and sugar is the best thing that has ever happened to my skin.

My skin can get pretty dry during the winter months and no matter what moisturizer I use, the dryness is accentuated by foundation on my nose and forehead (where I don't even put foundation on anymore because of that). I have to admit, I was never the one to make DIY's because I'm lazy and would rather buy something that already comes in a bottle and smells good. BUT one day, when nothing seemed to solve the problem, I decided to make this and OMG my skin feels like a baby's bum and when I apply foundation on in the morning it goes on smoothly without accentuating any dryness. Not to mention it's cheap and you don't even have to go out to buy any of it because you most definitely and probably have it sitting in your house somewhere, right now, as you're reading this :).

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hayleyelwick on 11/2/2013 9:05:00 PM more reviews by hayleyelwick

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

SON OF A BATCH OF COOKIES THIS STUFF IS MAGNIFICENT.

Not only because you can use it for exfoliation, but also because you can literally use it in a batch of cookies. So pun intended.

Mixed with olive oil- great body scrub

Mixed with your favorite dish soap- great hand scrub/hand wash

Mixed with butter, oil, eggs, flour, and a dash of vanilla- great batch of cookies.

You most likely already own sugar and oil. Just mix up a bowl full of wonderful, scrub your body with it in the shower, and feel your skin. It will be as soft as 50 ply Charmin ultra. That is, if they made such a thing.

Just try it, it's worth the shot. Don't be a silly goose people.

24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 heleno451 on 11/2/2013 7:39:00 PM more reviews by heleno451

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I've had great results using sugar as a body scrub. It makes my skin soft and you can't beat the price! Depending on your skin type it might be too harsh to use on your face though.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* icarle on 8/31/2013 11:05:00 AM more reviews by icarle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

My skin is quite oily, i use it three times a week (my skin is not sensitive) i use plain old white sugar mixed with honey and use a little bit of water before scrubbing. AMAZING! Why on earth would i ever purchase something that i can make myself in two seconds???
Great great discovery.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* thebobcat64 on 7/22/2013 9:37:00 PM more reviews by thebobcat64

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Tastes so good, will definitely repurchase

38 out of 45 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chantililly on 6/30/2013 8:42:00 PM more reviews by chantililly

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have to admit I find it pretty ironic to be scrubbing sugar on my face while on a low-cal diet. Maybe this is one of those things that is better out than in.

I've known for a while that sugar is antibacterial but I hadn't really thought about using it on my face. It doesn't really seem intuitive to break out the cooking supplies when it comes to skincare. But after finding that olive oil makes a much more effective and gentle eye-makeup remover than my actual eye-makeup remover, and unpasteurised honey brings my spots right down, I thought, what the hell, I'll give it a go.

I used superfine sugar mixed with olive oil and it actually worked great. I was surprised at how nice the result was. I suppose, thinking about it, sugar is a key ingredient in a lot of scrubs (Lush lip scrub for instance... I never understood why you can't just make that yourself) so it shouldn't be so shocking. My skin breaks out if you so much as look at it when I'm back in my high-humidity hometown and this didn't break me out. My acne even looks better. So there's that.

And it's sugar. You buy it at the supermarket when you're getting your groceries. Being a fan of Asian makeup and living in a place where the nearest Bobbi Brown counter is three counties away, I'm used to good products being difficult and stressful to obtain. So being able to pick my exfoliator up along with my fruit and veg is a nice change-- I'll just keep it out of my coffee from now on.

TMI-- I also found it's good for ingrown hairs, the kind you get from shaving. I have big problems with that so this, I love.

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hershieowef on 5/25/2013 2:56:00 AM more reviews by hershieowef

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

i love me some cheap yet effective all-around scrub. my favorite recipe is brown sugar and honey (2:1 ratio) mask scrub for the face, lips, and body. i leave it on for 5-10 minutes (dont worry about the sugar falling off - it wont, as long as the honey is thick enough to hold it in place and the consistency is viscuous enough. i use it once a week and i have never bought a single facial scrub, body scrub, or lip scrub ever since.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 thereisalwayshope on 5/18/2013 3:25:00 PM more reviews by thereisalwayshope

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Sugar is awesome! Not only for the taste but for all the things it can be used for. I use it as an exfoliator, generally for my face, but it can be used all over the body.

There is a trick for make your own body scrub with sugar…If there is a shampoo that you do not like for your hair and you adore the smell or have a shampoo you like that is relatively cheap you can add sugar to it and use it as a body scrub!!! Works well, and you really feel it working unlike some of the other real scrubs out there.

Definitely worth a try, and best of all you probably have loads of it at home right now lol.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 princessmaria on 4/12/2013 6:37:00 AM more reviews by princessmaria

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Making my own skincare lotions and potions makes me feel so good.. I know exactly whats going in to the product.
Sugar is a good exfoliant for the skin on the face and body. I mainly use it on my face (im too lazy to make my own for my entire body!).
I use brown sugar, which is quite coarse but i only use this scrub occasionally, say once every week.you can use salt, but i find sugar better for more sensitive skin.
This is my usual routine when using a face scrub:
1. cleanse skin with your regular cleanser (im using nivea daily essentials 2 in 1 at the moment)
2. apply a face mask (im currently using superdrug's mud mask)
3. wet the face and take rinse off most of the mask
4. use an oil (jojoba, olive, grapeseed etc,) and mix in the sugar and apply on the face, making sure to go to the neck and take off the excess mask.
5. rinse off, pat dry and apply your eye cream and moistuisor.

This helps me because I have spotty, oily but sensitive skin. leaving on make up all day can break me out in spots, so i have to be really thorough when taking my make up off.
I use jojoba oil, as its great for, well, everything! it's good for the skin, acne, wrinkles and helps to balance out the oils, which makes it perfect for oily, spotty skin.

This will leave your skin feeling really clean and fresh.
Hope this helps!x

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Scrubs products