Laura Mercier • Foundation Powder [DISCONTINUED] • Powder

rated 4.0(281 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 5 of 5 ssmills on 6/9/2013 10:28:00 PM more reviews by ssmills

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I first tried Laura Mercier in 2010 and have used this foundation powder every day since! I have a very difficult pinky/yellow skintone and liquid foundation would never match. This powder gives my acne prone skin great coverage and lasts most of the day without needing a touch-up (and I have a very oily t-zone!) The nurse at my dermatologist's office told me my skin looked great, I said no, it's just my makeup - she couldn't tell I had any on! I apply it with the LM powder brush. It wastes more product but looks a lot more natural than applying with a sponge. I go through a compact about every 6 weeks and just buy 2-3 at a time so I always have one on hand. It is expensive but I have not had to wear liquid foundation in 3 years!!! My HG foundation!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pattyshine on 4/20/2013 12:41:00 AM more reviews by pattyshine

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I am older and this powder does not work for me. I find the coverage very heavy. I also had trouble finding the shade I wanted. I have no. 2 and 3 shades, both seem pink. I have fair skin and use either the pink or yellow tones as I am so very neutral.
I can see why younger people would like this
foundation because I do believe it lasts well on the skin and in the summer . But, for me, I use it only as a setting powder, and that very sparingly. Even though I had used very little of this powder, I hit pan immediately. This compact has very little product, especially when compared to Estee Lauder and Lancome, which are very generous. To each his own. I have good skin and do not need but a little coverage. Update: I forgot to add that I love the little square puffs and ordered more:)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ndeva600 on 3/18/2013 2:43:00 PM more reviews by Ndeva600

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I originally started using this because my skin started to get quite oily during the summertime and I was going through packets and packets of oil absorbing sheets ... My friend recommended it and so I decided to try it. Well this helped a ton with that issue! It makes your skin look flawless if you have generally clear skin. I don't like to wear heavy makeup and this is perfect for me!

I do use this everyday as part of my makeup routine and it only lasts me about 3 months ... It runs at $40 at Nordstrom so it can add up if you reapply it during the day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sharemarie on 3/8/2013 1:22:00 PM more reviews by sharemarie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

holy cow -- i just picked this up yesterday, after asking a Sephora employee what she recommended for a light powder foundation (usually I do a ton of research beforehand and don't consult with anyone in the store)... SO glad she pointed me in this direction!!

The color is a damn near PERFECT match for my super pale, but yellow-undertoned skin (I got the "real sand" color), and it just looked so smooth and nice when it went on... I was thoroughly impressed. Definitely my HG powder right now.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blondebum on 1/28/2013 11:14:00 PM more reviews by blondebum

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

I give this product 3/5 because i was not fully satisfied with this product. Starting off, i have mild/moderate acne and some acne scars that have a pink/purple pigmentation color. This powder foundation used together with concealer did not hide any of acne scars and actually made them stand out more. Additionally, Laura Mercier's Powder Foundation did not last very long while wearing it throughout the day. By the afternoon my makeup looked rubbed off and there was absolutely no coverage. The only benefit of this make up is that it did not break me out and I think it truly is made of quality ingredients. Unlike the over the counter products sold in super markets, i believe this is a well made product and will not cause irritation or breakouts.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mskittynoir on 1/25/2013 11:24:00 PM more reviews by mskittynoir

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Perfect!!! Finely miled powder, high quality, lasts a long time. Great for my yellowy pale skin, best match I have ever found! Holy grail! On a lazy day I use this, over the tinted moisturizer this is gorgeous too. I can't say enough about this!! Doesn't break me out at all. At first if it's a I'll powdery, in 10 mins, totally melts in your skin! Lovely lovely!! Always will re buy this! I also rotate and use the oil free tinted moisturizer in porcelain. The powder I use the 1.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Littlemango on 10/19/2012 3:29:00 AM more reviews by Littlemango

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

Control my very oily skin quite well, coverage was ok .. after oxidised it looks natural and does not required frequent touch up. the box was made of plastic and mirror was a little small else so far so good.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 smashlers on 9/27/2012 11:48:00 AM more reviews by smashlers

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This was one of the few products that didn't cause me to breakout, so I have to say that is a plus. It has great coverage however my skin is oily, and by the middle of the day I have blotchy, darker-than-normal spots on my cheeks where the foundation has become gooey. And it is not fixable! You have to completely remove your makeup midday and re-apply this if you need it to even last a total of 8 hours.

I cannot figure out why Laura Mercier only made this in 7 shades! They are not even close to one another. I had to buy No. 3 and then use a bronzer on top of it which never looked right because there was way too much powder on my face! I tried No. 4 and it didn't have the right color to it so I was unable to stick with No. 4 either.
I switched to Aveda's Dual Foundation Powder and they offer more shades, and the texture and coverage is more natural but with more suitable color options!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 skim1017 on 9/11/2012 3:00:00 AM more reviews by skim1017

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I bought this powder to replace Lorac's Evening Out, which was discontinued last year, and I still can't decide if I like this product or not. Here are the pros: it's oil-free, fragrance-free, doesn't break me out, has excellent coverage for a foundation powder, and gives you that soft, flawless look that we all want. But then there are the cons: it comes in very limited shades (7 in total) and tends to get chalky or cakey. I have this in No. 1 and No. 2 because I'm in between shades. The No. 1 is too yellow and light for me, while the No. 2 is too pink and dark for me. Right now, because it's summer, I can get away with wearing the No. 2 by itself, but otherwise, I have to blend the two shades. I don't mind doing that, but what bothers me is that the powder tends to get chalky. It does eventually "melt" into your skin, but even then, it still looks a bit cakey and settles into your pores (and I have small pores and wear a primer). I never had that problem with Evening Out, and I'm surprised that a foundation powder that gets such rave reviews would do that. To minimize the caking, I apply one layer of the powder with a kabuki brush. If I apply two layers, I get more of a flawless look, but then up close, the powder looks cakier, so I generally stick to one layer. This powder would probably look better at night, but in daytime or bright lighting, I feel that I have to check my face in the mirror more often.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 izaali on 7/27/2012 9:04:00 PM more reviews by izaali

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Best powder foundation I have ever used. On my 5th one now. Great coverage, good for oil control. Only downside is the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Powder products